Amral posted:

hmmm rass I am trying to avoid running 2 computers, which is what I am doing right now.

I am running three laptops! One has W7, one has W8.1, and the one I am on right now has W10. It is the only way that I have at the moment to make sure I don't have to invest Thousands of U$ for the latest version of the software that I have been using for ages.

Amral posted:

Can I run XP and Win 10 on the same computer, WIN 10 preloaded, I have an old printer and scanner which will only work on XP and some software. Too cheap to buy stuff that I really do no need as yet

It can be done but on a clean install of 10 and on different partitions. If you are on a desktop, simply use too hard drive in a swapable tray.

In any event, very good laser printer/scanner/copier are less than a hundred dollars these days and they are economical. I would do that and save myself the trouble especially if the old printer is an inkjet.

The general recommendations are that one should not install Win 10 at this time because of the numerous "bugs and kinks" that need to be addresses.

I have Win 8 which works without any problems and will install Win 10 when the issues are resolved.

Cyar you old rass da side! WIN10 is the most bug free release of an MS product ever. It is a paradigm shift as large as 8 was to XP so it is not unusual that there are backward compatibility problems with older hardware.

The general recommendations are that one should not install Win 10 at this time because of the numerous "bugs and kinks" that need to be addresses.

I have Win 8 which works without any problems and will install Win 10 when the issues are resolved.

Cyar you old rass da side! WIN10 is the most bug free release of an MS product ever. It is a paradigm shift as large as 8 was to XP so it is not unusual that there are backward compatibility problems with older hardware.

Still babbling to yourself in the wilderness.

You ras sayin my hardware ole an backward?

As long as it is Hardware you need not worry....It will work with them older things. The complaint is with old things not working...new things fine...always have happy endings

Still babbling to yourself in the wilderness.

And what were you doing ...drooling misinformation to yourself?

Amral posted:

Can I run XP and Win 10 on the same computer, WIN 10 preloaded, I have an old printer and scanner which will only work on XP and some software. Too cheap to buy stuff that I really do no need as yet

It can be done but on a clean install of 10 and on different partitions. If you are on a desktop, simply use too hard drive in a swapable tray.

In any event, very good laser printer/scanner/copier are less than a hundred dollars these days and they are economical. I would do that and save myself the trouble especially if the old printer is an inkjet.

I had to replace my hard drive and installed a a newer version of windows. I had a Canon ImageClassMF3110 laser printer with 3/4 full cartridge. I had to junk the printer because there was no driver for it. I bought a new Canon ImageClass Mf212w. Is a printer , copier and scanner.

Amral posted:

I had to replace my hard drive and installed a a newer version of windows. I had a Canon ImageClassMF3110 laser printer with 3/4 full cartridge. I had to junk the printer because there was no driver for it. I bought a new Canon ImageClass Mf212w. Is a printer , copier and scanner.

That's common with Windows 10,drivers for older peripheral will not work.

Amral posted:

I had Vista and installed 7. I am not sure all the bugs from 10 are out yet.
I  like how 7 works. My friend has 10 and I am not too sure I am ready for the problems of missing drivers etc.

Amral posted:

I had Vista and installed 7. I am not sure all the bugs from 10 are out yet.
I  like how 7 works. My friend has 10 and I am not too sure I am ready for the problems of missing drivers etc.

On one computer i had Vista move to Win 8.1 and  now Win 10 so far it's ok ,i also have a media sever software installed on it,so a Smart TV connects to it,that computer is connected to an older tv which makes it a smart tv.On another one i have dual boot Win7 and Linux Mint(which i use mostly)

Personally I have had no problems with 8.1 on the laptop that I am typing on. Whatever bugs it is supposed to have, I haven't experienced any of them. But mine is a OEM install from Sony, with its own drivers. Sony has not yet released the drivers for my particular laptop, so I have not been able to try W10 on it. But I have W10 installed on my smaller Vaio. Unfortunately I can't find any advantages that it has over W8.1 as far as my own usage is concerned. So people like me are likely to stick to W8.1.

Mr.T posted:

Personally I have had no problems with 8.1 on the laptop that I am typing on. Whatever bugs it is supposed to have, I haven't experienced any of them. But mine is a OEM install from Sony, with its own drivers. Sony has not yet released the drivers for my particular laptop, so I have not been able to try W10 on it. But I have W10 installed on my smaller Vaio. Unfortunately I can't find any advantages that it has over W8.1 as far as my own usage is concerned. So people like me are likely to stick to W8.1.

I still use XP at the repair shop,the service center software will not work on newer operation system,upgrading the software is expensive.