Corruption deterring reputable foreign contractors — IDB tells Govt.

Oct 11, 2017 News, https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...tors-idb-tells-govt/

There is a distinct possibility that Guyana may, within the next few years, become the economic hub of the Caribbean. However, it is possible that despite such lofty status, the country may still have a hard time getting reputable contractors to execute certain infrastructural developments. This will be the case if Guyana does not pull up its proverbial socks and really attack corruption and keep it at bay.

The Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) recently told Minister of Finance, Winston Jordan, that serious contractors have reservations of coming to work in Guyana because of the perception of corruption. Jordan revealed this at a press conference he held on Monday.

He said that he told a Senior Vice President of the IDB that Guyana has not been able to attract international contractors. “Her response was that she understood but we should be aware that Guyana is still looked upon as a very corrupt country. Those were her exact words. She said that these contractors, given their reputation, are very afraid of being tainted so they do not come.”

Jordan said that the problem is not only with attracting international contractors. He said that Guyana has even been making slow progress in attracting regional contractors.

“When you look at even regional contractors, outside of two from Trinidad and somebody out of Jamaica that is doing the West Coast Demerara Road, I do not know that we have been able to attract serious contractors.”

Jordan said that he cannot say, for sure, that it is the perception of corruption that is deterring the regional contractors, “But she did identify that when it comes to the international contractors, they may be afraid of Guyana because of the perception of corruption in the country.”

Jordan was keen not to take blame for the high perception of corruption in Guyana. He said that it is something that dates back to the time of the People’s Progressive Party/ Civic (PPP/C) administration.

“I do not believe that that perception was built over the last two years. It is one that we inherited in 2015 and we are working assiduously to remove that.”

Jordan said that the IDB has been seeing the efforts being made by the APNU+AFC administration to address corruption.

He said, “She did ask us to continue working on improving transparency and accountability. So in a back hand way, we did get some kudos for the work that we are doing to try to get rid of this whole business of corruption in Guyana.”

There is a distinct possibility that Guyana may, within the next few years, become the economic hub of the Caribbean. However, it is possible that despite such lofty status, the country may still have a hard time getting reputable contractors to execute certain infrastructural developments. This will be the case if Guyana does not pull up its proverbial socks and really attack corruption and keep it at bay.

The Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) recently told Minister of Finance, Winston Jordan, that serious contractors have reservations of coming to work in Guyana because of the perception of corruption. Jordan revealed this at a press conference he held on Monday.

Perception or reality of corruption.

HEHEHEHE  The American controlled IDB did not know about the PNC??????????   Bloody Yankee IDIOTS????  The PNC BRUN IRON and Brainwash many FILTH HEADS some here on GNI!!!

Meh Neighba who stupid and got dem head stuck up dem Kakahole is God way of punishing them!!!!

Continuation from when?  1964?? The Namakaram Crabdaag said he will be the defender of Guyanese money, that he will be the gate keeper against the thieving, corrupt and murderous PNC, now POISON too good for that BASTARD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The PNC's main objective is to consolidate power and forever suppress all other political groups that threaten their existence.  Guyana under their governance from 1964 to 1992 was marked by mismanagement, corruption, racial discrimination, electoral fraud, and whole heap of other evil practices.  Why would guys like Churchill put their trust in people like this when they know their horrible track record in government?  I hope this brother is not suffering from alzheimers.

Perception or reality of corruption.

The perception or reality of corruption has been a fact of life in Guyana especially since 2000.

A mere 2 1/2 years wouldn't have been enough for such unanimity of opinion.

All that one can say is that the perception developed under the PPP hasn't changed with the new gov't.

The PNC's main objective is to consolidate power and forever suppress all other political groups that threaten their existence.

All that you rant of the PNC is equally valid of the PPP but the racist that you are will never admit to this.

Your basic gripe as that you can no longer scream "ahbe pan tap" and your past boasts of "blackman time done" seem quite quaint.

Corruption

The perception or reality of corruption has been a fact of life in Guyana especially since 2000.

A mere 2 1/2 years wouldn't have been enough for such unanimity of opinion.

All that one can say is that the perception developed under the PPP hasn't changed with the new gov't.

You need to stop excusing pnc incompetence, they now own this. No more pointing backwards. Their own black pnc supporters are in power and in all levels of govt where the stench of corruption is incubating. They have effectively purged all PPP associated IndoG from the govt, except for bigan lovers like django and lilmo han.  2 1/2 years is sufficient to sweep clean with a broom as they have done, expunging the IndoG from civil service.

You need to stop excusing pnc incompetence, they now own this. 

Funny when the PPP owned their own incompetence for 23 years you screamed that they were Lords all mighty.  Your breath stinks of Jagdeo slop and daily you still praise him.

If he is irrelevant to Guyana politics why is he parading around Linden?  Given that he is clearly relevant his record is quite relevant and that record is sordid.

In fact you biggest praise of Jagdeo is that he used goons to kill scores of  blacks.