E.C.D. four-lane extension…Contractor rejects bribery demand

August 12, 2012 | By | Filed Under News 

-    leads to non-payment and contract termination 

One of the contractors working on the four-lane East Coast Demerara Highway is convinced that the abrupt termination of his contract was in retaliation to his non-compliance to the corrupt demands of senior officials from the Ministries of Finance and Public Works.

The Managing Director of Falcon Transport and Construction Services, believes that blowing the whistle on corrupt officials could lead to a level playing field for all contractors for future government contracts.

The contractor, who has an impressive record of working with the government, was surprised when he received a letter from the Works Service Group of the Ministry of Public Works, terminating his $468.2 million contract last month.

This was after he had written to the Public Works Ministry indicating that he had suspended works on July 10 over the non-payment by the Ministry since March this year.

Work was suspended on this section of the E.C.D. four-lane road extension at Better Hope.

The Ministry had indicated that poor quality works being executed by Falcon Transportation and Construction Services had raised concerns among Engineers within the Ministry of Public Works and Communications. Transport and Hydraulics Minister, Robeson Benn, had confirmed that the Ministry was displeased with the quality of work.

According to the Ministry, completed works did not satisfy its standards.
But the contractor, in an exclusive interview with this newspaper, declared that the reasons purported by the Ministry are far from the truth. He stated that soon after he received the contract and commenced work on September 6, last year, he was besieged by personnel connected to the Ministry to give a kickback of 4% of the contract sum.

The contractor said that he repeatedly refused to accede to the continuous demands. He believes that his problems started when it was realized that he could not be easily compromised. He charged that the Ministry began coming up with frivolous excuses in an effort to undermine his part of the project.
In fact, he explained that in the first place, it was the Ministry that had frustrated works on the project with several incorrect designs, which resulted in undue delays to the project which was scheduled to last 274 days.
The project entails the widening of the Main East Coast Demerara highway and the construction of concrete drains on both sides of the roadway from Better Hope to Montrose.

In the presence of an experienced Civil Engineer, who he had contracted to do work on behalf of his company, the contractor said that in the first place, the Ministry had “issues” with concrete tests that his company had done.
The contractor said that he had employed a competent technician, who had recently retired from the University of Guyana, to conduct the tests and submit the appropriate report.

“In January when we did the first concrete work tests, he presented a test result to me. We presented it to the Ministry of Public Works who subsequently queried it. They said that this is not authentic; that this is a forged document,” the contractor explained.

The Ministry was questioning the signature on the testing report that was supposed to be that of the head of the facilitating laboratory at the University of Guyana. But apparently there was no effort on the part of the Ministry to verify the signature on the documents related to the tests.
However the Ministry did not refute the results of the tests.

“Those tests results were adequate and they passed the strength tests,” said the engineer, who has more than 30 years experience in civil engineering.
But despite this, the contractor went ahead and did about 20 concrete tests from the University of Guyana, which the Ministry accepted and presently has in its possession.

The engineer informed that it was the Ministry that did not carry out the test procedures correctly.

“They don’t know to do the test…it was not properly done…the methodology they used was poor,” he explained.

The Ministry had also reviewed invoices for material on site which were submitted by the contractor, claiming that they were not above board. This, the contractor said, was another attempt to find unnecessary fault with his contract.

“They claimed that the invoices that I obtained from Gafoor were duplicated. But Gafoor gave an explanation for the appearances of the invoices. The Ministry could have easily verified it by just making a phone call or even contacting Gafoor, but they are too important to do that,” the frustrated contractor told this newspaper.

He stated that the Ministry refused to acknowledge a document from Gafoors authenticating the bills.

According to the contractor, the same invoices were approved by the Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA) when he made claims for a refund of his Value Added Tax.

“These bills went to GRA and were checked…and I was refunded the VAT from it. It was accepted by GRA as authentic,” the contractor said.

It was on these perceived discrepancies that the Ministry wrote to the contractor informing him that his contract was terminated. He noted that it took the Ministry five months after they queried the discrepancies to terminate the contract.

“They said that I did not reply to their queries, but I did,” the contractor stated, producing a copy of a letter to the Ministry. The contractor said that he has been doing contracts for the government since 1993 and there was never a problem with his invoices and quality of work.

“It’s because of the bribery…I don’t want to give them the money…because the ‘big man’ was dissatisfied,” he stated.

The ‘big man’ the contractor referred to is an official at the Ministry of Finance who had demanded a kickback on the contract sum.

The messenger, he said, was dismissed from his job after the contractor blew the whistle on him.

He disclosed that a Ministry of Works supervisor on the site had requested that the contractor purchase a minibus for him.

“In December, the supervisor on the site, he told me personally if I can buy a minibus for him. I told him ‘you have to work for that’,” the contractor told Kaieteur News. He also revealed that the Ministry of Works Engineer had asked him to fund a part of his wedding, which he also refused to do.
According to the contractor, because of the back and forth queries, the project deadline was extended by the Ministry to October.
“They admit in their time extension, that I have suffered 68 days delay. It took them 68 days to correct their designs. You putting a contract out and while the contractor is working, you correcting numerous mistakes,” the Engineer said.

He disclosed that the design presented by the Ministry’s engineers catered for four feet wide drains on both sides of the road.
But the engineer said that when the contractor surveyed and looked at the existing drainage system, it was discovered that the size of drain that the Ministry recommended would cause flooding, since it was inadequate for a four-lane highway.

“It took them months to correct it. We imposed on them that we would not accept their design and we suggested that it should be six to eight feet,” the Engineer said.

The contractor said that several requests for a meeting with the Ministry to iron out the perceived problems were brushed aside. He claimed that it was not until he suspended work on his part of the project that the Ministry responded by terminating his contract.

The contractor’s firm has done a number of sea defence and road works for the government, including the sub-contracts on the Essequibo Coast road; 6.5 miles of farm to market roads at Parika; road works and culverts in La Parfait Harmonie; construction of road drains and bridges in Kaneville, East Bank Demerara; and maintenance of roads on the West Coast and East Coast of Demerara.

In fact, in 1994, the firm was the first to rehabilitate roads and drains in Region Three.

The contractor is hoping that President Ramotar, who has expressed a zero tolerance approach to defaulting contractors, would reconsider the position taken by the Ministry of Public Works since in this case, the contractor is not at fault.

“The King’s counsellors are not good to him and so his reign would not be peaceful,” the contractor stated.

He noted that if for standing up against corruption one can be victimised, then there will no end to the current state of affairs.

SUNDAY PHOTOS: road work

CAPTION: Work was suspended on this section of the E.C.D. four-lane road extension at Better Hope.

I salute the man for not complying with illicit demands.  Corrupt officials should be dealt with in the most severe manner.  When/if convicted, they should be thrown in jail, given heavy fines and barred from any involvement with Govt contracts.

On the other hand, he should have gathered some evidence to support his claim.  Poor quality of work is subjective.  I hope he documented or have some evidence as to the bribery demands.

I hope we can get this man of camera to tell his story so we can help his case by making his experience well known. Someone should get to Motilal to hear his side of the story as well.

The topic of the thread is misleading. No where in the article is it mentioned that the person allegedly soliciting the bribe is a member of the PPP party. We all know that officials in the public sector is 90% PNC operatives.   

TRUE DAT but I dont care which Party they belong to. Hang Dem High!!!

Correct.

But there are others who sees everything as PPP.

its good to see NEHRU is seeing the light,but you should be carefull NEHRU they might end up hanging all the ppp crime family

How many years now yuh BABBLING bout thief and Corruption>> Show me an ant size of evidence and I will be the FIRST to call for severe punishment. Sharma Solomon is saying that Electric Fire caused the Burning, Looting, destroying at Linden, should I believe that too.

the people have all right to burn the place,the police was told to murder the protestors you know that and i know that, the police still have the phamtom police that use to work with roger khan.maybe some body should give the protestors guns and lose them in GT let see if ramotar will try talking with them

CALLING A SWINE LIKE YOU A NEEMAKARAM WILL BE A COMPLIMENT. WHAT WILL YOU NOT SELL TO GET YOUR WAY?????????

i am more guyanese than you,i belive in equal rights for every guyanese,regardless of race,that is what i fight the pnc for and now i am willing to fight the ppp for the same

NO YOU ARE AN ASS KISSER, PLAIN AND SIMPLE. BUT YOU KISS ASS TO TRY AND FOOL PEOPLE THAT YOU CARE: BULLSHIT!! GO TO LINDEN TOMORROW AND WE WILL SEE YOU COMING BACK IN A BODY BAG. THEY WILL TREAT YOU JUST LIKE THE ppp AND DAT YOU CAN PUT IN YOUR PIPE AND SMOKE. WHY MOSESD AND RAMJATTAN WHO WERE KISSING BABIES IN LINDEN A FEW MONTHS AGO AARE NOW FAR FAR AWAY?????

why must i kiss ass,i live in canada and i am not a member of no party i am scare to be,if i am i will be in jail or dead because the first thing i will do is raise funds to buy guns to fight the ppp crime family i belive some of the ppp low life need to die, 

Do you mean to pass off the lie that a ministry is under the control of the PNC?

The PNC operatives if they exist would only be able to steal crumbs. The PPP kith and kin are sole share holders of PPPinc.

i am more guyanese than you,i belive in equal rights for every guyanese,regardless of race,that is what i fight the pnc for and now i am willing to fight the ppp for the same

NO YOU ARE AN ASS KISSER, PLAIN AND SIMPLE. BUT YOU KISS ASS TO TRY AND FOOL PEOPLE THAT YOU CARE: BULLSHIT!! GO TO LINDEN TOMORROW AND WE WILL SEE YOU COMING BACK IN A BODY BAG. THEY WILL TREAT YOU JUST LIKE THE ppp AND DAT YOU CAN PUT IN YOUR PIPE AND SMOKE. WHY MOSESD AND RAMJATTAN WHO WERE KISSING BABIES IN LINDEN A FEW MONTHS AGO AARE NOW FAR FAR AWAY?????

Is it not too early for you to be drunk? That could not come from a mind not being meddled with by alcohol...at least that is what I think. I do pity you if you are that way normally.

If they feel they do, then deal with the consequences.

Go and lead them to GT.

===

This is a high stake project for the PPP. They would not just allow a simple public servant to derail such a critical piece of work. It is to be an untouchable insider.

Originally Posted by Tar_K:

===

This is a high stake project for the PPP. They would not just allow a simple public servant to derail such a critical piece of work. It is to be an untouchable insider.

You should not just jump to a conclusion.  The guy has to provide some proof as his contract was terminated.  I don't say he is covering himself, but in such a case he has to prove.  He must have some evidence that someone was extorting funds as it cannot be a simple one-man show.  There must be reports of his "shoddy" work, so, if there was extortion, several persons were involved and one will leave a trail.

So the govt terminated his contract for shoddy work? The guy is saying he was asked to pay 4% kick-back tax? The point I am making is if it is the latter it cannot be that someone from the opposition requested the KB tax. The govt will never allow that to mess with a major project.

My point, there are two sides.  His contract was terminated for "shoddy work".  He claims "extortion".  Both sides must have some documented evidence of their position.  4% might not be enough to compensate all the people needed to pull off such an extortion plan.

This is the plan of the AFC/PNC, destroy Guyana if they can't have power. These fools are power drunk, however a good dose of phantomizing will tame them.

E. C. D four-lane extension… Contractor provides evidence to support claims

August 15, 2012 | By | Filed Under News 

The controversy surrounding the termination of a contract for the extension of the East Coast Demerara road is intensifying with the contractor accusing the Ministry of Public Works of being less than truthful when it accused him of fraud and non-performance.

The Managing Director of the contracting firm, Falcon Transportation and Construction Services, believes that the Ministry appears to be burying its head in the sand when it comes to taking the appropriate action against the real fraudsters and culprits.

The contractor was responding to accusations made by the Ministry in a statement issued on Monday and carried by this newspaper under the caption “Non-performance and fraud led to contract termination”.

He remains convinced that his contract was terminated in retaliation to his suspension of work on his section of the project over non-payment by the Ministry of Public Works.

A section of the suspended road works on the East Coast Demerara.

This situation he believes arose from his unwavering stance on demands for kickbacks allegedly made by Ministry officials.

The Ministry is maintaining that “In view of the non performance by the Contractor on this project, the advice of the Attorney General’s Chambers was sought and the Ministry was advised to terminate the contract for fraudulent practices.”

The contractor has produced documents to substantiate his claims that his business with the Ministry was above board.

He has also provided this newspaper with names, dates and time to support allegations that he was badgered by officials for kickbacks on the contract he received.

The Ministry is claiming that the contractor falsified compressive strength test results to prove that the concrete used for drains construction met the required strength.

“The Faculty of Technology, University of Guyana, whose advice was sought, has confirmed that the results of the tests were indeed falsified.”
Not so

However, the contractor produced documentation which purports to show that the Head of the Department/Coordinator of Industrial Testing, Faculty of Technology, University of Guyana, had certified several certificates for three, seven and 28-day strength tests.

The certificates were dated between March and May this year. One of them bore the signature of acknowledgement of a Ministry of Public Works official.

The Ministry had pointed out in its statement that the Contractor was written to on January 26, 2012 and on February 10, 2012, and that meetings were held with him and his representative on January 30 and on May 18, 2012. He did not respond to the claims of falsification.

However, this newspaper has seen a letter from the contractor dated January 27, to the Coordinator, Works Service Group, Ministry of Public Works, informing that an experienced technical person who was working with the University of Guyana had done the testing.

Additionally, the Contractor had written to Minister Robeson Benn, informing him that the Ministry’s equipment for testing the strength of concrete was malfunctioning. After the tests were certified by the University of Guyana he was instructed by a ministry official to proceed with concrete works.

The casting of concrete walls, the contractor said, was done in the presence of the said Ministry official on Sunday June 3 with no negative comments.
He added that he is now shocked that the Ministry is raising the issue of non performance.

Where was the supervisor?
“The Ministry is making a lame excuse. How come it took the ‘qualified engineers six months to learn that I was doing substandard work? This speaks volumes about how the ministry conducts projects with taxpayers’ money,” the contractor told this newspaper.

Another issue raised by the Ministry was what it termed “questionable” invoices submitted by the Contractor.

The Ministry said that five out of 11 invoices submitted by the Contractor from suppliers had blacked out invoice numbers, and claims for the same items (steel) twice.

However, the contractor provided this newspaper with a letter from the supplier, Gafsons Industries Limited, Parika Branch, certifying that the invoices were legitimate.

The supplier even invited the Ministry to contact their offices should it require any further clarifications. It is not yet clear if this was done.
On the question of the Ministry not being informed about the kickback demands made to the Contractor by its personnel, this newspaper has seen a letter addressed to Works Minister Benn informing about the unethical practice by its project supervisor.

Significantly, the Contractor disclosed that the issue of the four percent demand made by a ‘big man’ at the Ministry of Finance is no secret since several senior officials of the Public Works Ministry had discussed the matter at the first project meeting in November last year.

He said that present at that meeting were himself and his company engineer, Ministry officials including Rickford Lowe, Leon Goring, Phillip Bryan, Kelvin Clarke, Jeffrey Walcott, James Lindo, Marlon Ramsamoj and Naipaul Purai.
“All of these people are aware of it,” the Contractor maintained.

He believes that the ministry, based on the unfavourable reports presented by some “unscrupulous and greedy” Public Works officials, initially delayed payments to him in an effort to undermine his operation.

The Contractor questioned how the Ministry was able to ascertain correctly that his firm was doing substandard work when its supervisor “is not at work on the site on numerous days”.

The Ministry has even confirmed that it had granted an extension of 68 days due to the constant correction of designs.

On July 2 the contractor wrote to Minister Benn, “Despite several requests for payments since March 2012….my firm has not been paid for approved works completed. The engineers when contacted say they are working on the payments, or they have some queries and corrections.”

As a last resort he wrote to Head of the Presidential Secretariat Dr. Roger Luncheon on July 21 for his intervention to ensure that he was paid for the work completed.

SERVER WEDNESDAY: ROAD WORK
CAPTION: A section of the suspended road works on the East Coast Demerara.

My point, there are two sides.  His contract was terminated for "shoddy work".  He claims "extortion".  Both sides must have some documented evidence of their position.  4% might not be enough to compensate all the people needed to pull off such an extortion plan.

You think Benn will inform us that having been informed of the solicitation for kickback, he took steps? Where is henry? He seems to have a direct link to the minister let him tell us how he would have reacted once informed that an underling was trying to solicit a bribe from a contractor.

Why do give so much credence to a newspaper that US intelligence described as "muckraking" and its publisher, Glenn Lall, a character with links to the underworld in G/T? Being anti-gov't should not make you gobble up everything anti-gov't as gospel. Think about the PNC extremists who, under the guise of journalists, have turned the Kaieteur News into garbage truck that pick up wastes everything where dump it at the doors of gov't.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Why do give so much credence to a newspaper that US intelligence described as "muckraking" . . .

You illiterate fool . . . in Journalism, that's high praise!

How much % so you think the big man shoulda charged?