Originally Posted by asj:

'Transparency International (TI), the 2012 Annual Corruption Perceptions Index (CPI) has placed Guyana at a lowly 133 out of total of 174 countries.'

Old news. Move on.

"What's past is prologue..." William Shakespeare

Remember the past so that you can make the future better.

'Transparency International (TI), the 2012 Annual Corruption Perceptions Index (CPI) has placed Guyana at a lowly 133 out of total of 174 countries.'

Old news. Move on.

Those who do not remember the past are condemned to repeat it.
Read more at http://www.brainyquote.com/quo...#FlJ6KdxWDUhxLLr7.99
Those who do not remember the past are condemned to repeat it.
Read more at http://www.brainyquote.com/quo...#FlJ6KdxWDUhxLLr7.99

Remember the past ...

Old news again. The sentence has been abused for hundred of years. "Ain't nobady gat time fuh dah".

Old news. Move on.

listen to dis crude, bigot crocodile who disinters Burnham [more than quarter century old] rotted corpse at the drop of a hat to parade in service to racist antiman hunkered down @ OP and in Freedom House

g'wan suh hypocrite!

Old news. Move on.

listen to dis crude, bigot crocodile who disinters Burnham [more than quarter century old] rotted corpse at the drop of a hat to parade in service to racist antiman hunkered down @ OP and in Freedom House

g'wan suh hypocrite!

Ah dis PNC racist, hypocritical and avowed fa..ot gorilla!
Too bad I was not in Guyana. I would have indeed dug up that racist demagogue worm.

Old news. Move on.

g'wan suh hypocrite!

Ah dis PNC racist, hypocritical and avowed fa..ot gorilla!
Too bad I was not in Guyana. I would have indeed dug up that racist demagogue worm.

arite den

no need to pose . . . everybady can see your scales

Old news. Move on.

i hope that, by now, skeldon_man has realized the inherent contradiction of what he posted above

this illiterate claims to have had a tertiary education . . .smh

Old news. Move on.

i hope that, by now, skeldon_man has realized the inherent contradiction of what he posted above

he say he is a professor i think he is dr crime

Old news. Move on.

he say he is a professor i think he is dr crime

somewhere . . . a bunch of 'black' Howard University graduates are contemplating this fool and laughing their freakin heads off

The Guyanese masses face a common enemy –

#poverty

March 14, 2014 Β· By Staff Writer

Dear Editor,

There is no doubt that we live in a divided society. And I don’t mean the accidentally created and artificially maintained ethnic cleavage; I am talking about the real division: the huge gap between the haves and the have-nots, the rich and the poor. The evidence of this growing divide and the negative consequences of this reality are clear. So, is the Ramotar administration blind to the issue or is the problem being ignored and perpetuated?

We all know the names of the rich; the beneficiaries of government contracts, inside information and preferential treatment. These new money-makers are the ones connected to the powerful decision-makers, while we, the ordinary Guyanese, struggle to make ends meet. The new-rich powerful people serve each other in a hand-wash-hand relationship. They are the elite; we are the poor masses. It is β€˜us’ and β€˜them,’ the division is clear.

The problems created by class division are recognised by religious leaders, academics and political thinkers across the spectrum. In 2012, US President Obama said that class division is the, β€œdefining challenge of our time.” Mahatma Ghandi said: β€œPoverty is the worst form of violence.” Conservative economist Douglas Holtz-Eakin, advisor to Republican President George W Bush highlighted the social problems caused by economic inequality and, incredibly, actually advocated progressive taxation of the rich. In reference to trickle-down theories of economic development, Pope Francis said: β€œ [They are] a crude and naΓ―ve trust in those wielding economic power.”

The facts are clear. In December 2013, Oxfam International reported that the eighty-five wealthiest individuals on earth were worth US$1.7 trillion; the same amount of money sparsely shared by the poorest 50% of the world’s population – 3.5 billion persons. The report, presented to political and business leaders at the World Economic Forum in Switzerland in January 2014, also stated that the world’s richest 1% possessed 65% of humanity’s financial resources. So, is this inequality fair; is this the way things are supposed to be?

The poor masses are suffering day after day; they are always worried about bills, rent and the cost of food. But now, the problem is becoming so big that even the world’s wealthy, powerful elite are getting worried. This is because if the world’s poor people have no jobs and no money to spend, they cannot buy the goods that the rich people are producing. And they are afraid that the whole economic and social house of cards can collapse under the weight of resistance to the status quo. After all, the masses will not tolerate this situation indefinitely; the concentration of wealth in the hands of the elite will have consequences. Eventually, the jobless poor across the globe will stop sitting and starving quietly, and will take action to change things.

In Guyana the issue is stark and immediately obvious. Poor people die at public hospitals for lack of medicines and oxygen, while the elite can charter private jets to overseas hospitals to treat their fevers. The masses are locked up for speaking out against injustice, while the rich drive their 4Γ—4 vehicles recklessly, cause accidents, and face no consequences. The children of the wealthy attend the best private educational institutions, while our poor children have to fetch water to flush toilets in public schools. So, are we, the poor masses supposed to put up with this forever?

The experts agree that to change things we must act together; we cannot allow the elite to continue to divide us. Indigenous Guyanese in Lethem are suffering in constant blackouts, poor fishermen in Berbice are being attacked by pirates, Georgetown’s residents are living in a garbage city and our brothers and sisters in Linden have no jobs.

We, the poor masses, must change things. We must insist on a living wage, access to decent education, gainful employment and quality health care. We must reject all attempts to divide us; we are all Guyanese facing a common enemy: poverty. We must use our voices, our pens, our votes, to remove and replace anyone who would keep us down. We are the masses; we have strength in unity and in numbers. We will not be divided and trampled on by the few, no matter how much money they have.

Yours faithfully, Mark DaCosta

http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...ommon-enemy-poverty/

Old news. Move on.

PNC is burnham.. the racist demagogue who believed in personal power. My supposed tertiary education was earned. I was not the PNC ping pong jock who cheated his way through exams.

Let’s talk tourism

March 8, 2014Leave a comment

March 8, 2014

In this little piece of paradise we call Guyana, we hardly depend on the tourism industry yet we have much to offer. Our 83,000 square miles make us the largest Caribbean state, 80% of which is largely untouched forests. From the beaches of the Corentyne to the rolling hills of the Rupununi Savannahs, the marine turtles on the North West beaches to the dense Iwokrama forest – Guyana is no doubt blessed and is a haven for eco-tourism.

But there is a problem. One that is staring at us right in the face. And we should be embarrassed to invite tourists into the country because of this problem. We all know what it is: the current state of the capital.

The practice has been to have tourists land at the Cheddi Jagan or Ogle International Airports and then whisk them off to Kaieteur and the interior to visit our eco-resorts and get their fill of looking at our birds and breathing that clean fresh air. But to have the full Guyanese experience one would always have to visit the capital which boasts a mixture of every culture that kissed this earth. And the same cannot be done when cruise ships dock at Port Georgetown.

Picture this: City Hall, which used to be a gem is now a murky piece of lead. The High Court building is in shipshape, but the broken hand and sceptre of Victoria is an insult to our colonial heritage. The canals that used to be low and shimmering are now pungent, stagnant and filled with garbage. The streets are lined with filth and the air with disgust. I could go on. But you get the picture. It is familiar and it is what the tourist sees.

And after we have fixed the city physicallyβ€”and only heaven knows when that will happenβ€”we have to fix the citizens. Or maybe we should tackle that first.

Let me list the tasks: We have to fix the often rude and uncaring behaviour that sometimes passes for customer service. We have to straighten out the security forces. Then we must tackle the less-than-average citizens; the ones who delight in standing on the corners urinating, cursing at the top of their lungs; blasting derogatory music from their vehicles or push carts.

Public transportation is a nightmare: too fast, choked, rude conductors and aggressive drivers. Then there are those pedestrians who have no regard for vehicular traffic and cross the roads when they feel like and at their own speed. It is as though we are slipping into anarchy; or have we already fallen?

When did the most hospitable country in the Caribbean lose its charm? Suriname boasted during Carifesta it was the most hospitable and Trinidad and Tobago invites business and tourists alike to β€˜the Bridge between South America and the Caribbean’. What is our claim to fame these days? Garbage?

Let’s be grateful that Guyana does not have to depend solely on tourism. Let’s be thankful that we have diversification. Tourism is needed, tourism is wanted but tourism can never be accomplished with how we keep ourselves. Let’s stop pretending that we have arrived. And let’s start working really hard to regain what we have lost. (Jairo Rodrigues)

http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...8/lets-talk-tourism/

Let’s talk tourism

March 8, 2014Leave a comment

March 8, 2014

In this little piece of paradise we call Guyana, we hardly depend on the tourism industry yet we have much to offer. Our 83,000 square miles make us the largest Caribbean state, 80% of which is largely untouched forests. From the beaches of the Corentyne to the rolling hills of the Rupununi Savannahs, the marine turtles on the North West beaches to the dense Iwokrama forest – Guyana is no doubt blessed and is a haven for eco-tourism.

But there is a problem. One that is staring at us right in the face. And we should be embarrassed to invite tourists into the country because of this problem. We all know what it is: the current state of the capital.

The practice has been to have tourists land at the Cheddi Jagan or Ogle International Airports and then whisk them off to Kaieteur and the interior to visit our eco-resorts and get their fill of looking at our birds and breathing that clean fresh air. But to have the full Guyanese experience one would always have to visit the capital which boasts a mixture of every culture that kissed this earth. And the same cannot be done when cruise ships dock at Port Georgetown.

Picture this: City Hall, which used to be a gem is now a murky piece of lead. The High Court building is in shipshape, but the broken hand and sceptre of Victoria is an insult to our colonial heritage. The canals that used to be low and shimmering are now pungent, stagnant and filled with garbage. The streets are lined with filth and the air with disgust. I could go on. But you get the picture. It is familiar and it is what the tourist sees.

And after we have fixed the city physicallyβ€”and only heaven knows when that will happenβ€”we have to fix the citizens. Or maybe we should tackle that first.

Let me list the tasks: We have to fix the often rude and uncaring behaviour that sometimes passes for customer service. We have to straighten out the security forces. Then we must tackle the less-than-average citizens; the ones who delight in standing on the corners urinating, cursing at the top of their lungs; blasting derogatory music from their vehicles or push carts.

Public transportation is a nightmare: too fast, choked, rude conductors and aggressive drivers. Then there are those pedestrians who have no regard for vehicular traffic and cross the roads when they feel like and at their own speed. It is as though we are slipping into anarchy; or have we already fallen?

When did the most hospitable country in the Caribbean lose its charm? Suriname boasted during Carifesta it was the most hospitable and Trinidad and Tobago invites business and tourists alike to β€˜the Bridge between South America and the Caribbean’. What is our claim to fame these days? Garbage?

Let’s be grateful that Guyana does not have to depend solely on tourism. Let’s be thankful that we have diversification. Tourism is needed, tourism is wanted but tourism can never be accomplished with how we keep ourselves. Let’s stop pretending that we have arrived. And let’s start working really hard to regain what we have lost. (Jairo Rodrigues)

http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...8/lets-talk-tourism/

Dah prablem is de choke and rab thugs in GT

Old news. Move on.

PNC is burnham.. the racist demagogue who believed in personal power. My supposed tertiary education was earned. I was not the PNC ping pong jock who cheated his way through exams.

ow skeldon bai, there is no shortage of threads on GNI where u can clap merciless lash pan de Burnham strawman . . . so plug yuh bt suh de smoke can clear, and concentrate on de topic hay, arite?

now, ah just wondering where one acquires the 'dummy skills' that led u to misinterpret Shakespeare with such invincible ignorance . . . dat's all

somewhere . . . a bunch of 'black' Howard University graduates are contemplating your ILLITERACY and laughing their freakin heads off

mmmmmmm

Old news. Move on.

ow skeldon bai, there is no shortage of threads on GNI where u can clap merciless lash pan de Burnham strawman . . . so plug yuh bt suh de smoke can clear, and concentrate on de topic hay, arite?

now, ah just wondering where one acquires the 'dummy skills' that led u to misinterpret Shakespeare with such invincible ignorance . . . dat's all

somewhere . . . a bunch of 'black' Howard University graduates are contemplating your ILLITERACY and laughing their freakin heads off

mmmmmmm

Hey forbes stepson,

Get rid ah dah battie thing.  You yearn for the PNC days. Face it; dah wood neva happen. Put it in you pipe and smoke it. No more sugah an honey fuh yuh pnc.

Boy, my education served me well to successfully retire comfortably. You cheating jock skills are not in demand. The reason you want PNC back in power is that you want to return and suck honey. No more honey. You will have to suck balls. You will fit right in.

Old news. Move on.

mmmmmmm

Hey forbes stepson,

Get rid ah dah battie thing.  You yearn for the PNC days. Face it; dah wood neva happen. Put it in you pipe and smoke it. No more sugah an honey fuh yuh pnc.

Boy, my education served me well to successfully retire comfortably. You cheating jock skills are not in demand. The reason you want PNC back in power is that you want to return and suck honey. No more honey. You will have to suck balls. You will fit right in.

address de subject @ hand u cornered antiman

Old news. Move on.

mmmmmmm

Hey forbes stepson,

address de subject @ hand u cornered antiman

Wasted sperm, I have to ignore your ape like behavior.

Old news. Move on.

mmmmmmm

Interval:

Widespread corruption underscores

need for β€œfunctioning” Integrity

Commission – APNU

March 21, 2014 | By | Filed Under News

A Partnership for National Unity (APNU)’s Shadow Minister of Public Works and Telecommunications, Joseph Harmon has lashed out at the General Secretary of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP), Clement Rohee for comments he believed were grounded in ignorance. Harmon recounted that Rohee during his β€œTuesday Theatre” at Freedom House, expressed that he will not support baseless allegations that some of his colleagues in Government had amassed their wealth through corruption.

Joseph Harmon

The APNU parliamentarian opined that Rohee’s remarks were β€œextremely preposterous”. β€œIt is not unusual for us to hear from Rohee that he doesn’t know. He hardly knows anything… But what is important is that he doesn’t want to have help in knowing these things because in the National Assembly, the Leader of APNU, Brigadier David Granger, presented several motions aimed at bringing closure to a number of these issues… Rohee can say he doesn’t know and that’s understandable, but what is not understandable, is when he had the opportunity to know and he chose not to utilize it.” In relation to the question of government officials who amass wealth via corrupt practices, Harmon expressed that it reinforces the need for an effective and functioning Integrity Commission in the country. β€œWe have a system which requires public officials to report annually on their assets and I believe their liabilities too, to the Integrity Commission, but we have one that is not functioning. We have one that even while it was functioning, did not have the investigative capacity to go after information that was so clear and evident to all Guyanese citizens. APNU has always said that what this country needs is an integrity commission that can act autonomously.” The Member of Parliament then made reference to the Integrity Commission of Trinidad and Tobago which he deemed to be a monument of effectiveness and as such, Guyana should seek to emulate such a model to promote transparency. β€œYou cannot have an environment for public officials to be amassing wealth far in excess of their known capacity to earn as a public official. And this is not related to ministers only, since we have other people that have been amassing wealth quietly and still you have no investigations being carried out. We are restating that there is a need for a firm, independent and well resourced Integrity Commission to deal with the issues that are being spoken to now. The question of corruption among public officials is well reported. There are endless reports by the Auditor General and you have endless cases where ministries are summoned before the Public Accounts Committee and then you don’t hear of anyone being charged from the outcome of the matters before the Committee, and so we have a long way to go for accountability.” The APNU executive member expressed alarm at the fact that there are some who do not perceive the acquisition of wealth in an unlawful manner to be corruption but rather perceive it to be the price of doing business in Guyana. β€œAnd that is how they see it… and so they have no moral turpitude where that is concerned. We have to set a high standard and ensure that the constitutional entities established to ensure good governance and order in our society be made to function and serve their purpose.”