CHRISTMAS GREEETINGS FROM MADAME DEOLATCHMEE RAMOTAR, FIRST LADY OF GUYANA

Children are at the center of the religious and secular aspects of Christmas. The Christmas story revolves around the birth of a child, born not to great wealth and comfort, but lowly and defenseless in a manger.

Like all children, this child is in need of a mother’s love, protection and support. Christmas is a special time for the children of Guyana. This is period of great excitement for children as they look forward to the many activities that are held in their honor and as they anticipate receiving gifts and having fun over the holidays. It is true to say that Christmas is one the holiest and happiest periods for children.

Over the past few days, I have hosted or been part of many celebrations for children and I have seen how their small faces light up with excitement and happiness. It is my wish that the special attention that is shown to our children at this time of the year and the deep feelings of fulfillment and satisfaction that come from reaching out to these impressionable minds, will motivate all of us to continue to do more for the children of Guyana so as to rid our society of all forms of child abuse, be it verbal or physical.

Children represent the promise of tomorrow. The generation that we mould today will inherit and determine the future of our country. We must therefore cherish our children and ensure that they are free to realize their God- given potential.

A child’s potential can only be fully realized if that child is brought up in an environment of love, understanding and support. Every child should be treated with dignity. Yet we know that many of our children are unable to enjoy their childhood because they find themselves in situations of abuse or exploitation which forces them to forego the fun and enjoyment of being a child.

It is my hope that this Christmas will awaken in all of us that natural impulse to show affection, to nurture all the children of Guyana so that none of them ever goes to bed hungry, sleep on our streets, denied schooling, suffers harm and abuse or have their minds poisoned by adult-prejudice and hatred.

Children are our special responsibility. I believe that we can do more for them. In fact we must strive to do much more. We must commit to ensuring that the great gift of childhood is made secure for every child in Guyana. I urge all Guyanese to reach out to our children especially to those in need and to speak out and stand up for those who face abuse and exploitation.

I know there are many who are fully committed to this task and I wish to thank them all for these remarkable and selfless individuals and groups who continue to work with our children. I also wish to thank the many persons whose countless acts of support have helped make a positive difference in the lives of our children.

Merry Christmas to all!

December 24, 2012

Originally Posted by JoKer:

eh eh MADAME Ramotar. Look how abbe Communists find demselves some old fashioned bushwazee titles

Better show respect Bhai. It is Her Majesty for you.

Why stop there? Let's just deify here s the new Maha Lakshmi. Granted she's missing the requisite blue eyes but we can make an one-off exception here.

eh eh MADAME Ramotar. Look how abbe Communists find demselves some old fashioned bushwazee titles

Why stop there? Let's just deify here s the new Maha Lakshmi. Granted she's missing the requisite blue eyes but we can make an one-off exception here.

Let's not go religious now. Her Majesty Madame Deomattie Ramotar, please rise.

Please tell me you're earning a side salary as a FH poster. All dis hard wuk fuh dem daags and no proper reward save some rum and poke cuttahs

Ow Bhai, Nah call dem people Daag.  WELCOME BACK JOKER!!!!