PORT-OF-SPAIN, Trinidad (AP) — China says it will provide up to $1 billion in loans to Caribbean countries to help bolster its economic relationship with the region.

Chinese Vice Premier Wang Qishan says he wants to see the implementation of more projects that focus on finance, infrastructure and tourism.

Guyana's government said Tuesday that China has pledged to give the South American country $4.7 million.

China has stepped up its investments in the Caribbean as it seeks to win the diplomatic recognition of several countries there over rival Taiwan.

Wang made the announcement in Trinidad late Monday at a two-day China-Caribbean economic forum.

A Chinese delegation who traveled to the Bahamas before the forum pledged up to $5 million in funding for the island chain.

http://www.chron.com/news/arti...gh-loans-2168657.php

Originally posted by TK_REDUX:
US$4.7 mill? Man...no wonder why dem dis people will always rule over a dankey cart economy. Jeeze!

Jagdeo went to beg for alms. The Bahamas went with solid investment proposals. One of the richest countries in the Americas gets more than one of the poorest DESPITE GUYANA HAVING MUCH THAT CHINA WANTS!!!!!
And teh thing is 5 countries didnt show up as they have ties with Taiwan and prefer to deal with the devil they know that take chances with the one they dont. Had they been there Guyana's share would have been even less.

8 of the 9 countries went with solid proposals. Jagdeo went to make his "GRAND THIRD WORLD" speech. His incompetent Foreign Affairs advisers failed to tell him that China is now as First World as the USA is and has the same agenda. If a project doesnt generate returns China will not invest.

The thing is Guyana with its relatively large natural resource should have swallowed the majority of this $1 Billion. I assume that T&T ran off with that.
Originally posted by Cobra:
One US billion $$ loans to Caribbean countries and only US4.7 million for Guyana? They should use that money to build more toilets at CBJIA.

Once again, PPP playing a losing hand. The Chinese are pragmatist, they see the anti-US stance of the PPP an know the US will stemmie any strategic growth, thus stunt and investment opportunities. This is like the USSR eyeing the PPP with some reservation while CBJ touted their policies.

Guyana will miss the boat again, thanks to the canecutters, fish mongers and their rulers. CBJ's poison still in the veins of Guyana's politics. When the PPP loses, Guyana needs to campaign of "de-Jaganization" to eradicate this cancer from all aspects of society. Long live the AFC.
HEHEHE These are the People willing to sell their SOULS AND GUYANA to the Whiteman. Dred Scott, MLK amd Brothexr X gave their lives not to be enslaves by the Whiteman and these what yuh meh call them are SHAMELESSLY trying to sell again!!!!
Originally posted by baseman:
One US billion $$ loans to Caribbean countries and only US4.7 million for Guyana? They should use that money to build more toilets at CBJIA.

Once again, PPP playing a losing hand. The Chinese are pragmatist, they see the anti-US stance of the PPP an know the US will stemmie any strategic growth, thus stunt and investment opportunities. This is like the USSR eyeing the PPP with some reservation while CBJ touted their policies.

Guyana will miss the boat again, thanks to the canecutters, fish mongers and their rulers. CBJ's poison still in the veins of Guyana's politics. When the PPP loses, Guyana needs to campaign of "de-Jaganization" to eradicate this cancer from all aspects of society. Long live the AFC.
Originally posted by Nehru:
HEHEHE These are the People willing to sell their SOULS AND GUYANA to the Whiteman. Dred Scott, MLK amd Brothexr X gave their lives not to be enslaves by the Whiteman and these what yuh meh call them are SHAMELESSLY trying to sell again!!!!

Yea, answer the fact that of $1 bil, the Chinese allocate $4.7 Mio to Guyana, 0.5%. Some vote of confidence. dunno
Yea, answer the fact that of $1 bil, the Chinese allocate $4.7 Mio to Guyana, 0.5%. Some vote of confidence.

This is not Guyana time to receive the large end of the development loan. Furthermore, Guyana is not recognized as a Caribbean country. We are situated in SA.

Guyana waiting 50 years bai, a wenn abie time a goa come nah? USSR come and dead, Chavez come and going, Cuba come and going, China will come and goa down and abie a wait foa abie turn. Bai alyuh is a bunch of jokers sitting and hoping for a fly-ball.

Not caribbean, but dem give abie $4.7 mio, datt is recognition man, wah yuh seh.
Did these Snakeoil Salesmen find out what those Countries are willing to give up to the Chinese or the terms of the LOANS.
Yea, answer the fact that of $1 bil, the Chinese allocate $4.7 Mio to Guyana, 0.5%. Some vote of confidence.

This is not Guyana time to receive a large percentage of the development loan. Furthermore, Guyana is not recognized as a Caribbean country. We are situated in SA.
Did these Snakeoil Salesmen find out what those Countries are willing to give up to the Chinese or the terms of the LOANS.

This is not Guyana time to receive a large percentage of the development loan. Furthermore, Guyana is not recognized as a Caribbean country. We are situated in SA.

Tell abie nah! Nah piggy back pun snake man assinine response.
I was not there but Al Yuh talkin SHIT so I thought A yuh Gat the answers but I should know Al Yuh does on talk HOT AIR.

Tell abie nah!
I was not there but Al Yuh talkin SHIT so I thought A yuh Gat the answers but I should know Al Yuh does on talk HOT AIR.

Tell abie nah!

Me know, yu nevva was anyway, soa tell abie why China allocate 0.5% to Guyana. No need to be there, you seem to know everything else and you share rum and cuttas with BJ regularly. He must drop a hint to his trusted advisor.
YUh does tek Lessons from TK nah???

Tell abie nah!

Me know, yu nevva was anyway, soa tell abie why China allocate 0.5% to Guyana. No need to be there, you seem to know everything else and you share rum and cuttas with BJ regularly. He must drop a hint to his trusted advisor.

Tell abie nah!

Rass the "time sheet" wanna be academic speaks ...

Tell abie nah!

Dont throw in your nemisis, drop us some insights as to why Guyana gets 0.5% allocation of Chinese aid.