Corentyne youth found dead with stab wounds

-drinking buddy confesses to killing

Mahendra Sooknana

A 21-year-old Corentyne man was discovered dead along the Number 68 Village, Corentyne Middle Walk this morning and police say a drinking buddy has since confessed to battering and then stabbing him.

Mahendra Sooknana, a block maker of Number 69 Village, Corentyne, was found around 6 am.

Stabroek News was told by a relative that the man had visible stab wounds about his body.

According to a relative, the lad left home around 5 pm on Sunday to attend a horse racing event in a nearby village.

Stabroek News was told that two persons had been held for questioning.

Since then, a 19-year-old friend has reportedly confessed to killing Sooknana.

According to information gathered, the two men were drinking when a fight broke out late last evening.

Sources close to the investigation said the suspect claimed that the deceased told him something in relation to having a relationship with his [the suspect’s] wife, which made him angry.

According to information gathered, the suspect used a small picket [wood] to deal Sooknana several lashes, after which he reportedly took away the murder weapon, a knife, which the deceased had in his possession, and used it to deal him several stabs.

Presently, the police are at Number 69 Village, Corentyne, searching a trench where the suspect claimed to have disposed the weapon.

Source:

Mitwah, sad to see that your relative committed such a horrific act.

I happen to know the person who went back and got them started in the block making business. 

What are you doing to change this type of behaviour in this your district?

These young men can't handle their liquor. When a man can kill his own brother for food, this is nothing for a friend to kill a friend after drinking. This is another sad incident for a young Indo-Guyanese. Self-extinction is growing among Indo-Guyanese. As long as there is rum, coolie will drink fuh glutton, murder, and chop their family to pieces.  

The problem is that your relatives are drunkards. This murder is an example of their character. Shameless Drunks.

You cannot change that which you don't acknowledge. Your relatives would continue to drink and kill one another. What are you doing about this problem in your district?

Yugli is wuh happening in yuh community deh bhai?

You should never raise this topic with Yuji. He's a lost cause whose aim is to cuss AFC officials and Blackman for Jagdeo and the PPP downfall. This guy words alone tells me he wanted to re-introduce slavery on Afro-Guyanese. He wants to see them in shackles like the white slave masters. Mitwah, I blame you for digging up ants nest with a known racist. 

Bai, Brother Sheik confirmed that you are a known racist who resent Blacks.

God created everyone equally and no race is superior or inferior. I speak for Indo rights and you seem uncomfortable with that. Using the C word to describe an Indo is most demeaning and racist, you need to stop demeaning Indos.

You Sir, are a Hypocrite with zero credibility.

Yugli is wuh happening in yuh community deh bhai?

You should never raise this topic with Yuji. He's a lost cause whose aim is to cuss AFC officials and Blackman for Jagdeo and the PPP downfall. This guy words alone tells me he wanted to re-introduce slavery on Afro-Guyanese. He wants to see them in shackles like the white slave masters. Mitwah, I blame you for digging up ants nest with a known racist. 

Look how he mocks me for performing my dharmic duties and I say nothing about his singing and dancing downtown Toronto with his Hare Krishna buddies. 

He is a congenital racist.

I am waiting some more info as to if he is related to the killer.

God created everyone equally and no race is superior or inferior. I speak for Indo rights and you seem uncomfortable with that. Using the C word to describe an Indo is most demeaning and racist, you need to stop demeaning Indos.

Granger will push a bamboo in you kakahole then you will know about credibility. You don't know me and you don't know that frigging Shiek. This buying and selling information is a dangerous game, chap. You once denied that you don't get into people personal details and here you demonstrated to me that you believed what he said about me. Are you that stupid? Eh, Yuji?   

U are a hardcore racist. In your eyes, the only good blackman is a dead one. But u are not alone. On the other side of the fence, there are some who feel the same way about indos too. Go figure.

Updated: Corentyne youth found dead with stab wounds

-drinking buddy confesses to killing

October 8 2018

A 21-year-old Corentyne man was discovered dead along the Number 68 Village, Corentyne Middle Walk this morning and police say a drinking buddy has since confessed to battering and then stabbing him.Mahendra Sooknanan, a block maker of Number 69 Village, Corentyne, was found around 6 am.

Stabroek News was told by a relative that the man had visible stab wounds about his body.According to a relative, the lad left home around 5 pm on Sunday to attend a horse racing event in a nearby village.Stabroek News was told that two persons had been held for questioning.Since then, a 19-year-old friend has reportedly confessed to killing Sooknanan.

According to information gathered, the two men were drinking when a fight broke out late last evening.Sources close to the investigation said the suspect claimed that the deceased told him something in relation to having a relationship with his [the suspect’s] wife, which made him angry.

According to information gathered, the suspect used a small picket [wood] to deal Sooknanan several lashes, after which he reportedly took away the murder weapon, a knife, which the deceased had in his possession, and used it to deal him several stabs.

Presently, the police are at Number 69 Village, Corentyne, searching a trench where the suspect claimed to have disposed the weapon.

Come in Yugi. Dem peeps are your village people dem.

so what if he is from the same village....why some of you like to use sad situations to start confrontations?

Come in Yugi. Dem peeps are your village people dem.

so what if he is from the same village....why some of you like to use sad situations to start confrontations?

You can't change what you refuse to confront.  Confrontation is the bread and butter to keep this forum alive.

Mitwah, sad to see that your relative committed such a horrific act.

Nothing wrong with confrontation...why do you use a family's tragedy to start a confrontation?

Is your question directed to me or Yugi?

Mits, I have no idea about that village in Berbice. Please stop your nonsense.

Rays question was directed at you.

Yeh! Ray turned a blind eye to your breaking of forum rules.

I have reasons to not believe you.