Deafening silence from Nagamootoo, Ramjattan over attack on Dr. Jagan - supporters taking notePDFPrintE-mail
Written by   
Friday, 13 July 2012 20:58
THE deafening silence from Mr. Moses Nagamootoo and Mr. Kemraj Ramjattan of the AFC in the face of ongoing attacks against the legacy of Dr. Cheddi Jagan by activists from within their party and from the APNU is being viewed with increasing suspicion by some of their supporters.

Khemraj Ramjattan

Speaking to the Guyana Chronicle, a cane harvester attached to the Skeldon Estate who identified himself as Sugrim related that he actually believed Nagamootoo in the lead up to the last elections when he promised to uphold the legacy of Dr. Jagan.
Sugrim noted that Dr. Jagan was a great man and he was fortunate to have met the late leader personally on two occasions and those encounters made a lasting impression on his life. As such he said when Nagamootoo, his fellow Berbician, said he would preserve Dr. Jagan’s legacy, he gave him the benefit of the doubt.
He added that what further convinced him was a number of allegations Nagamootoo was making against the PPP/C Government at the meetings
he was present at and the stories seemed convincing, “He seh dat Cheddi did promise him in front of people in deh party that he will be the next

Moses Nagamootoo

President but only recently meh begin to think, why this man never said that when Janet turn President or when Bharrat turn President, why he wait till he lef deh party fuh seh that?”
Sugrim also lamented that in the lead up to the last elections, Nagamootoo and Ramjattan had made a number of promises to them but they have now forgotten those promises.
“Every time you want to ask dese chaps about what deh de promise we, they only try fuh confuse we more by mekkin accusations bout who corrupt and who they think corrupt, that is all they really running around doing.
These people never like take responsibility for anything they always like blame somebody else, look when deh had de corruption inside deh party with the bush doctor when that man who expose them go to Khemraj he seh he busy fuh deal with corruption, so what dese people tryin to tell we really, they only trying to make we fools.”
The Corrriverton resident who has been working for the sugar industry for the past 25 years expressed satisfaction with the constant visits by Minister of Agriculture Dr. Leslie Ramsammy to meet with sugar workers during spontaneous visits, even inside the estates.
“Since the Minister coming we getting to understand more and more of what is happening and we also telling him our problems so he can sort them out with management. I now understand that Nagamootoo and Prak (Ramjattan) wanted to scare we about the industry to get us angry but a lot of the things they told us were lies and we now realize that.”
The father of three, who has two sons also working for the sugar industry, said that Cheddi Jagan fought all his life for us and we will not give up on him. He said that he is upset at the statements made by David Granger of APNU, but is extremely angry at AFC activist Freddy Kissoon for the shameful word he used to describe Dr. Jagan in one of his recent columns. “Nagamootoo like talk, right here he and Khemraj stand up in truck tray with Kissoon and praise Cheddi in front of we, now Kissoon turn back and saying these things and deh other two (Moses and Khemraj) suddenly gone quiet. I waiting for another meeting to tell them exactly what I have in my mind, I can’t say it now but I want to let them know that they had a chance, we gave them the benefit of the doubt and deh shaft we.”
Sugrim also believes that there should be a branch of the Cheddi Jagan Research Institute in Berbice so everyone, especially the youths will get to know more about the life and contributions of Dr. Jagan to Guyana.

Much ado about nothing. A red herring to quiet the debate about the racist Chronicle editorial.

What is more relevant at this time is why the deafening silence from the PPP on the Chronicle editorial? Rummouthar should come out and apologize to the nation, unless he quietly supports the racism published in the Chronicle. The silence is deafening.

AFC needs to distance itself from Freddie Kissoon, he is a lose cannon and have more downsides than upsides.  As for APNU, let them first talk of their wicked past leaders who destroyed Guyana and brutalize its Indian population before they turn their sights on the short comings of any Indian leader.  To all APNUites, you may chose to not remember but we will not forget, Guyana has a history prior to 1992.

Baseman is sometimes critical of Jagan, but one thing I am convinced, he had his heart in the right place regarding workers and absolutely non-corruptible.  He lived a frugal almost pious personal life true to his word and beliefs.  That earned him a lot of credibility.

I agree with you Baseman.  I had some issues with how the PPP as party was run by Jagans.  They got played by that hidden gang in the PPP.  Nevertheless, they were never corrupt.

AFC needs to distance itself from Freddie Kissoon, he is a lose cannon and have more downsides than upsides.  As for APNU, let them first talk of their wicked past leaders who destroyed Guyana and brutalize its Indian population before they turn their sights on the short comings of any Indian leader.  To all APNUites, you may chose to not remember but we will not forget, Guyana has a history prior to 1992.

Baseman is sometimes critical of Jagan, but one thing I am convinced, he had his heart in the right place regarding workers and absolutely non-corruptible.  He lived a frugal almost pious personal life true to his word and beliefs.  That earned him a lot of credibility.

Mr "Sugrim" is 'upset' that Freddie Kissoon called Dr Jagan a fool for making Jagdeo a minister. Fair enough!

So, WHAT is your rhetorical excursion addressing?

I warned you before that the illiteracy quotient demonstrated by use of non sequiturs is VERY high; but, for some unfathomable reason, you insist on parading your ignorance at every conceivable opportunity.

Your demons have taken control . . . smh

Redux, Ah gat a simple question, Is there a man/woman on this Planet more Illiterate and ignorant that you????????????

Sunlight is also not YOUR friend

Mr "Sugrim" is 'upset' that Freddie Kissoon called Dr Jagan a fool for making Jagdeo a minister. Fair enough!

So, WHAT is your rhetorical excursion addressing?

I warned you before that the illiteracy quotient demonstrated by use of non sequiturs is VERY high; but, for some unfathomable reason, you insist on parading your ignorance at every conceivable opportunity.

Your demons have taken control . . . smh

Go suck on a plum.

Baseman is sometimes critical of Jagan, but one thing I am convinced, he had his heart in the right place regarding workers and absolutely non-corruptible.

He lived a frugal almost pious personal life true to his word and beliefs.  That earned him a lot of credibility.

Something one should remember.

Baseman is sometimes critical of Jagan, but one thing I am convinced, he had his heart in the right place regarding workers and absolutely non-corruptible.

He lived a frugal almost pious personal life true to his word and beliefs.  That earned him a lot of credibility.

Something one should remember.

Hey, you jhumbie fighters [that means U, Nehru and Baseman] . . ., IS ANYONE ARGUING DIFFERENTLY!!?

Originally Posted by Conscience:

The constituents which those two represents must be bowing their heads in awful sorrow.

Get over it. Not everyone sees the Jagans as you folks in the PPP do and with good reason.  They hatched Burnham by their communist bent and on the return to democracy did nothing to strengthen it but fostered the autocracy  we have.

Lets be clear they hatched the crooked culture ( albeit through naivety on cheddi's part and arrogance on the part of his wife) we correctly have. Beginning with Cheddi, a good communist being blind to our race problems and his wife who handpicked ( by emasculating the the Indian men in the party) the crook Jagdeo  and through him we have a continuing kleptocracy with the blind and self deluded toady in office.

Even if people still blindly worship their memory there is no imperative to lie to one's self and call them sanctified. They are the originator of the all the heresies to democracy now heaped on a long suffering people and it is time someone call them out on it.

Hey yuh Gugumuchai, lang belly Cunumunu and lamata grow a damn brain and get out of your bloody Cave, you Animal.

I see you are grasping for your natural level in the scheme of things.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

The constituents which those two represents must be bowing their heads in awful sorrow.

Get over it. Not everyone sees the Jagans as you folks in the PPP do and with good reason.  They hatched Burnham by their communist bent and on the return to democracy did nothing to strengthen it but fostered the autocracy  we have.

Lets be clear they hatched the crooked culture ( albeit through naivety on cheddi's part and arrogance on the part of his wife) we correctly have. Beginning with Cheddi, a good communist being blind to our race problems and his wife who handpicked ( by emasculating the the Indian men in the party) the crook Jagdeo  and through him we have a continuing kleptocracy with the blind and self deluded toady in office.

Even if people still blindly worship their memory there is no imperative to lie to one's self and call them sanctified. They are the originator of the all the heresies to democracy now heaped on a long suffering people and it is time someone call them out on it.

The problem with the PPP in those days was that Janet was the real leader of the party. On paper it says that Dr.Jagan was the leader but he was more of a symbol.  In reality, Dr. Jagan can tell you anything but if you don't clear that with Janet yourself to make sure that she supports that then you are in some serious trouble.

Not everyone sees the Jagans as you folks ..

Correct; and each has his/her views.

I definitely take him over any PNC.

Not everyone sees the Jagans as you folks ..

Correct; and each has his/her views.

I definitely take him over any PNC.

Yes, indeed.