Core home initiative to be expanded in all regions-President -103 families benefit in Region Three

One hundred and three residents hailing from several housing areas in Region Three, were today presented the keys to their homes under the Government’s core home initiative, executed under the second Low Income Settlement programme (LIS 2), targeting single parents, differently abled and the elderly.

The homes were handed over in Westminster Phase one, Recht-Door-Zee, Phases one and two, and Onderneeming Phase one. President Donald Ramotar visited the areas this morning and committed that this year; the programme will be further expanded in Regions 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 and the hinterlandto further improve the lives of all Guyanese by ensuring they have the opportunity to own a home.

- President Donald Ramotar during the cutting of the ribbon to launch one of the expanded core homes at La Parfaite Harmonie

President Donald Ramotar during the cutting of the ribbon

to launch one of the expanded core homes at La Parfaite

Harmonie

Commencing in 2010, applications were invited from interested allottees who have not occupied their house lots, as well as those who have occupied theirs, but were living in buildings of low standards. One hundred and three met the eligibility criteria. Two hundred and twenty-eight core home shave been built thus far.

“I think it’s extremely important, it is one of the most important social facilities that we are doing because it gives people security in our own homes, helps the children with their studies, and the families because there is no land lord and no house rent, so that they can plan their lives better,” President Ramotar said during a visit to the home of one of the beneficiaries.

A family at their expanded core home

He pointed out that this programme has a lot of spinoff benefits for the country as a whole. While interacting with the beneficiaries, the Head of State spoke of the many benefits these, and other programmes have on individuals and the society, by catering for the economic expansion and allowing families to have disposable income.

“The core homes offer households an excellent opportunity to restructure their lifestyle,” he stated.

The President also highlighted the hinterland housing drive which has impacted the lives on hundreds of Amerindians, and noted that these initiatives are being used by the  Administration to  improve the quality of life of people.

President Donald Ramotar, Minister of Housing and Water, Irfaan Ali and one of the beneficiaries of the expanded core homes

President Donald Ramotar, Minister of Housing and Water,

Irfaan Ali and one of the beneficiaries of the expanded

core homes

Minister of Housing and Water, Irfaan Alisaid that theinitiative complements several other programmes and it has resulted in tremendous change in the housing sector, targeting vulnerable and low in group while at the same expanding opportunities for young professionals and other high-end professionals.

“Those are the opportunities that the Government has been making available for the people, developing the health sector and expanding education delivery, and now housing will be expanded in Regions 2, 3,4,5,6 and the hinterland in 2014,” Minister Ali reiterated.

Minister of Agriculture, Leslie Ramsammy handing over the keys to one of the core home beneficiaries in the presence of COO of Inter-American Development Bank [IDB) , Leslie-Ann Edwards , Central Housing and Planning Authority’s, Chief Executive Officer Myrna Pitt and Region Three Chairman, Julius Faerber.

Minister of Agriculture, Leslie Ramsammy handing over

the keys to one of the core home beneficiaries in the

presence of COO of Inter-American Development Bank

(IDB) , Leslie-Ann Edwards , Central Housing and Planning

Authority’s, Chief Executive Officer Myrna Pitt and Region

Three Chairman, Julius Faerber.

The programme was also done as part of the Parfait Harmonie Housing development which has about 8000 house lots. Minister Ali stated that thus far, more than 32,000 people have benefited from the housing programme in that area.

From 2000 to now, more than $7B has been invested in the housing programme and the average investment per household amounts to $875,000.

Meanwhile upon handing over the keys to the beneficiaries later in the day, Agriculture Minister, Dr Leslie Ramsammy stated that the programme is just an example of Guyana working in partnership to better the lives of people.

He said that when the programme started there were some doubts, and explained that such a programme is available in most of the developing countries.

The 103 core homes, were completed at an average cost of $2.9M each, which gives an overall cost of $300M with individual beneficiaries contributing $100,000 for the construction of their homes. Approximately 423 persons will be housed in the 103 homes.

The core home project is aimed at addressing occupancy and issues of affordability, through the construction of 400 cores homes across the country. The home is  is a modest 330 square foot timber and concrete structure with no internal partition walls, except for the enclosed sanitary block comprising a toilet, and shower. It is elevated three feet from ground level and lends itself to easy expansion as the occupant is able to afford. It is outfitted with a basic kitchen sink and electrical wiring and plumbing.

As much as I would like to say this is good for the poor people,a 330 sq ft home is smaller than a bachelor pad in TO. It's more like a walk in closet.

I have a tent that's about 300 sq ft.

I got tell Julius sister I see the man on de internet.Minister of Agriculture, Leslie Ramsammy handing over the keys to one of the core home beneficiaries in the presence of COO of Inter-American Development Bank [IDB) , Leslie-Ann Edwards , Central Housing and Planning Authority’s, Chief Executive Officer Myrna Pitt and Region Three Chairman, Julius Faerber.

Core home initiative to be expanded in all regions-President -103 families benefit in Region Three

One hundred and three residents hailing from several housing areas in Region Three, were today presented the keys to their homes under the Government’s core home initiative, executed under the second Low Income Settlement programme (LIS 2), targeting single parents, differently abled and the elderly.

The homes were handed over in Westminster Phase one, Recht-Door-Zee, Phases one and two, and Onderneeming Phase one. President Donald Ramotar visited the areas this morning and committed that this year; the programme will be further expanded in Regions 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 and the hinterlandto further improve the lives of all Guyanese by ensuring they have the opportunity to own a home.

- President Donald Ramotar during the cutting of the ribbon to launch one of the expanded core homes at La Parfaite Harmonie

President Donald Ramotar during the cutting of the ribbon

to launch one of the expanded core homes at La Parfaite

Harmonie

Commencing in 2010, applications were invited from interested allottees who have not occupied their house lots, as well as those who have occupied theirs, but were living in buildings of low standards. One hundred and three met the eligibility criteria. Two hundred and twenty-eight core home shave been built thus far.

“I think it’s extremely important, it is one of the most important social facilities that we are doing because it gives people security in our own homes, helps the children with their studies, and the families because there is no land lord and no house rent, so that they can plan their lives better,” President Ramotar said during a visit to the home of one of the beneficiaries.

He pointed out that this programme has a lot of spinoff benefits for the country as a whole. While interacting with the beneficiaries, the Head of State spoke of the many benefits these, and other programmes have on individuals and the society, by catering for the economic expansion and allowing families to have disposable income.

“The core homes offer households an excellent opportunity to restructure their lifestyle,” he stated.

The President also highlighted the hinterland housing drive which has impacted the lives on hundreds of Amerindians, and noted that these initiatives are being used by the  Administration to  improve the quality of life of people.

President Donald Ramotar, Minister of Housing and Water, Irfaan Ali and one of the beneficiaries of the expanded core homes

President Donald Ramotar, Minister of Housing and Water,

Irfaan Ali and one of the beneficiaries of the expanded

core homes

Minister of Housing and Water, Irfaan Alisaid that theinitiative complements several other programmes and it has resulted in tremendous change in the housing sector, targeting vulnerable and low in group while at the same expanding opportunities for young professionals and other high-end professionals.

“Those are the opportunities that the Government has been making available for the people, developing the health sector and expanding education delivery, and now housing will be expanded in Regions 2, 3,4,5,6 and the hinterland in 2014,” Minister Ali reiterated.

Minister of Agriculture, Leslie Ramsammy handing over the keys to one of the core home beneficiaries in the presence of COO of Inter-American Development Bank [IDB) , Leslie-Ann Edwards , Central Housing and Planning Authority’s, Chief Executive Officer Myrna Pitt and Region Three Chairman, Julius Faerber.

Minister of Agriculture, Leslie Ramsammy handing over

the keys to one of the core home beneficiaries in the

presence of COO of Inter-American Development Bank

(IDB) , Leslie-Ann Edwards , Central Housing and Planning

Authority’s, Chief Executive Officer Myrna Pitt and Region

Three Chairman, Julius Faerber.

The programme was also done as part of the Parfait Harmonie Housing development which has about 8000 house lots. Minister Ali stated that thus far, more than 32,000 people have benefited from the housing programme in that area.

From 2000 to now, more than $7B has been invested in the housing programme and the average investment per household amounts to $875,000.

Meanwhile upon handing over the keys to the beneficiaries later in the day, Agriculture Minister, Dr Leslie Ramsammy stated that the programme is just an example of Guyana working in partnership to better the lives of people.

He said that when the programme started there were some doubts, and explained that such a programme is available in most of the developing countries.

The 103 core homes, were completed at an average cost of $2.9M each, which gives an overall cost of $300M with individual beneficiaries contributing $100,000 for the construction of their homes. Approximately 423 persons will be housed in the 103 homes.

The core home project is aimed at addressing occupancy and issues of affordability, through the construction of 400 cores homes across the country. The home is  is a modest 330 square foot timber and concrete structure with no internal partition walls, except for the enclosed sanitary block comprising a toilet, and shower. It is elevated three feet from ground level and lends itself to easy expansion as the occupant is able to afford. It is outfitted with a basic kitchen sink and electrical wiring and plumbing.

What about the East Indians and Afro Guyanese at Plastic City?  What about the sugar workers at Pigeon Island on the East Coast.  What about the Berbice KUUULI at Tooppoo in Albion?

This is just another publicity stunt for the PPP.  The people who desperately need low cost housing are not getting it, only those who have connection to Freedom House.

Tigerbay and many such slums where always there.  I think these people want to live like that.

This clearly expose your racist DNA Baseman, I did not mention Tiger Bay, I spoke of 3 areas that has both East Indians and Afro-Guyanese  - Plastic City in Vreed-en-Hoop, and Pigeon Island in Lusignan and Toopoo in Albion.

Actual Toopoo and Pigeon Island are 100 percent East Indians.

But you have a bone to pick with the black man - that is your fight, not mine.

Tigerbay and many such slums where always there.  I think these people want to live like that.

huh, really . . .?

no cure for ignar, smh

Yes, they do.  I know you conveniently prefer not o say it as it explains much of what you wish not to accept.

You are extremely stupid.

And you are an extreme katahar.

This clearly expose your racist DNA Baseman, I did not mention Tiger Bay, I spoke of 3 areas that has both East Indians and Afro-Guyanese  - Plastic City in Vreed-en-Hoop, and Pigeon Island in Lusignan and Toopoo in Albion.

Actual Toopoo and Pigeon Island are 100 percent East Indians.

But you have a bone to pick with the black man - that is your fight, not mine.

I know, I was mentioning what is obvious.  We know where you going.  BTW, Tigerbay has Indians also.

huh, really . . .?

no cure for ignar, smh

Yes, they do.  I know you conveniently prefer not o say it as it explains much of what you wish not to accept.

baseman, i am not here to debate stupidness with the ignorant

that u enjoy a regular wallow in the fetid swamps of racism is your own loathsome affair

You are extremely stupid.

And you are an extreme katahar.

we know that's what you are. But, I am not here to debate your genes.

What an offensive statement! That is not thinking. That is your prejudices overwhelming your reason. I wonder if the people in plastic city or pigeon Island like to live like that?

huh, really . . .?

no cure for ignar, smh

You are a pig. Who do you know like to live in squalor? Do you think our ancestor liked their status as the refuse of India?

No place to play: Sara (right) and Varshanie Chanderpaul (left) stand forlornly on the only piece of dry ground in Plastic City.

Look at these wonderful kids and realize they were you or our parents at another time of destitution. The logies were not Red Roof inn ( and I would not stay in those)

Baseman's relative, Anand Persaud in front of his home in Plastic City; he moved there because the rent was too high elsewhere.

Susan Ramdass, 23, grew up in Plastic City and continues to live there with her husband and four children. She recalls that some time back Ministry of Housing officials visited, numbered each home and promised assistance with acquiring house lots but since then they have heard nothing. Other residents also recall a visit by Minister of Housing and Water Irfaan Ali but say nothing has happened since. Over a dozen families live in leaking board and zinc shacks on the edges of Plastic City while others live in sturdier houses at the front.

The only dry place in Plastic City for the Ramdass children to play is on their tiny deck.

“We grow up small in here and we still living here,” Ramdass says. Like all the residents, the woman says if she is allocated a house lot elsewhere, she is willing to move. Plastic City, which floods during the high tides and never dries during the rainy season, is not healthy for children, she says. She points out that when the water rises, it floods the latrines. Her home is built with pieces of “crab bush wood”, wattles and covered with zinc. “None new brand material ain’t deh on,” she says.

Ramdass says her husband, Jaiveer Kumar Lall, a labourer, does not earn enough. “Just because people can’t do better mek people live here,” she says.

Some Plastic City residents on a stand they built to ‘hang out’ above the mud and water.

Rampattie Ramassar says the Housing Ministry had promised to assist with house lots. She says they had to fill up forms and send them in but have had no update so far. “I glad to move from here,” she says citing the flooding, mosquitoes and sandflies and the fact that they have to go a long way to fetch water for everyday use. Residents also collect rainwater.

Ramassar lives with her four children. She says she used to rent a house but can no longer afford this. She moved to Plastic City after she purchased a ‘house’ there. Ramassar, a vendor, says if a house lot is identified, she is willing to pay for it in instalments because she cannot afford to pay a lump sum.

Living in Plastic City was never meant to be permanent, she says. “We willing foh move if the people give we house lot cause the place is not nice for children and so.”

“If we coulda afford it, we nah woulda living here,” says Radica Ramdass, who lives with her husband and son in Plastic City. She says if they got a little help, they are willing to move immediately. “We ain’t want to live forever back here.”

http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...-for-housing-relief/