October 13 ,2020

– according to documents

Kaieteur News – Documents shared with Kaieteur News show that Designz Unlimited, a company founded by the son of the Minister of Local Government and Regional Development, Nigel Dharamlall, had received a total of $485,000 worth in contracts over a period of one month.

Invoices submitted to the Local Government Ministry and Designz Unlimited

Designz Unlimited, a local printery and embroidery company, had submitted three separate invoices to the Local Government Ministry.
One invoice dated at September 11, states that the Ministry had procured “1,000 premium stock, matte finish, standard edges, one-sided color printed business cards- Minister N. Dharamlall”, along with “1,000 premium stock, matte finish, standard edges, one-sided color printed business cards- Minister A. Persaud”. Anand Persaud is the Junior Minister within the Ministry.

Minister of Local Government and Regional Development, Nigel Dharamlall

The cost of these business cards totaled to GY $40,000 and were addressed to the Ministry’s De Winkle Building in Fort Street, Kingston, Georgetown.A second invoice, this one dated at October 8, states that the Ministry procured “1,000 compliment slips: printed full color, one side on linen paper. Size 6.8 x 4 1/2 – Minister N. Dharamlall”. At a unit price of $55 each, this invoice totaled to GY $55,000.The largest invoice is dated at September 24. Under the description of the invoice it states that the Ministry procured one “10×4 signboard, design, fabrication, print and installation on pre-determined site. Artwork to be approved by client before print and installation”; one “8×4 signboard, design, fabrication, print and installation on pre-determined site. Artwork to be approved by client before print and installation” and lastly, “artwork”. This invoice carried a hefty price tag to the tune of GY $390,000.
Kaieteur News had published a report on Sunday, which alleged that Minister Dharamlall had instructed his staff to hire this same company that was founded by his son. This was after Opposition Member of Parliament (MP) Ganesh Mahipaul had released documents highlighting the damning revelations.
According to the September 30 documents, the Local Government Ministry had received a quotation from, Designz Unlimited, for the supply of “80 full color, one side poster board with glossy finish, size 11 x 17”.
These 80 posters, which were all portraits of Minister Dharamlall, were stated to cost $1,000 each—thereby taking the contract’s sum to GY $80,000.
Owner and manager of the Designz Unlimited, Monica Sharma had confirmed that her company was requested by the Ministry of Local Government to submit a quotation for a print service and acquiesced. “We have not since been awarded any contract and in fact, have not been informed of any development in relation thereto,” she highlighted as she noted the Designz Unlimited has been a “trusted supplier” to the Ministry over the past four years.
Meanwhile, Minister Dharamlall has since refuted all of the claims made against him by Mahipaul, as he is convinced that this “nefarious act” is aimed at impugning his integrity and “was contrived by known APNU+AFC elements still on the payroll of the [Local Government and Regional Development Ministry].”
“Since the note was brought to my attention last week,” the Minister wrote in a statement, “I took action to halt the procurement process and a memo to this effect was sent to the office of the PS… Our policy at the Ministry is to ensure that all processes are followed and can withstand public scrutiny.”

Nice try deh! Designz Unlimited had a contract with the ministry to do printing for the past four years, not because there was a change of government there must be change of suppliers.

If it is OK for the PNC, then it's good for the PPP.

@kp posted:

Nice try deh! Designz Unlimited had a contract with the ministry to do printing for the past four years, not because there was a change of government there must be change of suppliers.

If it is OK for the PNC, then it's good for the PPP.

Trying hard to defend ..eh bhai. Recalled the issue with Cathy Hughes printing company .

Where are the ethics ?

Dep’t of Energy contract to Cathy Hughes company raises concerns

PPP levels more charges at Videomega over gov’t contracts

MoTP Says… No procurement regulations breached in contract award to cathy hughes media company

Kaieteur News had published a report on Sunday, which alleged that Minister Dharamlall had instructed his staff to hire this same company that was founded by his son. This was after Opposition Member of Parliament (MP) Ganesh Mahipaul had released documents highlighting the damning revelations.

@Django posted:

Trying hard to defend ..eh bhai. Recalled the issue with the printing company ,Cathy Hughes owned .  Where is the ethics ?

After she was a Government Minister, she set up a company to feed business, that is unethical.

@kp posted:

After she was a Government Minister, she set up a company to feed business, that is unethical.

The Company Videomegaproductions was established before Cathy Hughes became a Minister,also Cathy Hughes severed management duties of the Company when became Minister.

@Nehru posted:

An independent Tender Board is needed!! If the contract was open and Fair I see no wrong BUT if it was a closed contract, it will be a shame.

It was published in the Official Gazette. There is nothing wrong with awarding the contract to the best company. Look at the PNC records of awarding contracts. 

@Ramakant-P posted:

First, we jail  Mingo, Lowenfield, Myers, and Chris.

How y'all will jail Lowenfield and Myers ??? What the Law says ? watch how all the Regions Returning Officers will be rounded up.

The thread is about Dharamlall ,trying to derail ?

@Django posted:

How y'all will jail Lowenfield and Myers ??? What the Law says ? watch how all the Regions Returning Officers will be rounded up.

The thread is about Dharamlall ,trying to derail ?

What crime did he commit?

As de 'erb man would say : It looks like the three hour cook up pot, got de so-called smartest PPP poster stewing in he own juice wid he head off and losing more dan he Chupidness na gat cure.   

Dear editor,

AS a father to both sons and daughters, it was a bit painful to witness the evil and absolute despotic attempt by Parliamentarian Ganesh Mahipaul of the A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) to disaffect the Honorable Minister of Local Government and his son.

Over the weekend, Mr. Mahipaul was seen spreading a rather awful rumor, making it seem as though the tender of Designz Unlimited had been pushed by the Hon. Minister, Minister Dharamlall himself. Designz Unlimited is known to have been founded by Mr. Dharamlall’s son, Tariq Dharamlall, since he was 16. While we know that politics can be extremely devastating, horrible, and painful, I can only imagine the heartache this obvious attempt to disaffect the Honorable Minister must have been to both father and son. A very important issue to consider is the fact that this company, as far as my investigation shows, has always been tendering and supplying the Ministry of Local Government and others, including some businesses in the Private Sector.

Designz Unlimited has never had any problems in the last few years when the APNU was in government. During the APNU era, Designz Unlimited was responsible for supplying the ministry. So why the hue and the cry now? Is it because the young man’s father is the minister? Sadly, this all seems like politically clutching beach sand in water or, as we proverbially say, “clinging to straws.” It is quite evident that the goal is to disaffect the character of young Tariq Dharamlall.

It is sad that there are some politicians who love to target the children of individuals who do not share their points of view, especially as it relates to politics. Political maniacs like Mr. Mahipaul lack the capacity and vision to recognise that you do not put people’s children into humiliating situations just because you despise the parent.

Mr. Ganesh Mahipaul is considered to be a citizen who is usually treated with a great deal of disrespect. It seems to me that from all his comments and general behaviour, especially those of recent times, this fellow needs to see a psychiatrist or a psychologist to help him map his brains so that he can see and understand people’s feelings, especially those of innocent children.

In some small measure, I wish to take this opportunity to also advise Mr. Mahipaul, as I did to another warlord in his faction, that what you put out is what you would receive and what you sow is what you will reap. If you target other people’s children and you try to disaffect other people’s characters then prepare for when the table turns. The universe is not blind, and the world, through automation, sets up its karmic powers to teach lessons, and indeed, the guilty obtain their wrath, so that all is properly balanced.

Targeting the children of another is a grievous sin; simply because you do not like a parent or the things they say. It is quite obvious that just like his political mentor, aka ‘Evil Eyes,’ Mr. Mahipaul has lost his human conscience: the wand of God that warns people when they are wrong or telling lies. When people do not listen to the warnings of human conscience, it is known to go to sleep, as is the case of Mr. Mahipaul and his mentor, ‘Evil Eyes.’

Worse still, it is all for a small tender that is just a mere eighty thousand Guyana dollars. This just all smacks of total wickedness with the accuser possessing a political pygmy attitude and mindset. It is not like that of the hundreds of millions of dollars, or in some cases, billions of dollars that were awarded to friends and relatives during the last regime. Mr. Mahipaul, I would advise you, sir, to grow up! Behave! With these kinds of seeds planted by you and your political associates, you convince yourself that you will never recover any kind of influence by the karmic dispensation of the universe. If you look and analyse yourself, you would realise that you and the evil eyes are deteriorating from human norms and expectations.

I advise you Mahipaul, smoke your pipe very hard, inhale extremely deep, and do not exhale. It is only then that you might be able to see something of worth, and then maybe your conscience will wake up!

While I know you will never say you are sorry, it would be the correct thing to apologise to the youth you wronged. After all, it is quite obvious that you read something, and you jumped into it without even worrying or ensuring the information was factual.

Thank you, Mr. Editor, for your approval of this missive. The intention is to make this guidance available to Mr. Mahipaul, who is in serious need of some spiritual and psychological upliftment.

Sincerely,
Hajji Dr. Roshan Khan Snr.

Mahipaul is a member of the rumour monger party.

it was a bit painful to witness the evil and absolute despotic attempt by Parliamentarian Ganesh Mahipaul of the A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) to disaffect the Honorable Minister of Local Government and his son.

Mahipaul should be ashamed of himself.

@Ramakant-P posted:

I always wondered how you graduated from high school.

Well, chupidness na gat cure.  You sleep, wake up and is the same nansense.  Me an Irfan bin a same school. Fred Sukhdeo gee abie certificate. 

@Totaram posted:

Well, chupidness na gat cure.  You sleep, wake up and is the same nansense.  Me an Irfan bin a same school. Fred Sukhdeo gee abie certificate.

Then shut your mouth because you just claimed that you are a dunce.