Originally Posted by Stinger:
GY is not all mansions

Many people are living in inhumane conditions

The reality is the PPP is rapidly creating two societies; the lumpen poor and the outlandishly rich. The rich happens to be almost completely from the friends and family of the PPP cabal. One remembers Aristotle commenting that one knows a wise and judicious leader by the fact his goods did not increase during his rein. This is so because he was fully occupied with the task of doing good for his people. These PPP scumbags on the other hand is fully occupied with wealth gathering and on that account our people are mainly on the margins of existence.

GY is not all mansions

Many people are living in inhumane conditions

I agree with you 100%. Just like wall street vs the slums of NY. 

You can be asinine if you wish but then you will be fooling yourself.  NYC has a large middle class with the median household having earnings around $55k.  Indeed the median NYC Caribbean household is also around that.  Not affluent, but not starving either.  And they don't need $$ sent by relatives either.

Guyana...........................poorest country in the English speaking Caribbean, which aside from Barbados and a few other places, also has poverty issues as well.

Oh here de daags go comparin GY wid New Yark

Stingah bai,
Me fram Corentyne. Me see shacks like dis all de time. Dem peeple dis ah squatta. Some ah dem peeple dis gat house spat fuh build dem house. Some ah dem ah build dem house and rent am out and still live in dem shacks. Abie gat one behind abie house by de seawall. De lady nah want fuh move out. She seh she go live deh, build she house and rent am out.

The issue of poverty needs to be addressed however, it's a complex issue even for the most affluent societies.  In the end, only economic development, coupled with job/skills training will lift people out of poverty.  There is no magic want, all who talking, if they get in, they will face the same difficulties.  The PPP criticize the PNC far many things, and they were not able to solve some.

South Africa ended apartheid 25 years ago and the economics of the black population has not changed that much.  If Guyana do model some type of unity Govt, the economy will pick up but you can rest assure, it will take a decade of sustained growth to see and discernible improvement.  Absent a unity Govt, the PPP is still be best alternative.

The issue of poverty needs to be addressed however, it's a complex issue even for the most affluent societies.  In the end, only economic development, coupled with job/skills training will lift people out of poverty.  There is no magic want, all who talking, if they get in, they will face the same difficulties.  The PPP criticize the PNC far many things, and they were not able to solve some.

South Africa ended apartheid 25 years ago and the economics of the black population has not changed that much.  If Guyana do model some type of unity Govt, the economy will pick up but you can rest assure, it will take a decade of sustained growth to see and discernible improvement.  Absent a unity Govt, the PPP is still be best alternative.

Why try explaining things to GNI AHOLE and CHIEF DUMMY?

The issue of poverty needs to be addressed however, it's a complex issue even for the most affluent societies.  In the end, only economic development, coupled with job/skills training will lift people out of poverty.  There is no magic wand, all who talking, if they get in, they will face the same difficulties.  The PPP criticize the PNC for many things, and they were not able to solve some.

Why try explaining things to GNI AHOLE and CHIEF DUMMY?

They way they all talk, it's a wonder the UN or other bodies don't call them to help.  They are just talkers and wil remain that way.

Stingah bai,

Me fram Corentyne. Me see shacks like dis all de time. Dem peeple dis ah squatta. Some ah dem peeple dis gat house spat fuh build dem house. Some ah dem ah build dem house and rent am out and still live in dem shacks. Abie gat one behind abie house by de seawall. De lady nah want fuh move out. She seh she go live deh, build she house and rent am out.

so, what we imagine are scandalously poor Guyanese are really canny, well-off property owners who prefer living like animals in unsanitary tin shacks with no running water or toilet, exposed to the elements when a lil rain fall

ahmmm . . . ok

India, the largest democracy in the world, with one half of one billion citizens without toilet facilities or clean running water. Girl children risk getting rape and murder when they go into the bushes to do their business. That is very unimpressive for a nuclear power country. Can any economist explain that without the name calling?

Bro you  hurting dem  econmist head with this question.

Redux you came out of jail.

Welcome back bhai.

ah deh . . .

When I read that you were suspended I ask that you be released, anyway I have to run, it's past my bed time.

that's pretty cool Chief

suh, is who complain to Amral in the 1st place?

Simply put, India is a land of enormous contrast and internal social conflict.  Indians care about themselves and their immediate clan.  Everyone else is just everyone else.  Lot's of "us and them" mentality.

Stingah bai,

so, what we imagine are scandalously poor Guyanese are really canny, well-off property owners who prefer living like animals in unsanitary tin shacks with no running water or toilet, exposed to the elements when a lil rain fall

ahmmm . . . ok

who prefer living like animals in unsanitary tin shacks with no running water or toilet, exposed to the elements when a lil rain fall

Corentyne people are not selfish. They do give food and sometimes shelter to those in need. The Chief and other people from Berbice can vouch for this. Like I said, this lady has a shack behind our house(by the seawall). She has her plot of land at #76 village. She is building a house but she said she will rent it out and still live in the shack.  

Did you ever think this is a homeless person who is mentally unstable?

Redux you came out of jail.

Welcome back bhai.

ah deh . . .

When I read that you were suspended I ask that you be released, anyway I have to run, it's past my bed time.

that's pretty cool Chief

suh, is who complain to Amral in the 1st place?

That I cannot answer.

I fight my battles and never repeat never complain to Admin.

As a matter of fact Iam against banning.

Stingah bai,

what is th e point of this? Even if you speak the truth in this one instance do you think that there are many people in the habit of living in terrible circumstance because they are greedy?

Stingah bai,

what is th e point of this? Even if you speak the truth in this one instance do you think that there are many people in the habit of living in terrible circumstance because they are greedy?

You think you know Guyanese people. You ain't. Guyana is dog eat dog. Money is everything for most people.

poverty in the US is not the same as in Guyana. Here there are a multitude of social safety nets to capture most. Those that fall beyond this also have options if they are of sound mind. In the US one, has more options to rise above ones status. 90 percent of Guyanese immigrants to the US are of marginal education and lacking in any technical skill set yet they survive if but marginally above the poverty line and are quite  happy.

Poverty in different countries all come with their own legacy. One cannot expect a mere 25 years would undo the damage to African society. I suggest you read Rodney's seminal book about the underdevelopment of africa or Albert Memmmi's about the Colonials to grasp what long standing damage was done to the region. One sees the ME also through the lens of European constructivism.

A national unity government is not a panacea. It can be a source of great oppression as all of the elites get together to feast on the nation's wealth to the detriment of working people. As for the PPP being the best alternative, that is dubtful. They have only demonstrated a great capacity for thievery since they came to office.

. One cannot expect a mere 25 years would undo the damage to African society.

Destroying/bruk down is always easier than building/re-building is always a slower process.  The PNC had 28 years to destroy, it will take 50 to rebuild.  There is no "Marshall" plan for Guyana, it the slow hard way.

Long live the P.....P......P

Destroying/bruk down is always easier than building/re-building is always a slower process.  The PNC had 28 years to destroy, it will take 50 to rebuild.  There is no "Marshall" plan for Guyana, it the slow hard way.

OH Nandalala cannot help you.

We are powerful.  The PNC respect, the AFC will evaporate.

Only possible when the PPP and PNC consummate their pending marriage.  Are you still bugging your brother for a raise? Nandala will never be president. He can't help you.

I come from very good stock.  I can bug my brother for a raise, to send my kids to college and buy new cars.  You see, baseman is on the in while you, kishanB, et al are not.  You work 50 hours a week and scratch your balls every month end.

When the PPP and PNC decide to tie the knot, we will invite you to be "locknee".

I come from very good stock.  I can bug my brother for a raise, to send my kids to college and buy new cars.  You see, baseman is on the in while you, kishanB, et al are not.  You work 50 hours a week and scratch your balls every month end.

When the PPP and PNC decide to tie the knot, we will invite you to be "locknee".

Heheheheh! You Don't know me. If you are on the "in", how come you don't know that Oh Nadalalla Baba is on the "out". He can't help you. Sorry, you don't have balls. Is that why you bum a drink or 2?