Dear Editor,

I am a regular traveller to North America and every now and then to a few Caribbean countries, so I spend a lot of time passing through the Cheddi Jagan International Airport. However, I’m disappointed at the way in which the airport is being kept, since the floors as well as the washrooms are in my opinion not up to international standard. This should not be since this is the first place persons visiting for the first time or who, like me, travel regularly, touch down. Further, there were a few times when I had to visit persons who are employed by the airport, and the conditions aren’t much better in the office area. The carpets are not kept properly and they smell of insecticide and mould despite the fact you may see a cleaner brushing the carpet. Now with the previous administration the same thing was happening, but I’m surprised that this currant administration hasn’t observed that there needs to be improvement in the cleaning and maintenance of this important place. We want to expand tourism, but this doesn’t speak well of what tourists will think of our country. I’m calling on the Chief Executive Officer of the CJIA to look into this matter, since it’s not a good reflection on the people in charge and certainly not a good reflection on the country.

Yours faithfully,
(Name and address provided)

DO you know who was Dred Scott? 

Dred Scott v. Sandford, 60 U.S. 393 (1857), was a landmark decision by the U.S. Supreme Court in which the Court held that African Americans, whether enslaved or free, could not be American citizens and therefore had no standing to sue in federal court,[2][3] and that the federal government had no power to regulate slavery in thefederal territories acquired after the creation of the United States. Dred Scott, an enslaved African American man who had been taken by his owners to free states and territories, attempted to sue for his freedom. In a 7–2 decision written by Chief Justice Roger B. Taney, the Court denied Scott's request. For only the second time to that point in its history, the Supreme Court ruled an Act of Congress to be unconstitutional.[4]

You may want to reconsider using his name as it relates to Guyana politics

Main article: Dred Scott

Dred Scott was born a slave in Virginia in 1795. Little is known of his early years.[9] His owner, Peter Blow, moved to Alabama in 1818, taking his six slaves along to work a farm near Huntsville. In 1830, Blow gave up farming and settled in St. Louis, Missouri, where he sold Scott to U.S. Army Surgeon Dr. John Emerson.[10] After purchasing Scott, Emerson took him to Fort Armstrong, which was located in Illinois. A free state, Illinois had been free as a territory under the Northwest Ordinance of 1787, and had prohibited slavery in its constitution in 1819 when it was admitted as a state.

RiffRaff posted:

DO you know who was Dred Scott? 

Dred Scott v. Sandford, 60 U.S. 393 (1857), was a landmark decision by the U.S. Supreme Court in which the Court held that African Americans, whether enslaved or free, could not be American citizens and therefore had no standing to sue in federal court,[2][3] and that the federal government had no power to regulate slavery in thefederal territories acquired after the creation of the United States. Dred Scott, an enslaved African American man who had been taken by his owners to free states and territories, attempted to sue for his freedom. In a 7–2 decision written by Chief Justice Roger B. Taney, the Court denied Scott's request. For only the second time to that point in its history, the Supreme Court ruled an Act of Congress to be unconstitutional.[4]

You may want to reconsider using his name as it relates to Guyana politics

The important thing is that you can relate to the issue

The stench was so bad in the washroom,i was nearly knocked out.I can relate the same as the writer,not impressive for a tourist at the port of entry.

Making the windows larger in the washrooms might eliminate  some of the stench. This suffocating smell is similar to some rum shop washrooms in Guyana, even in GT. 

Islands like Barbados, Antigua or Tortola, with similar temperature,  don't seem to have this problem. 

Mr.T posted:

Who is in charge of the airport? Maybe we can make trouble for them on GNI till the problem get sorted.

THE INCOMPETENT PNC!!!

The stench started under the PPP. So let's not waste time on that. What I want to know is who is in charhe of the airport. Every airport in the world has an administrator who is in charge of every aspect of what goes on at an airport. So who is it in Guyana?

Mr.T posted:

Who is in charge of the airport? Maybe we can make trouble for them on GNI till the problem get sorted.

THE INCOMPETENT PNC!!!

Oii you know the CEO is Ramesh Ghir,Patterson is the Minister in charge and he is from AFC.

Mr.T posted:

THE INCOMPETENT PNC!!!

Oii you know the CEO is Ramesh Ghir,Patterson is the Minister in charge and he is from AFC.

KFC Wha dat???????????????

Mr.T posted:

THE INCOMPETENT PNC!!!

KFC Wha dat???????????????

LOL