Construction of Kato Secondary School to commence early in 2013

Special Projects Officer, Ministry of Education, Rabindra Kishun handing over the plan for the Kato Secondary School to Toshao Noel Fredricks in the presence of Prime Minister Samuel Hinds and Minister of Amerindian Affairs, Pauline Sukhai

Prime Minister Samuel Hinds on December 8 visited Region Eight to inspect the site where the Kato Secondary School will be constructed and he was briefed on the status of the project.

The construction of this facility is testimony to the Government’s  continued efforts towards ensuring universal secondary education and will cater for approximately 350 students.

The scope of work for the project includes 12 classrooms, industrial arts department, canteen, two science laboratories, an administrative block, computer laboratory, home economic and agriculture departments, facilities for differently-abled persons, sanitary blocks, two multi-purpose rooms, library and research area, and a visual arts department.

The site for the construction of the Kato Secondary School,

Region Eight

A student dormitory, which is a prominent feature in all hinterland schools to facilitate students coming from other villages and satellite communities, will also be constructed to accommodate 300 students.

This building will have a dining area, lobby, sleeping area, laundry room, accommodation for dorm wardens, kitchen, and sanitary facilities.

Special Projects Officer, Ministry of Education, Rabindra Kishun explained that the project has already been advertised and bids are to be closed at the National Procurement and Tender Administration Board on December 11. Construction is expected to commence in early 2013.

Over the years, under the PPP/C Administration, access to secondary education in hinterland communities has improved significantly. Today there are 13 schools, along with the Anna Regina Multilateral School, providing hinterland students with access to secondary education.

The Anna Regina Multilateral, while not in the hinterland, provides access to secondary education for all the Amerindian communities in Region 2.

The provision of universal access to secondary education is among the new wave of commitments  that Government is committed to achieving; and  moreso, to cater for the influx of children coming out of the primary schools now that Guyana has achieved universal primary education.

That is what the PPP Govt does, build for the Guyanese People to allow them to PROGRESS. GOD BLESS THE GOVT ABD PEOPLE OF GUYANA.

These are the regions the need to win to regain a majority. Note this is a need seen after 20 years! Had the not need these regions they would remain an afterthought. It is trading beads as usual but this time it will not work.

THOSE POOR PEOPLE NEVER HAD A SECONDARY SCHOOL.

Indeed....and why the tardiness? Buddy got his million, Berbice bridge cabal got their 16 million plus NIS to prop them up. We got a stadium so I presume educating native peoples is just as important!

So say thank you our Amerindian brother.

Indeed....and why the tardiness? Buddy got his million, Berbice bridge cabal got their 16 million plus NIS to prop them up. We got a stadium so I presume educating native peoples is just as important!

You to me are like a chigger in the foot...to be extracted by the head and stomped on. Alas we cannot get rid of you permanently.

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

Don't forget 800 children in Linden are without a school. Thanks to AFC and GR for setting it on fire.

How can WE FORGET.

Got to be very careful where the PPP build. "Slow fiah and Mo fiah" will be replaced by "Steady fiah; we na build dem".

Hey Nehru: Let me know when you are going to the pow wow. Maybe we can have some piwari together.

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

Don't forget 800 children in Linden are without a school. Thanks to AFC and GR for setting it on fire.

How can WE FORGET.

Got to be very careful where the PPP build. "Slow fiah and Mo fiah" will be replaced by "Steady fiah; we na build dem".

Alyo hear this ole racial Skeldan a talk daag dong.

HAHA!!! HAHAAAAAAAA!!!

Oi Nehru, banna, I heard something about how you jus like a chigger in somebody foot and something about stompin you rass on yo head and nobody could get rid of u permanently....dat true?

He nah wan chigga. He gat daag dong fuh brain. Even Skello aka as Skeldan gat lil mo betta daag donk in he head.

EU to fund Guyana micro hydro-power system

Monday, December 10, 2012, Source - Caribbean360

image The project, estimated EURO 2.4 million (One EURO = US$1.27) will be funded under the 10th European Development Fund (EDF) programme. (File photo)

GEORGETOWN, Guyana, Monday December 10, 2012 – The Guyana government says construction of a multi-million dollar European Union funded micro-hydro power system at Chiung Water Fall in Kato will begin next year.

The project, which is expected to begin in October, next year, is part of Government’s broader hinterland electrification programme.

It will comprise a 330- kilowatt micro-hydropower station with its primary energy source being the 36m head waterfall in the Chiung River, which is in the vicinity of Kato village.

Prime Minister Samuel Hinds, who made a visit to the area over the weekend, said 30 years ago, a survey was conducted of possible hydropower sites in Guyana. He said the construction of the project is expected to be completed within 18 months.

The project, estimated EURO 2.4 million (One EURO = US$1.27) will be funded under the 10th European Development Fund (EDF) programme.

Electrical Engineer at the Office of the Prime Minister, Horace Williams said that the flow of the Chiung River will be used to generate electricity, while the other aspect of the project will see the construction of a pump station that will supply water to a storage facility with a capacity of 7,600 cubic metres.

He said the project will provide sufficient generating capacity for the Kato Secondary School to be constructed early next year, as well as existing government buildings such as the nursery and primary schools, police outpost and medical facilities. (CMC}

EU to fund Guyana micro hydro-power system

Monday, December 10, 2012, Source - Caribbean360

image The project, estimated EURO 2.4 million (One EURO = US$1.27) will be funded under the 10th European Development Fund (EDF) programme. (File photo)

GEORGETOWN, Guyana, Monday December 10, 2012 – The Guyana government says construction of a multi-million dollar European Union funded micro-hydro power system at Chiung Water Fall in Kato will begin next year.

The project, which is expected to begin in October, next year, is part of Government’s broader hinterland electrification programme.

It will comprise a 330- kilowatt micro-hydropower station with its primary energy source being the 36m head waterfall in the Chiung River, which is in the vicinity of Kato village.

Prime Minister Samuel Hinds, who made a visit to the area over the weekend, said 30 years ago, a survey was conducted of possible hydropower sites in Guyana. He said the construction of the project is expected to be completed within 18 months.

The project, estimated EURO 2.4 million (One EURO = US$1.27) will be funded under the 10th European Development Fund (EDF) programme.

Electrical Engineer at the Office of the Prime Minister, Horace Williams said that the flow of the Chiung River will be used to generate electricity, while the other aspect of the project will see the construction of a pump station that will supply water to a storage facility with a capacity of 7,600 cubic metres.

He said the project will provide sufficient generating capacity for the Kato Secondary School to be constructed early next year, as well as existing government buildings such as the nursery and primary schools, police outpost and medical facilities. (CMC}

These are the kind of projects Guyana need.  It is very manageable and brings steady and incremental improvement.  This is a small-country European model which eventually propelled them to prosperity.  Kudos to the Govt for undertaking this.

Kudos to the EU for demanding value for their money . . . just like the Norwegians.

The criminal PPP regime, left to their own devices, know only mediocrity and theft.

Kudos to the EU for demanding value for their money . . . just like the Norwegians.

The criminal PPP regime, left to their own devices, know only mediocrity and theft.

Can't blame the EU. The Europeans did not demand any accountability for their monies to the PNC "pocket all, rig all and frig all regime" during the 60's 70's and 80's. They did not even get the katahar; they got the katahar seed. Like they said "Dem learn dem lesson".

Is that a criticism, sarcastic rebuke, compliment, or just an aimless mutter.

OK, let me break it down for U, since u like to play stupid . . . this is an excellent project; thank God for European money and their oversight which will ensure that Robber(t) & Co will not get fat[ter] on dis waan.

if the EU (and the Norwegians) don't pick & choose and watchman their money, the PPP will STEAL it.

Good stuff happens in Guyana in the breach . . . DESPITE the PPP criminals masquerading as a government

clear enough??

OK, let me break it down for U, since u like to play stupid . . . this is an excellent project; thank God for European money and their oversight which will ensure that Robber(t) & Co will not get fat[ter] on dis waan.

if the EU (and the Norwegians) don't pick & choose and watchman their money, the PPP will STEAL it.

Good stuff happens in Guyana in the breach . . . DESPITE the PPP criminals masquerading as a government

clear enough??

I think you should take pepto-bismol tonight.

clear enough??

I think you should take pepto-bismol tonight.

i seee u stumbling around, grumbling stupidly again . . . obviously unprepared for my DIRECT answer

poor u