March 27 ,2021

Sections of the East Bank Demerara (EBD) Bypass Road, between Little Diamond and Covent Garden, have already begun to crumble even as the project is yet to be commissioned.

In pictures seen by this publication, some sections have been compressed to the point where cracks are visible along the edges of the road’s surface. In other areas, there is a complete deterioration of what appears to be completed works given that demarcation has already been implemented.

The Guyana Standard reached out to the Ministry of Housing and Water and was informed that the project is still in the defects and liability period. This period refers to a duration which, should any defects be observed, the contractor has the responsibility to rectify.

This publication was further informed that a team of engineers would have also visited the sites and corrective works will commence on Tuesday.

The road construction is currently being undertaken by three contracting firms – Annirud Ramcharitar Construction Firm, Guy-america Construction Inc, and Bardon Construction, with each company executing works on each awarded lot.

As of March 6, 2021, some 90 percent of works on the $500M alternative road linking Eccles and Diamond were reported as completed. The deadline for the project is next month.

@Totaram posted:

Isn't this the same road mud road  the PPP was taking credit for the other day?

I don't anything about that.  Print the article which says that the PPP taking credit for a mud road.

They are taking credit for the infrastructure they initiated to build 50,000 housing units which include building roads, provide a water system, and electricity.  The infrastructure will also include land development for supermarkets and other businesses on prime lands. 

God bless the PPP.

@Ramakant-P posted:

I don't anything about that.  Print the article which says that the PPP taking credit for a mud road.

They are taking credit for the infrastructure they initiated to build 50,000 housing units which include building roads, provide a water system, and electricity.  The infrastructure will also include land development for supermarkets and other businesses on prime lands.

God bless the PPP.

BS.  Chupidness na gat cure.  Get some sense this early pahgwah manin. Me a talk bout road an you a talk bout crap.  gulgula mek you mo bassidy dan usual?

Probably.because the contractor had to kickback half.of the.money.awarded! If the government didn't.care, why.should.he?

Those contractors were too smart for the coalition. They were negligent in running the country.

Look at the PPP, everything they put their hands on turned into a project. How many business deals do you think they signed since taking over from the corrupt coalition government. Day in and day out, some kind of progress is being made. The list goes on and on.

@Mitwah posted:

You playing phagwah or pagla? Dat road is not completed yet. Is weh dem ovapaid PPP engineers deh? Is de PPP signin off on de projects. Bring back yuh Puja Hut Cousin nuh.

I meant that it was started during the coalition time in office.  The PPP had to clean up their mess.  Your friends, Khemraj and Moses, did a bad job and you know it. 

@Ramakant-P posted:

I meant that it was started during the coalition time in office.  The PPP had to clean up their mess.  Your friends, Khemraj and Moses, did a bad job and you know it.

Your PPP is doing worse. This road is from Eccles to Diamond a PPP project. The road construction is currently being undertaken by three contracting firms – Annirud Ramcharitar Construction Firm, Guy-america Construction Inc, and Bardon Construction, with each company executing works on each awarded lot.

@Mitwah posted:

Your PPP is doing worse. This road is from Eccles to Diamond a PPP project. The road construction is currently being undertaken by three contracting firms – Annirud Ramcharitar Construction Firm, Guy-america Construction Inc, and Bardon Construction, with each company executing works on each awarded lot.

Then blame the construction company for doing a bad job.  There isn't anything that can't be fixed by the experts.