Sad to report that two young black men just punched my daughter and stole her Iphone. She was walking home from high school with two of her friends.

The police told us that two other children from the same were also jumped. Apparently, these thieves are from the Toronto area.

I live in a quiet upper middle class neighbourhood in Vaughan. It is a mixed neighbourhood.

Thank god that my daughter is OK. She is quite shaken up.

Please advise your children to keep their Iphone in a safe place when in public. Sadly, she had just taken out her iphone to call my wife to advise her that she was on her way home.

My daughter and her friends were able to provide a description of the these criminals including a licence plate number. I also called Rogers to block the phone and they provided a number that the criminals used to dial once using my daughter's Iphone.

It makes me very angry. I had cleansed my heart of biases on racial profiling of potential criminals but this has me really thinking deep and hard.

Sad, very sad.

Sad to report that two young black men just punched my daughter and stole her Iphone. She was walking home from high school with two of her friends.

The police told us that two other children from the same were also jumped. Apparently, these thieves are from the Toronto area.

I live in a quiet upper middle class neighbourhood in Vaughan. It is a mixed neighbourhood.

Please advise your children to keep their Iphone in a safe place when in public. Sadly, she had just taken out her iphone to call my wife to advise her that she was on her way home.

My daughter and her friends were able to provide a description of the these criminals including a licence plate number. I also called Rogers to block the phone and they provided a number that the criminals used to dial once using my daughter's Iphone.

It makes me very angry. I had cleansed my heart of biases on racial profiling of potential criminals but this has me really thinking deep and hard.

Sad, very sad.

Would your attitude towards racial profiling stay the same if your daughter and her friends were profiled and the bandits were not because, being criminals, they are more adept at hiding themselves from the type of stupid/lazy cop who does not take the time to focus on those who actually commit crimes, or hang around those who do?  This is happening.  The stop to meet a quota and who better to harrass than some one less likely to shoot back.

In NYC 684,000 people were stopped. A mere 800 guns seized.  99% of those stopped had no weapons, 90% were INNOCENT.  Many of those arrested probably had a piece of weed or some other minor infraction that would go unpunished in other neighborhoods.

So unless some one is claiming that almsot 100% of the young blacks and hispanics are criminals, or hang around criminals then what is the point?  Of course we are seeing a spike in crime just as this happens. The same criminal few involved, laughing while they see the cops waste time on others instead of focusing on ensuring their arrest.

The cops need focus their energies on those who are criminals or who hand aroiund criminals.  This will make them less arrogant in peddling their "trade" knowing that they will most likely not be caught.  Please dont tell me the cops in a given precinct have no idea which characters are most involved in crime, because that will be an admission of their failure.

Sad, very sad.

Looko now, mi jess jess come bak from Mabaruma an' see diss shyte.  Bai mi hope da gyal ok.  Mi haare nuff nuff dem lil black bais from donk abie side gaan goa live up deh, soa bettah wach out.

sad but not enough to indict the entire black race. you should be ashamed for lashing out like this on blacks based on emotions rather than logic. 

No need to be touchy or annoyed. Yugi reported the truth--2 black guys punched his daughter and stole her cell phone.

Some of those people were clearly born with a vicious and destructive gene.

Thankfully yugi's daughter is OK---but the poor child must be shaken up.

Our daughter got picked pocked right in a small party right on UNTO campus. Lost her phone and I screamed at her, but life goes on. Stop the hate , Bro.

Life too short for that crap. I have a basic phone back right  here on St.Maarten. 

My Wife and Son will be traveling this Sunday to Canada for three weeks , and I-man have stay behind and mind the "shop"! But I did my share of travels , even though , haven't been anywhere for the past four years. But I'm not complaining.

One Love .Lesley Bruce.

Originally Posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:
Originally Posted by martin Carter:

You have a right to be upset but don't. Like they said things could have been worse and please dont profile any race. In future you may want to give her a cheaper phone. Little can comfort you but the reality is that these things happen to most of us sometimes. 

Well said too, martin carter.

Indeed it is upsetting, yuji22, and I empathise.  I too have been violently robbed (though not life threatening by any means) and my sister and mom were made to lie on the ground at gunpoint.  But these events do not give us the right to profile.

Guys, thanks for your kind words.

I got a new sim card and gave her my iphone. She is OK but a bit shaken up. Growing in a sheltered environment makes your children a bit shaken up when this happens.

She will now keep her phone in her bag or purse. Lesson learned.

York regional police is pretty good. I am sure that these guys will be caught.

sad but not enough to indict the entire black race. you should be ashamed for lashing out like this on blacks based on emotions rather than logic. 

Gerhard, I did not lash out. I was a bit angry. Let bygones be bygones. Time to move on. The criminals could have been of any race. Criminals are criminals.

Tru deh, bu mi notice blackman like tief bad.  Natt shore why.

Originally Posted by Sledgehammer:

Tru deh, bu mi notice blackman like tief bad.  Natt shore why.

That's uncalled for, Sledgehammer.

Ok.