anyone knew any of the folks who perished?

These are the 11 Guyanese who perished in the 1976 Cubana Air tragedy:

Margaret Bradshaw. Sabrina Harrypaul. Seshnarine Kumar. Ann Nelson. Eric Norton. Raymond Persaud. Gordon M. Sobha. Rawle Thomas. Rita Thomas. Violet Thomas. Jacqueline Williams.

I've highlighted Raymond Persaud's name for a reason. In 1976, I held a part-time job as an insurance salesman at Demerara Life in Georgetown. Four months before the Cubana disaster a client gave me Raymond Persaud's name as a prospect. I phoned Raymond, told him the purpose of my call, and sought an appointment at his convenience. Raymond told me he was not interested in buying a life insurance policy.

After the October tragedy I learned that Raymond's father was a headmaster. I met him by chance one day, gave him my condolence, but didn't mention a thing about insurance.

Fast forward to 2012. I had rented a documentary DVD, "638 Ways to Kill Castro".That documentary featured the 1976 Cubana Air disaster. It showed an interview with two Guyanese women now living in Florida, USA.

They are Raymond's sisters. They were young girls in 1976 and miss their brother up to today.

[Writing this gives me goosebumps. I'll stop.]

Norton (Head Prefect) and Thomas were fellow Prefect staff at QC. Ii believe Raymond Persaud may have been a QC boy too.

What a tragic day for Guyana.

If my  memory is sound, Raymond was teaching at QC at the time I phoned him. I do remember getting his name from a QC teacher named Tikharam Rambharose.

Norton (Head Prefect) and Thomas were fellow Prefect staff at QC. Ii believe Raymond Persaud may have been a QC boy too.

If my  memory is sound, Raymond was teaching at QC at the time I phoned him. I do remember getting his name from a QC teacher named Tikharam Rambharose.

I didn't go to QC (went to Indians)...but that teacher was well known

Which teacher, T. Rambharose or R. Persaud?

Rambharose

I'm not surprised. He was my classmate at Zeeburg Secondary for four consecutive years. In fact, we shared the same bench and desk. He never failed to get first place at annual exams. A kind and decent fellow.

Thanks, Riff.

wow!

Almost sounds as though Gilly describin Iman deh, except for the part where he uses to get firs place and he was decent fellow.