No valid charge of corruption against CHEC

July 4, 2012 | By | Filed Under News

…review completed, project to proceed as scheduled – Benn

Public Works Minister, Robeson Benn, has announced that the review of the allegations of corruption leveled against China Harbour Engineering Company (CHEC) has been completed. CHEC had secured the contract for the US$150M expansion of the Cheddi Jagan International Airport (CJIA), Timehri, last November. This award was greeted by a cloud of controversy. The Minister at his Wight’s Lane, Kingston Office, said that he is satisfied that there is “no valid charge of corruption against CHEC.” Benn said that the review by his Ministry has been completed and he will make the recommendation to the Government of Guyana that there is nothing untoward in relation to the corruption charges against CHEC. He drew reference to the recent pronouncements by CHEC’s Regional Director, Zhongdong Tang, when he defended the corruption charges. Benn said that none of the allegations by the World Bank was against CHEC directly. Tang argued that CHEC has only been caught up in the ‘corruption’ debacle as a result of a World Bank technicality “and by its association.” Benn said that he is satisfied that the company has been cleared by the review conducted by the Ministry, and the project will go ahead as scheduled. In addressing the corruption charges by the World Bank, Tang told media operatives that as it relates to the incident in the Phillipines, it is a matter that has nothing to do with CHEC. He had explained that CHEC falls under a Chinese Government holding company, China Communications and Construction Company (CCCC). The Phillipines incident, he explained, involved a company named China Road and Bridge Company (CRBC) and occurred in 2002. At this time, CCCC had no relationship with the implicated company, according to Tang. Neither was CHEC associated with either CCCC or CRBC. It was not until 2005 that both the implicated company (CRBC) as well as China Harbour (CHEC) were taken over by the Chinese holding company, CCCC. The second allegation of corruption levelled against the company that Tang chose to defend involved the former Bangladesh Prime Minister’s son. Tang told media operatives that two Bangladeshi citizens were engaged to provide local agency and consulting services to CHEC’s Bangladesh start-up operations for which they were paid. He said that the services provided by the Consultants included collecting the relevant information, preparing bidding documents, and advising on local requirements. “CHEC did not ask the agents to approach and lobby Mr. Arafat Rahman Koko.” Mr. Rahman is the son of the then Prime Minister. Tang insisted that CHEC was not aware that the consultants were in contact with him. “CHEC was never indicted for committing any offence in relation to this matter and the investigations found no wrongdoing by our company.” Another incident that the Chinese official was forced to defend involved another Chinese national. In that instance it was pointed out that bribery accusation was made against a staff member of the Binhai Company, a subsidiary of CCCC. That matter is still being dealt with in a Chinese court. This is more demonstrated in the World Bank’s debarment, he said. The World Bank decided to impose a ban on seven firms from bidding for road and bridge projects funded by the World Bank from January 2009 to January 2017. Tang was quick to point out that CHEC was not involved in, and has never been involved in any activity that has attracted any sanctions by the World Bank….CHEC itself has never been under any investigation by the World Bank.” It was pointed out that in 2011 the World Bank changed its rules of engagement with Companies and debarment. This rule change by the World Bank saw all subsidiaries of CCCC being debarred automatically which lent to involvement of CHEC “by association.”

Originally Posted by Henry:

Robeson Benn is the most trustworthy man in Guyana. On the other hand, I wouldn't trust the World Bank as far as I can throw it.

If h e is trustworthy what is he doing among that band of thieves and how come under his purview are contracts stymied, inflated, or remain incomplete and the same people are rehired to do them over?

Benn doesnt see the PPP as a band of thieves, that's why he is with them. He is in Guyana working for the people rather than posting drivel like you from your computer in North America.  

Originally Posted by martin Carter:

Benn doesnt see the PPP as a band of thieves, that's why he is with them. He is in Guyana working for the people rather than posting drivel like you from your computer in North America.  

Blind man Benn tarass.

You think he can use this excuse about  being blind should the authorities come for him?

Originally Posted by martin Carter:

They are a band of worthless thieves whose days as totalitarians are over. Stick that in your craw. Guyana is my home. It is the land of my ancestors. It is where my bones will rest and the place i long to be were it not for the cabal of crooks in office. My duty then is to call them to an accounting because in the combined opposition, a daniel has come to judgement. It is their ass on the spits. Call the election so we can jail the whole lot after taking the Administration. I most surely will be home for that viewing.

Sound addition. You would have to be asleep to be a disciple of that loon Larouche. No one with their faculties fully operational would be a victim to his bilge.

You guys notice every time someone has an article about those Benns on the board this Henry character comes on the board to tell us how great the Benns are.  I am hopeing that Henry was one of them three guys who each got a free car from the Benns.  That would mean at least he got something meaningful from them instead of just promises.

Originally Posted by Streetsmart:

Robeson Benn is the most trustworthy man in Guyana. On the other hand, I wouldn't trust the World Bank as far as I can throw it.

The Hon. Robeson is a very honest man

If honest then he is dumb for letting all that waste and gerrymandering of contracts happen under his watch. Else he is smart and simply after his own high leech index like the rest of the PPPites. One or the other but from all indications he is a smart man.

One man sounding like he is eager to get his hands in the cookie Jar.

It would be the expected mode of thinking of an idiot as usual.

I know Al Yuh Crabdaag too well!!!

Originally Posted by Prashad:

You guys notice every time someone has an article about those Benns on the board this Henry character comes on the board to tell us how great the Benns are.  I am hopeing that Henry was one of them three guys who each got a free car from the Benns.  That would mean at least he got something meaningful from them instead of just promises.

That's an accurate observation.