November 5 2019

Dr. Arlington Chesney

Approximately 700 acres of the shuttered Wales Sugar Estate has been leased to the newly formed Amazonia Expert Services Limited (AESL) which has expressed the intention to enter the coconut industry.

Former Executive Director of the Caribbean Agricultural Research and Development Institute (CARDI),  Dr. Arlington Chesney, who is a principal in AESL explained to reporters last evening that the company which is just about six weeks old intends to process coconut water and dried and grated coconut for a market in the Dominican Republic.

“We have been given a lease for the land and we are in the process of getting a lease for the processing facility,” he noted, explaining that the current lease which is for 20 years in the first instance carries an option for renewal.

Chesney further explained that contracts for the supply of coconut coir to the agricultural sector in southern United States  have already been secured while greenhouses food production for oil drilling and exploration rigs that would include a “spin-off” relationship with local farmers is planned for the long term.

“Our intention is that with time we will have people growing food specifically for the rig…it is a floating all-inclusive hotel,” Chesney said.

This long-term project appears to be the lynchpin between AESL and Ghanaian-owned Unicon Western Holdings which have signed a joint venture agreement and launched Unicon Guyana Incorporated (UGI) as the latest service provider for the oil and gas sector.

UGI which was launched under the theme, partnership for people centred petroleum development, will from the first quarter of the New Year “recruit, train and place staff within the various oil companies.”

Chief Operations Officer Mark Ebbah told those gathered at the Herdmanston Lodge last evening that UGI will leverage its wealth of experience and competencies to support major oil companies operating out of Guyana. 

The Ghanaian Company has according to its directors provided services to Ghana’s shore-based and offshore sectors as well as provided major support service to Stenna Drilling, one of the world’s foremost independent drilling contractors.

A multi-faceted conglomerate with subsidiaries engaged in Oil and Gas Labour Supply, transport and logistics, engineering and hospitality among others, Unicon Western Holdings has been welcomed by government.

Minister of Foreign Affairs, Dr. Karen Cummings speaking on behalf of Minister of State, Dawn Hastings- Williams said that the Government is pleased that the company has taken on the business of equipping interested persons with the technical skills and training they need to work and earn in the oil and gas sector.

“UGI specialises in offering training in technical skills, which can create job opportunities. By providing these skills, we are directly increasing the earning potential for Guyanese and we welcome this level of participation in building our economy and our people. Skills development has been and remains a priority for this Government. We are pleased to see UGI aligning its work with our vision,” she said.

Dr. Patrick Antoine, Director of UGI, who chaired the launch repeatedly referred to the venture as the operationalization of the memorandum of understanding signed by Ghanaian President, Nana Akufo-Addo and President David Granger in June of this year.

The MoU was expected to pave the way for increased cooperation, collaboration, trade and visa-free travel between the two countries.

At the time of the signing Director General of the Ministry of the Presidency, Joseph Harmon disclosed that the African country is looking to expand its trade and business with Guyana, particularly in the areas of rum, wood/timber and support for oil and gas services. An agreement to this effect was also signed.

Foreigners started to take over , what happen to the locals , no vision.  Seems like most  moaning and groaning.

Few hundred acres of rice growing already stated there ,saw in the news there are plans to set up a rice mill.

AESL is only 6 weeks old and has a 20-year lease already. A PPP government will not recognize that contract. 

why?

dem Afro, so is automatic wrang needing no examination fuh merit nuh?

do you know anything of Dr Chesney and his history in Guyana . . . do you even care?

alyuh see no evil when soooo much much much more was literally given away by the PPP to dubious characters and criminals

the only difference then vs today being the common texture of hair and name type of the PPP givers and the given

for you, the malign color-coded blinders never left . . . returning in your senior years with a vengeance tarasss!

this is merely a 20-year lease banna

you do know the difference between that and a 99-yr wan, rite?

smh

Foreigners started to take over , what happen to the locals , no vision.  Seems like most  moaning and groaning.

Few hundred acres of rice growing already stated there ,saw in the news there are plans to set up a rice mill.

The locals have vision, but they knows the Guyanese mentality when it comes to working attitude. 

ARLINGTON CHESNEY

Dr. H. Arlington D. Chesney, the CFCS President 1970 - 71, was born in Georgetown, British Guiana (now Guyana). His early academic ability gained him entrance to the prestigious Queen’s College where he excelled in the classroom and on the sports field. He then moved to the Faculty of Agriculture at the University of the West Indies, St. Augustine for his BSc in Agriculture. The late Professor Nazir Ahmed remembered Chesney as a well built, very studious individual who walked slowly around campus looking as if he could not harm a fly, but suddenly on sports days he would emerge and win the Victor Ludorum.

Dr. Chesney began his professional career in the Government of Guyana as an Agricultural Chemist and Soil Scientist, but moved quickly through the ranks to Principal Agricultural Officer-Research, to Deputy Chief Agricultural Officer and still in his early 30s to Chief Agricultural Officer. At the same time he was lecturing students at both the Guyana School of Agriculture and the University of Guyana and, amazingly found time to complete not only an MSc (Soil Chemistry), but also his PhD (Soil Fertility and Chemistry) at UWI.

During those very busy early years he was a prolific researcher with many articles in international journals as well as regular presentations at the annual CFCS meetings. He managed to successfully organize the 1971 CFCS meeting in Georgetown at a time when Guyana was struggling economically in the rapidly changing early post independence Caribbean.

Having reached the top (as it were) in Guyana he moved upwards to the Regional scene and became Managing Director of the Caribbean Food Corporation from 1979 to 1994. He then moved into the Inter American Institute for Cooperation on Agriculture (IICA) from 1994 to 2007 gaining promotion as high as the Director of Operations and Regional Integration, Caribbean. During this time Dr. Chesney became known as a leading (perhaps theleading) agricultural professional in the Caribbean. He was one of the architects of the ‘Jagdeo’ Initiative, he was the main figure in the establishment of the Alliance for Sustainable Development of Agriculture and Rural Milieu and its many components encompassing Ministers of Agriculture, Agribusiness, Education, Rural Women and Youth. In 2008 IICA appointed Dr. Chesney with the title of personnel “Emeritus” on Agriculture, the first Caribbean national to be conferred this title.

He retired from IICA in 2007, but not from his toils as he became Executive Director of CARDI, a position which, he will probably agree, carries even more work and responsibility than his previous postings. In the seven years he has been at the helm of CARDI he has increased its external funding amounts almost tenfold.

In 2011 he was honoured by his native country, Guyana, with the national award: "The Golden Arrow of Achievement" for his contribution to agricultural development in Guyana and the Region.

For well over 40 years Dr. Chesney has served the CFCS in various capacities. At present he is a Member of the Advisory Board. Dr. H. Arlington D. Chesney has indeed served the region with much more than mere distinction.

Foreigners [correction, should say part foreign investor] started to take over , what happen to the locals , no vision.  Seems like most  moaning and groaning.

The locals have vision, but they knows the Guyanese mentality when it comes to working attitude.

So how this Company will get suitable employees , will they have to import them.

Foreigners [correction, should say part foreign investor] started to take over , what happen to the locals , no vision.  Seems like most  moaning and groaning.

So how this Company will get suitable employees , will they have to import them.

Django bhai I have not seen one single Remigrant   who built a successful company. 

Guyanese and politicians need a wake up call. Them importing lettuce and bot water by the 40 ft container... how shame full.
Plantain chips and tamarind balls are imported from China and Indonesia. lol . 

Django bhai I have not seen one single Remigrant   who built a successful company. 

Guyanese and politicians need a wake up call. Them importing lettuce and bot water by the 40 ft container... how shame full.
Plantain chips and tamarind balls are imported from China and Indonesia. lol . 

Heard about the imports, that's disgraceful.

Base, why local Coconut Farmers not given the same opportunity. I am SURE if you read the fine prints they will receive vast Tax breaks and Tax exemptions!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I agree that the locals should be given same opportunity. I still question why some of these initiatives were not explored by the PPP!  The EU gave the PPP money to transition the workers away from sugar, but they built a malfunctioning factory!  Now the PNC doing their thing with their people and we complaining!

All these initiatives should have been explored by the PPP!  A dumb wit clown on GNI said the PPP was right not to offer tax incentives!  Well the PNC doing that and getting their people in on the action!

Maybe the PPP learned a few things and will behave differently if they win in 2020!

ALl CONTRACTS signed after the CCJ ruling are illegal and will be terminated!!!

WHy would APNU terminate their own contracts?

Why you creating more stress?

I hope this doesn’t crash and burn like how Burnham had to hustle and sell out Letter T estate to Resaul Maraj.

Well if it does, wan Coolie man guh get um juss like Resaul M!!

AESL is only 6 weeks old and has a 20-year lease already. A PPP government will not recognize that contract. 

why?

do you know anything of Dr Chesney and his history in Guyana . . . do you even care?

alyuh see no evil when soooo much much much more was literally given away by the PPP to dubious characters and criminals

the only difference then vs today being the common texture of hair and name type of the PPP givers and the given

for you, the malign color-coded blinders never left . . . returning in your senior years with a vengeance tarasss!

smh

Since September 19 PPP Leader Bharrat Jagdeo have notice that a PPP government would not recognize ANY contracts awarded by the caretaker coalition. Nothing about race. Even contracts awarded to Indo companies would not be recognized.

why?

smh

Since September 19 PPP Leader Bharrat Jagdeo have notice that a PPP government would not recognize ANY contracts awarded by the caretaker coalition. Nothing about race. Even contracts awarded to Indo companies would not be recognized.

backfill and nonsense red herrings!

the predicate of your 2nd sentence (in your initial post) is the 1st

THAT is the statement that made me come in here

do you take me for a fool?

why?

smh

backfill and nonsense red herrings!

the predicate of your 2nd sentence (in your initial post) is the 1st

THAT is the statement that made me come in here

do you take me for a fool?

You farted in the occupied elevator and decided to run out and take the stairs instead?

Ha, Ha this scheme is to supply the DR market. Is like selling snow cones to the North Pole. Dominican Republic has tons of coconuts, I was there last March, I see no shortage.

Coke in the Coconut will be the next thing you hear.

Last edited by Billy Ram Balgobin

Equal pay for drillship workers but unions must understand industry -new oil company

(Left to right) Stena Carron rig manager, Chris Hutton; Chairman of Unicon (Guyana), Dr. Arlington Chesney; Chief Operations Office of Unicon (Ghana), Mark Ebbah; Minister of Foreign Affairs, Dr. Karen Cummings; Foreign Secretary, Carl Greenidge and Dr. Patrick Antoine.

The recently established Unicon Guyana Inc. (UGI), which includes a well-established Ghanaian company, has promised that the workers it will hire, train and place aboard oil rigs will receive equal pay with their foreign counterparts, but trade unions must come to grips with the reality of working conditions aboard drillships.

“Specifically, I want to say that once I’m Chairman, UGI will not discriminate negatively against Guyanese nationals in terms of pay for the same job,” said Company Chairman, Dr. Arlington Chesney at the official launch of the company. Chesney explained that training would take some time and so initially Guyanese might not have the same level of experience which would result in differences in pay.

His assurance came months after a company with Trinidad and Tobago connections had been accused of paying foreign workers more compared to Guyanese workers in the same positions such as seafarers. A number of seafarers had also lodged complaints with the Guyana Human Rights Association (GHRA) and the Ministry of Public Infrastructure.

While stating that UGI would be a “law-abiding corporate citizen” and would abide by Guyana’s laws, he said stakeholders should be aware of the working conditions aboard drillships. “We must understand that there are certain conditions under which people work on a rig and these conditions are really immutable and, therefore, there needs to be a very close relationship between the worker, the manager, and others,” he said. “UGI will respect the laws of Guyana but we also expect workers to respect the terms and conditions,” he added.

The Trade Union Recognition and Certification Act provides for the recognition of trade unions at places of employment once the workers vote overwhelmingly for such bargaining agents.

No high-profile representative of the local private sector organisations under the umbrella of the Private Sector Commission (PSC) was present at the event that was held at the Herdmanston Lodge.

This is believed to be the first business-to-business linkage between Guyana and Ghana, the three-month-old joint venture between Amazonia Expert Services (AES) and Unicon Western Holdings’ Unicon Western Engineering Services.

Majority shareholder of AES, Ambassador Dr. Patrick Antoine said UGI would be positioning itself as a major service provider for the oil and gas sector in the wider Caribbean Community (Caricom) which provides for the free movement of labour, capital, goods and services in the regional single market.

“The joint venture, too, is fashioned in the context of the revised Treaty of Chaguaramas and is intended to forge a partnership in the oil and gas space with potential benefits to all of Caricom,” said Dr. Antoine, a well-known economist and regional trade expert. He listed the benefits like training and certification, job placement of Guyanese and other Caricom nationals, and the provision of a range of downstream services.

Grenada, from which Dr. Antoine hails, discovered oil and gas deposits offshore.

He hailed the business partnership as one that “infuses much-needed oxygen for lasting integration between the countries of Africa and countries of the Caribbean” as well as creates “a new lawyer” of regionalism that has been created by governments.

Chris Hutton who is the Rig Manager of the drillship, Stena Carron, that has been working offshore Guyana since early 2016, hailed the work of Unicon (Ghana) in providing highly trained and motivated staff in line with internationally-recognised health, safety and environmental standards.

“Although I have not personally worked with Unicon, I can say that Stena drilling’s relationship with Unicon Group of Companies has been very positive, very successful and mutually beneficial in Ghana for several years,” he said.

In 2017, Stena and Unicon established a joint venture drilling company.