China to fund bridge between Guyana, Suriname

(AFP) – 1 hour ago 

Georgetown — China is to fund a bridge over a river linking the neighboring South American countries of Suriname and Guyana, officials said Monday.

"We Guyana, at the request of Suriname, have informed the Chinese government that we are supportive of the bridge across the Corentyne River," said Foreign Minister Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett.

The river is technically Suriname's territory.

It was not yet known how much the bridge would cost, which will depend on the design. Nor has a construction date been set, but it will replace a European Union-funded ferry service.

Funds will be drawn from a $3 billion concessionary loan facility that China last year agreed to provide to the Caribbean, Rodrigues-Birkett said.

On South America's northeastern shoulder, Suriname is a former Dutch colony and Guyana a former British colony next to Venezuela.

Both countries are rich in raw materials such as wood and minerals.

http://www.google.com/hostedne...51-aa35-11c625860736

* The bridge between Guyana and Suriname will contribute immensely to greater economic activity between the two countries.

* Those who despise progress and development in Guyana under the PPP will be infuriated by this news.

* Guyana is filled with gloomy, pessimistic, cynical people.

* Anyone recognize those 2 anti-Guyana weasels in that photo.

LONG LIVE THE PPP AND MAY ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT IN GUYANA CONTINUE.

Originally Posted by politikalamity:
Originally Posted by Sunil:

is this true?

Yes. Guyana's boundary with Suriname shifts 2 times daily with the tides. It lies at the low-water mark. At high tide, the boundary is the land.

When completed, the bridge will be owned by Suriname.

It's good to know Guyana gave "no objection" to the project.

Trade relations, family and social relations will surely be enhanced after the bridge becomes operational.

Governments come and governments go, but relations between Guyanese and Surinamese stay.

you gun throw the kfc gang into convulsions, they don't like to hear progress. Watch how quick they claim stealing by ppp. 

This is a Suriname bridge.  If Guyana has any obligations to repay any loans connected to this bridge then it shows what morons they are.

Once you step into the Corentyne River you have entered Suriname.

you gun throw the kfc gang into convulsions, they don't like to hear progress. Watch how quick they claim stealing by ppp. 

This is a Suriname bridge.  If Guyana has any obligations to repay any loans connected to this bridge then it shows what morons they are.

So the Chinese is building a bridge in suriname and the PPP goes into a convulsion calling it Guyana progress..hilarious

The economy will strive but this bridge will also be a gateway for criminals to escape from the Police clutches...

maybe rohee will resign and turn a watchman on this bridge then he can catch all the criminals

Let the record show, when this project comes to fruition, the PPP will score BIG politically.

This is a good project; unlike the Airport terminal building.

now how in hell the ppp as a party will gain from this.you ever think Suriname will gain more, people will be buying from them,resulting in less business for the Guyanese people.

Let the record show, when this project comes to fruition, the PPP will score BIG politically.

now how in hell the ppp as a party will gain from this.you ever think Suriname will gain more, people will be buying from them,resulting in less business for the Guyanese people.

Close the borders, close the Borders, THe COMMUNISTS are coming!!!

this bridge is great for guyana but i cannot understand how the ppp will gain votes with this bridge

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

It will make drugs shipments easier to transport across the border.

So you will pay less for your drugs.

Berbicians will go to Surinam to do their shopping. GT will lose out big time.

It was not yet known how much the bridge would cost, which will depend on the design. Nor has a construction date been set, but it will replace a European Union-funded ferry service.

Construction details will be forthcoming for an early completion of the bridge.

This connection will indeed benefit both countries.

Originally Posted by sachin_05:

So the Chinese is building a bridge in suriname and the PPP goes into a convulsion calling it Guyana progress..hilarious

Real funny comments on this proposed bridge, you guys should sign up for Comedy Central.

A bridge between Suriname and Guyana will be a step in the right direction. It will increase commerce and bring relief to the thousands of commuters who now rely on the ferry and the unsafe "backtrack" route.

Governments will come and go but this bridge will remain there for generations to come.  The Demerara and Berbice bridge, both constructed under  Mr Burnham and Mr Jagdeo tenure , made life easy for workers and school children and for this we must always remember  those two Presidents.

As a matter fact both of these bridges should carry their name.

Back to the Suriname/Guyana Bridge, I am excited and hopefully this can become a reality sooner rather later. 

Last edited by Chief

But why are the Chinese involved. Look at the bridge that is built between Paramaribo and Meerzorg. A damn good bridge without any Chinese help.

This should make it easier for them Surinamese troops to invade

I wonder what strategery role Mullah Chickrie played in this con

But why are the Chinese involved. Look at the bridge that is built between Paramaribo and Meerzorg. A damn good bridge without any Chinese help.

That's a very good bridge, who built it, American or Dutch?

BTW the only problem with that bridge it need a rail. It's Surinamese  #1   suicide spot. 

Last edited by Chief

I am beginning to wonder if the Chinese are actually building that bridge so that they can advance troops through Guyana to take over South America. The eight terminal airport in Guyana was merely a start. That is how the Chinese started in Tibet. Now look how the Chinamen have occupied the place and are busy slaughtering the locals.

BTW the only problem with that bridge it need a rail. It's Surinamese  #1   suicide spot. 

I think it was the Dutch. But have you seen what they have now done by Waterkant in front of the presidential palace? They claimed back some of the land submerged by the river. They built a lovely sea defence wall as well.

Yep I was there two years ago.

Me lobe a placie da pe.

Originally Posted by TI:

Lucky thing the Chinese build the bridge! If the PPP had a hand, everybody would be jumping up hollering, fraud! Fraud! Vote it down !

Look at dis hey jaat fullahman.....since when did you become so PPP?

Originally Posted by JoKer:
Originally Posted by TI:

Lucky thing the Chinese build the bridge! If the PPP had a hand, everybody would be jumping up hollering, fraud! Fraud! Vote it down !

Since he started drinking milk .

Originally Posted by TI:

Since he started drinking milk .

dem bais sure like their sweet "milk"

Originally Posted by TI:

Things bad, bai! I looking fuh a Minista wuk! Hear they paying well

Originally Posted by TI:

Things bad, bai! I looking fuh a Minista wuk! Hear they paying well

The rampant buggeries doan bother you much?

News going around in Brooklyn that the Chinese are trying to get concessions from the Amerindians who now have control over of a significant amount of land in Guyana. The Chineses have allegedly approached an influential Amerindian man in Maryland who works closely with anti-gov't groups. This is something to watch. The Chinese want resources for their industry and would stop at nothing to get it.

Ballast Nedam - a Netherlands company. Built under the Weidenbosch and called lovingly the "Boshe" bridge. A lovely bridge indeed.

China to fund bridge between Guyana, Suriname

(AFP) – 1 hour ago 

Georgetown — China is to fund a bridge over a river linking the neighboring South American countries of Suriname and Guyana, officials said Monday.

"We Guyana, at the request of Suriname, have informed the Chinese government that we are supportive of the bridge across the Corentyne River," said Foreign Minister Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett.

Funds will be drawn from a $3 billion concessionary loan facility that China last year agreed to provide to the Caribbean, Rodrigues-Birkett said.

On South America's northeastern shoulder, Suriname is a former Dutch colony and Guyana a former British colony next to Venezuela.

Both countries are rich in raw materials such as wood and minerals.

http://www.google.com/hostedne...51-aa35-11c625860736

When???