POLICE have arrested three of their own for allegedly taking $6M in bribes to set free four men who were caught with large quantities of cocaine in a minibus in Berbice.

Up to press time the three ranks from Berbice including an Assistant Superintendent were under close arrest at the Central Police Station, New Amsterdam. Contacted on the issue, Crime Chief, Wendell Blanhum would only say that ranks from Georgetown have travelled to Berbice to investigate a very pressing matter, but he would neither confirm nor deny the report.

However, usually reliable sources in the Guyana Police Force late last evening confirmed that on September 10, 2015, a vehicle with police ranks were performing patrol duties along the Corentyne corridor when they stopped and searched a minibus which was allegedly carrying large quantities of cocaine and cash.

It is unclear whether the route 63 Moleson Creek to Georgetown mini-bus was heading up the Corentyne or to Georgetown when it was intercepted. This newspaper was told that the police had received a tip-off that the minibus would usually be transporting drugs, guns and cash. They were also provided with the vehicle number and the travel schedule for the bus.

The police ranks while in the vicinity of Springlands, East Corentyne, Berbice, observed the vehicle and decided to stop it to carry out a search of the vehicle and the occupants. It was during that search that the police discovered that the vehicle was indeed ferrying a very large quantity of cocaine and cash at the time. The ranks on the patrol with the most senior one at the time being a police corporal negotiated with the occupants of the vehicle and the occupants agreed to hand over $6M cash on the spot to the three police ranks who were on the patrol.

The men then allowed the vehicle to continue its journey with the cocaine and the remaining large amount of cash while they provided safe passage for the vehicle before returning to a Police Station along the Corentyne Coast. While there the ranks reportedly informed a very senior officer of the illegal transaction that they were involved in, but instead of reprimanding his charges he allegedly took a part of the money. The police source who spoke with this publication indicated that the matter hit the light of day after one of the ranks on the patrol was not satisfied with the amount of money that he received as part of the bargain which had to be done in order to facilitate the bribing of his senior officer.

Another version was however that after word of the transaction began to float around the division a police rank who heard of it contacted a senior police rank who immediately launched an investigation and ordered that the named rank be placed under close arrest. The owner of the minibus and the conductor who were working the minibus on the day in question are not in custody but are said to be cooperating fully with the police in this investigation. However the whereabouts of the cocaine and cash which the minibus was allowed to drive off with have not been located.

The police up to late last evening have not been able to determine where the items were delivered. From all indications according to police sources, the cash and cocaine might have come from neighbouring Suriname. The matter is engaging the attention of ranks from the Criminal Investigation Department in Georgetown who travelled to Berbice yesterday afternoon as well as ranks from the Police Office of Professional Responsibility.

By Leroy Smith

Governance, PNC style.

Good governance...under PPP this would have been brushed under the carpet with some senior PPP ministas gettin a cut...now they getting ketch

fOR aL yUH cUNUMUNUS talk is cheap!!!  aSK nIGEL, bASIL AND OTHERS WHO DWELLED WITH THEM, CONDONE THEIR ACTIONS AND SUPPORTED THEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Governance, PNC style.

Do you think they were saints under the PPP? To the contrary, they became expert at the craft of bribery and corruption at the tutelage of the PPP. They simply had to look at the PPP for an example in the art of graft and grift

Originally Posted by Danyael:

Governance, PNC style.

Do you think they were saints under the PPP? To the contrary, they became expert at the craft of bribery and corruption at the tutelage of the PPP

What stupidity and ignorance!!!   You probably born in Cuba.

heheheheheehee.....dumbo

Governance, PNC style.

Do you think they were saints under the PPP? To the contrary, they became expert at the craft of bribery and corruption at the tutelage of the PPP

no need to answer you.

Originally Posted by Itaname:

Governance, PNC style.

heheheheheehee.....dumbo

he just cannot help himself. It is not like Cuba is somehow home to  the backward others and Utar Pradish, land  of our fore fathers  was biblical Canaan! These idiots show why they are idiots with every post.

Governance, PNC style.

no need to answer you.

gOOD, i AM TIRED OF IGNORANCE AND PLAIN STUPIDITY!!!

Governance, PNC style.

no need to answer you.

then kill yuhself you ignorant, stupid man!

Governance, PNC style.

no need to answer you.

ahole, why dont you go fly a kite!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Governance, PNC style.

no need to answer you.

To be rid of it you need to put a gun to your ears....pow!

Governance, PNC style.

no need to answer you.

A COWARD like you can BRAY like the donkey YOU ARE.  Go Fly Uncle Charlie Kite!!!!!!!!!!!!

Governance, PNC style.

no need to answer you.

IGNORANCE AT THE HIGHEST LEVEL FOR ALL TO SEE. CASSAVA AND PIWARI IN EXCESS WILL RESULT IN SUCH A LEVEL OF IGNORANCE!! mf!!!

Governance, PNC style.

no need to answer you.

A COWARD like you can BRAY like the donkey YOU ARE.  Go Fly Uncle Charlie Kite!!!!!!!!!!!!

Do you just like to type useless words? Who am I afraid of again? Ganga nitwit Persaud, uber pencil pusher and useless loud mouth lout? You are indeed good gor a laugh.

Governance, PNC style.

no need to answer you.

Do you just like to type useless words? Who am I afraid of again? Ganga nitwit Persaud, uber pencil pusher and useless loud mouth lout? You are indeed good gor a laugh.

a piece of raw sewage like you dont scare me.

Governance, PNC style.

no need to answer you.

Ganga, guh file yuh fax forms and ress yuhself befo yuh get bax schupid pon dis forum dis afternoon!

Governance, PNC style.

no need to answer you.

Ganga, guh file yuh fax forms and ress yuhself befo yuh get bax schupid pon dis forum dis afternoon!

Come on Make my Day AHOLE!!!!!!!!!!!!

Governance, PNC style.

no need to answer you.

Come on Make my Day AHOLE!!!!!!!!!!!!

....2 mo posts and yuh gon quit. Yuh 99% schupid ahready.

Governance, PNC style.

no need to answer you.

a piece of raw sewage like you dont scare me.

I do not care what you call me. I know you are just a useless turd. You do not have to be scared of me. Prudence would demand you be scared of yourself. Idiots always stumble into things, being habitually unaware.

Very true sir. Last week his drunk ass stumbled into a gutter.

YUh kno who was with me getting sweet sugah???

Governance, PNC style.

Quite an asinine statement but coming from you...you are excused you cannot do better.

YUh kno who was with me getting sweet sugah???

yugi?

cobra?  Where's he/she anyway?

Governance, PNC style.

Yes corrupt cops get arrested.  Unknown under the PPP, when these coke cops would have received a cut of the proceeds.

I can see why the "friends and family" of the PPP are very angry that these APNU people are cutting into their business.

Originally Posted by Gupta:

Another PPP activists in bed with policemen. A change in Govt hasn't stopped these so-called businessmen and corrupt policemen, they have been doing this for years. The names and faces most be made public.

Can't wait. More "victims" of "ethnic cleansing" bribing the police!

Why not? "Honest" members of the Indo elite arent even allowed to ply their trade any more.  First they got rid of the heads of state entities, whose main qualification was being Indo, and "friends and family" of the PPP.  Now they are interfering with drug/gun smuggling and $$$ laundering.  No wonder Jagdeo is angry.

On Sunday mornings Nehru is normally dragging himself out of the RH gutters, having spent the entire night drinking.  The bartenders in RH pour heavy too, half the glass is liquor.

"POLICE have arrested three of their own for allegedly taking $6M in bribes to set free four men who were caught with large quantities of cocaine in a minibus in Berbice."

Police caught their own mattie doing illegalities and did the right thing.

RAMJATTANNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN you doing a good job banna.

Could someone PLEASE find me an article like this...for the last 20+ years.. PLEASE ah waiting.

YUGIIIII what do you have to say here?

On Sunday mornings Nehru is normally dragging himself out of the RH gutters, having spent the entire night drinking.  The bartenders in RH pour heavy too, half the glass is liquor.

Me and yuh Gal was in the Gutter last night!!!!!!!!!!!!

Oh rass you sayin Caib does do yugi or /and Cobra?