Culture Ministry assists 68 African groups for Emancipation celebrations

The Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sport today donated cheques valued a total of $7.6M to 68 African cultural groups in order for them to carry out Emancipation activities.

These activities which are supported by the Government will foster awareness, as well as encourage persons to be involved in cultural activities and bring together persons from various backgrounds.

Members of African groups that received assistance from the Ministry of Culture Youth and Sport foe Emancipation celebrations

Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport Dr. Frank Anthony expressed satisfaction working with the groups and said the ministry will assist them as a means of promoting their culture. He alluded to other historical events that were celebrated this year highlighting the 250th Anniversary of the Berbice Slave Uprising and 190years since the Demerara Slave Uprising.

“There are many interesting things happening this year, and we from the Ministry, we hope that when we reflect on emancipation this year that we give some thought to some of these other historic events that would have happened in our country,”  he said.

Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport Dr. Frank Anthony making brief remarks to African groups gathered at the Ministry to uplift financial assistance for Emancipation celebrations

Minister Anthony added that there are works to be done especially with the rewriting of local history books. He added that history has been manipulated over the years for different purposes and there should be discussions done by Guyanese to write about ‘our own history’.

“There are records from Essequibo; there are records from Demerara, thousands of cases which we have not really explored and gone into, and perhaps as you reflect on emancipation it is something for us to retrieve, some of these records, and put them together so that we can better understand this period,” added Minister Anthony.

Minister Culture, Youth and Sport Dr. Frank Anthony handing over a cheque to a representative of an African group for their Emancipation celebrations

He also spoke of the numerous exhibitions held by the Ministry to educate the public which highlighted not only Guyana’s heritage, but others from around the world.

He further advised the groups to conduct outreaches in various communities and to record and document experiences of their communities.

Another recipient receives a cheque from Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport Dr. Frank Anthony

Assistant Director of Culture Col Linden Ross highlighted that the Ministry will always support the group as best as it can. Ross said he hopes the programmes will reflect the work that they have been doing over the years pertaining to African ancestry in Guyana.

The groups were urged to bring artifacts in their possession to the African Museum to enhance the collection at the institution.

It's great to see African pride flourishing under the PPP.  Slavery stole it and the PNC embarrassed it.

Tell you what.  All the colonial complexes that blacks had in the colonial era, but diminished in the Burnham era are back again.

AfroGuyanese are suffering serious self esteem issues and indeed now have less pride than any other Caribbean blacks, except maybe those in Trinidad.

Milk share but yet they vote pnc. They rather black coffee under the pnc than drink milk under the ppp. 

Oh yes $5 to some group so they can sing and dance is great.

Well druggie the slave masters did the same for Xmas.  Extra rations and help in buying materials for the masquerade costumes.

I see the PPP treats blacks in 2013 just as the planters did in 1813.  So why should the blacks like the "new massa" any more than they did the old one?

Milk share but yet they vote pnc. They rather black coffee under the pnc than drink milk under the ppp. 

Well druggie the slave masters did the same for Xmas.  Extra rations and help in buying materials for the masquerade costumes.

I see the PPP treats blacks in 2013 just as the planters did in 1813.  So why should the blacks like the "new massa" any more than they did the old one?

Don't forget the free electricity to Linden. Maybe the PPP should run a series of feeding tubes straight to the beds of PNC supporters so they can get milk without actualling having to get out of bed. haahaha

You can babble your ignorance when the PPP sells off Guysuco to the Chinese who then replace every Guyanese worker with a Chinese laborer, or a Chinese machine.

In Linden only a small fraction of those who used to wrork in bauxite still do.  The PPP didnt care one iota about the thousands who lost their jobs when teh Chinese acquired Guymine, or that Guyanese workers are treated badly by the Chinese.

You will scream about how badly Indians are treated when many sugar dependent families start fainting from hunger when Guysuco becomes part of the emerging Chinese take over of Guyana..

You can babble your ignorance when the PPP sells off Guysuco to the Chinese who then replace every Guyanese worker with a Chinese laborer, or a Chinese machine.

In Linden only a small fraction of those who used to wrork in bauxite still do.  The PPP didnt care one iota about the thousands who lost their jobs when teh Chinese acquired Guymine, or that Guyanese workers are treated badly by the Chinese.

You will scream about how badly Indians are treated when many sugar dependent families start fainting from hunger when Guysuco becomes part of the emerging Chinese take over of Guyana..

You should sing the same song to America where so many h1 visa workers are putting Americans out of work. Maybe you should go open up a bauxite operation in Guyana and hire Lindeners.  I don't know where you got your information that Chinese workers have displaced Linden bauxite workers, but it certainly is not true. 

It's great to see African pride flourishing under the PPP.  Slavery stole it and the PNC embarrassed it.

Tell you what.  All the colonial complexes that blacks had in the colonial era, but diminished in the Burnham era are back again.

AfroGuyanese are suffering serious self esteem issues and indeed now have less pride than any other Caribbean blacks, except maybe those in Trinidad.

Nah, many just upset that Afros don't dominate the nation any longer.  If the look pass that and see how better off they are, they will not feel that way.  It's just a mind thing, not real.

And there are groups more than people. Divide and rule! Asuh massa seh.

Isn't that the role of the AFC so the PNC could rise to power?

No! The PPP demonizes the black man to secure votes from inbred racist Indos like you.

Hmmm, I thought that was already done by the CIA.

Now, tell me who we dividing?  Seems more fitting, divide the PPP constituency (Mostly Indians) and facilitate the rise of the PNC.  Not so?

Alyuh shameless katahars mek up all kind of stories.

Now, tell me who we dividing?  Seems more fitting, divide the PPP constituency (Mostly Indians) and facilitate the rise of the PNC.  Not so?

You are still a cogenital inbred racist with tunnell vision. Jackass, you need to remove your blinkers.

You sounding like a lil spoiled brat who cannot hear the truth.  So tell us about this "divide" and rule thing nah!

You should sing the same song to America where so many h1 visa workers are putting Americans out of work. Maybe you should go open up a bauxite operation in Guyana and hire Lindeners.  I don't know where you got your information that Chinese workers have displaced Linden bauxite workers, but it certainly is not true. 

Druggie if Chinese are putting you out of work in the USA, and Guyana is a paradise under the PPP, why are you still here?  I mean with all of those massive PPP white elephants under construction surely you can figure out how to benefit from the corruption, as loyal a PPP soup licker that you are.

Only 500 Guyanese work in bauxite when thousands used to.  So why dont you suggest that the PPP sell Guysuco to the Chinese so that PPP supporters can also enjoy the fruits of unemployment, and the destruction of local economies.

Nah, many just upset that Afros don't dominate the nation any longer.

Do you think that Indians have a right to dominate almost 60% of the population, without people beginning to feel resentful about this?

Remember that its your ordinary Indian who will get scapegoated.  Not wealthy people like Druggie who employs hordes of black criminals to protect his Guyana interests....and then allows them to supplement their earnings elsewhere when their services arent needed.

Nah, many just upset that Afros don't dominate the nation any longer.

Do you think that Indians have a right to dominate almost 60% of the population, without people beginning to feel resentful about this?

Remember that its your ordinary Indian who will get scapegoated.  Not wealthy people like Druggie who employs hordes of black criminals to protect his Guyana interests....and then allows them to supplement their earnings elsewhere when their services arent needed.

Bai you stupid.  Blacks are very visible and present in Guyana's affairs.  The only difference between the PNC days and now is governmental and other politically sensitive jobs.  Your only place for Indians in Guyana is working the fields.

About African criminals, well a gon stand down this time.

Bai you stupid.  Blacks are very visible and present in Guyana's affairs. 

Roger Luncheon was asked about this and couldnt name these Africans.

Please do not disgrace yourself by naming $200/month customs and immigration officials when almost every top position at the airport is filled by an Indian.

If these lowly civil servants not jump to the bark of their Indo masters as they did to their British masters 100 years ago the consequences will be quite dire for them.

You sounding like a lil spoiled brat who cannot hear the truth.  So tell us about this "divide" and rule thing nah!

You are a jack ass if you don't know.

The P.P.P/C is a multi-ethnic party who enjoys the support of a wide cross section of all the races in Guyana, and will equally support all the ethnic groups in their cultural celebrations.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

The P.P.P/C is a multi-ethnic party who enjoys the support of a wide cross section of all the races in Guyana, and will equally support all the ethnic groups in their cultural celebrations.

So why is the PPP unable to disprove Freddie Kissoon's allegations that they are racist towards AfroGuyanese?

Why is the PPP sop unable to gain more than 10% of the African AND mixed vote (likely less than 10% if only the African vote is considered).

And please do not try to disprove this fact unless you are suggesting that the PNC enjoys wide spread Indian support and so can alos make a claim of being multi racial.  The African vote is around 32% and yet the PNC polls 41%.

The PPP/C was a victim of their own success at the 2011 polls, should a next election be held, the results would be quite different, many believe the PPP/C has recovered from incumbency syndrome.

Look at the 1997 election, then 2001, then 2006 and then 2011. EVERY election since 1997 the PPP ha sbeen losing votes.

So why dont you prove that they are a victim of their own success.

Last time you all screamed that the PPP would win 60% of the votes in 2011.  Instead you got 49%.  

I have no interest in your predictions.

Look at the 1997 election, then 2001, then 2006 and then 2011. EVERY election since 1997 the PPP ha sbeen losing votes.

So why dont you prove that they are a victim of their own success.

Last time you all screamed that the PPP would win 60% of the votes in 2011.  Instead you got 49%.  

I have no interest in your predictions.

Actually they received 48.4%

Druggie if Chinese are putting you out of work in the USA, and Guyana is a paradise under the PPP, why are you still here?  I mean with all of those massive PPP white elephants under construction surely you can figure out how to benefit from the corruption, as loyal a PPP soup licker that you are.

Only 500 Guyanese work in bauxite when thousands used to.  So why dont you suggest that the PPP sell Guysuco to the Chinese so that PPP supporters can also enjoy the fruits of unemployment, and the destruction of local economies.

As I said, you have no evidence that Chinese have displaced Guyanese Bauxite workers. In fact the bauxite industry was unprofitable and mechanization have eliminated most of the manual labor in the industry. The 1000's of jobs lost are due to increased efficiency to sustain profitability and remain competitive. You will note that the sugar industry is currently going through the same process as "cane cutters" will be a word of the past as machines will now do that task. 

. In fact the bauxite industry was unprofitable and mechanization have eliminated most of the manual labor in the industry.

So why dont you allow PPP supporters to suffer similarly.  Guysuco is now almost bankrupt and is now being subsidized by taxpayers.

Go out and demand an instant sale to the Chinese.  You know that they will immediately miniaturize the industry and lay off thousands of workers, which is why you do not make such a demand.

The PPP is terrified that the families which will suffer if Guysuco is sold to the Chinese will instantly become AFC supporters.

As I said, you have no evidence that Chinese have displaced Guyanese Bauxite workers. In fact the bauxite industry was unprofitable and mechanization have eliminated most of the manual labor in the industry. The 1000's of jobs lost are due to increased efficiency to sustain profitability and remain competitive. You will note that the sugar industry is currently going through the same process as "cane cutters" will be a word of the past as machines will now do that task. 

What evidence beyond the fact that every top to mid level staff from management to advisory or supervisory is Chinese? Skunks like you are responsible for the sale of our nation on the open market by corruptocrats in the PPP.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

What evidence beyond the fact that every top to mid level staff from management to advisory or supervisory is Chinese? Skunks like you are responsible for the sale of our nation on the open market by corruptocrats in the PPP.

Thats why the PPP refuses to sell Guysuco to the Chinese.  They will be replaced in management and their ability to engage in crony type corruption will be eliminated.

So why dont you allow PPP supporters to suffer similarly.  Guysuco is now almost bankrupt and is now being subsidized by taxpayers.

Go out and demand an instant sale to the Chinese.  You know that they will immediately miniaturize the industry and lay off thousands of workers, which is why you do not make such a demand.

The PPP is terrified that the families which will suffer if Guysuco is sold to the Chinese will instantly become AFC supporters.

You confuse me with Ramoutar and the PPP leadership.  I am merely an observer, not a decision maker in the PPP. 

In fact the Chinese want no part of any unprofitable industry. They gave kack wuk with the Skeldon factory, you really think they will want to buy it?

Take a hint from the rest of the Caribbean nations who gave up sugar and turned to tourism.  Even St Lucia gave up banana as Costa Rica and the rest of Latin America too over that crop. 

If the PPP fail to mechanize and get rid of cane cutters , look for the sugar industry to collapse. 

I don't from where you got your information but if Bosai is Chinese owned, then they have no obligation to put the people who ruined the industry in charge of management. In fact this is what happens when they put these PNC boys in charge:

DEMERARA WAVES

LINDEN, Guyana- Three employees of the Chinese-owned bauxite entity, BOSAI Mining Company, were Thursday killed in an accident near a mine site.

Dead are Michael Williams, 45, of  Coomaka Mines, Linden; Trenton Gardner, 62, of Industrial Area, Linden; and Kester Grant, of Block 22, Wismar. Fabian Anthony and Marlon Pollydore have been admitted to the Mackenzie Hospital in serious condition

Reports reaching Demerara Waves state that a "769 truck" ran over a pickup vehicle in which the men were travelling on the Haul Road in the vicinity of Coomacka.

Police later said that about 10:15 AM, the driver of a motor pick-up attached to Bosai Minerals Group, lost control of the vehicle while travelling in the East Montgomery Mines at Linden and ended up under a heavy-duty lorry that he was in the process of overtaking. As a result, the heavy-duty lorry ran over the pick-up crushing the occupants inside.

The Ministry of Natural Resources and the Environment has since announced that a team has been deployed to investigate the incident.

It added that the Guyana Geology and Mines Commission, Ministry of Labour and other agencies have been mandated to conduct an urgent investigation and to examine occupational health and safety concerns at the company’s operation.

I don't from where you got your information but if Bosai is Chinese owned, then they have no obligation to put the people who ruined the industry in charge of management. In fact this is what happens when they put these PNC boys in charge:

DEMERARA WAVES

LINDEN, Guyana- Three employees of the Chinese-owned bauxite entity, BOSAI Mining Company, were Thursday killed in an accident near a mine site.

Dead are Michael Williams, 45, of  Coomaka Mines, Linden; Trenton Gardner, 62, of Industrial Area, Linden; and Kester Grant, of Block 22, Wismar. Fabian Anthony and Marlon Pollydore have been admitted to the Mackenzie Hospital in serious condition

Reports reaching Demerara Waves state that a "769 truck" ran over a pickup vehicle in which the men were travelling on the Haul Road in the vicinity of Coomacka.

Police later said that about 10:15 AM, the driver of a motor pick-up attached to Bosai Minerals Group, lost control of the vehicle while travelling in the East Montgomery Mines at Linden and ended up under a heavy-duty lorry that he was in the process of overtaking. As a result, the heavy-duty lorry ran over the pick-up crushing the occupants inside.

The Ministry of Natural Resources and the Environment has since announced that a team has been deployed to investigate the incident.

It added that the Guyana Geology and Mines Commission, Ministry of Labour and other agencies have been mandated to conduct an urgent investigation and to examine occupational health and safety concerns at the company’s operation.

Those men had an identity independent of party. I know your regressive dalit inclination is to seek identity in denigration but that is pathology adheres only to your world and has meaning only there.

The Chinese are to follow the laws of the land and despite PPP practice of hiring its own, the law with respect to fair business hiring practices still exists even if ignored by the Chinese or the ppp.

I don't know that the Chinese are breaking any laws with their hiring practice. Guyana had abandoned communism/socialism a long time ago. There are no labor laws being broken as it pertains to hiring quotas in management. Look in your own backyard and see who companies are hiring when they take over an industry, their own management staff. You claim to be an alumni of Howard but you act like an alumni of Hubu Backdam. 

In fact the Chinese want no part of any unprofitable industry.

http://news.yahoo.com/jamaica-...-firm-220740132.html

And the Jamaican sugar industry was in much worse shape than Guyana's is.

I like how you justify the Chinese raping the Guyana tax payers.

Given that the Chinese love to bribe to get contracts tell us who were the PPP folks who were compensated.  Maybe the one who bought an expensive car when he couldnt even afford an old bicycle before he became a PPP minister.

Dont know who you think I am but I never had anything to do with Howard U.  Went to a party there once, but thats it.

Any way the Islanders will happily employ talented AfroGuyanese professionals who cant find employment in Guyana because the PPP thinks that only PPP supporters and Chinese should be employed in high level slots.  As is the CDB is staffed mainly with Guyanese, most of them black.