Hong Kong (CNN)Less than a month ago, Singapore was being hailed as one of the countries that had got its coronavirus response right.

Encouragingly for the rest of the world, the city-state seemed to have suppressed cases without imposing the restrictive lockdown measures endured by millions elsewhere.
And then the second wave hit, hard. Since March 17, Singapore's number of confirmed coronavirus cases grew from 266 to over 5,900, according to data from Johns Hopkins University.
While in the worst-hit countries of western Europe and in the US, thousands of cases are being reported every day, Singapore has a population of 5.7 million people and a total area of around 700 square kilometers -- it is smaller than New York City -- meaning those numbers are more significant.

But Singapore also has advantages that many larger countries don't. It only has one major land border, with Malaysia, and can keep a tight control on people entering by air. It also has a world-class health system and a propensity for somewhat draconian rules and policing that can benefit a government when trying to control a pandemic.
So what went wrong?
The answer appears to lie in overlooked clusters of cases among migrant workers living in cramped dormitories and an underestimation of the speed at which those infections could spread through a city where lockdown measures had not been put in place.

Life as normal

At first, Singapore's status as a small island nation seemed to pay off.
It was able to contain the initial wave of cases from China by instituting quarantines and contact tracing to ensure that anyone arriving by air, who might have been exposed, was isolated and monitored.
At the same time, it ramped up public awareness campaigns to encourage people to take precautions. Isolation wards installed in hospitals in the wake of the 2003 SARS epidemic also meant that patients were treated in the safest way possible, preventing medical staff from becoming infected.
Most importantly, wrote Dale Fisher, chair of infection control at the National University of Singapore's hospital in an opinion piece: "Singapore didn't let positive patients back into the community."
People with few or no symptoms, but who had nevertheless tested positive for the virus were hospitalized until they returned a negative test, rather than put in home quarantine, Fisher said.
By testing widely and isolating all those who were potentially contagious, Singapore was able to remain relatively open and continue functioning as usual.

"In Singapore, we want life to go on as normal," Fisher wrote last month, before the latest spike in cases. "We want businesses, churches, restaurants and schools to stay open. This is what success looks like. Everything goes forward with modifications as needed, and you keep doing this until there's a vaccine or a treatment."
That approach stood in stark contrast to Hong Kong: another Asian self-governed city with a similar size population. In Hong Kong, public schools have been closed since February and government employees were encouraged to work from home, though people still traveled around the city relatively freely. New measures were also introduced following an increase in imported cases last month.
Hong Kong has been much more successful in dealing with a second wave.
Singapore only closed schools and some workplaces this month after the most recent spike in cases.
The delay has put the number of new Singapore cases on a much steeper trajectory -- on Thursday it reported 728 new cases -- its largest single day increase. Hong Kong reported four.

Singapore slip-up

Until April, Singapore appeared to be on top of the outbreak.
But clusters that government testing appears to have missed quickly grew and the number of daily cases shot up.
The more relaxed attitude taken in Singapore compared to other countries was only viable if infections from overseas were kept out, and new potential cases were detected and dealt with quickly.
Once this measure failed, the speed at which the virus could pass from person to person was greater than it would be in a place with heavy lockdown and social distancing measures.
Many of the new clusters have been connected to Singapore's vast migrant worker population, in particular those workers -- most from South Asia -- living in cramped dormitories, who appear to have been overlooked in the initial wave of testing. Multiple dormitories have been quarantined and the government is ramping up testing for all workers.
It's unclear whether those infections were from migrant workers coming in from outside, or if the virus was circulating among the largely-untested population for some time. What is evident is that the conditions that workers live in made effective social distancing -- or "home" quarantine -- next to impossible, making it easy for the virus to spread.
"The dormitories were like a time bomb waiting to explode," Tommy Koh, a Singapore lawyer and former diplomat, wrote in a widely-shared Facebook post earlier this month. "The way Singapore treats its foreign workers is not First World but Third World. The government has allowed their employers to transport them in flat bed trucks with no seats. They stay in overcrowded dormitories and are packed likes sardines with 12 persons to a room."
Koh added that "Singapore should treat this as a wake up call to treat our indispensable foreign workers like a First World country should and not in the disgraceful way in which they are treated now."
Since the recent spike in cases, Singapore has instituted what the government is calling a "circuit breaker," a package of restrictions and new rules, combined with harsh punishments, designed to stymie the new wave of cases and allow the city to get its outbreak back under control.
Singapore has a good chance of getting things under control, thanks again to its small size, strong government, and well-funded healthcare system. But the recent spike in cases in Singapore has lessons for the rest of the world.

I do hope Fox news broadcast that article or someone read it to your good ole pal trump (the only two ways he would ever get the news) it might open his eyes to what he is subjecting his people to by reopening too early just because of his ignorant red neck hooligans storming the streets demanding it be so.

Was in Singapore in November last year. Nice  country, great food 

Not realizing they had ghosts in their closet.

When I visited and was given a tour, there were areas we were never taken. I saw the high rises in the distance. We were taken through nice residential areas where mostly Chinese people lived. 

What is interesting, Singapore is the English respelling of Singhapuru, Tamil for place of the tiger.  Sea-faring Tamils had established a trading outpost long before the British was there.  Today they are the underbelly of Singapore. 

This is what’s in store for Guyanese Coolies and Blacks when the Chinese take over Guyana.

When I visited, there were specific places we wanted to see. We had a good driver. Was amazed at the developments, especially the infrastructure. Food was amazing. Had Indian/Tamil cuisine, Chinese and local. People are very friendly.

At the airport, there is a store where you can order suits, they take your measurements, work on it all night, and you pick it up next day...

Base got one of those suits but he washed it in the washing machine causing it to shrink. Now it does squeeze e baltz everytime he wears it.

Is that the one purple suit dat he got? 

How much time meh muss repeat.  Izz not purple, izz Burgundy.  And no, me gat two wit slightly different tint.

Base got one of those suits but he washed it in the washing machine causing it to shrink. Now it does squeeze e baltz everytime he wears it.

How much time meh muss repeat.  Izz not purple, izz Burgundy.  And no, me gat two wit slightly different tint.

You had a BOGO on these suits( Buy one get one). It happens you used a different detergent on one and it faded a little bit more than the other.

Casablanca posted:

He's probably depressed from all the Covid deaths, so he comes here acting like a big bad ballsy brute...

You are new here, so don’t start Fvcking with me. 

BTW, my uncle died yesterday. He was Jagan body guard during the riots of the 60’s.

He was 96 and with his 4th wife at his side. This wife has a long story going back to those riots.

Casablanca posted:

He's probably depressed from all the Covid deaths, so he comes here acting like a big bad ballsy brute...

BTW, my uncle died yesterday. He was Jagan body guard during the riots of the 60’s.

He was 96 and with his 4th wife at his side. This wife has a long story going back to those riots.

It doesn't matter that Casa is new. He was just making  a joke.  

Sorry to hear about your uncle. My condolences.

You had a BOGO on these suits( Buy one get one). It happens you used a different detergent on one and it faded a little bit more than the other.

Nah. The 2nd was purchased in Geneva off the rack. 

Only real men wear pink and purple.

Casablanca posted:

Dude, why the cursing?...Sorry about your family dying...He was on 4th wife, so he enjoyed life, you should too...Take care, life is short...Now Trump wants people to return to work, but Fauci says the Virus could return...We are living in the end times discussed in the Bible...

This virus will be here. But the country cannot remain closed.  Until there is a vaccine, the risk remains!

The world will change.  Trumpism on the rise. 

Casablanca posted:

My condolences to you and all the members of your extended family. May His Soul Rest In Peace. He lived a long and fruitful life.

Casablanca posted:

Remember you are still on probation. Respect your seniors.

Casablanca posted:

Dude, why the cursing?...Sorry about your family dying...He was on 4th wife, so he enjoyed life, you should too...Take care, life is short...Now Trump wants people to return to work, but Fauci says the Virus could return...We are living in the end times discussed in the Bible...

This virus will be here. But the country cannot remain closed.  Until there is a vaccine, the risk remains!

My sympathy, but at 96, he must have died from old age and not covid.

Casablanca posted:

My sympathy, but at 96, he must have died from old age and not covid.

Thanks. Not Covid, he developed colon cancer few months ago. 

BTW, his older brother 97/98 going strong. They were bad ass PPP support in the 60s but left after Rai was pushed out.