Danger bridge: This bridge linking the communities of Oronoque and Port Kaituma in the North West District has been in this state for more than ten months.

Residents, this newspaper was told, have no choice but to use the bridge since work on a road to link the two communities has suddenly stopped. Sometime late last year, a pregnant teacher fell and sustained injuries while heading to Port Kaituma. Others, this newspaper was told, have since slipped or fallen into the trench however the Region has made no efforts to fix the dilapidated bridge. In this photograph, a woman carefully crosses the bridge with infant in hand. In the background, a woman waits her turn to cross.

http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...-a-dangerous-bridge/

Danger bridge: This bridge linking the communities of Oronoque and Port Kaituma in the North West District has been in this state for more than ten months.

Residents, this newspaper was told, have no choice but to use the bridge since work on a road to link the two communities has suddenly stopped. Sometime late last year, a pregnant teacher fell and sustained injuries while heading to Port Kaituma. Others, this newspaper was told, have since slipped or fallen into the trench however the Region has made no efforts to fix the dilapidated bridge. In this photograph, a woman carefully crosses the bridge with infant in hand. In the background, a woman waits her turn to cross.

Do people ever do self-help like the PNC taught us?

It may appear that the Guyanese community at large require government intervention in all matters. 

Is this not a local authority matter ? Where is their local representative ?

How about some self help as Baseman indicated ?

Do people ever do self-help . . . ?

Why should they be required to . . ., when the fat criminals at Freedom House have their snouts firmly anchored in the national trough . . . HELPING THEMSELVES 24/7 ??

Because in the absence of another option, you don't just squat your fat asses and expect things will fall from the sky.  Let's say the Govt is remiss, then what you do, sit and wring your hands?  This is the philosophy of some of you and why, even though LFSB tried, some people expected to squat and complain. Knock and it shall open, when you try, regardless of who should or shouldn't do, you find resourcefulness in yourself which serve you well beyond the current need.

I don't make excuses for the Govt, but you don't make excuses for the people.  There are certainly things which persons cannot undertake and Govt should lead, but village self-help projects are certainly within their realm.

Why should they be required to . . ., when the fat criminals at Freedom House have their snouts firmly anchored in the national trough . . . HELPING THEMSELVES 24/7 ??

Because in the absence of another option, you don't just squat your fat asses and expect things will fall from the sky.  Let's say the Govt is remiss, then what you do, sit and wring your hands?  This is the philosophy of some of you and why, even though LFSB tried, some people expected to squat and complain. Knock and it shall open, when you try, regardless of who should or shouldn't do, you find resourcefulness in yourself which serve you well beyond the current need.

I don't make excuses for the Govt, but you don't make excuses for the people.  There are certainly things which persons cannot undertake and Govt should lead, but village self-help projects are certainly within their realm.

Tell it like it is. 

I chose my words carefully . . . "why should they be REQUIRED to . . ."

Chew on that awhile . . . as your foolish rationalizations for corruption and malgovernance fall away.

I support self-help. But I wonder why the work on a road to link the two communities suddenly stopped and why the why no efforts has been made by the region to fix the dilapidated bridge?

Who knows, but when you and your folks are at risk, then you get together and try to solve the problem.  Deal with the what's, who's etc later.

Chew on that awhile . . . as your foolish rationalizations for corruption and malgovernance fall away.

Well, you sit there and complain and tell them that's the way.  I'm sure your are sitting pretty somewhere in the US.

Re-read my post and come again.

Playing dumb gets you brownie points with the spammers and the stupid . . . but persuades no one. 

Playing with words is SILLY and Childish. You like to open your mouth without first thinking.

Yuh need to pull yuh out yuh kakahole take another look at the pictur ask yuhself who would build  a bridge like that?  It can't be BK because it would have float away already...Is this the kind of bridge the PPP build or is it the same people yuh cussing build it by 'selfhelp'

Who knows, but when you and your folks are at risk, then you get together and try to solve the problem.  Deal with the what's, who's etc later.

I chose to deal with the why since I am beyond the what. It's easy to fault anyone.

I wonder how easy it was for  the PPP to find money to lay an expensive pipeline directly from the water plant at Better Hope to Sparendam for its elitists of Prado2 and not find money to construct a bridge for these citizens.

The Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) yesterday announced the approval of loans totalling US$66.2M ($13.6B) to Guyana to finance the upgrade and maintenance of the road network.

According to a release from the IDB, the programme includes resources to strengthen the executing agency – the Ministry of Public Works – and is expected to enhance urban and suburban mobility and safety...

http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...ban-transport-study/

I chose to deal with the why since I am beyond the what. It's easy to fault anyone.

I wonder how easy it was for  the PPP to find money to lay an expensive pipeline directly from the water plant at Better Hope to Sparendam for its elitists of Prado2 and not find money to construct a bridge for these citizens.

As I said, I don't defend the Govt however, if I was there and persons of interest to me or myself was at risk I certainly would have sought a self-help group to at least make it safer.  Does not mean you don't keep asking the "why".  Remember, I am one of those "nemakarams".

The Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) yesterday announced the approval of loans totalling US$66.2M ($13.6B) to Guyana to finance the upgrade and maintenance of the road network.

According to a release from the IDB, the programme includes resources to strengthen the executing agency – the Ministry of Public Works – and is expected to enhance urban and suburban mobility and safety...

Point Taken. I do not have a problem with Mtwah or Baseman observations. They are the reason I am on board.

Originally Posted by Sammyj:

Point Taken. I do not have a problem with Mtwah or Baseman observations. They are the reason I am on board.

Are you with the OP?

Baseman, I thought of starting a fund to help these peeps if they are willing invest some sweat until I read: "The Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) yesterday announced the approval of loans totalling US$66.2M ($13.6B) to Guyana to finance the upgrade and maintenance of the road network."

Mits,

Give Sammyj a break. Why try to discouage me. What do you mean
"fund to help these peeps if they are willing invest some sweat until I read". Let me learn something from you Na Bai.

Are you with the OP?

No Sir. Why you ask?

Baseman, I thought of starting a fund to help these peeps if they are willing invest some sweat until I read: "The Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) yesterday announced the approval of loans totalling US$66.2M ($13.6B) to Guyana to finance the upgrade and maintenance of the road network."

Mits,

Give Sammyj a break. Why try to discouage me. What do you mean
"fund to help these peeps if they are willing invest some sweat until I read". Let me learn something from you Na Bai.

Sammyj, remember the fable that goes like this: "A Wagoner was once driving a heavy load along a very muddy way. He came to a part of the road where the wheels sank half-way into the mire, and the more the horses pulled, the deeper sank the wheels. So the Wagoner threw down his whip, and knelt down and prayed to Hercules the Strong. 'O Hercules, help me in this my hour of distress." But Hercules appeared to him, and said: 'Man, don't sprawl there. Get up and put your shoulder to the wheel.

My anonymous Seva Group help those who are willing to help themsleves. We also help the helpless and less fortunate.

Can you convince the BK's and other contractors, suppliers to come together and build a bridge as a community project?