CJIA & sponsors wow passengers with Guyanese-style ‘Meet & Greet’

PASSENGERS arriving at the Cheddi Jagan International Airport (CJIA) on Monday morning were in for tasty treats of black cake, the sumptuous symbol of Guyanese Christmas celebrations.

Demerara Distillers Limited ‘El Dorado Ladies’ waiting to serve passengers

Two Caribbean Airlines’ aircraft touched down at the CJIA shortly after 09:00hrs, and their passengers were met and greeted with delicious black cake served them by CJIA Customer Service Representatives (CSRs); DDL ‘El Dorado Ladies’; the Edward B. Beharry ‘Chico man’ and his beautiful helpers; as well as personnel from Windsor Estates and the Guyana Tourism Authority (GTA).

Not to be outdone, CJIA’s Santa and his personal one-man band kept the festive momentum going with their inimitable brand of uniqueness. As usual, the duo was a massive hit with the children.
Meanwhile, the students of Success Elementary Choir gave youthful but masterful renditions of Christmas carols, while the Republican Steel Orchestra added that ‘pan’ touch of class.

According to GTA Director Indranauth Haralsingh, there is no Christmas like ‘the Guyanese Christmas’.
“It is a very proud moment to greet passengers in this style and fashion, and it is not only at Christmas time (we do this), but (at) other major Guyana celebrations, including Mashramani, Easter, Phagwah, Emancipation, and Diwali….  This makes CJIA unique and one of the friendliest airports in this part of the world,” he added. 

Passengers were served with delicious black cake

The annual Meet and Greet concludes on December 24.
The Oasis CafÉ; DDL; Windsor Estates, and Friendly’s Restaurant and Bar; Bakewell; Digicel; Candy Corner; Edward B. Beharry; and the Caribbean International Distributors Inc. (CIDI) are on board to make the portfolio of activities remarkable and memorable.

In keeping with the holiday spirit, the airport’s Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Mr Ramesh Ghir, said the CJIA’s annual parade, now in its sixth year, will take place on December 20.
“We have a number of sponsors with us, and we will take the opportunity to go into the Timehri North area and share out some gifts,” he told reporters.

He also introduced the airport’s three Customer Service Representatives (CSRs). The unit was established two and a half months ago with a view to improving the quality of services offered.
“These persons are on the ground to assist passengers with any concerns, whether it be challenges with immigration forms, baggage, [or] if they need a telephone call,” Ghir disclosed.
In terms of security, the CEO expressed confidence “that all will be well”, since security has been heightened.

The afc/pnc boys are trailing people from the airport and robbing them. They work in conjunction with disgruntled family and pnc/afc immigration officers who give the details for the robbery setup. 

You are a jackass to believe your own lies.

Eat black cake, drink rum on arrival and go to you death when you reach home, and that is friendly. You have to be thankful you may get crucified for Christmas.  me bad....

You are very bad.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Forget the cake. Just give me the ladies. I'll find the cake.

Mr. T

You missed my post. You can have them both. Cobra is a wicked guy, he loves his black cake on the side. He loves eating his black cake.

Merry Xmas.

Two years ago the Prime Minister and the acting Chief Justice at the airport welcoming the visitors. Did we see anything like this during the PNC rule?

Their thugs were busy prospecting whose doors will be kicked in.  

Comes with the onset of ageing. Nehru is past his sell by date.

Nehru is not too talkative. He's a jolly young fella and he doesn't take things seriously. The little time he stole from his job to post on GNI is all about his love for Guyana. 

Originally Posted by raymond:

Bhai Cobra, Abee gat Guyana SWEET SWEET laka Sponge cake and Sugar Cake. GUYANA SAY SWEET SWEET GUYANA.

you have a limited vocabulary

I KNOW TO SAY gAY AND aNTIMAN ALSO.

Nehru is not too talkative. He's a jolly young fella and he doesn't take things seriously. The little time he stole from his job to post on GNI is all about his love for Guyana. 

Who Rass nah serious. I am helping all them Gay Guys to come out the closet!!!!!!

rev say thanks

Bhai Cobra, Abee gat Guyana SWEET SWEET laka Sponge cake and Sugar Cake. GUYANA SAY SWEET SWEET GUYANA.

Once again , I see you following in the footsteps of your mentor 'Jai shree Ram'.  And who is this abee you talking bout. Ayuh two rass could only hide in R\H and crow over the slightest thing happening in Guyana. I wish the day would come when you two cowards would finally grow some balls and head down there. So what if yuh get rob and shoot. Abee gat guyana sweet like sponge cake, bai. According to you. 

Cobra, 40 lashes for these underage to be serving alchohol.

Yeh, Guyana need to introduce sharia law and whip them naked in public. Nah bhai, them look a little hard to be under age. What about the gyal with she black cake?  

'slong as dem bubbies large enough they ole enough an' is aright banna. Is not me say so ...is dem baies.

Does Guyana actually have an age of majority for booze?

During my lil boy days I was too busy having fun to stop and tek a drink, never drank until I came to Canada, same weekend tarass. I stopped completely about 16 yrs ago and back to havin fun once again.

Originally Posted by Sheik101:

Once again , I see you following in the footsteps of your mentor 'Jai shree Ram'.  And who is this abee you talking bout. Ayuh two rass could only hide in R\H and crow over the slightest thing happening in Guyana. I wish the day would come when you two cowards would finally grow some balls and head down there. So what if yuh get rob and shoot. Abee gat guyana sweet like sponge cake, bai. According to you. 

What you giving me and Nehru for Christmas? 

A good ole fashion bussin down tarass, dats what it look like to Iman from here.

A bottle of white hennessy

That is the best in town I heard. Let me know the time and place to collect. 

There's none in NY. picked up a couple at piarco. btw, check you email.

Yeh, Guyana need to introduce sharia law and whip them naked in public. Nah bhai, them look a little hard to be under age. What about the gyal with she black cake?  

I wonder if Yugi ever tasted black cake.

tHANK YOU bHAI. mY bAJAN sWEETHOMAN BRINGING A BOTTLE ON Friday TO OUR Christmas pARTY. I PLAN ON PUTTING A DENT ON IT rASS. oN THE rOCKS, NOT EVEN ICE

I wonder if Yugi ever tasted black cake.

Mits

My first love was mixed Dutch and Afro. Sadly, both her parents and and mine objected to our relationship. They married her off when I moved to Canada.

Mixed cake with fruits is sweet, never tasted pure black cake. After all, I am vegetarian.