House of Israel broke up meetings, received guns from PNC-led administration- says fmr cult leader Joseph Hamilton

Joseph Hamilton

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 

Former senior member of the House of Israel, Joseph Hamilton –
now a parliamentarian for the governing Peoples Progressive Party Civic (PPPC)-
on Monday admitted that he and other members of that African Guyanese cult had broken up a number of Working Peoples Alliance (WPA) meetings.

He began his testimony at the Commission of Inquiry into the death of Guyanese historian and WPA co-founder, Walter Rodney in 1980 when a bomb-in-walkie talkie exploded in his lower region while he was sitting in his brother’s car on John Street (nearer Hadfield Street), Georgetown.

Describing the House of Israel as a “tool of oppression”, Hamilton said that well-organised religious organization which had about 2,000 members, had been instructed not to hurt then PPP member, Dr. Cheddi Jagan or WPA Co-Leader Eusi Kwayana.
“Any other member of the WPA, the opposition parties could have been harmed or assaulted,” said Hamilton, now Parliamentary Secretary for the Ministry of Health.
He reasoned that if Jagan was hurt, there could have been racial/ethnic conflict, and if Kwayana was harmed, PNC sympathizers could have shifted to the WPA because he was widely respected in the Black community.

While the House of Israel never received instructions in relation to Walter Rodney, he said “Walter Rodney would have been in the basket of persons who could have been armed.”

In what appears to corroborate testimony given by other witnesses including Walter’s brother, Eddie, and Kwayana; Hamilton said the House of Israel had been recruited by the then Peoples National Congress (PNC) administration to break up political meetings and beat activists.(NOTE....TK, JB & Redux still feel PNC should not apologize)

“Suppressive methodology because it moved into assault and physical violence,” he said, adding that he was beating people.

Asked by Counsel for the Commission, Latchmie Rahamat what objects were used to beat people, he said batons and sticks were the weapons of choice.

He also recalled the House of Israel working very closely with a wing of the PNC’s youth arm, Young Socialist Movement (YSM), at a building on Barima Avenue, Bel Air Park. There they received instructions from YSM functionaries, he said.  “Some of the activities with the House of Israel-disruptions and whatever- were coordinated with that group of persons,” he said.

Fearing that the WPA might have eventually retaliated, Hamilton said in 1978 the House of Israel had asked the government to provide guns for protection purposes.  

Hamilton recalled then YSM functionary, Robert Corbin, had given the House of Israel six 9MM pistols at the building at Barima Avenue.

Repeated efforts by Demerara Waves Online News to speak with Mr. Corbin were futile. On two occasions, when he answered calls from land and cellular numbers he said “hello, hello” and when the journalist identified himself the calls were terminated.

Hamilton said 9MM were rotated among members of the leadership at one point he had carried one of those handguns.

Hamilton named Hamilton Green, Robert Williams and Emerson Simon as PNC points of contact with the House of Israel.

Throughout the inquiry so far, WPA activists have maintained their historic position that the then Forbes Burnham administration had used Guyana Defence Force (GDF) electronics expert Sergeant Gregory Smith to deliver the device to Walter’s brother, Donald.

Brother Nehru.....Now you see why
I call those who Support
Black House of Israel Thugss.......
like Kwame, Lamumba, Hamilton.....
PARASITES, PIMPS, PROSTITUTES & CRAB LOUSE.

NOW.....TODAY...
ALL OF US ON GNI WHO HAVE ATTACKED
THE DUTTYNESS OF JAGDEO & RAMOTAR....
HAVE BEEN FULLY VINDICATED.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Joe's past does not stop him from doing the right thing. How about people with a good record who are now involved in doing wrong deeds?

Yes and no!!

If the PPP is not what is turned out to be then I would have given them the benefit of the doubt.

Jalil has been screaming his lungs out and he may probably die doing so,. that the party his father and Dr Jagan started has evolved into a house of thugs and thieves.

D2, Chief, Kari, Mitwa, ASJ and ALL the other Decent GNI members always say "De Longest Rope....Got an End" XXXXX LET THEM DONKEY.....STOP HIDING..... AND NOWTELL US..... WE ARE WRONG......COME ON DONKEYS....."AYA EARS BIG.....BUT AYA DONT LISTEN.....OR CHOOSE NOT TO LISTEN TO DE TRUTH" http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q...tca3fcYoRkoax19GaDen

Thugs and thieves are gross exaggerations. The party does not use thuggery as a method of quelling the voice of anyone dissenting. You are talking about the PNC when you talk about thuggery. Thieves, if you mean corruption, does exist like it is in the US, or any other country in the world. There is no such thing as a corruption-free country. Corruption does exist but not on a scale depicted by the opposition in its propaganda war with the gov't. Corruption was worse under the PNC and we can actually go into reverse gear and get back to where we were if the mandate to govern Guyana is given to the Granger .

Why PPP free Mr Washington and Taps of HOI?

House of Israel broke up meetings, received guns from PNC-led administration- says fmr cult leader Joseph Hamilton

Joseph Hamilton

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 

Former senior member of the House of Israel, Joseph Hamilton –
now a parliamentarian for the governing Peoples Progressive Party Civic (PPPC)-
on Monday admitted that he and other members of that African Guyanese cult had broken up a number of Working Peoples Alliance (WPA) meetings.

He began his testimony at the Commission of Inquiry into the death of Guyanese historian and WPA co-founder, Walter Rodney in 1980 when a bomb-in-walkie talkie exploded in his lower region while he was sitting in his brother’s car on John Street (nearer Hadfield Street), Georgetown.

Describing the House of Israel as a “tool of oppression”, Hamilton said that well-organised religious organization which had about 2,000 members, had been instructed not to hurt then PPP member, Dr. Cheddi Jagan or WPA Co-Leader Eusi Kwayana.
“Any other member of the WPA, the opposition parties could have been harmed or assaulted,” said Hamilton, now Parliamentary Secretary for the Ministry of Health.
He reasoned that if Jagan was hurt, there could have been racial/ethnic conflict, and if Kwayana was harmed, PNC sympathizers could have shifted to the WPA because he was widely respected in the Black community.

While the House of Israel never received instructions in relation to Walter Rodney, he said “Walter Rodney would have been in the basket of persons who could have been armed.”

In what appears to corroborate testimony given by other witnesses including Walter’s brother, Eddie, and Kwayana; Hamilton said the House of Israel had been recruited by the then Peoples National Congress (PNC) administration to break up political meetings and beat activists.(NOTE....TK, JB & Redux still feel PNC should not apologize)

“Suppressive methodology because it moved into assault and physical violence,” he said, adding that he was beating people.

Asked by Counsel for the Commission, Latchmie Rahamat what objects were used to beat people, he said batons and sticks were the weapons of choice.

He also recalled the House of Israel working very closely with a wing of the PNC’s youth arm, Young Socialist Movement (YSM), at a building on Barima Avenue, Bel Air Park. There they received instructions from YSM functionaries, he said.  “Some of the activities with the House of Israel-disruptions and whatever- were coordinated with that group of persons,” he said.

Fearing that the WPA might have eventually retaliated, Hamilton said in 1978 the House of Israel had asked the government to provide guns for protection purposes.  

Hamilton recalled then YSM functionary, Robert Corbin, had given the House of Israel six 9MM pistols at the building at Barima Avenue.

Repeated efforts by Demerara Waves Online News to speak with Mr. Corbin were futile. On two occasions, when he answered calls from land and cellular numbers he said “hello, hello” and when the journalist identified himself the calls were terminated.

Hamilton said 9MM were rotated among members of the leadership at one point he had carried one of those handguns.

Hamilton named Hamilton Green, Robert Williams and Emerson Simon as PNC points of contact with the House of Israel.

Throughout the inquiry so far, WPA activists have maintained their historic position that the then Forbes Burnham administration had used Guyana Defence Force (GDF) electronics expert Sergeant Gregory Smith to deliver the device to Walter’s brother, Donald.

Brother Nehru.....Now you see why
I call those who Support
Black House of Israel Thugss.......
like Kwame, Lamumba, Hamilton.....
PARASITES, PIMPS, PROSTITUTES & CRAB LOUSE.

NOW.....TODAY...
ALL OF US ON GNI WHO HAVE ATTACKED
THE DUTTYNESS OF JAGDEO & RAMOTAR....
HAVE BEEN FULLY VINDICATED.
P-anty Man.....Dem like Billy who will continue to bend over to Corruption and Wrongdoing.

Because Now PPP = PNC
TODAY PPP + PNC = Non Stop Corruption...... XXXXXX WHY JB, REDUX & TK SUPPORT THE PNC?

Jalil,

I don't support corruption. I dislike it because it hurts the poor and can ultimately benefit the wrong people in the long run - the infamous PNC whose eyes are set on taking power and decimate their opponents and their supporters.  You know who are their opponents. We cannot sacrifice the democratic gains that so many have struggled for. We must remember what is at stake at this given juncture in our history. The party must be re-united and the gov't. must crackdown on unscrupulous contractors and businessmen who took us all for a ride. It is a known fact that many contractors and corrupt businessmen who are out of favor with the PPP market are busily bribing and corrupting those in the opposition with the hope they will become beneficiaries of contracts from a new gov't if they succeed. It is unwise for use to just look at the current state of affairs and ignore the future state of affairs should the PNC get back into office. Granger has done nothing to indicate that he is serious about safeguarding democracy and justice in Guyana. He is a military man he will use the military to decimate the opposition. These are not irrational fears. They are real

Billy....I would normally ignore your comments.....because you Refuse to see the Problem in the PPP .....is "Jagdeo & Ramotar" and you continue to Hold on to your Ignorance of how the PPP find themselves in this Uncompromising position now.

Jalil,

I don't support corruption.

BUT YOU CONTINUE TO SUPPORT THE CORRUPTION OF JAGDEO & RAMOTAR BLINDLY
I dislike it because it hurts the poor and can ultimately benefit the wrong people in the long run - the infamous PNC whose eyes are set on taking power and decimate their opponents and their supporters.

</&nbsp;

IF YOU WANT TO FIX THE PPP OR THE PRESENT PPP U HAVE TO STAY FOCUSED ON THE PROBLEM.......AND CUT OUT THE BULL-$HIT.
You know who are their opponents. We cannot sacrifice the democratic gains that so many have struggled for. We must remember what is at stake at this given juncture in our history.

AND WE HAVE TO UNDERSTAND HOW WE GOT TO THIS CORRUPT STATE NOW.....AND STAY FOCUS ON FIXING IT....
The party must be re-united and the gov't. must crackdown on unscrupulous contractors and businessmen who took us all for a ride.

HOW CAN YOU REUNITE THE PARTY AND KEEP THE CROOKS IN CONTROL...... WHY WAS RAMJATTAN EXPELLED FROM THE PPP???? BECAUSE HE EXPOSED CORRUPTION........ WHY MOSES RESIGNED FROM THE PPP??...BECAUSE OF JAGDEO & RAMOTAR CORRUPTION......WHY RALPH RAMKARRAN RESIGN FROM THE PPP?????...BECAUSE OF JAGDEO & RAMOTAR CORRUPTION......SO IF WE WANT TO REUNITE THE PPP WHAT DO WE DO TO BRING BACK KHEMRAJ, MOSES & RALPH ......THE 3 TOP GUNS
It is a known fact that many contractors and corrupt businessmen who are out of favor with the PPP market are busily bribing and corrupting those in the opposition with the hope they will become beneficiaries of contracts from a new gov't if they succeed.

BULL $HIT.... WHY ARE THEY ARE CORRUPT????? BECAUSE THEY STOP SUPPORTING JAGDEO & RAMOTAR TODAY???? WHEN THEY CORRUPT WHEN THEY SUPPORTED THE PPP BEFORE???? YES or NO????
It is unwise for use to just look at the current state of affairs and ignore the future state of affairs should the PNC get back into office.

BILLY YOU CANNOT FIX THE FUTURE BY IGNORING THE PRESENT.
Granger has done nothing to indicate that he is serious about safeguarding democracy and justice in Guyana. He is a military man he will use the military to decimate the opposition.

YOU WANT TO FOCUS ON FIXING THE PPP....... OR YOU WANT TO FOCUS ON GRANGER & THE PNC?????
These are not irrational fears. They are real...... SO WHAT ILL WE DO WITH THE 2 ROTTEN EGG (LIKE CANCER) IN THE PPP

Joe's past does not stop him from doing the right thing. How about people with a good record who are now involved in doing wrong deeds?

Funny you think that Joe Hamilton can suddenly become good, and yet you indict the PNC as being irredeemably bad, based upon the actions of a man now dead.

Billy can you respond to My good friend "J"??????

Jalil,

I don't support corruption. I dislike it because it hurts the poor and can ultimately benefit the wrong people in the long run - the infamous PNC whose eyes are set on taking power and decimate their opponents and their supporters.  You know who are their opponents. We cannot sacrifice the democratic gains that so many have struggled for. We must remember what is at stake at this given juncture in our history. The party must be re-united and the gov't. must crackdown on unscrupulous contractors and businessmen who took us all for a ride. It is a known fact that many contractors and corrupt businessmen who are out of favor with the PPP market are busily bribing and corrupting those in the opposition with the hope they will become beneficiaries of contracts from a new gov't if they succeed. It is unwise for use to just look at the current state of affairs and ignore the future state of affairs should the PNC get back into office. Granger has done nothing to indicate that he is serious about safeguarding democracy and justice in Guyana. He is a military man he will use the military to decimate the opposition. These are not irrational fears. They are real

Billy, dog food has a better taste than the bilge I just read.

....the gov't. must crackdown on unscrupulous contractors and businessmen who took us all for a ride.

Are you for real? It IS the PPP that created the unscrupulous contractors, not some contractors who took us all for a ride.

The party must be re-united.....

This party that kicked out Ramjattan for wanting a democratic PPP constitution; one devoid of Marxism-Leninism?

The party that parted ways with Moses because he refused to go along with their corruption including the same contractors you say take us all for a ride?

The party that caused an iconic figure like Ralph Ramkarran to leave it?

The party that spat on a heroic Guyanese like Yesu Persaud?

A party that took so many of the same PNC members you rail about and made them significant figures in a corrupt cabal?

Are you nuts?!

The PPP did not free Taps and Washington. They were led out of a judicial system dominated by the opposition. This lying business that the AFC and APNU is running soon flop.

Who said "Rabbi was used"

U ppl should check ur info. It was Cheddie who started the motion of teking in PNC thugs. He started with the Calysoian he was touring wid in 1992. Soon after, Lumumba was recruited after the PPP victory. CBJ was an old style politician. He figured Burnham recruited from PPP suh he will do it to the PNC. More or else, he started the recruit of the thugs in the PNC for reasons. By taking them in, it solved two purposes. Diminish PNC treats and use the thugs in the advance of the PPP agenda. Yuh all remember the fathom gangs. Poor Jagdeo inherited the THUGs but he used them wisely.

Because Now PPP = PNC
TODAY PPP + PNC = Non Stop Corruption...... XXXXXX WHY JB, REDUX & TK SUPPORT THE PNC?

I dont know about TK and REDUX but me know we family support Mr Hoyte. We dont like communists. 

Joe Hamilton says GDF officer trained him in bomb-making; GDF arms passed thru PNC to House of Israel .... AND TODAY HOUSE OF ISRAEL THUGS INFEST FREEDOM HOUSE & OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT. Tuesday, 03 June 2014 11:46 Written by Denis Scott Chabrol Joe Hamilton testifies before the Walter Rodney Commission of Inquiry about his experiences as a House of Israel elder. Former elder of the House of Israel cult, Joseph Hamilton on Tuesday told the Walter Rodney Commission of Inquiry that he was trained in bomb-making by a senior Guyana Defence Force (GDF) officer. The Commission also heard reference being made to a police intelligence file which contained aan arms requisition/delivery form bearing the purported signatures of then former GDF Major Mc Pherson and someone from the House of Israel showing that a cache of arms and ammunition had been handed over to the then governing Peoples National Congress (PNC). Hamilton has previously testified that the House of Israel and the PNC’s youth arm had coordinated the breaking up of opposition political meetings and the beating up of Working Peoples Alliance (WPA) activists. The list included 19 G3 rifles, 19 G3 bayonets, several rounds of 7.62MM ammunition, 10 Browning pistols and five hundred rounds of 9MM ammunition. Hamilton said he could not recognise the signature of the person who signed the document on June 24, 1979 on behalf of the House of Israel. A GDF officer is expected to be called by the three-member Commission to testify. Hamilton, who is a former PNC executive member, also told the Commission on Tuesday late PNC member Robert Williams had also provided four .38 service revolvers to specific “brothers” of the House of Israel to protect that organisation against possible WPA retaliation after a cult member, Bilal Ato, had killed Roman Catholic priest, Father Bernard Darke during agitation on Brickdam back in 1979. He said that he and other House of Israel members had been trained in firearm use by then current and former soldiers and police who had been also members of that cult that was led by American fugitive David Hill alias Rabbi Edward Washington. At no time, Hamilton said, was he fearful of being arrested for being in possession of an illegal firearm. “I had no fear of being arrested because the House of Israel, we were being protected by the government of the day… so I felt any way threatened carrying a firearm,” he said. Now a Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Health, Hamilton said he was trained by a now ex GDF officer to make bombs but he was unsure whether it was a direct order or through a relationship between that officer and his brother who was a House of Israel member. Hamilton also told the Commission of Inquiry that among the frequent visitors to Rabbi Washington were then Police Officer, Vernon Gentle; then Home Affairs Minister, Stanley Moore; PNC big-wig, Agnes Benn-Kirton – who faithfully collected weekly hampers from the House of Israel-and several other prominent persons. The former House of Israel member further testified that House of Israel members had been used as scabs during strikes in the sugar belt to minimise loss of production. WPA activists, Karen De Souza and Eusi Kwayana, as well as then opposition activist, Eddie Rodney, have all testified that the House of Israel had been involved in attacking opponents to the PNC administration during the 1970s and 1980s. Hamilton’s testimony has so far corroborated those claims. Dr. Walter Rodney was killed on June 13,1980 when a bomb-in-walkie-talkie exploded n his lower region while he was sitting in his brother’s car on John Street a short distance from the Georgetown Prison. The device had been supplied by then GDF Sergeant Gregory Smith earlier that night to Walter and his brother, Donald, for them to test near the metal fence of thejail. Kwayana has said in his testimony that he never knew of Smith until his name was mentioned in statements by Donald and Smith’s neighbour, Pamela Beharry. Kwayana has also said he was aware that the WPA leadership had been procuring walkie talkies to communicate effectively especially in monitoring police movements during protests. A number of walkie talkies were found at Walter’s home by police shortly after he was killed. Smith died less than 10 years ago in French Guiana to where he had escaped just days after Rodney’s death.

Kari,

Thanks for your response.  I don't know how dog food taste since my family never made the mistake of sending me cans of Alpo in Guyana thinking they were salmons and sardines. 

The Camphelville group that attended the party's congress in Berbice proposed to remove Marxism/Lennism from PPP's program. That was a great move. I do supported then and I still do support it now. The expulsion of Ramjattan from the party had little to do with that and more to do with the leaking of confidential information regarding the battle with the African Resistance based in Buxton. The African Resistance were robbing, kidnapping, and murdering Indo-Guyanese.

The internal strife in the party is being exploited by haters of democracy and anthing decent in the political arena.. I believe Ralph was the best candidate for the party. It is common for rifts to develop in great partnerships in any organization be they political, business, or religious. We recognized there is a problem with the issue of who succeeds CBJ and how the party's presidential candidate is selected or elected. I, personally have no illusion about that. We know that this internal strife does not prevent the gov't from fulfilling its constitutional duty of allowing elections on a timely manner and on a fair basis. 

The opposition which is fighing for power is not a good alternative. They still believe in the use of violence against civilians and have strong affiliations with criminals, corrupted professionals, unscrupulous businessmen, and debauched intellectuals and political pundits like Freddie Coup - Gar Kissoon and Mitwah of GNi. I am for positive change. I would like to see Donald be more proactive and crack down on waste in the system, expose the corruption at City Hall, and give thanks to those in the diaspora who helped the party in the hard days.

Last edited by Billy Ram Balgobin
. . . I am for positive change. I would like to see Donald be more proactive and crack down on waste in the system, expose the corruption at City Hall, and give thanks to those in the diaspora who helped the party in the hard days.

according to de ramGOAT, everything irie in PPP democratic majority-rule Guyana, except dat Danald need to be mo "procative " in dealing with de following:

(a) lil waste in de system

(b) [blackman] corruption at City Hall

(c) lack of appreciation of de overseas 'soldiers' who stood by the PPP in burnham time

suh please leave de brothers to do deh ting and tief in peace . . . mind yuh own bizness

Corruption is a comcomitant of economic growth in developing nations. Guyana's corruption is relatively low in comparison with other countries. It is unacceptable but it is inevitable. We are still democratic 1992. We enjoy freedom of press, speech, and religion. We can complain about many things but we must be thankful for things we have. Better half a loaf than none.

The opposition which is fighing for power is not a good alternative. They still believe in the use of violence against civilians and have strong affiliations with criminals, corrupted professionals, unscrupulous businessmen, and debauched intellectuals and political pundits like Freddie Coup - Gar Kissoon and Mitwah of GNi. .

Billy - "They still believe in the use of violence against civilians" - Have you ever heard of the Phantom Death Squad which is responsible for the extrajudicial killings of hundreds of young men? Have you seen the violence that is used by the Police Force under the PPP? Several horrific incidents of torture, murdering unarmed protesters at Linden, beating a female protester in the interior while her young son watches on.  

Billy - "strong affiliations with criminals" - Do these names ring a bell ? Roger Khan, Ed Ahmad, Peter Morgan, Bernard Kerik, HOI Joe Hamilton, Kwame, former PNC street thug Lumumba, and numerous others. 

Billy - "corrupted professionals, unscrupulous businessmen" - This perfectly describes most of the PPP top brass including Brassington, Dr. Death Ramsammy and Ashni. Their bagmen like Fip Motilall, CGX, the Chinese Mafia and numerous corrupt contractors with whom they share a very close relationship.

Billy "debauched political pundits" - like Billy Ram Goat?

Surely you jest! 

Billy Ram Balgobin says:

"The opposition which is fighing for power is not a good alternative. They still believe in the use of violence against civilians and have strong affiliations with criminals...."

The PPP government through its police force administered by Clement Rohee uses violence against civilians routinely. Two newspaper reports this week alone:

[1] "Constable Devin Singh was yesterday charged along with his colleague Roselle Tilbury-Douglas at the Georgetown Magistrates’ Court for the  alleged baton assault on Colwyn Harding." [Kaieteur News]

Accused: Police Constable Devin Singh hides his face before his first arraignment.

Photo: Police Constable Devin Singh hides his face before his first arraignment.

[2] "Investigators from the Office of the Professional Responsibility (OPR) yesterday took a detailed statement from Junior Thornton who was burnt on both hands, allegedly by lawmen at the Sparendaam Police Station, two Tuesdays ago." [Kaieteur News]

Junior Thornton continues to receive treatment for the burns on both of his hands.

Photo: Junior Thornton with his burnt hands

Corruption is a comcomitant of economic growth in developing nations. Guyana's corruption is relatively low in comparison with other countries. It is unacceptable but it is inevitable. We are still democratic 1992. We enjoy freedom of press, speech, and religion. We can complain about many things but we must be thankful for things we have. Better half a loaf than none.

1.  Local govt elections are 15 years past dues and the PPP refuses to host them.  Is that evidence that Guyana is democratic?

2.  Corruption is much more a part of daily life in Guyana than in the rest of the English speaking Caribbean.  Stop using Nigeria as a gauge to determine whether Guyana is corrupt or not.