Children of sacked sugar workers forced to find odd jobs to support schooling

Wales Estate closure

Ever since the Wales Sugar Estate closed – leaving thousands of workers without jobs, many of their children are now forced to find odd jobs around the community to offset expenses for their schooling.

The closed Wales Sugar Estate

During a visit to the village on Saturday, parents who were sent home from the sugar industry indicated that it was very difficult to send their children to school, owing to transportation expenses and other supplementary spending for textbooks and studying materials.
One parent, who gave her name as Urmila, stated that since her husband was dismissed, her 14-year-old son has been working in the afternoon to earn some extra money.
“When he come home from school, he does do some extra work round here, and then Saturday and Sunday, he does find a lil’ work to do – mason or anything that he could manage. Right now, he father does only work sometimes ‘cause not every time people does get work. He used to go over at Uitvlugt a couple morning but then they tell him that they don’t have anything,” she indicated.
She further added, “When we get, we does give him, but not all times his father doe get work. When he don’t get, we got to use the money that we save up until he work again.”
Meanwhile, a few houses away, an elderly man named Chotoo (only name) told Guyana Times that his son was retrenched and he has been supporting his grandson’s schooling.
“He got to travel to go to school in Canal Number Two. He got to pay about $300 a day travelling plus little money for a snack, so if it wasn’t for me, he would have got to drop out from school,” the elderly man relayed.
Meanwhile, other young teenagers have resorted to selling ‘bird seeds’ and produce from their families’ kitchen gardens to offset educational expenses.
Thousands of dismissed sugar workers are finding great difficulty in securing alternative jobs following their retrenchment. In early November of 2018, the National Assembly gave approval for almost $2.5 billion to cater for the remaining severance to 4723 sugar workers, and Justice Fidela Corbin-Lincoln had also ruled in favour of the ex-employees, saying that they should be paid with interest in the range of four to six per cent.
It took the court over a year to initially hear the Wales severance matter after the workers, their families, union and other supporters were protesting for their legally-entitled benefits.
Aside from Wales Estate closing in December 2017, the closures of Skeldon, Rose Hall and Enmore were all finalised as part of Government’s cost-cutting measures. The latter three were later reopened under small operations as part of the Administration’s move to attract private investors.
In recent times, hundreds of acres at Wales were leased to a company for coconut cultivation and processing despite Government’s promises of opening up the land to the retrenched workers for farming.
Only on Saturday, most of the sacked workers related that they were still struggling to find jobs, awaiting the promise that they would be granted the plantation lands as assured.
Some said that they were disappointed and dismissed the possibility that they would ever get land after hearing that a large portion was already “given away”.
In 2017, the workers were promised by the A Partnership for National Unity/Alliance For Change (APNU/AFC) coalition Government that lands from the Estate would be given to them to engage in farming and other agricultural activities to earn a living.
Two years later, these lands have not been distributed to the former sugar workers and hundreds of acres have now been leased to private persons, including recently, 700 acres for coconut cultivation and processing.
The Wales Estate on the West Bank of Demerara was one of four – Enmore Estate in Demerara, and Rose Hall and Skeldon in Berbice— which were closed under the current Administration, leaving thousands jobless. GUYANA TIMES

It’s PNC genocide in action. 

Vote like a real man or woman. Vote PPP/C.

Don’t vote like an anti man and vote for PNC racists, murderers and constitutional rapists. 

Society has ways and means to go to school and assist in financial help. If finding odd jobs will ease the financial burden, then so be it. How long have these sugar workers been laid off, a mere two years? How long these kids will rely on parents to foot the bills for them? Working does not kill but makes you more responsible for your family's needs. 

In America, we have to walk in knee-deep snow, eat on the go and then attend evening school so you can compete in the workforce to give your offsprings a good education. When your children start school they too will look for summer jobs to help themself financially. 

Nehru can attest to this. If he talk lie ah go beat he rass when I see him.    I hate when people use it to politicize like we don't know what punishment is.   

I totally agree Bhai. Early start in Employment can only benefit the individual. The simple task of keeping schedule, be punctual, following instructions and implementing them are lessons that are retained for life

Society has ways and means to go to school and assist in financial help. If finding odd jobs will ease the financial burden, then so be it. How long have these sugar workers been laid off, a mere two years? How long these kids will rely on parents to foot the bills for them? Working does not kill but makes you more responsible for your family's needs. 

In America, we have to walk in knee-deep snow, eat on the go and then attend evening school so you can compete in the workforce to give your offsprings a good education. When your children start school they too will look for summer jobs to help themself financially. 

Nehru can attest to this. If he talk lie ah go beat he rass when I see him.    I hate when people use it to politicize like we don't know what punishment is.   

What a piece of hogwash!!! Madman, you are comparing America to Guyana? You never met hardship in America, so shut the hell up. You hear stories and you think you have experienced them. Have you ever used your brain to think of job opportunities for teenagers and adults in Guyana and America? Where do you live again?
 I suppose you are going to say you walked to and from school barefoot in the winter.

They should quit school be like the politicians,  elected thieves.

This is correct.  You don’t need any education to become a politician.  

WAit till BJ and Fat boy ketch you

Stop talking shit!!

Amral posted:

They should try living in the slums of india. Guyana is a heaven compared to some other countries. 

Sometimes you talk real shyte! 

Bai its better to talk shyte than drink kool aid

Amral

Stop talking shit!!

I ain't ready for you as yet. Stay corrupted and politicized everything. I am not going to waste my life experience on you or anyone on this board. I have four living proof of what education and hard work is all about in America. 

Amral posted:

They should try living in the slums of india. Guyana is a heaven compared to some other countries. 

Sometimes you talk real shyte! 

Bai its better to talk shyte than drink kool aid

Bai, how is the neighba?  she mussy feeling cold ovadeh!

Stop talking shit!!

His main focus in discussions. 

This is not about you and struggles here in America.  We all pass through that at one time or another.  It’s about poor sugar workers and their kids living in Guyana!

Hey hey hey...dem PNC blackman deh want wan reason foh spite dem coolie...and Jagdoe give dem it pon want platinum and gold wid diamond trim platter...hey hey hey... 

Bai don’t rub PNC Shyte pun the PPP. Better wash you cane juice stand.