December 16 ,2020

Kaieteur News – Chartered Accountant and transparency advocate, Christopher Ram, has resigned from serving as a director on the Board of the National Industrial and Commercial Investments Limited (NICIL).Ram is not divulging details regarding what prompted his resignation, but confirmed that he had resigned. The confirmation was made when Kaieteur News reached out to him yesterday afternoon.
Ram would be the second to resign from the NICIL Board since the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) took office in August.In fact, Kaieteur News had reported on October 17 that another accountant, Nigel Hinds, had resigned from the NICIL Board with immediate effect over what he claimed to be the continued inhumane treatment being meted out to the squatters at Success, East Coast Demerara.
Kaieteur News had reported that the Guyana Sugar Corporation Incorporated (GuySuCo) decided to flood a large section of lands on the East Coast being occupied by the squatters.While a majority had opted to vacate the lands on the premise that it was a calculated move by GuySuCo to force them to leave, a significant number of squatters still remained, insisting that the flood will not “hamper their existence.” Things had escalated after actions by law enforcement officers resulted in a number of squatters being shot and injured with rubber pellets.
These “inhumane actions” taken by GuySuCo and the onslaught on Guyanese is what Hinds had stated he wished to disassociate himself from.

According to reports, in his resignation letter to NICIL Chairman, Paul Cheong, Hinds had made it explicitly clear that the lands at Success are owned by NICIL, and not GuySuCo.Furthermore, Hinds had stated that the actions taken by the police resulting in injuries on the residents of Success “are crude, cruel and callous actions,” ones that cast a gloom over Guyana, while indicating that his continued presence on NICIL’s Board would insinuate that he throws his support behind the actions taken.
NICIL is state company that is charged with handling investments for Government.
It manages shares in companies that belong to the state.
NICIL would have come under fire for its handling of a number of large scale projects including Marriott Hotel and the Berbice River Bridge.

Poor thinking

The industry needed leadership and injection of funds

it is more than SUGAR, it is the livelihood of 7000 workers and 10,000s other affected family and other folks

This is the primary reason for their defeat

Sase is in the leadership

Vish M
@Vish M posted:

Poor thinking

it is more than SUGAR, it is the livelihood of 7000 workers and 10,000s other affected family and other folks

Where are the 7,000 workers ? are the sitting and waiting to be employed ?

Wrong  on their defeat !!!  Wish Sase luck !!!!

@Vish M posted:

Poor thinking

Sase is a mad man.  He doesn't have a clue on resuscitating the sugar industry.  The odds against sugar are formidable and madman Sase is incapable of providing the necessary leadership.

@Totaram posted:

Sase is a mad man.  He doesn't have a clue on resuscitating the sugar industry.  The odds against sugar are formidable and madman Sase is incapable of providing the necessary leadership.

Sase isn't a madman.  So far, He is trying to fix an Industry that was demolished by both the PPP and the PNC. If Sase is not the genius who would bring back the sugar industry, then tell us what is your take on that? you are a smart guy. Let us know.

@Django posted:

What was Sase , accomplishment while residing in the US ? can any Company be found which was resuscitated by him ?

Rama can you tell us .

That is irrelevant. I am not interested in what Sase did in the army.

I am only interested in what he is doing now.  So far, he did a good job with three sugar estates, hiring 10,000 workers, and bought millions of dollars in agricultural machinery with foreign loans and aides.

He has the qualifications and experience to do the job. 

@Ramakant-P posted:

I am only interested in what he is doing now.  So far, he did a good job with three sugar estates, hiring 10,000 workers, and bought millions of dollars in agricultural machinery with foreign loans and aides.

Which army ? what experience in the Sugar Industry or any Company in the US ?

Let's see the production target for 2021 and the amount of money given for bail out ,so far he is just talking.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Hiring 10,000 workers is a big fat lie. He is not qualified to do the job. He is just another PPP crony who is parachuted into a position.

You claimed in a previous post 6,000 were laid off how did you come with 10,000?

@Mitwah posted:

Hiring 10,000 workers is a big fat lie. He is not qualified to do the job. He is just another PPP crony who is parachuted into a position.

You claimed in a previous post 6,000 were laid off how did you come with 10,000?

I am not going to educate anymore.

You are quick to call me a liar when you are the one who is ignorant of the facts.

@Ramakant-P posted:

I am not going to educate anymore.

You are quick to call me a liar when you are the one who is ignorant of the facts.

You can't educate anyone. You are blissfully ignorant and posting lies to fool yourself.

People like Chris Ram is seeing through the cons, lies of the PPP and bailing out before it becomes nasty, like it did the last time. The PPP has not even reached its first year in office and people are bailing out. 

@Tola posted:

People like Chris Ram is seeing through the cons, lies of the PPP and bailing out before it becomes nasty, like it did the last time. The PPP has not even reached its first year in office and people are bailing out.

Naw...Ram is interested in making money, which he can make in or out of government.

@Tola posted:

Nobody is baling out from the PPP.

Stop spreading your lies.

@Mitwah posted:

You can't educate anyone. You are blissfully ignorant and posting lies to fool yourself.

You need to be educated and I can provide that but you are so senile and I don't think I want to do that.

You never discuss any issue on this forum without insulting others.  How stupid are you? 

@Ramakant-P posted:

You need to be educated and I can provide that but you are so senile and I don't think I want to do that.

You never discuss any issue on this forum without insulting others.  How stupid are you?

Was told,  never to argue with a drunk.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Nobody is baling out from the PPP.

Stop spreading your lies.

Well Nigel Hinds and Chris Ram have bailed out of NICIL .  Weren't they part of the quartet, together with  madman Sase Singh and Kit Nascimento, that took it upon themselves to go to various state entities looking for fraud soon after the PPP was sworn in?  That wasn't so long ago.  Have people forgotten?

@Totaram posted:

Well Nigel Hinds and Chris Ram have bailed out of NICIL .  Weren't they part of the quartet, together with  madman Sase Singh and Kit Nascimento, that took it upon themselves to go to various state entities looking for fraud soon after the PPP was sworn in?  That wasn't so long ago.  Have people forgotten?

Why you say Sase is a madman?

He has been getting lots of praises for trying to rebuild the sugar industry.

@Totaram posted:

With Rama, there is evidence between the link of anxiety and memory loss. Covid is very rampant in his hood as per CTV news 5 mins ago.

@VishMahabir posted:

Why you say Sase is a madman?

He has been getting lots of praises for trying to rebuild the sugar industry.

Guyanese chupidness pon display, so typical of the disease afflicting the whole damn country. Mahabir paying homage to Sase for the single notion that Sase is TRYING to rebuild.....

In the real world you don't get points for TRYING. You get points for SUCCESS. Accomplishment. Effectiveness, proven by metrics. Lazy ass Guyanese like you quick to hand out credit for "trying", thus we have a nation run by people who have accomplished NOTHING positive in 50+ years. In fact they have collectively run the nation into the ground.

Grunts like you can't identify with what I just wrote. Alyuh accept effort as success. No wonder yuh bin in "college" fuh 30 years.

@Ramakant-P posted:

What 10,000 jobs you talking about?

What world you living in?

Guyanese chupidness pon display, so typical of the disease afflicting the whole damn country. Mahabir paying homage to Sase for the single notion that Sase is TRYING to rebuild.....

In the real world you don't get points for TRYING. You get points for SUCCESS. Accomplishment. Effectiveness, proven by metrics. Lazy ass Guyanese like you quick to hand out credit for "trying", thus we have a nation run by people who have accomplished NOTHING positive in 50+ years. In fact they have collectively run the nation into the ground.

Grunts like you can't identify with what I just wrote. Alyuh accept effort as success. No wonder yuh bin in "college" fuh 30 years.

The banna has been there for only a few months. What kind of miracle you expecting?

Last edited by VishMahabir
@Vish M posted:

I am shock at the garbage posted by Tota , Iguana et al

What do any of you know of the sugar industry

What is your current level of participation

Stay focused and lets tango

Fool, I posted on another thread why the sugar industry is no longer viable. Why don't you refute, point by point, my assertions? Let's hear your grand plan for the sugar industry, OR, tell us what Sase or the PPP is doing that is sooooooo grand.

Tango? You want to tango? Fool, you're an intellectual cripple. You can't even get on the dance floor. Now run along.