Acting Chief Justice Ian Chang yesterday ruled that the High Court has jurisdiction to investigate the internal proceedings of the National Assembly on grounds that a constitutional breach has occurred.

In the light of the ruling, Justice Chang asked lawyers for Opposition Leader David Granger and Speaker Raphael Trotman to either answer the Attorney General’s constitutional motion on the composition of key parliamentary committees or argue the merits of the case.

Excerpts from Stabroeknews

Originally Posted by Conscience:

The P.P.P/C even with an absolute majority had always given the deputy speaker to the opposition....it clear to see the joint opposition is using their slimiest of majorities to play partisan policies...

Not one bill or one suggestion initiated by the opposition has ever been passed in the parliament and that alone is a naked expression of their methodology.

A simple majority means greater than 50 and in this case it is one more than fifty and that is all that is needed. Do you think 4% advantage {at their maximum)in vote count meant the PPP should get all of the power as they have done these past 20 years? Wear the shoe that you   happily  felt was comfortable on the foot of others for 2 decades. Do not complain that you cannot walk then they have walked more than your crooked mile in it.

It will take a crooked man in a crooked chair wearing a crooked judges robe to rule in favor of a crooked scheme. We have to match the parliamentary representation handed out at the polls if representation is to be parsed in terms of vote count. Were we an honest and fair society and honorable sat in the roles of decision makers we would be confident that the best decision would be made.

Hold your horses D2....Hold them.......and await the courts decision

You like that story about a crooked man nuh?

I think I will have to label these shenanigans "Sase maneuvers" meaning they have to invent a scheme to excuse their crookedness albeit it is never a good one since they are not clever to accept and deal honestly with the reality before them.

I  have to take off again and leave these fools to their Sisyphean struggles to make us believe they are saints. Nothing they invent will change the fact they are a seriously dodgy lot.

The P.P.P/C has the largest block of voters per single party....the composition of the committees should reflect same.....

The combined opposition have the largest block of votes at the polls and the majority in parliament so obviously the PPP is being unscrupulous if they want a majority in decision making committees.

Speaker of the National Assembly, Raphael Trotman says that at a Committee of Selection meeting on March 7, there was an agreement that the Parliamentary Management Committee (PMC) would not be among those committees that would be changed to reflect an Opposition majority.

In a comment to Stabroek News yesterday, Trotman pointed out that because of the nature of the PMC and the circumstances leading to its coming into being, this committee was not targeted for change in its composition.  The PMC had arisen from the St Lucia Statement of 1998and was aimed at healing the divisions of the PPP/C and PNC and enabling the latter to return to Parliament.

Raphael Trotman

Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine of the APNU has tabled a motion seeking to change the composition of the PMC so that it reflects the reality of an Opposition majority in the Parliament. Tomorrow this Motion goes straight to the Standing Orders Committee for consideration.

Taken from Stabroeknews

Trotman said that considering the agreement in the March 7 meeting, he was surprised to see the Motion from Dr. Roopnaraine to reconfigure the PMC from five members from each side of the House to five for Opposition and four for Government.

Excerpts from Stabroeknews

That is trotman doing his speaker job and he is entitled to his position. However, he is for that reason sequestered from participating in party parliamentary decision making. It is not as yesterday where the PPP can do as they choose and say to hell with everyone else. The rules have changed and the combined opposition has begun to repay them for their contempt by sticking to the rules.  When the rules run in their favor they win. Otherwise, they lose.