This is from the Oil&gas Journal Magazine, and its reading of CGX's report on the Eagle well is as I saw it. Some investors may see the glass as half-empty, while others may see it as half-empty. The Government of Guyana is optimistic about petroleum possibilities off-shore of Guyana.

=======================================================

CGX group sees petroleum system offshore Guyana

CGX Energy Inc., Toronto, found water-bearing sandstones with hydrocarbon shows in the Eagle-1 wildcat on its 100% owned Corentyne Petroleum Prospecting License offshore Guyana.

Eagle-1 went to a total depth of 4,328 m in Upper Cretaceous (Maastrichtian) in an 8Β½-in. hole and with synthetic oil-base drilling fluid.

During drilling it encountered oil and gas shows through the objective Eocene and Maastrichtian geologic zones and in the yet to be confirmed Oligocene zone indicating an active petroleum system where generated hydrocarbons have migrated through the pre-Miocene section drilled by the well.

Wireline logs provided encouraging results with high resistivities correlating with sandstones that had encountered oil shows, but further open hole logs were necessary to determine the nature of the fluids in those zones. Hence, combinable magnetic resonance and modular formation dynamics logs were run and both identified the presence of good quality sandstone reservoirs that proved to be water-bearing.

Further analyses are needed to verify the geological age of the drilled section and the chemical composition of the recovered fluids, CGX said. Weather and mechanical issues added 30 days to the initial 60-day drilling time, pushing the estimated well cost to $71 million from $55 million.

CGX said the well gathered valuable information that will assist it in determining the next well to be drilled on the Corentyne PPL and for other future targets. The company’s geosciences team interpreting the recently shot 3D seismic has identified other prospects and has established that the updip termination of the Eagle Deep Turonian prospect is shallower than initially thought.

Meanwhile the Repsol Exploracion SA-operated Jaguar-1 well on the Georgetown PPL is drilling as planned toward a total depth of 6,500 m to test the Turonian. Spudded Feb. 9, 2012, its projected drilling time is 180 days. Partners are CGX, YPF Guyana Ltd., and Tullow Oil PLC.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Discovery of oil will surely bring in an enormous amount of wealth. This blessing will be accompanied by many terrible things such as increased rivalry between the two major races and Caribj and his comrades demanding reparations for 200 years of slavery.

Guys, let us find the oil first and let all Guyanese enjoy the results. It should not be limited to one race. We have a family of six, now seven with mixed race. We will have enough for everyone.

Open the oil well and let the man come in. All a we is one family.

Originally Posted by Sunil:

Oil and gas reservoirs are not static and tend to migrate due to porous rocks and overlying temp and pressure. In most cases drilling tends to be a hit and miss affair and can take up to 20 exploratory wells before you hit the reservoir. Here is an article that any one with A level physics can understand.

http://www.searchanddiscovery....nts/97018/mechan.htm 

Aile migrate?  Mi tink donk hay nuff ting ah goa baktrak, no visa required.

Oh Rass yuh had to fish up Redux suh man.I am not sure but I think he managed that level.Originally Posted by Sunil:

Oil and gas reservoirs are not static and tend to migrate due to porous rocks and overlying temp and pressure. In most cases drilling tends to be a hit and miss affair and can take up to 20 exploratory wells before you hit the reservoir. Here is an article that any one with A level physics can understand.

Originally Posted by Sledgehammer:

Sledge, will you hire us if oil is found ? Or will you require that we get working Visas.

Bhai Yuji22, abie goa mek wan place fuh alyuh, no baktrak, but no funny dealings.  Abie goa strike aile, juss hold yuh pants.  Venez full wid aile, Brazil gah nuff nuff aff shore.  Ah wah wrang wid we, goat bite abie?

LOL. You are funny.

I am certain that you will strike oil, only a matter of time. In fact just in time before the AFC disintegrate.

LOL. You are funny.

I am certain that you will strike oil, only a matter of time. In fact just in time before the AFC disintegrate.

Abie lil poor k0ntry goa get 'e day and all who tek dem eye pass abie gon geh nuff eye waata.  Dem seh, every daag get 'e day, well abie day goa come.

LOL. You are funny.

Abie lil poor k0ntry goa get 'e day and all who tek dem eye pass abie gon geh nuff eye waata.  Dem seh, every daag get 'e day, well abie day goa come.

With oil comes power and corruption. I hope you are still honest then and we do not have to pass a few dollars to you before you allow us to enter Guyana.

Otherwise, we will use the Surinam back track and cross through Crabwood Creek.

LOL. You are funny.

With oil comes power and corruption. I hope you are still honest then and we do not have to pass a few dollars to you before you allow us to enter Guyana.

bai, nuff abie dont like corruption, but nuff coolies like bribe.  Coolies wuss dann blacks fuh bribe.  Mi tell Ramotar fuh leh we put in da China model.  Wan good bullet dem head.  Wenn mi seh dah, e' grab he head laka e' ah geh headache.  Nuuf nuff tings wrang donk hay, bu nuff nuff tings rite also.  Abie po tap.

LOL. You are funny.

bai, nuff abie dont like corruption, but nuff coolies like bribe.  Coolies wuss dann blacks fuh bribe.  Mi tell Ramotar fuh leh we put in da China model.  Wan good bullet dem head.  Wenn mi seh dah, e' grab he head laka e' ah geh headache.  Nuuf nuff tings wrang donk hay, bu nuff nuff tings rite also.  Abie po tap.

Talking about corruption what is your take on the AFC elected official exposing corruption in the AFC ?

What do you think of  Moses and Ramjattan and their little parrot Gerhard now ?

I hear stories of workers being under paid and exploited, who will help them ?

Migration of gas and oil in this context occurs at a rate of a few kilometers in a couple of million years.

It's not as if the oil's running around playing whack-a-mole with oil rigs.

What the hell is your point  . . .?!!

It said that during drilling, the Eagle-1 well encountered oil and gas shows through the objective Eocene and Maastrichtian geologic zones and at the, yet to be confirmed, Oligocene zone indicating an active petroleum system where generated hydrocarbons have migrated through the pre-Miocene section drilled by the well.

The company in its release said that after combinable magnetic resonance and modular formation dynamics were run, it was determined that while there was a presence of good quality sandstone reservoirs, they β€œunfortunately” proved to be water bearing.

============================

Most people imagine the oil bearing strata as a horizontal layer of chocolate in the middle of a cake. The fact is that is resembles a 3D sinusoidal curve where the gas and oil migrates to the apex of the curve. Imagine burying 10 oranges under a foot of sand then trying to push the stick down  and hit the top of the orange. While you know approx depth of the strata if you hit the sides or in between the oranges you come up with water. Because of the difference in density, gas always migrates to the apex of the curve, oil is under the gas and water fills the rest of the strata.   

Sunil

It said that during drilling, the Eagle-1 well encountered oil and gas shows through the objective Eocene and Maastrichtian geologic zones and at the, yet to be confirmed, Oligocene zone indicating an active petroleum system where generated hydrocarbons have migrated through the pre-Miocene section drilled by the well.

The company in its release said that after combinable magnetic resonance and modular formation dynamics were run, it was determined that while there was a presence of good quality sandstone reservoirs, they β€œunfortunately” proved to be water bearing.

============================

Most people imagine the oil bearing strata as a horizontal layer of chocolate in the middle of a cake. . .

NO they don't!! Anyone with even a passing interest in the oil drilling business understands that you have to locate a trap.

You guys need to stop trying to impress people with irrelevant cut & paste industry jargon and geophysics that you barely understand.

BTW, the CGX release ginned up to impress the poorly informed and easily impressed can be summarized simpy as this: "we punched through the eocene and into the maastrichtian and found mostly water."

All the additional BS about an "active petroleum system" is not news. The Corentyne PPL's source kitchen is a known quantity!

Give it a rest already

All the risks are on CGX's side and the actualized rewards will be the people of Guyana. How can you beat that?

CGX has invested millions of dollars in Guyana. Look at foreign private investment in Guyana in the last decade and tell me the things that make you, Reduxion, sour on CGX's involvement. Have they stolen your money? Are the terms of Agreement such that it can be called economic rape?

Your education continues.............

Kari, Heducate this FOOL so he can become a Productive Citizen!!!Originally Posted by Kari:

All the risks are on CGX's side and the actualized rewards will be the people of Guyana. How can you beat that?

CGX has invest millions of dollars in Guyana. Look at foreign private investment in Guyana in the last decade and tell me the things that make you, Reduxion, sour on CGX's involvement. Have they stolen your money? Are the terms of Agreement such that it can be called economic rape?

CGX has invested millions of dollars in Guyana. Look at foreign private investment in Guyana in the last decade and tell me the things that make you, Reduxion, sour on CGX's involvement. Have they stolen your money? Are the terms of Agreement such that it can be called economic rape?

Your affinity for con men who rely on information control, bluster and showmanship to obscure the 'big picture' is noted.

I'll deal with you more comprehensively later.