This may sound silly. But I was wondering if the Trump administration decide to prosecute Hillary by a special prosecutor, can Obama then issue a pardon before he leaves office?
VishMahabir posted:This may sound silly. But I was wondering if the Trump administration decide to prosecute Hillary by a special prosecutor, can Obama then issue a pardon before he leaves office?
presidents do not prosecute. Trump failed to tell the public he has no such powers. Only the congress can do that and there are enough Dems to block that. The attorney general can also but that would be so glaringly partisan that the nation will be out raged.
Hillary's best friend Attorney General, Loretta Lynch would have to be the one prosecuting her. And she already had a secret meeting with Bill aboard an aircraft to dislodge that. So it ain't going to happen. Even if it were to happen, the trial would take months and - bam - Trump would be president at that time.
I do not think Trump will even be bothered anymore she has already been punished by the public at the polls
Danyael posted:VishMahabir posted:This may sound silly. But I was wondering if the Trump administration decide to prosecute Hillary by a special prosecutor, can Obama then issue a pardon before he leaves office?
presidents do not prosecute. Trump failed to tell the public he has no such powers. Only the congress can do that and there are enough Dems to block that. The attorney general can also but that would be so glaringly partisan that the nation will be out raged.
Congress does not have the authority to prosecute. Congress is responsible for the War Powers Resolution and all budgetary and fiscal matters.
The Attorney General prosecutes. Yuh slipping up their bhai. But Congress has the power to Impeach.
I think male chauvinism played a role in Hillary losing the election.
Impeachment is done in the Legislative branch of the US government - both Senate and Congress.
Bibi Haniffa posted:Impeachment is done in the Legislative branch of the US government - both Senate and Congress.
2/3 votes
Bibi Haniffa posted:Impeachment is done in the Legislative branch of the US government - both Senate and Congress.
Gal, Congress is made up of Senate AND House of Rep.
Billy Ram Balgobin posted:I think male chauvinism played a role in Hillary losing the election.
I think so too. And for good reason. The President of the United States needs real balls to face Putin, ISIS, and the Middle East. None of them has any respect for women. You need a mad rass/bad ass like Trump to deal with them.
Nehru posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:Impeachment is done in the Legislative branch of the US government - both Senate and Congress.
Correct. It's a bicameral legislature. I was speaking in layman's terms. Congress people are House of Reps.
Bibi Haniffa posted:Nehru posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:Impeachment is done in the Legislative branch of the US government - both Senate and Congress.
Correct. It's a bicameral legislature. I was speaking in layman's terms. Congress people are House of Reps.
I understand, I do that sometimes too darlin.
VishMahabir posted:This may sound silly. But I was wondering if the Trump administration decide to prosecute Hillary by a special prosecutor, can Obama then issue a pardon before he leaves office?
Indeed what's written here sounds silly - how can a Trump Administration prosecute first and then an Obama Administration - President Obama- (long gone) then pardon?
Kari, what Vish mean to say is if they prosecute Hillary now can Obama pardon her. We are all doing many things at the same time here.
I know what he meant - I was just being facetious.
It's only the Justice department that can prosecute - that's Obama's Justice Department. Congress can only hold hearings or impeach a public official (and Hillary is a private citizen). So the question of prosecuting Hillary is moot now unless some court wants to hear VishMahabir's petition to haul her in court for god-knows-what.
US_of_A President has the right under the Constitution to forgive --
1. A person for a crime.
2. Excuse a person convicted of a crime.
Note -- The exception relates to impeachment.
One recent example is the pardon granted by Gerald Ford to Richard Nixon regarding the Watergate issues.
Bibi Haniffa posted:Billy Ram Balgobin posted:I think male chauvinism played a role in Hillary losing the election.
I think so too. And for good reason. The President of the United States needs real balls to face Putin, ISIS, and the Middle East. None of them has any respect for women. You need a mad rass/bad ass like Trump to deal with them.
Bibi tell them gal... show them Giners who much balls u got!!!
Amral posted:I do not think Trump will even be bothered anymore she has already been punished by the public at the polls
I believe she will lay low for the next four years to run against Trump again.
nah Primce, by then she will be one old lady
President Trump will leave Hillary alone. As Bossman stated, she has already been punished by the public at the polls.
Time for America to move on beyond the loser Hillary.
Time to get the economy back on track and fix the mess that eight years of Democratic Socialist rule left the great nation United Sates under.
Failed socialism has ended.