Dr. Ramsammy purchased spy equipment

JULY 31, 2009 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

Enrico Woolford
in New York

The sophisticated spy computer being wheeled into the courtroom yesterday.

The Guyana Government says that the Guyanese police have the ‘intercept’ receiver and laptop that Roger Khan was using. Yesterday the US Government produced it in Court.
And that was not the end of the story. The US produced the Co-founder and director of the firm that manufactures the equipment. This man identified it as the one sold to the Guyana Government.
Yesterday afternoon, in the US Federal Court in Brooklyn, the prosecution called to the stand, Mr. Peter Myers who, 22 years ago, co-founded and has been with the UK company, Smith Myers ever since.
Myers, who flew in from the UK to testify, said under oath that the intercept equipment is only sold to Governments and one set of equipment was sold by the company’s Florida sales office through the Spy Shop in Florida to the Guyana Government.
Myers identified the equipment as an intercept receiver and two laptops that were sold to the Guyana Government.
The Intercept receiver was identified by Myers as a CSM 7806 and two “Toughbook” Laptops, a small one and a larger one.
Myers told the court, both in direct and cross examination, that the only things missing from the equipment that was sold to Guyana were a USB cable and a small rubber type antenna.
Both of the items were regular items that could be picked up at any electronic store. Myers in his testimony said that both laptops were working and the intercept receiver had a minor power supply problem.
The Witness added that over the years, his company has made these pieces of equipment to be sold to law enforcement bodies for about US$75,000. The equipment allows intelligence officers to intercept cell phone calls using the receiver, he added.
The data is then sent by USB cable to the laptops where the numbers and conversations/communication can be recorded onto the hard drive.
He said that while any laptop can be used running on Windows XP or other systems, the Intercept CSM 7800 series is necessary to passively intercept the radio frequencies on which all cell phones operate.
Myers was shown the operating software CD and he identified it as belonging to his company and stated that the software would have accompanied the equipment sale. Myers further identified printouts and photographs of the screen of the two “Toughbook” laptops.
The UK-based witness declared to the court that those are his company’s operating systems.
The jury and the court saw clearly, long lists of Guyana telephone numbers with target names like “Fineman” next to some of them.
Two numbers as seen from the public gallery appeared to have been 629-0112 and 624-7370 (the latter number being that of Opposition Leader Robert Corbin). The sheets of the list of numbers were entered into evidence and are available as part of the case docket.
Meanwhile, once again the defence has identified Dr. Leslie Ramsammy as the purchaser of the equipment.
Defence attorney Gerald Shargel stated that the evidence shows Dr. Leslie Ramsammy authorised the purchase on behalf of the Government of Guyana.
Smith Myers being a UK company can be asked by the Guyana Government or a court in Guyana to produce the now “contentious evidence” of the authorization documentation that the Florida Office received to allow it to be sold to Guyana.
The equipment later ended up in the hands of self-confessed drug trafficker Shaheed Roger Khan.
In court, Myers, the Co-Director of Smith Myers stated that an independent contractor, a named Carl Chapman, was dispatched to Guyana to train those who had to use the intercept receiver.
The Defence team maintains in e-mail and subpoenas that Shaheed Roger Khan was trained by Mr. Chapman to use the laptop.
Although the Chief of Police in Guyana controls the Immigration Department, no records have ever been produced that Mr. Chapman traveled to the country from the United Kingdom or elsewhere at the times listed by the defense.
The Commissioner of Police also claims he has the intercept equipment but has never ever produced it or asked Smith Myers to identify it as the one that was sold to the Guyana Government.
In addition, the import and export of radio communication equipment with transmit and receive capacities are governed under the Wireless and Telegraphy Act and Customs is required to be informed of permits to import before the equipment is released.
It is unclear what happened in this case.
The US Government intends to call the FEDEX individuals who were responsible for the movement of the equipment from the United States back to Guyana to the office of Robert Simels, the former attorney of Roger Khan.
Simels is on trial for obstruction of justice, witness tampering and possession of eavesdropping equipment.

Jagdeo says Roger Khan’s ‘spy’ equipment in Guyana

MARCH 10, 2009 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

President Bharrat Jagdeo

…this despite Simels’s admission that he was in possession of it

In light of charges that the computer telephonic surveillance equipment that was discovered with Shaheed ‘Roger’ Khan in 2002 had made its way to the United States of America, more particularly the office of embattled US Attorney Robert Simels, Head of State Bharrat Jagdeo says that the equipment is in Guyana.

President Jagdeo was speaking at his first press briefing following his trip to Washington DC where he emphasised that this was confirmed by Commissioner of Police Henry Greene prior to the press briefing.

This is contrary to what Special Agent for the Drug Enforcement Agency, Cassandra Jackson in her petition to the court to seize computers located in the office of Robert Simels, former lead attorney for Shaheed ‘Roger’ Khan, told the United States Eastern District Court, Brooklyn. Agent Jackson had indicated that the US Customs and Border Patrol has recorded evidence of the shipment of equipment, believed to be the computer used by Khan to illegally intercept wire communications in Guyana.

In her affidavit to justify a request for seizing electronic equipment from Simels’s Office in 2008, she said that by Simels’s own statement, he was in possession and control of Khan’s computer.

“I believe that the illegal eavesdropping equipment will be located at the premises (Simels’ Office)….Additionally, there will likely be the data recovered from that equipment, in the form of compact discs, for example, stored at the premises, as well as shipping, importation and/or billing records related to the importation and receipt of the equipment stored at the premises.”

This move followed the interdiction of Simels for plotting to eliminate a witness pertaining to Khan’s trial.

The equipment was subsequently seized and turned over to the DEA’s main computer laboratory for analysis.

In August last year, head of the Presidential Secretariat, Dr. Roger Luncheon had told media operatives that the US State Department has no record of a request by Guyana to import any of the surveillance equipment that was held with Shaheed ‘Roger’ Khan.

A previous statement attributed Simels had stated that Khan had purchased computer telephonic surveillance equipment from a Spy Shop in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, with permission from the Guyana Government.

Dr Luncheon also said at that time that a request for the export of the equipment through the relevant law enforcement agency would have to be proffered for its procurement and there was no evidence that this was ever done.

When asked if the serial numbers on the equipment could not be traced, Dr Luncheon said that that was not a part of the official request.

The Ministry of Home Affairs had previously denied claims that the Government authorised Khan’s importation of a sensitive piece of electronic equipment and its seizure by the Joint Services.

In December 2002, Khan, Haroon Yahyah and Sean Belfield were arrested while they where traversing the East Coast of Demerara in a bulletproof vehicle.

At the time of their detention, an arms cache, a laptop computer, and an electronic device to track cellular phone calls were found.

The laptop computer also boasted a map of Guyana and the various cell sites operated at the time by the Guyana Telephone and Telegraph Company.

When they were arrested, one of the men had told police that they were hunting the infamous 2002 Mash Day escapees.

Originally Posted by JoKer:

If true, GOD BLESS DR RAMSAMMY. Guyana needs more men with Balls!!!!

Suh when de opposition do unlawful things, doan complain

They will face DEADLY FORCE!!!

Hold unto that because the Opposition is known for its superior command of violence

this fool asking black people to kill black people so they can protect Indian people.some day you guys will get a rude awaking i hope you will not call it a race war 

Hold unto that because the Opposition is known for its superior command of violence

Those who break the Laws will be punished as in Linden!!!

this fool asking black people to kill black people so they can protect Indian people.some day you guys will get a rude awaking i hope you will not call it a race war 

You too IGNORANT and ILLITERATE to understand what is being discussed!!!

he call dat Coolie Bravery. Get wan black guy to shoot another black guy on his behalf

Originally Posted by TI:

I really don't consider this big deal.

Ask Snowden want really going on in the world.

Another brave coolie daag hey who want blackman fuh fight to protect he and he wife

sure guyana sweet sweet like a summuto all the way to the mountain top now this is a intelligent discussion but this not what i want to tell you but the man say i cannot tell you about your wife 

ah wonda if any black every cuff he in he ignorant mout?

Why don't you try yuh piece of RAW SEWAGE!!!!

Originally Posted by TI:

I really don't consider this big deal.

Ask Snowden want really going on in the world.

Another brave coolie daag hey who want blackman fuh fight to protect he and he wife

Contrary to popular belief, Blackman really only fight the weak and timid who afraid of them. Pull a cutlass or buss a cap, and see run. Seen it many a time. It's a myth bai, dont let Granja fool you. 

I never beat up on drunk homeless vagrants!

I never A piece of shit like you who cant get a proper Job walking around begging for sympathy talkin. Well Pot call he Mattie Black!!!

I never beat up on drunk homeless vagrants!

ask him and cobra to reach you in front of the bank,but be carefull these two collie dogs look like thief men

I never A piece of shit like you who cant get a proper Job walking around begging for sympathy talkin. Well Pot call he Mattie Black!!!

We can't all amass that wide array of skills necessary to fill out FAFSA forms for semi-literate community college kids

Originally Posted by ball:

Gaumont star talking like the big time fighter, cause he is constantly fighting to get his head out his arse 

Hey DUMMY, YOu are nothing but a Sewer RAT. Try getting your ASS out of your head for once!!!

We can't all amass that wide array of skills necessary to fill out FAFSA forms for semi-literate community college kids

That's right, try getting one!!!

let him know you also have a mad certificate