Court orders arrest of former Pakistani President Pervez Musharraf

Former Pakistani President Pervez Musharraf

A court in Pakistan has ordered the arrest of the country’s former President Pervez Musharraf for dismissing judges, Press TV reports.

On Thursday, Islamabad’s High Court ordered the former military ruler to be arrested for his controversial decision to dismiss judges during the emergency rule in 2007.

Musharraf had been seeking to extend the bail in his case. His defense lawyer Qamar Afzal said the judge, Shaukat Aziz Siddiqui, ordered that “the interim bail is dismissed.”

The former Pakistani president left the court after hearing the order. Officials have not said when Musharraf would be arrested.

Pakistan’s former army chief-turned-president faces a string of charges including involvement in the 2007 assassination of former Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto and the death of a Baluch leader.

Human Rights Watch has called on the Pakistani government to hold Musharraf accountable for widespread and serious human rights abuses under his rule.

The former president returned home in March after nearly four years of self-exile in London and Dubai, despite threats by pro-Taliban militants to kill him upon his arrival.

Originally Posted by asj:

Musharraf recently admitted that he ordered drone strikes in Pakistan.

Good for him, I always thought he was a more supportive than the public image.  I'm sure someone in Pak knew of the OBL raid and plced the military in that region on temp stand-down.

quote "Pakistan’s former army chief-turned-president faces a string of charges including involvement in the 2007 assassination of former Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto and the death of a Baluch leader." unquote

Originally Posted by raymond:

Well what can I say...the Guyanese Taliban expressing their concept of justice!

they got brainwashed by the Arabs

Musharaf has bloodied his hands of innocent blood of thousands of Pakistani Men Women and children and Babies, when he has given approval (to the American) to kill by using of drones. By allowing the use of drones in Pakistan it is just like he has pulled the trigger to kill thousands of his compatriot. ! Hang him please.

and you know all this to be true

He accepted that he had given the approval for the Americans to use drones in Pakistan, what more do you want to know? Seem like you want to know the names of all those Men, Women, and children and babies that were killed by the United States of America....get serious guy.

Pakistan’s former army chief-turned-president faces a string of charges including involvement in the 2007 assassination of former Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto and the death of a Baluch leader.

Former Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto's assassination indeed needs to be highlighted and addressed.

He accepted that he had given the approval for the Americans to use drones in Pakistan, what more do you want to know? Seem like you want to know the names of all those Men, Women, and children and babies that were killed by the United States of America....get serious guy.

well..since you seem to know so much...why not give me all the names

I guess when you no longer holds power you're fair play for hanging under Pakistanis rule. That's being said, Musharraf has to agree with Obama to have drone strike in Pakistan and the capture of Osama among many other things. I said jail him or hang him.

What will you do with it even if I give it to you, you are a hopeless case, you still will not get it.

Musharraf admits giving nod for U.S. drone strikes

Former Pakistan President Pervez Musharraf. File photo

First time a Pak leader has admitted

Former military dictator Pervez Musharraf on Thursday admitted that he had secretly granted permission to the U.S. on a “few occasions” to carry out drone strikes inside Pakistan. Though the admission came with various caveats, it flies in the face of the country’s official position that no approval has ever been given to the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) to operate drones.According to Gen. (retd.) Musharraf, permission was granted “only on very few occasions where target was absolutely isolated and had no chance of collateral damage”. He put the number of such instances at “maybe two or three times only”. Further, he said, these strikes were discussed within the military and intelligence establishment and cleared only “if there was no time for our own SOTF [Special Operations Task Force] and military to act”.

This is the first time any Pakistani leader — serving and former — has admitted to allowing drone strikes , billed by Pakistan as one of the biggest irritants in relations with the U.S. Earlier this week, McClatchy Newspapers reported from Washington that “Pakistan’s premier intelligence agency [Inter Services Intelligence] secretly worked for years with the CIA on [drone] strikes that killed Pakistani insurgent leaders and scores of suspected lower-level fighters”.

Referring to classified U.S. intelligence reports in its possession, McClatchy Newspapers said the partnership was so extensive during the Bush administration that ISI selected its own targets for drone strikes.

“Until mid-2008, the CIA had to obtain advanced approval before each attack, and under both administrations, the Pakistanis received briefings and videos of the strikes.”

Then on, Washington stopped seeking ISI approval for drone strikes and began unilaterally hitting Afghan insurgents, particularly the Haqqani network. “The main reason for ending the ISI’s ability to veto targets…was that after several years of arguing, U.S. military and intelligence officials finally persuaded the White House that ISI officers were protecting the Haqqani network to… bring a pro-Pakistan government to power in Kabul.”

Musharraf escapes arrest after court revokes bail

Former Pakistan President Pervez Musharraf.

Former military ruler Pervez Musharraf on Thursday managed to evade arrest after the Islamabad High Court cancelled his bail and ordered his imprisonment in the judges’ detention case.

Despite the arrest order, not only did he manage to leave the courtroom with the help of his security detail - including commandos from Pakistan Rangers - but he also made his way back home to his farmhouse on the outskirts of Islamabad.

A good two hours after the court ordered his imprisonment, no formal arrest had been made though a police cordon was thrown around his already highly-secured farmhouse; raising speculations about the possibility of a house arrest. All roads leading to the farmhouse were cordoned off soon after he entered the premises.

The chief coordinator of All Pakistan Muslim League, Muhammad Amjad, told mediapersons outside the farmhouse in Chak Shehzad that Gen. (retd) Musharraf’s lawyers would approach the Supreme Court on Thursday afternoon to get protective bail to avoid arrest.

The failure of the caretaker administration to abide by the court order and arrest the former Army chief came in for all round criticism with some political parties describing it as a contempt of court. While issuing arrest orders, the court also cancelled his bail. He was placed on the Exit Control List within a week of his return from self-exile on March 24.

After a fairly smooth three weeks, things began unravelling for Pakistan’s last coup-maker from this week. First, he was thrown out of the election race despite filing nominations from four constituencies and now the arrest order. Also, the Supreme Court has been weighing heavily on the federal government to take a position on the treason case that he is facing for subversion of the Constitution.

This was his second appearance before the Islamabad High Court. On his first appearance last week, the judge left the room just before Gen. Musharraf was to enter it; forcing the former Army chief to wait in his car for over half-an-hour.

What will you do with it even if I give it to you, you are a hopeless case, you still will not get it.

Get what?

All you do is search Mullah TV and Mullah news to copy and paste...once it's anti American, trust you to report it...what else is there to get? There is no objectivity from you....besides Bollywood (which is entertaining) there is nothing new from you..just SSDD

Get what?

All you do is search Mullah TV and Mullah news to copy and paste...once it's anti American, trust you to report it...what else is there to get? There is no objectivity from you....besides Bollywood (which is entertaining) there is nothing new from you..just SSDD

Yes, you will never ever get the jist of what this criminal did was wrong, buddy I am not here to spoon feed you, if you are a dummy then it is not my fault, you are a perfect example of why animals eat their young.

Maybe you can keep responding all time......one day you will be able to say something intelligent, that need a response.

Get what?

Yes, you will never ever get the jist of what this criminal did was wrong, buddy I am not here to spoon feed you, if you are a dummy then it is not my fault, you are a perfect example of why animals eat their young.

Maybe you can keep responding all time......one day you will be able to say something intelligent, that need a response.

listen you bitter man...this is not only about Musharaf, it's about the daily nonsense you post here...yuh lucky I actually take some time to read this nonsense, otherwise each topic you post will die a slow death

Isn't freedom a beautiful thing...enjoy it even though you can't stand this country

"listen you bitter man...this is not only about Musharaf, it's about the daily nonsense you post here...yuh lucky I actually take some time to read this nonsense, otherwise each topic you post will die a slow death

Isn't freedom a beautiful thing...enjoy it even though you can't stand this country"unquote

This thread is about Musharraf as specifically states at the top, your problem is that you do not want to hear or read any other news apart from American News, and the only reason I can think of is that you are so much brainwashed and brain dead as well, that it hurts your feelings to even acknowledge that your Government is slaughtering  Men, Women and Children and Babies in their sleep at night via the dreaded Robotic Machines, the killer drones.

Why dont you go join the US Military, they are looking for people like you to go and kill Women, Children and Babies in Afghanistan and Pakistan?

Or you can do like me and tell your Masters that what they are doing is wrong. Going to another country and take advantages of the poor and innocent makes them look like pu$$ies.

Oi asj, go back an post some nice women dem wit big breasts an bamsy,and nice outfits some skinny ones aright too , aright banna?

Even that would not pacify Ray, methinks he still has that thingy for being Nandra

What up Cainsta?

Oi asj, go back an post some nice women dem wit big breasts an bamsy,and nice outfits some skinny ones aright too , aright banna?

Even that would not pacify Ray, methinks he still has that thingy for being Nandra

What up Cainsta?

Nothing up at dis moment, Iman off to bed soon as this stupid movie ends.

Pakistan’s Pervez Musharraf arrested, police confirm

Pakistan’s former military ruler Pervez Musharaf

Pakistan’s former military ruler Pervez Musharaf has been arrested following a court order, police have confirmed.

Musharaf was arrested on Friday morning at his farmhouse, Pakistani police sources said.

A court in Pakistan has put Musharaf under house arrest for two days, after the former Pakistani president appeared in court on Thursday.

“General Musharraf has been sent on a two-day judicial remand and he will stay at his farmhouse,” said a spokesman for Musharraf’s All Pakistan Muslim League party.

On Thursday, Islamabad’s High Court ordered the former military ruler to be arrested for his controversial decision to dismiss judges during the emergency rule in 2007. The retired general left the court after hearing the order.

Human Rights Watch has called on the Pakistani government to hold Musharraf accountable for widespread and serious human rights abuses under his rule.

The former president returned home in March after nearly four years of self-exile in London and Dubai, despite threats by pro-Taliban militants to kill him upon his arrival.

Pakistani court bars ex-president from elections for life