Businesswoman’s body found with hands and feet bound

June 16, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

The murder of a peaceful and usually jovial 65-year-old resident of Albouystown has not only left many family members and friends in a state of grief but the suspicious features of the crime scene leaves them puzzled by many questions.
At 4:35 am on Father’s Day, the bound body of Sumintra (her only name) was discovered by her 42-year-old son, at her Lot 61 Bar and Sussex Streets residence.

Sumintra

Sumintra

The mother of four was in her bedroom, clad in her nightgown. She was tied by the feet and hands which were attached to the bed head. A kitchen cloth was covering her mouth.
It was later discovered that whoever was responsible for her death had made off with a plasma television, a DVD player and $150,000.
When Kaieteur News arrived on the scene yesterday, the ex-husband of the deceased, Sheik Dinool with whom she maintained a close friendship, was conversing about the tragic incident with his other son and daughter-in-law.
Dinool, who lives just two houses away from his ex wife, related that she was always a very loving and kind woman.
“She neva use to give trouble. She own couple stalls in the Vendors Arcade and she would just go about her business early in the morning and she come back by the evening time and she does just be home with my other son, Shah Dinool. Is he find she when he come in early this morning. He does normally go out and drink and do he lil ting and then go home back. She would always show Shah love despite whatever problems he facing.”
The woman’s son was not around when Kaieteur News was at the scene and his father explained that he was giving a statement to the police.
“I really ain’t feeling too nice about this, man. It is just sad. My son can’t handle this right now. I telling you, it really shake him up,” Mr. Dinool concluded as he shook his head.
Police said that there was no sign of forced entry nor were there any visible marks of violence on the victim’s body. However, investigators are awaiting the results of a post mortem examination to ascertain the cause of death.
Kaieteur News also understands that the back door of the woman’s home was left ajar which has led police to believe that it was the most likely point of exit.
Several members of the Albouystown neighbourhood had nothing but kind words to say about the murdered woman.
Some said that she was the kind of woman who went about her business and never got involved in the regular, “cuss-outs” which is characteristic of some parts of the community.
One resident said, “She was a kind lady. We used to call she “Auntie” and when you ask her for a little help, once she had it, she used to give it to you. Is real sad fuh see how duh nice old lady life just come to an end, especially in duh way. But people round here does normally look out fuh she, you know. So fuh wake up this morning (yesterday) and hear that this woman gone is a real surprise. If is one thing about this neighbourhood, everybody know somebody but something bout duh just too fishy.”