“Clock is ticking” on plan to improve the state of Afro-Guyanese – Granger

President David Granger addressing the opening Cuffy250's Fourth Annual State of the African Guyanese Forum.

President David Granger addressing the opening Cuffy250’s Fourth Annual State of the African Guyanese Forum.

President David Granger on Sunday urged numerous African Guyanese organisations to come together, even as he pledged his government’s support to end racial discrimination, create jobs and improve access to education.

“I am not going to be so crass as to ask you to measure the accomplishments so far in this decade but what I would like to caution you about is that this is the key time to organise, this is the time to mobilize and not to agonise interminably about the condition in which we find ourselves as a nation,” he said. At the same time, he said all Guyanese are entitled to share equitably in the country’s patrimony.

Addressing the opening of  Cuffy250’s 4th Annual State of the African Guyanese Forum at the Critchlow Labour College, he said 20 months have already been lost and so the “the clock is ticking” on the remaining 100 months of the United Nations (UN)-designated International Decade for People of African Descent to implement certain activities.

Granger urged participants to consider how best the African Guyanese organisations could be mobilized to achieve specific, measurable targets. “I ask that some forum be created so that nobody will be left out, everyone could feel involved, everyone could be consulted if we are to achieve the objectives of this International Decade (of People of African Descent),” he said.

Attendees at the opening of Cuffy250's Fourth Annual State of the African Guyanese Forum.

Attendees at the opening of Cuffy250’s Fourth Annual State of the African Guyanese Forum.

He announced that government has committed to implementing five of the 10 activities that the UN has approved for the decades that lasts from 2015 to 20124. They are an apology and compensation from Europe for the inhumane and criminal act of the slavery, provision of education, provision of jobs and the promotion of equality and an end to discrimination.

Granger said ethnic discrimination and lack of equal access to public services contribute to inequality, adding that people of African descent have in the past alleged such acts of discrimination in the public and private sectors. “There is evidence that there was discrimination. We must now correct that situation because discrimination against anyone promotes insecurity and social exclusion and that can lead to disorder.”

The President said the intended Plan of Action must give the assurance that no group or community would be disenfranchised to prevent it from accessing public services. “People of African Descent must be assured that they will not be discriminated against and hindered in accessing public services including housing, education, public health and utilities and most important their land rights,” he said.

Granger’s charge that there has been discrimination comes amid a simmering public controversy over claims by Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo that the APNU+AFC administration has been discriminating against Indo Guyanese.

While Germany has apologized to the Jews for the Holocaust and Britain has done so to the Mao Maos for torture, the President said Guyana and other Caribbean countries would continue to press for Europe to apologise and compensate people of African descent for slavery. “This is a hard thing and the Caribbean governments are insisting on an apology because a crime has been committed and they must say we are sorry,”  he said.

Saying that “we have to make the decade work for the people of African descent,” the President charged the African Guyanese community to use education to rise out of poverty and equality. “We have an obligation just as our illiterate fore parents 178 years ago saw the benefits of education, we their educated descendants than to ensure that every single child goes to school and stays in school.”

Granger restated that government planned to establish a Lands Commission to “rectify the anomalies and resolve the controversies” concerning thousands of hectares of communal lands that were “purchased with hard cash” after slavery practically ended in 1838.

The President again cited the need to reduce employment by creating an entrepreneurial programme to assist young Guyanese to establish and manage their businesses.

“Clock is ticking” on plan to improve the state of Afro-Guyanese – Granger

President David Granger addressing the opening Cuffy250's Fourth Annual State of the African Guyanese Forum.

President David Granger addressing the opening Cuffy250’s Fourth Annual State of the African Guyanese Forum.

President David Granger on Sunday urged numerous African Guyanese organisations to come together, even as he pledged his government’s support to end racial discrimination, create jobs and improve access to education.

“I am not going to be so crass as to ask you to measure the accomplishments so far in this decade but what I would like to caution you about is that this is the key time to organise, this is the time to mobilize and not to agonise interminably about the condition in which we find ourselves as a nation,” he said. At the same time, he said all Guyanese are entitled to share equitably in the country’s patrimony.

Addressing the opening of  Cuffy250’s 4th Annual State of the African Guyanese Forum at the Critchlow Labour College, he said 20 months have already been lost and so the “the clock is ticking” on the remaining 100 months of the United Nations (UN)-designated International Decade for People of African Descent to implement certain activities.

Granger urged participants to consider how best the African Guyanese organisations could be mobilized to achieve specific, measurable targets. “I ask that some forum be created so that nobody will be left out, everyone could feel involved, everyone could be consulted if we are to achieve the objectives of this International Decade (of People of African Descent),” he said.

Attendees at the opening of Cuffy250's Fourth Annual State of the African Guyanese Forum.

Attendees at the opening of Cuffy250’s Fourth Annual State of the African Guyanese Forum.

He announced that government has committed to implementing five of the 10 activities that the UN has approved for the decades that lasts from 2015 to 20124. They are an apology and compensation from Europe for the inhumane and criminal act of the slavery, provision of education, provision of jobs and the promotion of equality and an end to discrimination.

Granger said ethnic discrimination and lack of equal access to public services contribute to inequality, adding that people of African descent have in the past alleged such acts of discrimination in the public and private sectors. “There is evidence that there was discrimination. We must now correct that situation because discrimination against anyone promotes insecurity and social exclusion and that can lead to disorder.”

The President said the intended Plan of Action must give the assurance that no group or community would be disenfranchised to prevent it from accessing public services. “People of African Descent must be assured that they will not be discriminated against and hindered in accessing public services including housing, education, public health and utilities and most important their land rights,” he said.

Granger’s charge that there has been discrimination comes amid a simmering public controversy over claims by Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo that the APNU+AFC administration has been discriminating against Indo Guyanese.

While Germany has apologized to the Jews for the Holocaust and Britain has done so to the Mao Maos for torture, the President said Guyana and other Caribbean countries would continue to press for Europe to apologise and compensate people of African descent for slavery. “This is a hard thing and the Caribbean governments are insisting on an apology because a crime has been committed and they must say we are sorry,”  he said.

Saying that “we have to make the decade work for the people of African descent,” the President charged the African Guyanese community to use education to rise out of poverty and equality. “We have an obligation just as our illiterate fore parents 178 years ago saw the benefits of education, we their educated descendants than to ensure that every single child goes to school and stays in school.”

Granger restated that government planned to establish a Lands Commission to “rectify the anomalies and resolve the controversies” concerning thousands of hectares of communal lands that were “purchased with hard cash” after slavery practically ended in 1838.

The President again cited the need to reduce employment by creating an entrepreneurial programme to assist young Guyanese to establish and manage their businesses.

Is there a plan to improve the status of Indos?

Given that allegations of discrimination against Africans by the PPP was raised I will suggest that Indians be careful about screaming contemporary racism against them.

They really cannot deny Africans the right to complain about the racism that they suffered under the PPP while claiming current exclusion.

Maybe you will urge that Indians lead a WHOLISTIC discussion on ethnic exclusion, including that suffered by Africans during the PPP era.

Indians love to deny Africans the right to complain about the PPP, scream that blacks benefitted from the PPP (motivated more by a sense that they didn't benefit), but want their current frustrations to be viewed with seriousness.

So Indians should put their money with their mouths are and discuss the topic of ethnic exclusion of Guyana's history.  If they don't wish to do this then their current cries should be IGNORED!

And you will note that Granger is proposing self help to improve the condition of blacks, and not any specific government programs aimed at blacks. He is telling them what they ought to be doing.  Not telling them to wait for government to do it for them.

None of the "tek back we country" rhetoric that Jagdeo is running around screaming about.

The goal of ending discrimination, creating jobs and improving access to education are neutral of any ethnic impact.  This is the type of rhetoric that Jagdeo should be using. Not a partisan Indocentric scream.

And you will note that Granger is proposing self help to improve the condition of blacks, and not any specific government programs aimed at blacks. He is telling them what they ought to be doing.  Not telling them to wait for government to do it for them.

None of the "tek back we country" rhetoric that Jagdeo is running around screaming about.

The goal of ending discrimination, creating jobs and improving access to education are neutral of any ethnic impact.  This is the type of rhetoric that Jagdeo should be using. Not a partisan Indocentric scream.

You should renew your usual complaint against your hero Burnham for not "preparing" the Blacks to compete against Indians rather than blaming the Indians.

The black situation in Guyana remains as it was since I was a kid.  Under the PNC, you did get a small, very small, Black elite mostly created by key positions in the nationalized industries, not self made.  When those went away, so did this small Black [artificial] elite.

The only difference between then and now, today you have the PPP boogieman to point your fingers, apart from that, nothing has changed!

Blacks do work hard, when there is work.  They seem less capable of being self starters and less capable of sustaining a business.  There are the exceptions, for sure.  However, when Blacks work and earn, they spend most and are exactly where they were when the work runs out.

I know you will refer to other Blacks, well I'm referring to Guyanese Blacks.  You have an easy solution when the water runs dry, tap into the Indian well and transfer some over.

Given that allegations of discrimination against Africans by the PPP was raised I will suggest that Indians be careful about screaming contemporary racism against them.

You Blacks now have your boogie man.  What has changed in your pathetic situation from the Burnham era to today, nothing.  You bled the nationalized Corp dry and left with white mouth.  The transfer of wealth from Indians just drove Indians away and then you blacks followed as the well ran dry for you too.

Some Indians thrived even under the PNC.  What stopped Blacks from rising under your PNC apartheid era when Blacks were the preferred class?  You have nothing to show and had a lot less in 1992 than in 1975 or 2015!

No more ppp to blame, now you Blacks will have to find someone else other than Indians to blame for your plight. No more, "the collies holding us back".  Now we expect to see a super race of Blacks producing noble prize winners and future Donald Trumps coming out of Guyana as the "bad" Indian is no longer in the equation to keep the Blackman down. 

Granger intentionally ignores the racist and apartheid PNC policies bu his hero Burnham and the injustices towards Indos and the PNC's attempt to exterminate Indos dung that racist era.

How easily and intentionally Ganger forgot to mention that era.

Shame on Granger. 

Burnhamism has returned under Granger.

INDIAN LIVES DONT MATTER AS FAR AS GRANGER IS CONCERNED. WHO THE FRIG WILL TAKE CARE OF THE POOR INDIANS, THE UNEMPLOYED INDIANS, THE INDIANS WHO ARE BREAKING THEIR BACKS IN THE FIELDS AND TRENCHES, WHO??? NOT THE PARASITE UNCLE TOM AND CERTAINLY NOT THE RHODESIA STYLE GOVT OF GUYANA!!!!!!!!!

They really cannot deny Africans the right to complain about the racism that they suffered under the PPP while claiming current exclusion.

Maybe you will urge that Indians lead a WHOLISTIC discussion on ethnic exclusion, including that suffered by Africans during the PPP era.

Indians love to deny Africans the right to complain about the PPP, scream that blacks benefitted from the PPP (motivated more by a sense that they didn't benefit), but want their current frustrations to be viewed with seriousness.

So Indians should put their money with their mouths are and discuss the topic of ethnic exclusion of Guyana's history.  If they don't wish to do this then their current cries should be IGNORED!

Hehe.  The PPP went out of it's way to facilitate blacks to appease them.  Most of the free house lots given out under the PPP were given to blacks. Where is the official list of complaints of black discrimination?  Or Granger just pull that out of his arse. Do you have a count of how many Indians in the Public Sector were fired by Granger?  If not just SHUT THE HELL UP! 

ba$eman posted:

Blacks do work hard, when there is work.  They seem less capable of being self starters and less capable of sustaining a business.  There are the exceptions, for sure.  However, when Blacks work and earn, they spend most and are exactly where they were when the work runs out.

Here is the rub Mr. Racist.  The vast majority of jobs in any society are created by a few people.  The ethnicity of who creates these jobs ought not to matter if they hire the people best suited for the jobs that they offer, and promote them based on performance.

Here is the deal Mr. Racist if 40% of the population consisted of Indians who all owned businesses and were all employers than Guyana would have a shortage of workers.  Clearly this isn't the case, so clearly the vast majority of Indians employ no one, and hustle a living just as indeed most blacks.

ba$eman posted:

Here is the rub Mr. Racist.  The vast majority of jobs in any society are created by a few people.  The ethnicity of who creates these jobs ought not to matter if they hire the people best suited for the jobs that they offer, and promote them based on performance.

Here is the deal Mr. Racist if 40% of the population consisted of Indians who all owned businesses and were all employers than Guyana would have a shortage of workers.  Clearly this isn't the case, so clearly the vast majority of Indians employ no one, and hustle a living just as indeed most blacks.

Carib you have seen all the blacks working in the public sector during the PPP time. Hardly any coolie immigration officer at CJI. Stay safree deh bai.

alena06 posted:
.. Do you have a count of how many Indians in the Public Sector were fired by Granger?  If not just SHUT THE HELL UP! 

The PPP was supposed to provide this, but seem to be UNABLE to do so. You seem to be a class idiot by screaming that Granger has an obligation to provide lists of fired Indians.

Here is why the PPP is afraid to furnish lists.  Because it will show that over 90% of those in top leadership were Indians, and that in most instances these people were INCOMPETENT!

Jagdeo was given an opportunity in his law suit against Freddie K to prove that he wasn't an institutional racist. In fact all his law suit achieved was proving that he was.

As to house lots. Well two charges have been made.  One was that blacks were given sites in areas which lacked infra structure. And the other was that the PPP wanted to reduce the black population in Region 4 by pushing blacks into Region 3.

Now if you wish that people should sympathize with your current screams that Guyana is now South Africa circa 1973 then you need to listen to blacks.

You don't want to, and the United Nations would laugh at any claims by Indians that in 2016 they are being oppressed because they are Indians. Were the vendors who APNU tossed out Indians? NO!  Were the businesses which benefitted from the removal of these people mainly blacks? NO!

Carib you have seen all the blacks working in the public sector during the PPP time. Hardly any coolie immigration officer at CJI. Stay safree deh bai.

Give us the names of the top 3 officials at the airport.  Ditto for G/T Hospital.  And just about any other state controlled corporation.

Guyana under the PPP was like a slave plantation.  Except that Indians replaced whites at the top, but those at the bottom were blacks.

When your ancestors got off their ships from India the bulk of the immigration officers were also blacks.

Maybe you will scream that in 1880 Guyana was actually run by blacks, not by the colonial administrators and the plantocracy.