City constabulary demolish Bourda mall stalls

June 18, 2013 | By | Filed Under News 

Discussions will be held later this week to determine the fate of vendors on the Bourda mall. City officials ordered the demolition of several Bourda Mall stalls, last Friday.
Millions of dollars in fruits and vegetables were left to perish in the blistering sun, as city police tore down and removed the stalls.
Displaced vendors said that this is not the first occasion, whereby constabulary officers were ordered to demolish their stalls and seize their goods.

Torn down stalls, produce left in the midday sun.

Vendors that brought their goods from as far as Parika, East Bank Essequibo and Canal Number Two, West Bank Demerara, explained that constabulary officers confiscated all the materials used to build the stalls.
One of the farmers, Bharat, said that he has been plying his trade at the market place for a number of years.
“Let me explain something to you. Canal Number Two polder flood. I can’t carry this to Canal Number Two market, this is over $1.5 million that I alone have here. Besides that I got produce from other farmers to sell due to the rain. We turn up here and they tell we that we can’t sell. The constabulary officers charge we $10,000 each and then order we to move.”
He disclosed that he started to work two hours before the permitted time, but the market constabulary is in the habit of changing the regulation on the spot.
“All we de asking for is two hours cause we sell we things nowhere else…The government encourage we to grow more, but we can’t even get two or three hours more fuh sell we produce. It is unfair because our losses are endless.”