Amaila Falls Hydro – A disaster in the making

Posted By Christopher Ram On March 29, 2013 In Local News |

Introduction

Generations of Guyanese in this Land of Many Waters have been enchanted by the dream of Hydro-electric power with its assumed potential for lower electricity charges. Up to recently, the Burnham administration had come closest to the dream, spending millions of dollars on an entity called the Upper Mazaruni Development Authority (UMDA) as part of a grand project to develop a Hydro facility. Nothing came of this huge expense.

The idea of hydro-electric power was revived under the Jagdeo administration which settled on a 165 MW facility at Amaila Falls at a cost of about US$840 million (excluding interest). The concept for this project is that the operator will sell power to the Guyana Power and Light under a Power Purchase Agreement for a period of 20 years, after which ownership of this facility – built on a BOOT Model – will revert to the Government.

A smaller facility at Kato is also being funded by the Government.

Amaila has had its own blight with a disastrous road project awarded to favoured "investor," Mr. Fip Motilall by the ubiquitous NICIL to build an access road to the site. NICIL made the award to Synergy despite publicly expressed concerns that the company did not have the experience, skills training, capability, human resources nor equipment and tools to undertake such a task.

Motilall inevitably had to be fired and the contract divided up among local contractors. The most recent available information is that the local contractors who have replaced Motilall have also not performed well and that  Chinese contractors are being considered to complete the project.

October 2013 is the date to which the contract price of the hydro-electric power plant extends. If the roads are not completed, the price will have to be renegotiated.

The Deal itself

As with the road itself, the Marriott deal, the Specialty Hospital, the New Timehri Airport Extension, etc. official information on the Amaila Project is still unavailable. Information has to be gathered from such disparate sources as the press, comments from PM Hinds and spokespersons from Sithe Global – a main participant in the project.

This unavailability of documentation on what is obviously the largest ever investment in the history of Guyana – approximately US$840 million (excluding interest) – is truly mind boggling. It speaks of the persistent perception that the Government does not think it necessary to inform, let alone consult, Guyanese but that it has a divine right to do as it pleases and Guyanese should be thankful.

This is what is "known" so far:

i.   Approximate Capital cost of Project – US$840 million (excluding interest)

Breakdown as follows:

Chinese Source          US$413 million

IDB (Proposed)          US$175 million

Sithe Global          US$152 million

Government of Guyana               US$100 million

Total            US$840 million

ii.    Recent reports have shown an increase in the Chinese sources contribution to approximately $506 Million US.

iii.   There is no report of the IDB funding being approved.

iv.   Sithe claims to have already "invested" over US$11.1 million since 2009 on various expenses including over $1 billion Guyana dollars in "environmental work."

v.    Acquisition costs of Motilall’s "licence" is US$12 million.

vi.   Return on investment for Sithe – 19% guaranteed on US$28.8 million per annum on US$577.6 million over 20 years. Not bad at all.

vii.  Interest on Chinese investment of approximately 8.5% or US$42.5 million per annum or US$850 million over 20 years.

viii. Interest on Chinese Funding plus Guaranteed Rate of Return on Sithe already adds up to US$1,427 million.

ix.   Excluding other interest (IDB GOG) the total project is now at a sum in excess of US$2,200 Million for 165 megawatts or US$13.3 million per megawatt as compared to approximately US$1 million for 1 megawatt of Wartsila Power.

x.    Under normal circumstances a 165 megawatt Hydro Facility would come in at about US$320-360 million. But this is Guyana where nothing is normal so the total cost (principal + interest) is about six times the normal.

Not only is the cost exorbitant, there are other major concerns as well:

i.     Financial closure has not been achieved because the China Development Bank is asking IDB to share some of the financial risks.

ii.    A study has been commissioned for a Corporate Development Plan for GPL to consider and make recommendations on action necessary to operate within the framework of a viable hydroelectricity power purchase agreement.

iii.   The Power Purchase Agreement which Sithe Global is insisting on is a take-or-pay which means that GPL is buying power that it does not currently need.

iv.   GPL is hoping that all the companies and Linden not currently on the National Grid will return.

v.    Unless GPL can bring down losses to below 20% the power purchase will not be viable.

vi.   To achieve ii. and iv. will require financing of approximately US$250 million.

vii.  Not all consumers will be served by hydroelectric power.

viii. No formal approach has been made to the Public Utilities Commission for rates. The estimate is that tariffs will not be reduced for several years, in the absence of any subsidies.

Amaila, the most expensive project ever undertaken in Guyana, is full of risks and uncertainties. It has the potential to render GPL insolvent. Before pronouncing further on this project, Ram & McRae would need to see all the questions answered.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Let's see how

Nehru,Dem_Guy, Councie,

Alena, Baseman....

or any Jagdeo/Ramotar Funny Fellas ........
Defend ....Their own.... "Best & Brightest Record "

This is a clear cases of mismanagement, corruption and squandamenia.....
if anyone of you can answer or address anyone of these issues....
just one....lets know.

We are waiting to hear from the defenders of the Best & the Brightest.

Let's see how

Nehru,Dem_Guy, Councie,

Alena, Baseman....

just one....lets know.

Not sure how objective my opinion is viewed as I do offer consulting services to the GoG on this project. Some elements of Chris Ram's position are relevant however, he looks at it from a static accounting model not a dynamic economic/financce.

If executed properly, this asset will propel Guyana to an economic altitude never seen and will have a substantive positive impact on the well-being of the average citizen.

NAMASTE.

Not sure how objective my opinion is viewed as I do offer consulting services to the GoG on this project. Some elements of Chris Ram's position are relevant however, he looks at it from a static accounting model not a dynamic economic/financce.

If executed properly, this asset will propel Guyana to an economic altitude never seen and will have a substantive positive impact on the well-being of the average citizen.

NAMASTE.

I would be able to see your opinion as objective. What will it cost the taxpayers in the end per KWH in your static versus your dynamic economic model? Did your dynamic model reveal the US$15 Million dollars to Fip? In the Software Business, Dynamic analysis can only be done during run time and is complimentary to a static analysis. Can you show where a static accounting model is not complimentary to a dynamic economic/finance model in the real business world?

Namaste!

Let's see how

Nehru,Dem_Guy, Councie,

Alena, Baseman....

just one....lets know.

NAMASTE.

Just for the record on GOG investments, what catgory would Guysuco/skeldon factory falls into? Static or dynamic?

Luckanee wallah and his afc/pnc entourage want the project to fail regardless of the profitability.  What is obvious is that this project is expensive and given the debacles committed so far by the NICIL, destined for  more challenges and cost overruns. 

Let's see how

Nehru,Dem_Guy, Councie,

Alena, Baseman....

just one....lets know.

Not sure how objective my opinion is viewed as I do offer consulting services to the GoG on this project.

Some elements of Chris Ram's position are relevant however, he looks at it from a static accounting model not a dynamic economic/financce.

NAMASTE.

The hydroelectric power development, when completed, will indeed place Guyana in a preferred position.  Like all major developments, there will always be items which would need to be monitored over time, as part of the construction and development process to ensure all is working as scheduled.

There are differences in the approaches with economic models, which would indeed produce results one needs and expects, and not what are really the indicators and plausible results.

Amaila Falls Hydro – A disaster in the making

56% or better is miles off from a minority....

Christopher Ram is a professional, Qualified and Respected Accountant who will not make that silly mistake....

Let's see how

Nehru,Dem_Guy, Councie,

Alena, Baseman....

just one....lets know.

NAMASTE.

Dah a nuff crap yuh a talk deh. 

Let's see how

Nehru,Dem_Guy, Councie,

Alena, Baseman....

just one....lets know.

Not sure how objective my opinion is viewed as I do offer consulting services to the GoG on this project.

Some elements of Chris Ram's position are relevant however, he looks at it from a static accounting model not a dynamic economic/financce.

NAMASTE.

The hydroelectric power development, when completed, will indeed place Guyana in a preferred position.  Like all major developments, there will always be items which would need to be monitored over time, as part of the construction and development process to ensure all is working as scheduled.

There are differences in the approaches with economic models, which would indeed produce results one needs and expects, and not what are really the indicators and plausible results.

AND WAH DOH PREFERRED POSITION GOH BE? TELL ABIE NAH? YOH MEAN ABIE GAT FOH PAY MORE FOH CURRANT? MEH GO PACK UP BUSINESS AND MOVE BARBADOS OR TT. THIS RASS NAH MEK SENSE.

Luckanee wallah and his afc/pnc entourage want the project to fail regardless of the profitability.  What is obvious is that this project is expensive and given the debacles committed so far by the NICIL, destined for  more challenges and cost overruns. 

DEM AFC PEOPLE A SEH NAH MEK DE BIG WAN YET. START WID DE SMALL AND DE MIDDLE WAN? NAH DOH DEM SEH? 

....Luckanee wallah and his afc/pnc entourage want the project to fail regardless of the profitability.

What is obvious is that this project is expensive ....a Hydro_Seed

and given the debacles committed so far by the NICIL,....a Godey_Walla

destined for  more challenges ......Big_Seed

and cost overruns.........Jumbo_Hernia

Now aya see how Walla thinks with his Godey instead of his Brain.

If a Project is Unprofitable......It must fail....de extra weight is a burden.

Originally Posted by PRK:

NAMASTE.

AND WAH DOH PREFERRED POSITION GOH BE? TELL ABIE NAH? YOH MEAN ABIE GAT FOH PAY MORE FOH CURRANT? MEH GO PACK UP BUSINESS AND MOVE BARBADOS OR TT. THIS RASS NAH MEK SENSE.

If you cannot understand, stick to pulling punt.

NAMASTE.

HEHEHE Prak only good fuh pull Punt. And I thought only Donkey doe pull Punt, then again I was right.

Christopher Ram - "x.    Under normal circumstances a 165 megawatt Hydro Facility would come in at about US$320-360 million. But this is Guyana where nothing is normal....."

Tiefin taken to the extreme.

Originally Posted by sachin_05:

Let's see how

Nehru,Dem_Guy, Councie,

Alena, Baseman....

just one....lets know.

NAMASTE.

Just for the record on GOG investments, what catgory would Guysuco/skeldon factory falls into? Static or dynamic?

Irrelevant as this is not a national infrastructure asset but a pure commercial asset which needs to turn a profit and justify its own existence.

what corrupt nonsense! . . . there is a GUARANTEED return on investment for the developer (on the taxpayer's dime)

take time out from stuffing your pockets with taxpayer money and think before u bray

NAMASTE.

That  is talking pure bull to obfuscate the analysis above that we are being hogtied financially by this project.  The model informs this is as project must come in at a financial cap to bring the level of electric supply within the range of regular consumer.

It does not matter how you twist it, we cannot provide enough of a user base  plus to defray cost without jacking the per kW cost to the ceiling.   There is also a limited supply, some 165 MW of electricity at ideal levels. 100% production will never get there so we are stuck with very expensive electricity over the life of this project unless the can slash development cost.  

That does not look possible and beyond doubt the numbers always increase in these projects. This one has already doubled since planned and given what we see world wide you have to add another 50% to projection because that is what usually happens if one is lucky; not so lucky and you double it.

While the above does not offer up a full range of possible cash flows emanating from the project ie potentially new industries coming on line and  new sprouting of business opportunities, we know exactly how much we can pay for electricity before we are saddled with a Berbice Bridge pricing model. As it is, the per kW is looking like being very pricy.

If the IDB agrees to partake in the financing of the Amaila falls hydro, no amount of noise from PNC Indians like Christopher Ram will stop the project from becoming a reality.

Also, if the PNC were in power PNC Indians like Ram would be heaping praise on the hydro project and how it would take Guyana to a higher plateau economically.

THE REV'S CONCERN

The Chinese screwed up with the engineering of the 200 million dollar skeldon sugar factory---will they also screw up the engineering of the larger 1 billion amaila falls hydro ?

Perhaps, the world only speaks to those who are prepared to listen.

Hahaha. Doh mean you na gat wan ansah. A wah prefered position you talk bout? 

what corrupt nonsense! . . . there is a GUARANTEED return on investment for the developer (on the taxpayer's dime)

take time out from stuffing your pockets with taxpayer money and think before u bray

Understand my comment before you start your usual farting.

Originally Posted by Rev Al:

If the IDB agrees to partake in the financing of the Amaila falls hydro, no amount of noise from PNC Indians like Christopher Ram will stop the project from becoming a reality.

Also, if the PNC were in power PNC Indians like Ram would be heaping praise on the hydro project and how it would take Guyana to a higher plateau economically.

THE REV'S CONCERN

The Chinese screwed up with the engineering of the 200 million dollar skeldon sugar factory---will they also screw up the engineering of the larger 1 billion amaila falls hydro ?

Heheheh. Hear dis jackass a tek out lil shame. 

NAMASTE.

HEHEHE Prak only good fuh pull Punt. And I thought only Donkey doe pull Punt, then again I was right.

Ow bai yu a release lil hyena shit fram yu head na

NAMASTE.

If yu na bin a write SHIT abie goh understan. 

NAMASTE.

That  is talking pure bull to obfuscate the analysis above that we are being hogtied financially by this project.  The model informs this is as project must come in at a financial cap to bring the level of electric supply within the range of regular consumer.

It does not matter how you twist it, we cannot provide enough of a user base  plus to defray cost without jacking the per kW cost to the ceiling.   There is also a limited supply, some 165 MW of electricity at ideal levels. 100% production will never get there so we are stuck with very expensive electricity over the life of this project unless the can slash development cost.  

That does not look possible and beyond doubt the numbers always increase in these projects. This one has already doubled since planned and given what we see world wide you have to add another 50% to projection because that is what usually happens if one is lucky; not so lucky and you double it.

While the above does not offer up a full range of possible cash flows emanating from the project ie potentially new industries coming on line and  new sprouting of business opportunities, we know exactly how much we can pay for electricity before we are saddled with a Berbice Bridge pricing model. As it is, the per kW is looking like being very pricy.

you are clearly over your head and have a myopic view or no clue of the issue.  You see my man, this is why you are a talker...perennial talker and will never rise above that.  Baseman, on the other hand, have served in executive decision-making roles involving several billion-dollar investments, both back-bone infrastructure and prime commercial.

NAMASTE.

you are clearly over your head and have a myopic view or no clue of the issue.  You see my man, this is why you are a talker...perennial talker and will never rise above that.  Baseman, on the other hand, have served in executive decision-making roles involving several billion-dollar investments, both back-bone infrastructure and prime commercial.

NAME TWO DEAL YU BIN INVOLVE IN? 

NAMASTE.

Unfortunately, I am subject to a non-disclosure decree due to commercial sensitivity.

NAMASTE.

Unfortunately, I am subject to a non-disclosure decree due to commercial sensitivity.

ABIE NAH TALK BOUT AMILA. WAH DEAL YU DO BEFORE AMILA? 

NAMASTE.

ABIE NAH TALK BOUT AMILA. WAH DEAL YU DO BEFORE AMILA? 

Re-read my post.

har de har har har har har har . . .

hEHEHEHE. ONE RASS YU NAH GAT FOH SEH. REREAD MEH ASS!!!!!!!

You are clearly a comedian, like the Storm boy.

hOW MUCH DEM CHINEE GEE YU? WAH %%% KICK BACK YU GET? 

hEHEHEHE. ONE RASS YU NAH GAT FOH SEH. REREAD MEH ASS!!!!!!!

You are clearly a comedian, like the Storm boy.

hOW MUCH DEM CHINEE GEE YU? WAH %%% KICK BACK YU GET? 

Dear PERK sir, you are out of line.  Baseman has a clean character.

Understand my comment before you start your usual farting.

tell me con man . . . what is there to "understand" about your pseudo-learned gibberish I have highlighted in bold above? 

NAMASTE.

It is amazing how you "cluefull" folks always appeal to authority rather than your capacity to explain your insightful experience. I would also like to remind you that I cannot count the big deal meisters who climbed the mountain top and fell hard on their faces. They are too many and most of us will have worked with one or two where indeed we would have learnt why they failed in the first place. They are possessed of big mouths like you.

Presently, we are addressing a "big deal" and the numbers do not hide a mystery. Either it can be built to produce electricity that are within the means of the ordinary man to pay for it or it is another monkey on their backs. Presently, it is demonstrably a monkey on their back...but you of the big deal can tell us different!  Be my guest!

NAMASTE.

It is amazing how you "cluefull" folks always appeal to authority rather than your capacity to explain your insightful experience. I would also like to remind you that I cannot count the big deal meisters who climbed the mountain top and fell hard on their faces. They are too many and most of us will have worked with one or two where indeed we would have learnt why they failed in the first place. They are possessed of big mouths like you.

Presently, we are addressing a "big deal" and the numbers do not hide a mystery. Either it can be built to produce electricity that are within the means of the ordinary man to pay for it or it is another monkey on their backs. Presently, it is demonstrably a monkey on their back...but you of the big deal can tell us different!  Be my guest!

You talk too much to be a good student.  You need to be home-schooled.

NAMASTE.

You talk too much to be a good student.  You need to be home-schooled.

Home schooled or not is not the question. Your  experience to explicate the big deal is.