Kudos to them ALL.
They are the future leaders of Guyana who will do our country good. Special Congrats to Fatima.
Kudos to them ALL.
They are the future leaders of Guyana who will do our country good. Special Congrats to Fatima.
Skeldon Line Path Gov't School, the best, the best,
We will always praise it's name and never ever rest,
It's loyal name, it's glorious name and never cease to give it fame, Cause it's jolly well, the best, the very best! Congratulations to Joshua for keeping my Alma Mater flag flying high
ksazma posted:cain posted:SHUT YO SKNT YOU RACIST RASS>>>
Yuh spell dah word wrong bai.
That was for his post two above mine.
caribny posted:Chief posted:Firstly the Hijab is not compulsory, secondly the women all over the MODERN world who choose to wear it including my wife, mother and two sisters, did it on their own free will
So they must dress like Arabs in order true Muslims?. Well if Islam is Arabic then when Arabs claim that their are religious justifications for honor killings or FORCING women to cover themselves up then don't complain.
And yes in many Muslims spaces women are harassed if they chose NOT to dress like a Bedouin.
Thank God for this majority Christian land that your female members have a choice. Too bad you disrespect Muslim women who live in lands where they don't.
How did Mary the mother of Jesus dress?
Banna got a point there.So much cloth she din even need no dam panties....an she was "supposedly" virgin too. I hear dem boys say that was posted in her facebook.
Bibi Haniffa posted:Stormborn posted:congratulations little sister...hope they do not anonymize you further with a full burqua!....what a shame...the Saudi truly fu...cked up our world together with stupid muslims bringing that arab crap. I do not know what in the world does this stupid garb has to do with religion. If only men were force to wear it also.
And St. Roses is a staunch catholic school. Their morning prayers begin with, "Dear Mary, Mother of God........................."
O Miss Haniffa, thou hast made a decent observation. However, in the all-seeing eyes of Allah there is no contradiction between a Muslim like Fatima Karim attending a Catholic school and having to say morning prayers beginning with "Dear Mary, Mother of God ...." In the Holy Qur'an, Mary the mother of Jesus is called Maryam and a few precious lines are devoted to her. I hereby respectfully direct your attention to Sura 19, verses 16-36.
46 candidates secured 11 Grades Ones or more at CSEC. These candidates are listed below:
School Name Results Obtained
St Roseâs High Fatima Karim 19 Ones 1 two
Queenâs College Kayshav Tewari 19 Ones
Queenâs College Aadilah Ali 18 Ones 3 twos 1 three
Sarawati Vidya Nakitan Ramkumarie Ramdass 18 Ones 1 two
Queenâs College Sariah Singh 18 Ones
Skeldon Line Path from Cornelia Ida in Region 3Sec Joshua Indarjit 17 Ones
Sarawati Vidya Nakitan Kimberly Najab 15 Ones 3 twos
Anna Regina Secondary Kevall Lall 15 Ones
Sarawati Vidya Nakitan Pritisha Baldeo 14 Ones 3 twos 3 threes
Sarawati Vidya Nakitan Narindra Persaud 14 Ones 3 twos 3 threes
Anna Regina Secondary Ateisha Brant 14 Ones 2 twos
Sarawati Vidya Nakitan Aravinda Prasad 14 Ones 1 two 4 threes
1 four
Berbice High Vanassa Ramnarain 14 Ones 1 two
Berbice High Jose Cumming 13 Ones 3 twos 2 threes
Queenâs College Angelie Persaud 13 Ones 3 twos
Sarawati Vidya Nakitan Geeta Camacho 13 Ones 2 twos 2 threes
Sarawati Vidya Nakitan Bharrat Sookdeo 13 Ones 1 two 1 three
Queenâs College Shafeek Rayman 13 Ones 1 two
Queenâs College Min Wen Gong 13 Ones
Sarawati Vidya Nakitan Vijendra Arjune 12 Ones 7 twos 1 three
Anna Regina Secondary Bibi Aseey Mohamed 12 Ones 7 twos
Sarawati Vidya Nakitan Azariâel Perry 12 Ones 5 twos 2 threes
Sarawati Vidya Nakitan Aditya Kadarnauth 12 Ones 4 twos 2 threes
Tagore High School Lavesh Mohabir 12 Ones 3 twos
Sarawati Vidya Nakitan Sujesh Bahadur 12 Ones 2 twos 1 three
Queenâs College Kaynecia Ellis 12 Ones 2 twos
Queenâs College Reyhanah Abdul Kadir 12 Ones 1 two 1 three
Anna Regina Secondary Aquib Mohamed 12 Ones 1 two
The Bishopsâ High Masud Lewis 12 Ones 1 two
ISA Islamic School Sadia Musahab 12 Ones 1 two
Sarawati Vidya Nakitan Anjanie Harilall 12 Ones 1 two
Queenâs College Bibi Safia Ally 12 Ones
Sarawati Vidya Nakitan Manisha Singh 11 Ones 5 twos 2 threes
Sarawati Vidya Nakitan Nalini Murugayya 11 Ones 4 twos 2 threes
St Stanislaus College Jemuel Parasram 11 Ones 3 twos
Queenâs College Maneesha Balgobin 11 Ones 2 twos 1 three
New Amsterdam Sec Rea Harris 11 Ones 2 twos
Queenâs College Rebecca Geer 11 Ones 2 twos
Queenâs College Theresa Gobin 11 Ones 1 two 1 three
New Amsterdam Sec Yevnie Sukra 11 Ones 1 two
Queenâs College Hemwanttie Jagasar 11 Ones 1 two
Queenâs College Afanah Khan 11 Ones 1 two
Queenâs College Elmira Persaud 11 Ones 1 two
Queenâs College Terriesa Smith 11 Ones 1 two
The Bishopsâ High Rashida Murray 11 Ones 2 threes
Marian Academy Damian Larocque 11 Ones
Congratulations to Swami and students of Saraswati Vidya Nakitan in Cornelia Ida,Region 3
Job well done.
In fact Jesus spoke more respectfully of his mother in the Qur'an than he did in the Bible. The Qur'an also stated that Allah has placed Mary above all other women of the world. Mary can only wish for such accolades in the Bible. And they say that Muhammad is the anti-Christ.
Congrats to Joshua Inderjit. You make me, my school and my people proud. Keep up the hard work.
ksazma posted:In fact Jesus spoke more respectfully of his mother in the Qur'an than he did in the Bible. The Qur'an also stated that Allah has placed Mary above all other women of the world. Mary can only wish for such accolades in the Bible. And they say that Muhammad is the anti-Christ.
You are with the same bull crap. The Koran is a completely plagiarized tome from the perspective of a rational humanist as me. The one copying gets to revise and modify the tale no less than if a hundred people get to tell the same tale one after the other. The last one will be completely different.
Jesus of the bible is the original expression of the character as told by those supposedly who knew him, experienced his words or had it told to them who experienced it were within a hundred years of him in their writing. Mohamed is 700 years removed and of course he had the benefaction of Gabriel!
Jesus called her "woman" ( I do not know the iterations of the translation) but I am sure the intent of creating space between him and her and him and his congregation came into play. He was not intending to be disrespectful per the common anti Christian Islamic polemics
By the way, Mary did not wear a burquah. Jewish women of the period were up an about and doing everything men did. Mary and Martha even followed Jesus about. Some were even had a few queens ( something unheard of in islam). Women are considered the identity and founder of Israeli tribes hence the reverence for Sarah and Rachel. Rachel is the reason Palestinians may never ever get the west bank. Also women walked with their faces exposed and covered their heads as a requirement only in the synagogue. Their clothes were functional.
btw, I think the bikini clad women fully liberated
I say Allah O Akbar when I see them play
RiffRaff posted:btw, I think the bikini clad women fully liberated
Yea!!!! We were not born with clothes and most native people do not have the taboo of covering up least the man be tempted. They do not suffer countless rapes for it.
Stormborn posted:ksazma posted:In fact Jesus spoke more respectfully of his mother in the Qur'an than he did in the Bible. The Qur'an also stated that Allah has placed Mary above all other women of the world. Mary can only wish for such accolades in the Bible. And they say that Muhammad is the anti-Christ.
You are with the same bull crap. The Koran is a completely plagiarized tome from the perspective of a rational humanist as me. The one copying gets to revise and modify the tale no less than if a hundred people get to tell the same tale one after the other. The last one will be completely different.
Jesus of the bible is the original expression of the character as told by those supposedly who knew him, experienced his words or had it told to them who experienced it were within a hundred years of him in their writing. Mohamed is 700 years removed and of course he had the benefaction of Gabriel!
Jesus called her "woman" ( I do not know the iterations of the translation) but I am sure the intent of creating space between him and her and him and his congregation came into play. He was not intending to be disrespectful per the common anti Christian Islamic polemics
By the way, Mary did not wear a burquah. Jewish women of the period were up an about and doing everything men did. Mary and Martha even followed Jesus about. Some were even had a few queens ( something unheard of in islam). Women are considered the identity and founder of Israeli tribes hence the reverence for Sarah and Rachel. Rachel is the reason Palestinians may never ever get the west bank. Also women walked with their faces exposed and covered their heads as a requirement only in the synagogue. Their clothes were functional.
Bai, everything you wrote here don't disagree with my statement above.
Stormborn posted:RiffRaff posted:btw, I think the bikini clad women fully liberated
Yea!!!! We were not born with clothes and most native people do not have the taboo of covering up least the man be tempted. They do not suffer countless rapes for it.
Stormy, do you support people walking in public in their birthday suit?
ksazma posted:Bai, everything you wrote here don't disagree with my statement above.
dont want to disturb this thread but it most certainly does...I know precisely the line of false anti christian polemics you are tacking to....Jesus is a disrespectful bum...
The attack on this young lady
We are not attacking this girl. We are talking about the confusion of many Muslims.
The question that you and others need to ask is why does dressing like an Arab make one a Muslim. Muslims from West Africa, South Asia, and even North Africa have had other forms of dress. Even in the Middle East this is true.
We have however seen an increasing intolerance to how many Muslim women chose to dress. Even in France women living in heavily Muslim areas are harassed, sometimes sexually by men who think that not dressing like an Arab is immoral. In Saudi Arabia and Iran women are restricted by law in how they dress, and this is enforced by religious police. In Afghanistan women are killed crossing the road, as they have no peripheral vision because of that beehive suit that they must wear.
It is indeed a fact that the Saudis have invested billions in spreading their Wahhabi version of Islam. It is also a fact that this conservative and archaic interpretation of the Koran is also used by radical clerics to brainwash confused souls to commit violence.
So yes when Caribbean Muslims decide to behave like Arabs the rest of us need to be disturbed, because there is a thin line between dressing like an Arab, and then adapting other aspects of Arab culture. This under the notion that it is true Islam. It then becomes a slippery slope when confused individuals can then be induced by radical clerics to commit violence against those Muslims who don't adhere to their belief systems, and also against the rest of us.
Given that none of your ancestors dressed like Arabs, and I bet that they were devout Muslims I fail to see this trend for Muslims to feel that they must adapt Arab customs to be a true Muslim.
Hopefully you all will cease copying Arabs before you all begin to think that honor killing is appropriate if your daughter engages in premarital sex, or marries some one that you don't approve. Yes that is Arab culture, which is justified by their version of Islam.
ksazma posted:.Stormy, do you support people walking in public in their birthday suit?
I don't object when it doesn't break the law. Unlike you I don't think that enforcing one's religious morality on others is appropriate. And in fact I think that religions which focus on how people use their bodies, and with whom they use it with miss the point.
Now what do Muslims do when a Muslim father kills his daughter for engaging in premarital sex because he thinks that it is contrary to Islam, and when he has access to Muslim clerics who say that this is appropriate and not a sin. This is why we object to non Arabs thinking that they must be an Arab to be good Muslims.
In fact what should disturb Caribbean people is that radical Islam (yes I will use that word) is targeting Muslim populations in the region. T&T and Guyana have produced more than a few radicalized people who have journeyed to the Middle East to commit harm. Many of these being converts.
Because there is insufficient attention to setting standards as to what 21st century Islam ought to be unruly Muslim clerics are brainwashing people, who lack a deep knowledge of the religion, so that they can be used as food soldiers in the Jihad against the Evil Satan. What better a base for mischief is the Caribbean, lying close to the USA, and welcoming millions of Americans on vacation, on business, or for educational purposes.
ksazma posted:In fact Jesus spoke more respectfully of his mother in the Qur'an than he did in the Bible. The Qur'an also stated that Allah has placed Mary above all other women of the world. Mary can only wish for such accolades in the Bible. And they say that Muhammad is the anti-Christ.
Given that Islam that has the most radicalized activity, sanctioned by some of its clerics, isn't it hypocritical for you to be playing this "my religion is better than yours" nonsense?
Who cares what is in the Koran vs. the Bible (all man made in my opinion) when there are Muslim clerics who encourage the most barbaric behavior.
Please identify clerics from other religions in 2016, who actively sanction violence for religious purposes, and who protect primitive tribal customs like honor killing? Parts of Islam seem in 2016 to be headed to where Christianity was in the 17th, when witches were regularly burnt on the stake, and where priest told soldiers to kill the "natives" if they refused to accept Jesus.
caribny posted:ksazma posted:In fact Jesus spoke more respectfully of his mother in the Qur'an than he did in the Bible. The Qur'an also stated that Allah has placed Mary above all other women of the world. Mary can only wish for such accolades in the Bible. And they say that Muhammad is the anti-Christ.
Given that Islam that has the most radicalized activity, sanctioned by some of its clerics, isn't it hypocritical for you to be playing this "my religion is better than yours" nonsense?
Who cares what is in the Koran vs. the Bible (all man made in my opinion) when there are Muslim clerics who encourage the most barbaric behavior.
Please identify clerics from other religions in 2016, who actively sanction violence for religious purposes, and who protect primitive tribal customs like honor killing? Parts of Islam seem in 2016 to be headed to where Christianity was in the 17th, when witches were regularly burnt on the stake, and where priest told soldiers to kill the "natives" if they refused to accept Jesus.
Irrelevant ramblings. The statement was regarding the text.
ksazma posted:caribny posted:ksazma posted:In fact Jesus spoke more respectfully of his mother in the Qur'an than he did in the Bible. The Qur'an also stated that Allah has placed Mary above all other women of the world. Mary can only wish for such accolades in the Bible. And they say that Muhammad is the anti-Christ.
Irrelevant ramblings. The statement was regarding the text.
Given that both Muslims and Christians are big sinners what is relevant is how those who represent the religion speak. We can set aside the holy books because they aren't adhered to.
So why does Islam have clerics who say that it is within the rights of a father to kill his daughter for engaging in premarital sex. And why do the majority of Muslims allow this radical minority the rights to speak as Muslim clerics. Why don't Muslims insist upon a set of standards that clerics must meet, or be stripped of their rights to be imams?
caribny posted:ksazma posted:Stormy, do you support people walking in public in their birthday suit?
I don't object when it doesn't break the law.
Why should there be a law to prevent people from being in public in their birthday suit and then punish people for breaking it?
ksazma posted:caribny posted:ksazma posted:Stormy, do you support people walking in public in their birthday suit?
Why should there be a law to prevent people from being in public in their birthday suit and then punish people for breaking it?
Ask those who insist on the law. Hygiene might be part of it. Would you want to sit in a chair in which a naked buttocks had been rested moments before?
caribny posted:ksazma posted:caribny posted:ksazma posted:Stormy, do you support people walking in public in their birthday suit?
Ask those who insist on the law. Hygiene might be part of it. Would you want to sit in a chair in which a naked buttocks had been rested moments before?
so you don't know why you do what you do.
ksazma posted:caribny posted:so you don't know why you do what you do.
If I walk out naked I will be arrested. Rest assured that if it wasn't against the law on hot days I might well only cover the body parts connected to the emission of human waste (for reasons of hygiene) and walk about my merry way.
caribny posted:ksazma posted:so you don't know why you do what you do.
If I walk out naked I will be arrested. Rest assured that if it wasn't against the law on hot days I might well only cover the body parts connected to the emission of human waste (for reasons of hygiene) and walk about my merry way.
Likewise others have as much right to make laws suitable to them and those who wish to abide by them irrespective of how others see it is their right. Now I am on your side if the penalty is cruel and unusual but people in America or Guyana don't endure cruel or unusual punishment if they don't abide. In fact they do it with free will. If this young feel that she needs to dress this way to satisfy some faith based objective she should not be ridiculed for it. Even with her abiding by her hijabi mindset she still passed 20 subjects although I know you don't care for that much book schooling.
ksazma posted:Likewise others have as much right to make laws suitable to them .
Did Saudi and Iranian women tell you that they want to be covered head to toe. I can cite reasons of hygiene and climate for wearing clothes. Now what reason, apart from religion, can one enforce people covering themselves from head to toe.
And the question still remains. Why does some one have to dress like an Arab to consider themselves to be a true Muslim. Why is the Muslim woman who dresses in a manner more appropriate to Guyana's hot and humid climate made to feel that she is immodest, and even depraved? Whose cultural standards are being used to determine this?
When you all condone the Wahhabi-ization of Islam and then others go hole hog, honor killings and all. And they use Islam to justify all of this.....why be shocked when others think poorly of Islam which doesn't prevent this?
caribny posted:ksazma posted:Likewise others have as much right to make laws suitable to them .
Did Saudi and Iranian women tell you that they want to be covered head to toe. I can cite reasons of hygiene and climate for wearing clothes. Now what reason, apart from religion, can one enforce people covering themselves from head to toe.
And the question still remains. Why does some one have to dress like an Arab to consider themselves to be a true Muslim. Why is the Muslim woman who dresses in a manner more appropriate to Guyana's hot and humid climate made to feel that she is immodest, and even depraved? Whose cultural standards are being used to determine this?
When you all condone the Wahhabi-ization of Islam and then others go hole hog, honor killings and all. And they use Islam to justify all of this.....why be shocked when others think poorly of Islam which doesn't prevent this?
You just committed yourself to circular reasoning. You are on your own with that one.
Congratulations to Swami and students of Saraswati Vidya Nakitan in Cornelia Ida,Region 3
Job well done.
Vishnu is from CI.
Chief posted:I cannot believe that the success of this young lady is used as an excuse to berate her for herr choice to as to how she wants to dress and what religion she follows.
This thread should be published in National Newspapers in America to prove that bigotry and prejudice is alive in Immigrant communities.
The attack on this young lady who top her country in academic excellence is so disgusting. Will these posters who made these disparaging remarks say the same thing about a US Senator who wears a Yamulk, or a Sikh Premier in Canada who wears his turban , or a Gay athlethe or Gay CEO? No they will not , because they will not want their children, Co workers and close friends to know that they are holding prejudices in their hearts.
Today is indeed a sad day on GNI , I have seen all kinds of bigotry but this one takes the cake!
I pray that God cause all of us to see right as right and to stay far from evil
I pray for this young lady and her daily and may God continue to bless her with many more sucesses!
It's a sad day because she is a Muslim. If this girl was a Hindu wearing a Sari and she was being criticized for her outfit, you would have been standing in line to do the bashing too.
Chief posted:Skeldon Line Path Gov't School, the best, the best,
We will always praise it's name and never ever rest,
It's loyal name, it's glorious name and never cease to give oit fame,
Cause it's jolly well, the best, the very best!
Congrats to Joshua Inderjit for keeping my Alma Mater flag flying very high!
During my two and a half years at SLPSS, there was no school song. This came after 1966.
skeldon_man posted:During my two and a half years at SLPSS, there was no school song.
Sir, am I to understand that you had only two and a half years of secondary school education?
Gilbakka posted:skeldon_man posted:During my two and a half years at SLPSS, there was no school song.
Sir, am I to understand that you had only two and a half years of secondary school education?
Yes sir. Parents could not afford to send me to high school after passing "school leaving and PCE exams". PTA was being discontinued. Had to wait until SLPSS opened up in 1963. Went half days for the first year because of the furniture problem.
skeldon_man posted:Gilbakka posted:skeldon_man posted:During my two and a half years at SLPSS, there was no school song.
Yes sir. Parents could not afford to send me to high school after passing "school leaving and PCE exams". PTA was being discontinued. Had to wait until SLPSS opened up in 1963. Went half days for the first year because of the furniture problem.
Thank you, sir. SLPSS certainly taught you to be honest when answering questions. For that alone, your alma mater has risen a notch in my estimation.
skeldon_man posted:Chief posted:I cannot believe that the success of this young lady is used as an excuse to berate her for herr choice to as to how she wants to dress and what religion she follows.
This thread should be published in National Newspapers in America to prove that bigotry and prejudice is alive in Immigrant communities.
The attack on this young lady who top her country in academic excellence is so disgusting. Will these posters who made these disparaging remarks say the same thing about a US Senator who wears a Yamulk, or a Sikh Premier in Canada who wears his turban , or a Gay athlethe or Gay CEO? No they will not , because they will not want their children, Co workers and close friends to know that they are holding prejudices in their hearts.
Today is indeed a sad day on GNI , I have seen all kinds of bigotry but this one takes the cake!
I pray that God cause all of us to see right as right and to stay far from evil
I pray for this young lady and her daily and may God continue to bless her with many more sucesses!
It's a sad day because she is a Muslim. If this girl was a Hindu wearing a Sari and she was being criticized for her outfit, you would have been standing in line to do the bashing too.
My wife and daughter wear Saris you moron!
Gilbakka posted:skeldon_man posted:During my two and a half years at SLPSS, there was no school song.
Did that contribute to him being so daft?
skeldon_man posted:Chief posted:
When has anyone especially a Guyanese bash someone for wearing a sari?
ksazma posted:skeldon_man posted:Chief posted:
When has anyone especially a Guyanese bash someone for wearing a sari?
These guys are like glass .
Chief posted:Gilbakka posted:skeldon_man posted:During my two and a half years at SLPSS, there was no school song.
Skelly is not daft. He merely has views which are different from ours. But I'm glad you say it with a wink.
ksazma posted:caribny posted:ksazma posted:Likewise others have as much right to make laws suitable to them .
You just committed yourself to circular reasoning. You are on your own with that one.
Really. Is it circular reasoning to suggest that Muslim women who dress like Arabs, when they are NOT Arabs, because they feel compelled to do so? Either because they are harassed if they don't, or have been told that in order to be a "good" Muslim they must?
I think that it is possible to be a good Muslim without being embedded in Arab culture, or if that isn't the case then Islam is in SERIOUS trouble.
And why the straw man of nudity. You mean one must be covered from head to toe with only the face showing, or one must be nude? YOU are the one introducing a false equivalency here.
That girl needs to know that she can dress according to Guyanese norms and still be a good Muslim. I don't know how she manages given the humidity, and the fact that I bet where she lives isn't air conditioned.
Chief posted:Gilbakka posted:skeldon_man posted:During my two and a half years at SLPSS, there was no school song.
You jackass, you went to Line Path for 6 years and got only 3 subjects. You claimed that you got an "A" in GCE English, yet I see your atrocious grammar on this BB. For your information, I got 4 subjects from SLPSS and three more subjects on my own at the next sitting, including English.
I wonder if you really pass any subjects in GCE. Oh wait, maybe one, religious knowledge.