A Member of Parliament is embarrased.

Dear Editor,
Please allow me space to air my most humiliating experience at the hands of the Guyana Police, since I became a Member of Parliament.
On Sunday April 1 (Easter Sunday), I took a few family members on a boat cruise from Parika to Bartica. We were returning from Parika in my car with my brother-in-law, Ramnarine Panday, driving and Troy Bhagwan, my nephew and Nick Persaud, my brother from Canada and I in the car.
It was at exactly 12:20am on Easter Monday when we were stopped by a police pickup with flashing lights a little before we reached Lusignan. Panday stopped the car. A young policeman came out of the pickup and stood by the driver’s window and blurted out, ‘You drivin’ all over the road like you drunk’.
I immediately said, ‘He was not driving like he is drunk and that is an old line.’ This young policeman told me to shut the f—up. I responded by saying, ‘I am a Member of Parliament and this man is my driver and he will never drink when he is driving’. This arrogant young punk police said…’PPP ent running things now, drive to BV Police Station to do a breathalyzer.” Being an Indian, according to this shit-head police, meant you are a PPP. I told Panday to turn around and drive to BV.
It was a grand reception that we met at BV Police Station. About six police ranks were out to greet us and one, who seemed to be in charge, asked what happened. I told him what had transpired and he said my tone was too loud for him (I agreed with that) so I toned down and he took us into the station where Panday did the necessaries and the result was 00 so we were sent away.
As we were walking out of the BV Police Station, another young punk kid in uniform blurted out,’ he ain’t no f–ing Member of Parliament, he look like a sku—t. I looked at him and thought of a night in a lockups and said nothing.
I drove from there because Panday was quite noticeably upset at the entire police fiasco.
At this stage, I would like to ask the Honourable Minister of Public Security, the Commissioner of Police and perhaps also His Excellency, the President of this Republic, if our police will ever be taught to conduct themselves in a civilised manner when dealing with members of the public.
Will they ever do things like saying “good night” or “good morning’ and “please”? Why drag a person back to a police station because you are on an ego trip? Should the patrols not have the Breathalyzer with them so the very simple test can be done at the roadside?
And as an MP (any MP) should some respect be shown to that MP, at least after the MP’s card is presented to the rank?
I hope someone looks into how police treat citizens and please believe that Police look at members of the public as pawns and totally disrespect them.
Respectfully,
Charrandass Persaud (MP).

Before you boys go ballistic, note that I am making a couple of assumptions here, after reading this letter. 

1. It shows the backwardness of Guyanese people and the level of dislike for people, and how power goes to people's head. This disrespect can happen to anyone, including Moses, Ramjattaan, Roopnarine, Granger, etc.

2. Arrogance is not relegated to the PPP. Guyana had 28 years of this type of behavior and it is handed down from top to bottom. If the leaders at the top do not display good behavior or sanction bad behavior, it will continue.

3. Charandass reflect very poor behavior for a Parliamentarian...primarily from this letter he is writing to let the public share his experience. My question is: Now that its over, what the hell are you doing about it? Where is the follow up? He has witnesses, so take the names of the "punk" cops and pursue the matter to make it an example so the cops face public humiliation.  Otherwise, this type of behavior will continue, and the punk cops will do the same to someone who is not a Parliamentarian and who may have less power or "smarts" to deal with this.

4. This is where Charandass makes his biggest mistake. He ignores a broader problem facing himself and other Indians. I gather the cops were Afros. Charandass does not understand that this behavior was directed towards him and his crew because they were seen to be Indians (read: PPP). This cop did not care if he was a Parliamentarian, if he was AFC or WPA of PNC, the problem was he was an INDIAN, and it was OK to humiliate him in front of his family members. This was the basis for the reaction of the punk cop. If this is the attitude of the new rulers, who now see themselves "on top" then Indians will continue to be targets. It is symptomatic of a broader problem of racism and what Indians will have to deal with for a long time. 

This is what I meant when I was in Guyana. Niggroes seem to be bold, rude, demeaning, bullies, and total outright racists. They feel they own Guyana. "No, PPP ent runnin' tings now", the racist thugs and low life goons are. Niggroes feel like they are entitled to be worshipped by coolies. Hope all the coolies who back/backed the PNC reading the article...I don't have a dog in the fight in Guyana.

The police in Guyana believe they are above the law , yet citizens has the tecnology to record these allegation but they do not use them . Dash board camera is a great investment .

I recalled  an incident recently, we were travelling from GT to Skeldon  with two pick up trucks.

In The second vehicle was the crime chief (Paul William). Coming back before crossing the Berbice bridge , 3 police officer stops the first pick up and and enquire if they have fire arms - the driver answer no . The officer inform the driver they were instructed to tumble and search the vehicle but can avoid the harassment if we pay $5000. G. Unknowing to them  we ( second vehicle ) were on the phone with the kids ( first vehicle) .

i guess Paul was embarrass, he came out the vehicle to the officers - the rest was history .

Police officer in Guyana harass drivers for $ . 

However, in Charandass case, their is no need for the MP to flash his card. I guess that aggravate the situation more .

Before you boys go ballistic, note that I am making a couple of assumptions here, after reading this letter. 

1. It shows the backwardness of Guyanese people and the level of dislike for people, and how power goes to people's head. This disrespect can happen to anyone, including Moses, Ramjattaan, Roopnarine, Granger, etc.

2. Arrogance is not relegated to the PPP. Guyana had 28 years of this type of behavior and it is handed down from top to bottom. If the leaders at the top do not display good behavior or sanction bad behavior, it will continue.

3. Charandass reflect very poor behavior for a Parliamentarian...primarily from this letter he is writing to let the public share his experience. My question is: Now that its over, what the hell are you doing about it? Where is the follow up? He has witnesses, so take the names of the "punk" cops and pursue the matter to make it an example so the cops face public humiliation.  Otherwise, this type of behavior will continue, and the punk cops will do the same to someone who is not a Parliamentarian and who may have less power or "smarts" to deal with this.

4. This is where Charandass makes his biggest mistake. He ignores a broader problem facing himself and other Indians. I gather the cops were Afros. Charandass does not understand that this behavior was directed towards him and his crew because they were seen to be Indians (read: PPP). This cop did not care if he was a Parliamentarian, if he was AFC or WPA of PNC, the problem was he was an INDIAN, and it was OK to humiliate him in front of his family members. This was the basis for the reaction of the punk cop. If this is the attitude of the new rulers, who now see themselves "on top" then Indians will continue to be targets. It is symptomatic of a broader problem of racism and what Indians will have to deal with for a long time. 

I am not suggesting that Indos do not hold racist behavior. I hear it in comments my own family makes.

I am suggesting that the position Afros hold in Guyana allocates to them privilege and power that Indians do not possess. It means that an Afro is more likely to abuse an Indo, than the other way around.  lt will only change when Indians see racism for what it is, condemn it,  and Coolie people have to assert themselves and change their culture of beating and cussing down their own kind after rum drinking. 

This parliamentarian seems too willing to ignore the fact that he was treated this way because he was Indo. AND, he is begging others to address the problem, when as a Parliamentarian, there is much that he can do. 

Imagine if this was done in the US or Canada, and it was on taped on a cell phone, that officer would be reprimanded. Knowing how police officers behave in Guyana, thus KNUCKLEHEAD should have been taping this episode also. 

Vish,

Charandass,showed his MP card,that didn't matter to the policemen,he also lowered his voice when asked,he was not asking for any favors,he complied with their request for the driver to take the breathalyser test which turns out to be negative.

The actions of the policemen are uncalled for,there should be an investigation and disciplinary actions should be taken.Charandass,should lodge a complaint with the Commissioner of police.

While I agree with you to some extent of the race , some Indians are to be blame . 

I will admit  this, law and order went down hill under the PPP government... that generation 20 plus years were spoil and continue with the same attitude . 

I decide to personally visit government offices to get a first hand experience . I get better treatment from Afro that Indian. 

I am not suggesting that Indos do not hold racist behavior. I hear it in comments my own family makes.

I am suggesting that the position Afros hold in Guyana allocates to them privilege and power that Indians do not possess. It means that an Afro is more likely to abuse an Indo, than the other way around.  lt will only change when Indians see racism for what it is, condemn it,  and Coolie people have to assert themselves and change their culture of beating and cussing down their own kind after rum drinking. 

This parliamentarian seems too willing to ignore the fact that he was treated this way because he was Indo. AND, he is begging others to address the problem, when as a Parliamentarian, there is much that he can do. 

Imagine if this was done in the US or Canada, and it was on taped on a cell phone, that officer would be reprimanded. Knowing how police officers behave in Guyana, thus KNUCKLEHEAD should have been taping this episode also. 

What did Charandass government did in 23 years to implement discipline  and change, 

The advantage taken on Indian is at the foot step of all PPP members .

What did Charandass government did in 23 years to implement discipline  and change, 

I believe he is an AFC member.

He was AFC.  Now full out PNC.  He is starting to sound like Freddie Kissoon.

Being an AFC member is the same as being a PNC member. The fact remains he is a coolie and he got the "coolie" treatment from the niggroes. Life in Guyana...it goes on.

Ops, sorry . 

His attitude and writing style is uncall for, the banna was embarrass with his Canadian visiting family - his government position means nothing .

If he was smart , those very police men could be send to the interior but I guess he wants to display some authority . 

Errol is a member of the ruling coalition he is an AFC MP, at the last election he was hoping for Minister job, just like Moses he is creating a stink so that he can cross over to the PPP. Errol is the biggest soup drinker, he has embarrassed the PNC, don't be surprised if Rumjaat scold him and he resigned.

What happened to Errol is a way of life and it been like that for over 50 years, but remember Moses and Rumjaat said they have the remedy for the crimes and lawless behaviour.

Pulling the MP stunt should not make him above the law or other citizens, at the next election he would not get the votes to keep his seat as an AFC MP. Just imagine what the ordinary Indian has to experience every day with the Black police.

BV Policemen embarrased,Coalition MP Charandass Persaud,told him to shut the f--up,PPP ent running things now.

If you read the article, that heading is incorrect.

That's what we get from our GNI Editor in Chief.

BV Policemen embarrased,Coalition MP Charandass Persaud,told him to shut the f--up,PPP ent running things now.

All of his headings are incorrect. 

YES Django...what the hell you doing here wid dem headlines?...sounds like you are a KNUCKLEHEAD too today

The man likes to use a lot of commas without rhyme or reason. Not good for an Editor in Chief.

Regardless of which party Charandass is affiliated, the cop acted unprofessionally and should be disciplined. This behaviour should have been halted ages ago when both PNC and the PPP were in office. This govt has to make a move on this behaviour or that place will never change.

Dis banna needs to pursue it further, now that he has made it public. This letter gives no indication that he is willing to do so.

The heading translates:

Blackman pun tap now.

They should have thrown Chrana Ass in jail. These are the scumbags who fooled a few Indos into voting PNC and now the backlash has started. They cannot put out the racism that is being unleashed on Indos.

I have no sympathy for AFC's Charan Ass. This proves that they are now useless to the PNC and for him to write a Newspaper to file a complaint proves that they are just Granger's toilet cleaners.

This is how a call to drunkie Transpired:

Charan Ass: Hello, is this the office the Minister of Security, Ramjattan ? I want to take to he right now !

Ramjattan's Office: Hello, who de hell are you to talk to me like dat, PPP ain't in power anymore. Hold on.

Ramjattan: Hello bai Charan Ass. Why you calling me for ?

Charan Ass: Prak, dem Policemen just harass me. Can you call dem up and have a chat wid dem for me na ?

Ramjattan: Haul you As*

Charan Ass: Prak, is dis how you treating me now man ? We are from de same party.

Ramjattan: What party ? We ain't have any party left. What you talking bout. I told you already to haul you as*, I am busy knocking down this bakkle of Vodka right now wid some chaser.

Charan Ass: Dis is eye pass, fuss dem police harass me and now de tap man drive one more kick on me.  I am going to ask de newspaper to print dis story.

Ramjattan: Do whatever you want to do, I have a meeting with me Boss Harmon today.

Charan Ass: Bai, Karma will catch up wid you. You see what happen to the Neemakharam Moses ?

Ramjatan: Click and hangs up the phone on Charan Ass.

And so it continues in Guyana. Karma is catching up with the AFC scumbags one by one. Kick dem Granger, Kick dem good and prappa.

The heading translates:

Blackman pun tap now.

They should have thrown Chrana Ass in jail. These are the scumbags who fooled a few Indos into voting PNC and now the backlash has started. They cannot put out the racism that is being unleashed on Indos.

I have no sympathy for AFC's Charan Ass. This proves that they are now useless to the PNC and for him to write a Newspaper to file a complaint proves that they are just Granger's toilet cleaners.

This is how a call to drunkie Transpired:

Charan Ass: Hello, is this the office the Minister of Security, Ramjattan ? I want to take to he right now !

Ramjattan's Office: Hello, who de hell are you to talk to me like dat, PPP ain't in power anymore. Hold on.

Ramjattan: Hello bai Charan Ass. Why you calling me for ?

Charan Ass: Prak, dem Policemen just harass me. Can you call dem up and have a chat wid dem for me na ?

Ramjattan: Haul you As*

Charan Ass: Prak, is dis how you treating me now man ? We are from de same party.

Ramjattan: What party ? We ain't have any party left. What you talking bout. I told you already to haul you as*, I am busy knocking down this bakkle of Vodka right now wid some chaser.

Charan Ass: Dis is eye pass, fuss dem police harass me and now de tap man drive one more kick on me.  I am going to ask de newspaper to print dis story.

Ramjattan: Do whatever you want to do, I have a meeting with me Boss Harmon today.

Charan Ass: Bai, Karma will catch up wid you. You see what happen to the Neemakharam Moses ?

Ramjatan: Click and hangs up the phone on Charan Ass.

And so it continues in Guyana. Karma is catching up with the AFC scumbags one by one. Kick dem Granger, Kick dem good and prappa.

You have the nerve to call me a racist, yet you don't see the racism and bullyism in what transpired? In other words you are fine for Indos who are not in the PPP camp be treated less. Banna that stupid way you have trying to put down those who go against your thinking will catch up with you , yep. That karma you constantly speak of will so be not in your favour when your time comes. You are that person Prashad speaks of when he mentions, "Some Krullies are like crabs in a barrel pulling each other down"

The man likes to use a lot of commas without rhyme or reason. Not good for an Editor in Chief.

Ayuh sure the letter is read,the headings was taken from words in the letter.

Ha Ha, AFC loudmouths MP's have become antimen. Granger is kicking dem good and prappa.

All they can do now is run to newspapers and complain.

Ha Ha !!! Kick dem Granger, Kick dem AFC antimen good and prappa.

The real crabs are the AFC crabs who sold out Indos. Karma time, Granger is giving dem AFC scumbags good and prappa now.

AFC has an Impotent Security Minister who can't do shyte about Police bullying.

Cain, you are right. This thread is exposing the Koolee Crabs in the barrel mentality.

With people like yugi Indos don't have to be put down by Afros, his type does a good job of it. Here is an MP being treated like dirt and all yugi cares is that he is not PPP. This is the reason blacks will always be on top and look down on Indos, it's his kind doing the damage.

Cain, you are right. This thread is exposing the Koolee Crabs in the barrel mentality.

Did you have any other “secret” meetings this past week?

It's kinda too early for you to be that drunk. I don't kiss and tell. 

They can only have secret meeting while Granger rides the AFC clowns good and proper.

That's a lot of shit coming out of your mouth.

Hey, Hey Hey

Bai, how does the AFC feel being ridden by Granger ? Is that what is coming out of your mouth. Your filthiness is taking over you due to AFC's hopelessness.

Ride the AFC Granger, Ride dem good and prappa.

Hey, Hey, Hey

Bai, how does the AFC feel being ridden by Granger ? Is that what is coming out of your mouth. Your filthiness is taking over you due to AFC's hopelessness.

Ride the AFC Granger, Ride dem good and prappa.

You are full of shit.

Image result for David Granger and a donkey, GuyanaImage result for David Granger and a donkey, Guyana 

poorly educated police given lil power behave like dat all the time

10 years ago, i dealt with lout highway police and had to give a raise to end the hassle

from what I read, the harrassin police didn't believe Charandass claim to be an MP, and from his own account, I can imagine how he was carrying on

no doubt they felt that he was a PPP bigwig simply because he was Indian . . . i wonder why everybady feigning surprise? especially in the bifurcated Guyana political context 

but lemme tell y'all something, there is a huge class element beyond race in the way poorly-paid, working class like these police behave when confronted with those who they feel look down on them

and, guess what, these police bannas WILL be identified and disciplined . . . na tek worries

but enjoy the race politickin . . . don't let me spoil alyuh fun