Former MP, Charrandass Persaud (r) being escorted by PPP advisor Peter Ramsaroop via the back entrance on the evening of December 21st. (Keno George photo)

Details are emerging now of how Charrandass Persaud, a parliamentarian who rocked Guyana’s politics after voting ‘yes’ in a no-confidence motion that toppled his government, made it to the Ogle Airport on the morning of December 22, last.
Hours after that vote, an officer of the Canadian High Commission accompanied him to the airport, stayed with him through Immigration and ensured that he entered the plane. The plane later left for Barbados where the former Member of Parliament (MP) took a connecting flight to Canada.
Persaud, who has dual Guyana and Canada citizenship, reportedly reached out to the Canadian High Commission shortly after the vote, asking for protection. He was told to go to the consulate at High and Young Streets.
He left via the back gate of the Parliament Building, with his security and advisor to the People’s Progressive Party (PPP), Peter Ramsaroop, and went straight there.
From there, around 3am, he was taken in the High Commission vehicle, in the company of a diplomat to the Ogle Airport.
He was followed by another vehicle that included his security personnel.
At the airport, the diplomat accompanied him to the Immigration, and even ensured that he boarded the plane.
The former MP had earlier refused police protection offered by Minister of Public Security, Khemraj Ramjattan, saying later he could not trust anyone.
He had claimed that after the first vote, he was “threatened” by Government MP, Jennifer Wade, who allegedly told him he was going to die.
During the second vote, a defiant Persaud said ‘yes’ three times, leaving no doubt about what he intended to do with his vote.
The former MP, who was expelled by the Alliance For Change (AFC) following that vote, was contacted yesterday to comment on his request for protection from the High Commission.
He would only disclose that on the night of the vote, shortly after he came out of the Chambers, he made contract with the High Commission for protection.
Government has gone to court challenging the validity of the no-confidence vote given Charrandass Persaud’s dual citizenship..
Government is contesting he could not have legally voted as the Constitution bars locals who pledge allegiance to a foreign power from being MPs.
The police are said to be investigating matters of “national security” involving Persaud, a lawyer from Berbice.
There are allegations that he was paid for the vote. There are a number of things leading up to the vote that the Government, which faces a shortened term, says are coming out now.
For example, the MP gave up his law office in Berbice, and then sold his Toyota Prado vehicle.
The People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR), the biggest party in the APNU faction, said it is investigating links that a Trinidad businessman may have paid off the MP, whose one vote in favour of the motion has seen its passage.
Under the Constitution of Guyana, the passage of the motion means that Government has to resign and hold elections within three months, unless there is an agreement with the Opposition to shift to a later date.
Speaking from the US, Persaud last week insisted that he was not offered any money or any inducements by anybody, inside or outside of Guyana, to vote in the National Assembly,
No Bribing
“Nobody offered me money and I always say that I am not the man that you can buy because my salary if you add it up, how much can they give me? One report said I received US$60M. Another one said I left Parliament the week before to go to Trinidad to meet some oil tycoon and I was paid US$15M.”
According to Persaud, from December 3, last, he could not leave Guyana, as the budget debate had started, right through to the December 14.
The former AFC official, who has harsh words for the AFC, a party he said he sacrificed to put into office, challenged Government to check his bank records.
With regards to the debate on his dual citizenship, which the government is challenging, Persaud disclosed that indeed that he travelled on his Canadian passport.
He dismissed criticisms of Government and noted that the Constitution only warned about loyalty to another country, which would prevent someone to be sitting here in the National Assembly as a lawmaker.
The lawyer said he came back to Guyana in 1998-1999, applying successfully for a remigrant status. He received a duty-free vehicle as part of benefits.
He then “established himself as a law student, then as a lawyer and as a businessman ‘running things’ in Guyana. And again, I was dedicated to Guyana.”
According to the former MP, he had confided in the PPP advisor, Peter Ramsaroop, about his decision to vote yes…because of the man’s military background.
Berbice Law Firm
With regards to his law office in Berbice, the former MP said that he has not sold it.
“First of all, Magistrate (Charlyn) Artiga, now a lawyer, had decided to not continue practising as a magistrate. So I saw an opportunity to start a law firm in Berbice. I spoke to her and she agreed to join me on a partnership, we would participate equally in benefits and expenses.”
However, since the vote and fallouts, Artiga has changed her mind about the law firm.
“As of today, my law office has no lawyer. We were supposed to change the signs. I did not sell the law office. We are paying a rent. The Prado is not sold. The duty-free is up in February. I have put it up for sale. I asked to buy another- a 2018-2019 model. I’m still paying the bank for that.”
The Prado was advertised for sale months now. He says Artiga could confirm details of the law firm venture.
On the night of the vote, Persaud stressed, he did not even have clothes. Clothes had to be brought to the Ogle airport the next morning.
None of his friends and family knew his plans.
With regards to his thoughts on the voting, Persaud said that after the vote, he was scared.
He was seen on video reaching for a glass of water, gulping it. On the second vote, the MP was a clear “Yes…yes…yes”, a shocker for Guyana who was watching
“After the first vote, the Clerk (of the National Assembly) suspended the voting and the government side in Parliament had me scared to death. I swear to God I thought that I was gonna die right then. I was also trying to catch my breath and calm myself down. That was nerve wracking. These people, I know them; I know the nature of the people.”
“In fact, Derick Basdeo, a member of the audience, came up and was seen on camera whispering.
He leaned against me in view of the camera… ‘What the f#&k are you doing…? You know what you doing?’
“These were some of the things I had to face before the second count.”

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...otection-to-airport/

• mceclip0

"Derick Basdeo, a member of the audience, came up and was seen on camera whispering. He leaned against me in view of the camera…
‘What the f#&k are you doing…? You know what you doing?’

“These were some of the things I had to face before the second count.”"

oh, poor thing

the horror

smfh

Hey hey hey...Snowie like yuh still fightin dem moongazer and ole higue...Derek is that AFC loud mout from Miami...hey hey hey. Dem bais musse smell contract. But dem PNC blackman seh nothing foh dem. Granger shoot down de wind farm dat Khemraj fren was investing. Hey hey hey...Granger seh only abie kind can mek wind farm...hey hey hey...

Persaud disclosed that indeed that he travelled on his Canadian passport.

He dismissed criticisms of Government and noted that the Constitution only warned about loyalty to another country, which would prevent someone to be sitting here in the National Assembly as a lawmaker.

huh?

Article 155 (1) No person shall be qualified for election as a member of the National Assembly who – (a) is, by virtue of his own act, under any acknowledgment of allegiance, obedience or adherence to a foreign power or state;

and dis Persaud banna is wan GT "lawyer"

lol

"Derick Basdeo, a member of the audience, came up and was seen on camera whispering. He leaned against me in view of the camera…

oh, poor thing

the horror

smfh

Not in defense of Charandass, but I bet if u were in his position u would be shitting your pants too. Nah suh bai?

Canada has surpassed America’s role in influencing Guyanese politics.

Hey hey hey...ayoo prefer Russia, China and Iran foh influence Guyana? And ayoo petrocaribe was influnce too na? 

oh, poor thing

the horror

smfh

Not in defense of Charandass, but I bet if u were in his position u would be shitting your pants too. Nah suh bai?

you would be "shitting" in your pants for this:

"What the f#&k are you doing…? You know what you doing?’"

hmmm . . . seriously?

oh, poor thing

the horror

smfh

you would be "shitting" in your pants for this:

"What the f#&k are you doing…? You know what you doing?’"

hmmm . . . seriously?

Absolutely not. I couldn't care less.

What about Jennifer Wade’s comments “yuh gun dead tonight”

that's a different issue

he carried on about this:

"‘What the f#&k are you doing…? You know what you doing?’"

we call that antimanish

What about Jennifer Wade’s comments “yuh gun dead tonight”

that's a different issue

he carried on about this:

"‘What the f#&k are you doing…? You know what you doing?’"

we call that antimanish

You should know bai, you should know.

The authorities in these advanced countries don’t just let things slide. An official from the Canadian High Commission giving up his sleep to keep Charrandas at the High Commission overnight before accompanying him to the airport and en that he is safely on the plane and away from Guyana is definitely going to be interested in why he Charrandas felt so threatened. This may suggest that Charandas has already spoken extensively to the Canadian authorities.

What about Jennifer Wade’s comments “yuh gun dead tonight” or Volda Lawrence’s earlier death threats if any Coalition MP votes yes?

Ksaz, I have been saying for a decade now that the PNC are Bullies, Murderers, Violent, Undemocratic and WORST. It is stunning that Politicians in the Caribbean and around the World are silent!! When a man has to run for his life because of his VOTE, it tells you you are dealing with a govt of savages!!Where are the outbursts from Democratic Societies???

It was seen clearly and heard by all the death threats made to Charran, one by Jennifer Wade, so why the Police and Rumjaat don't file charges? That is on tape, leaving out what Volda told them at the meeting before the sitting of parliament.

What about Jennifer Wade’s comments “yuh gun dead tonight” or Volda Lawrence’s earlier death threats if any Coalition MP votes yes?

Perhaps PNCR/AFC would applaud and jumping up with great excitement at those remarks.

It was seen clearly and heard by all the death threats made to Charran, one by Jennifer Wade, so why the Police and Rumjaat don't file charges? That is on tape, leaving out what Volda told them at the meeting before the sitting of parliament.

to the extent that Jennifer Wade MP uttered those words to Charandaas Persaud, she should be sanctioned

at the next sitting of the House . . . perhaps?

to the extent that Jennifer Wade MP uttered those words to Charandaas Persaud, she should be sanctioned

Why is it u does have a plaster fuh every sore?. 

charan_peter_2

This picture confirms something was amiss on December 21, 2018.

Charrandass statement.

"According to the former MP, he had confided in the PPP advisor, Peter Ramsaroop, about his decision to vote yes…because of the man’s military background."

His statement is too simple for one to believe,there is honesty.

• charan_peter_2

why is that a problem?

i happen to NOT believe in hypocrisy

why is that a problem?

i don't believe in hypocrisy

Neither do I. But a choice was made, good or bad, and a vote was cast.  Why u up in arms.

Freddie also said that Charandas confided in him that he was going to vote yes so it looks like he told a few people. He probably needed Ramsaroop as protection from the PNC folks. Staying away from parliament that day does not get what he wanted accomplished. So he braved it with lil body guard protection.

why is that a problem?

Neither do I. But a choice was made, good or bad, and a vote was cast.  Why u up in arms.

i am not "up in arms". . . i leave that to the smartman coercive mob

i am looking to fairness

and want the Constitution to be followed

y'all encouraging lawlessness simply because PPP stand to 'benefit'

Freddie also said that Charandas confided in him that he was going to vote yes so it looks like he told a few people. He probably needed Ramsaroop as protection from the PNC folks. Staying away from parliament that day does not get what he wanted accomplished. So he braved it with lil body guard protection.

Confirmation of "confided in" should be obtained directly and specifically from Charrandass.

why is that a problem?

i am looking to fairness

Not y'all bai. I too look for fairness and equality for all Guyanese in the Republic. But that is not going to happen anytime soon. 

why is that a problem?

i am looking to fairness

I guess you will now say 

me Ronan aks Redux did not read the constitution in 2015 when AFC joined forces with APNU to topple PPP.

why is that a problem?

i am looking to fairness

Not y'all bai. I too look for fairness and equality for all Guyanese in the Republic. But that is not going to happen anytime soon. 

Oh my dearest Shiek, you really felt that way. 

why is that a problem?

i am looking to fairness

Oh my dearest Shiek, you really felt that way. 

Yes! I do.

why is that a problem?

i am looking to fairness

I guess you will now say 

me Ronan aks Redux did not read the constitution in 2015 when AFC joined forces with APNU to topple PPP.

WATAK!!  Neither the Namakaram Crabdaag thought it would be too expensive to have early Election.  Who STUPID done STUPID!!!

But a choice was made, good or bad, and a vote was cast.  Why u up in arms.

i am looking to fairness

I guess you will now say 

don't try to read my mind . . . you too dunce

Donald Ramotar prorogued parliament, and the electorate "toppled" the PPP

what's your stupid point?

i am looking to fairness

I guess you will now say 

Your ASS must be pretty jealous of all the shit that comes out like Bullshit. 

Too bad you abuse the privilege of stupid. 

Your ASS must be pretty jealous of all the shit that comes out like Bullshit. 

Too bad you abuse the privilege of stupid. 

yaaaaawwn

why is that a problem?

i am looking to fairness

I guess you will now say 

WATAK!!  Neither the Namakaram Crabdaag thought it would be too expensive to have early Election.  Who STUPID done STUPID!!!

Nehru he abused STUPIDITY.

i am looking to fairness

I guess you will now say 

the electorate did not topple the PPP. Plain spitefullness of Nagamootto and Ramjattan turned a good thing into backing a corrupt PNC.

huh?

did APNU and AFC not contest the election as a coalition?

take your meds banna