15-Y-O female in police lockups for 2 weeks; mother begs Gov’t intervention

July 20, 2015 12:39 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-

Jail-Bars-and-Cuffs[www.inewsguyana.com] – The family of a 15 – year – old girl are calling on the relevant authorities to look into their situation with some urgency after the teenager has been locked up at the Whim Police Station, Corentyne Berbice for almost two weeks now.

The young lady is in custody as a result of a physical altercation she had with another girl. According to reports, the teenager of Rose Hall Town, was attempting to defend her pregnant sister, who came under attack, when the altercation took place.

She was later charged and placed before the Albion Magistrate’s court, where she was remanded to the New Opportunity Corps in Dennis Street, Sophia, Greater Georgetown, but she is yet to be transported to the facility.

Meanwhile, the decision to remand the teen is not sitting well with her mother, Bridgette Moore, who told iNews that her daughter has not been eating due to the conditions she has been forced to inhabit at the Whim Police Station.

According to the distraught mother, the teen has been crying uncontrollably. The mother remains shocked at the court’s decision, stating that her teenage daughter is being treated worse than a criminal for her first offence.

The woman explained that during her daughter’s court appearance, the Probation Officer, Maize Shepherd recommended that the 15 – year – old be sent to the rehabilitation center in Sophia but Moore has refused to hand over the child’s birth certificate, stating that is not going to give the State custody of her minor female child.

“I feel hurt about this; me daughter ain’t eating nothing, everything we send, she sending it back…I make my children and regardless of what my belly does burn for them,” the woman told iNews.

Ramjattan is useless and must be replaced by President Granger. The justice system is in a total mess and Ramjattan appears clueless.

Remember this child is only 15 years old.

Shame on Ramjattan !

He is a disgrace to Guyana and must be held responsible for the treatment of this child.

This case highlights the attitude of Ramjattan. I call on all Barbicans who voted for APNU and Ramjattan to speak out. 

This is a case of grave injustice. If you have a young daughter and care about the welfare of the treatment of the children of other Guyanese speak out now !

Shame on Ramjattan ! Shame ! Shame ! Shame !

WHat Ramjattan got to do with this?

He is the Minister responsible. He must intervene.

In the past, PPP ministers were attacked for not intervening. I am defending justice for this child.

It is my right. It is also your right to disagree.

"According to reports, the teenager of Rose Hall Town, was attempting to defend her pregnant sister, who came under attack, when the altercation took place."

In the past, PPP ministers were attacked for not intervening. I am defending justice for this child.

I aint disagree...just asking what Ramjattan got to do with this

Shame on Ramjattan. This child was defending her pregnant sister. Ramjattan must intervene or be held responsible for allowing this injustice to continue.

What next ? 

This child can now be subject to sexual abuse.

Shame on Ramjattan !

Go to whim magistrate court and fight.

I aint disagree...just asking what Ramjattan got to do with this

Take some reading lessons man, Ramjattan is the minister responsible. He must intervene.

You can choose to disagree but it is my right to condemn Ramjattan for this injustice.

Hide your teenage daughters because Ramjattan will not intervene if they are treated with Injustice in Guyana.

Welcome to change.

Shame on Ramjattan !

"According to reports, the teenager of Rose Hall Town, was attempting to defend her pregnant sister, who came under attack, when the altercation took place."

Listen banna, that was their arguement, the matter was adjudicated and clearly the judge saw it fit to recommend rehab.  That is the rule of law.   Ramjattan is not all-powerful like our own RiffRaff.

Hide your teenage daughters because Ramjattan will not intervene if they are treated with Injustice in Guyana.

Welcome to change.

Shame on Ramjattan !

What injustice?

Listen banna, that was their arguement, the matter was adjudicated and clearly the judge saw it fit to recommend rehab.  That is the rule of law.   Ramjattan is not all-powerful like our own RiffRaff.

Got it.

Ramjattan only has a title to serve his master.

No consideration is given if a teenager is defending her pregnant sister and this is her first offence.

Send her off to be abused at Sophia.

I believe Ramjattan should step down before he is force to step down.

He is a disgrace to Guyanese especially Berbicans who voted for him.

President Granger should fire him immediately in order to save this government from further disgrace.

Got it.

No consideration is given if a teenager is defending her pregnant sister and this is her first offence.

Cut the shyte, that matter was "adjudicated".  It's not Ramjattan's place or even mandate to do anything.  If the parents feel it was unjust, then they should file an appeal. That's how it works.

Got it.

Cut the shyte, that matter was "adjudicated".  It's not Ramjattan's place or even mandate to do anything.  If the parents feel it was unjust, then they should file an appeal. That's how it works.

Welcome to change and our "new" and fair justice system for teenagers, especially if they are defending their pregnant sister and this is their first offence.

I am sure that President Granger will intervene. Ramjattan on the other hand is quite useless.

And yes, the parents can file an appeal. Some folks fall through the cracks because of poverty.

Got it.

Welcome to change and our "new" and fair justice system for teenagers, especially if they are defending their pregnant sister and this is their first offence.

I am sure that President Granger will intervene. Ramjattan on the other hand is quite useless.

And yes, the parents can file an appeal. Some folks fall through the cracks because of poverty.

Send money for her defence.

Got it.

Banna, shut yuh rass, wuss than this happen under the PPP.  I know a lil girl got raped by her uncle and the mother refused to cooperate so she (the girl) was sent here for three years till she turn 18 while the uncle remained free.  PPP Priya resolved the issue by throwing the lil girl in this "semi-prison".

Got it.

Are you the one who claim to help children in Guyana ?

Your silence is just as shameless as Ramjattan.

Don't worry, President Granger will intervene and assist this helpless child while you and the so called organization that your represent, assist children in Guyana.

SMH

Got it.

Are you the one who claim to help children in Guyana ?

Your silence is just as shameless as Ramjattan.

Don't worry, President Granger will intervene and assist this helpless child while you and the so called organization that your represent, assist children in Guyana.

SMH

Send money for her defence. I can get Manichand to defend her.

Provide details and I will gladly assist the family.

In the meanwhile, what is your organization doing with monies collected to assist poor and helpless children like these ?

Provide details and I will gladly assist the family.

In the meanwhile, what is your organization doing with monies collected to assist poor and helpless children like these ?

We help orphans. This is beyond our scope. You can contact the magistrate at Whim yourself for the details.

Got it.

Banna, shut yuh rass, wuss than this happen under the PPP.  I know a lil girl got raped by her uncle and the mother refused to cooperate so she (the girl) was sent here for three years till she turn 18 while the uncle remained free.  PPP Priya resolved the issue by throwing the lil girl in this "semi-prison".

Base

This is quite disgraceful as to what happened here. Politicians of all political stripe must be brought to shame for their actions.

PPP Priya must be held accountable for this type of disgraceful behaviour.

All children of Guyana must be protected.

Shame on Ramjattan. This child was defending her pregnant sister. Ramjattan must intervene or be held responsible for allowing this injustice to continue.

What next ? 

This child can now be subject to sexual abuse.

Shame on Ramjattan !

How bout the child killer your fren Jabba released?

She was sent to a rehab facility so what's alyuh beef?  You don't know all the facts and this was a decision of the court so what you want Ramjattan so do, go shot-gun?

Read between the lines. Yoooo Gee's beef is black man raping indian women. Examine just 2 of his posts on this thread.

Saith Yugi:

"The child can now be subject to sexual abuse"

"Hide your teenage daughters because Ramjattan will not intervene if they are treated with Injustice in Guyana."

That's what it's about just in case you missed it. That's what we deal with day in and day out with these racist indian half men like yugi.