Gayle should complete his contract (reported $ 250,000) in the BBL and never return to play for them.

I am surprised that cricket fans across the world are not speaking out.

Gayle is welcome to play in India's IPL where is is a Hero. He can ask any Indo Girl out with no fine being implemented.

India is miles ahead of Australia.

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-australia-3522930

Gayle was answering questions from Network Ten's McLaughlin after a match when he made the remark, which was widely condemned as sexist.

The former West Indies Test captain told reporters on Tuesday: "There wasn't anything meant to be disrespectful or offensive to Mel. If she felt that way, I'm really sorry for that.

"It was a simple joke. The game was going on. Entertainment, things get out of proportion but these things happen."

McLaughlin has said his date request was "a little bit disappointing because I'm not used to seeing that".

"I don't really want to be the subject of such conversations," she told her network.

No joking down under.

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-australia-3522930

Gayle was answering questions from Network Ten's McLaughlin after a match when he made the remark, which was widely condemned as sexist.

The former West Indies Test captain told reporters on Tuesday: "There wasn't anything meant to be disrespectful or offensive to Mel. If she felt that way, I'm really sorry for that.

"It was a simple joke. The game was going on. Entertainment, things get out of proportion but these things happen."

McLaughlin has said his date request was "a little bit disappointing because I'm not used to seeing that".

"I don't really want to be the subject of such conversations," she told her network.

No joking down under.

They can only joke among themselves. 

I strongly condemn this fine imposed on Gayle.

I am a huge cricket fan and BBL is about talk and big hits and cheering etc. It is not really serious sport.

The treatment towards Gayle is harsh. If these things are offensive then they should not have women with short skirts showing their underwear everytime a four or six is hit.

Double standards anyone ?

The interview was done while both of them were engaged in their job. It's unacceptable. Let's not look at it has a sports when the question was asked ... see the bigger picture. Respect must be shown to females and they should not be seen as a sex object.  I can understand if the same questions was asked while socializing. The treatment is not harsh. 

ian posted:

The interview was done while both of them were engaged in their job. It's unacceptable. Let's not look at it has a sports when the question was asked ... see the bigger picture. Respect must be shown to females and they should not be seen as a sex object.  I can understand if the same questions was asked while socializing. The treatment is not harsh. 

I thought members of the opposite sex are generally sex objects

Gayle should complete his contract (reported $ 250,000) in the BBL and never return to play for them.

I am surprised that cricket fans across the world are not speaking out.

Gayle is welcome to play in India's IPL where is is a Hero. He can ask any Indo Girl out with no fine being implemented.

India is miles ahead of Australia.

RiffRaff posted:
ian posted:

Banna this can be another subject to debate. But I should have said, females should not be seen only as sex object . Capeech 

ian posted:

Ok Ian. I can accept your response as being fair and reasonable.

ian posted:

Agreed.

Gayle was out of line. You cannot make those kind of overtures to a female reporter on broadcast TV. If he said that to her in private, it's a different story. 

He should be fined for having lame soors.  

He forgot his place in white society, but somehow I believe that the Indians will be blamed for clannish behavior.

(CNN)It's the type of comment you might expect to hear in a 1970s nightclub -- not on the sidelines of a professional sports match.

And it's a comment that has cost West Indian cricketer Chris Gayle dearly, after his club fined him $10,000 for his remarks to Australian Network Ten reporter Mel McLaughlin live on national television.

After she congratulated the cricketer on smashing a 15-ball 41 for the Melbourne Renegades in a Monday Big Bash League match against the Hobart Hurricanes, Gayle complemented McLaughlin's eyes, propositioned her for a post-match drink, before laughingly telling her, "Don't blush, baby."

'Inappropriate and disrespectful'

The comments sparked outrage and a hefty fine from Gayle's club, which will be donated to the McGrath Foundation, a breast cancer charity supported by Sydney Cricket Ground.

"Chris's comments were completely inappropriate and disrespectful. There is simply no place for these type of comments at the Melbourne Renegades," the club's CEO Stuart Coventry said in a statement.

"The club would like to extend a formal apology to Mel McLaughlin. Mel is an outstanding sports presenter."

The penalty leaves Gayle free to bat for the Renegades at their upcoming derby against the Melbourne Stars on Saturday, yet his remarks have been widely condemned.

'Just not cool'

James Sutherland, the CEO of Cricket Australia, told a press conference in Sydney that Gayle's comments were "a pretty significant mis-hit."

"Anyone that sees the humor in that is misunderstanding it and somewhat delusional about the situation. It's inappropriate and very, very public. It just goes to show the point about how inappropriate and just not cool that is.It's not a nightclub, it's a workplace. Those sorts of comments border on harassment."

English cricketer Andrew Flintoff praised McLaughlin's professionalism on Twitter, describing Gayle as a "chop."

Network Ten didn't escape embarrassment in the row after one of its producers tweeted Gayle's comment with the hashtag '#smooth.' The tweet was promptly deleted.

'Simple joke'

Though he apologized for his comments, Gayle told a media scrum at Melbourne airport that the incident had been blown out of proportion.

"There wasn't anything meant to be disrespectful or offensive to Mel. If she felt that way, I'm really sorry for that. There wasn't any harm meant in that particular way. It was a simple joke. The game was going on. Entertainment, things get out of proportion but these things happen."

Speaking on her network for the first time since the incident, McLaughlin said she was "disappointed" but accepted Gayle's apology.

"It was obviously a little disappointing because he had done so well out there with the bat. He'd scored 41 off 15 balls, smashing sixes ... I would have much preferred to be talking about that instead.

"I've not spoken to him (Chris) personally, but I know he issued an apology. I accept that and I just want to move on."

Images (2)
  • blobid0
  • blobid1

http://www.smh.com.au/sport/cr...20160105-glzrkp.html

Chris Gayle exposed himself to me: woman

Chloe Saltau and Chris Barrett

Cricketer Chris Gayle, already facing a barrage of criticism over inappropriate remarks to a female television reporter, allegedly indecently exposed himself to a woman during a Sydney training session at last year's World Cup.

The Australian woman, who was working around the West Indies team in Sydney, has detailed the incident to Fairfax Media. In the course of her work she entered the team dressing room to get a sandwich as she hadn't eaten all day, thinking the players were on the field training.

Instead, she found Gayle in the room with one other player. Gayle was wrapped in a towel, which she says he pulled down to partially expose his genitals to her while saying to her: "Are you looking for this?"

It is understood West Indies team manager Richie Richardson was told about the incident, but Gayle was not named. Richardson then sent an email to all West Indies players demanding women working around the team be treated with respect.

The new revelations came as the Melbourne Renegades announced they would fine Gayle $10,000 for his controversial live interview with Channel Ten's Mel McLaughlin on Monday night. Gayle asked an uncomfortable McLaughlin if she wanted to come out for a drink with him, before quickly adding "don't blush, baby".

On Tuesday morning, Gayle delivered a half-hearted apology and said his comments had been "blown out of proportion". Renegades chief executive Stuart Coventry described his comments as a "one-off".Several other female journalists also came forward to detail inappropriate comments or unwelcome advances by Gayle.

The female employee involved in last year's incident does not want to be identified, but has explained she was motivated to tell her story "in support of [Channel Ten reporter] Mel McLaughlin last night, and to support the many other women working as career professionals in sport who shouldn't have to put up with this kind of treatment".

"It's that moment when you have a split second to react. I was shocked, and I just walked out," she said.

"You put yourself in an office environment in Australia, and there's no way that's going to fly. Put yourself back in that deserted change room and it's somehow OK for a career professional to be subjected to sexual jokes and demeaning advances."

The incident took place in February last year while the West Indies were in Sydney preparing for the 2015 World Cup.

"He [Richardson] was 100 per cent supportive of me. I had his absolute apologies and support," the woman said.

Approached by Fairfax Media at the SCG and asked about the allegations against Gayle from February, Richardson said: "At this point I have nothing to say about that or about what happened with Chris Gayle [in Hobart]".

Gayle's management also declined to comment on the allegation.

The woman says she felt sick when she watched Gayle proposition McLaughlin on air during Channel Ten's coverage of the Big Bash League on Monday night.

Gayle went on to be feted for his World Cup exploits, when he belted a record 215 against Zimbabwe in Canberra. "It makes me sick that people like that are emulated as heroes when they behave like that towards half the population, there is nothing heroic about the way he conducts himself towards women," she said.

Gayle has been writing paid columns for Fairfax Media over the past month. Given the issues that have arisen over the past 48 hours, that arrangement has been terminated.

No complaint was made to the World Cup local organising committee.

RiffRaff posted:

It started from the beginning when God took Adam's rib and put it in Eve.

Is where you get story from about people dem blamin God because Adam put 'e bone in Eve

Bai, nowhere in that statement did anyone blame God.

Yuh starting to imagine things like Caribj.