June 15, 2014

It is being peddled that gold is being smuggled to Suriname because it appears that there is a shortage; however it is my humble view that it is being used as a smokescreen for the powerful. Two years ago a Guyanese registered vessel owned by a prominent city businessman was detained in CuraÇao with 10,000 ounces of gold with a street value of approximately US$12 million – quite a hefty sum.

The crew were all Guyanese, and two persons were charged.   What has become of the investigation? Where is the boat and where is the gold? These are the things that the Guyana Gold Board should be looking into. The authorities should go all out and investigate the persons who were implicated. Only the big dealers who are financially capable, have the resources to mislead the authorities and tarnish the image of the smaller dealers with the publication of fabrications.

It is a known fact that gold prices have dropped worldwide. You can go online and see for yourself. Guyana is witnessing the lowest price in five years to hit the market. I have done my own investigations and survey on the companies that supply mining equipment and machinery to miners and it has become ridiculous. The sales have dropped drastically. The companies in an effort to recoup their investment are willing to sell equipment with little or no down payment. There are many dredges but many are idle; the mineral is dwindling.

The closure of the Bartica branch of the Guyana Gold Board is severely affecting persons who sell gold in that community, which is said to be the gateway to the interior. How can one be so audacious as to close down such entity? Who will buy the gold? Most obviously they will sell it to the unlicensed dealers and the big powerful dealers who have decoys in that area to purchase the gold for next to nothing.

With the insertion of the Brazilians into the mining industry, it is a known fact that they are some of the smugglers, and that some of them do it on a large scale.

The head of the Gold Board and the Deputy Governor of the Bank of Guyana have their views on the situation saying that they don’t believe there is wholesale smuggling.

The authorities should encourage the illegal miners and buyers to become legal and let us stop this highhandedness that is prevailing in the mining industry. There is enough gold for everyone to live a comfortable life.

Yours faithfully, Malcolm Perreira

http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...dropped-drastically/

Cobra, why is Ramotar so audacious to close the  Bartica branch of the Guyana Gold Board which is the gateway to the interior?  Will the PPP decoys now not be able to buy the gold privately for next to nothing?

Cobra, pay attention as to how Ashni and gang will raid the treasury and the Contingency funds which is like his own petty cash box.

Two years ago a Guyanese registered vessel owned by a prominent city businessman was detained in Curaçao with 10,000 ounces of gold with a street value of approximately US$12 million – quite a hefty sum.The crew were all Guyanese, and two persons were charged.   What has become of the investigation? Where is the boat and where is the gold?

Bai Mitwah dat man gat big time PPP connections

Pointblank
Last edited by Pointblank
Originally Posted by Pointblank:

Two years ago a Guyanese registered vessel owned by a prominent city businessman was detained in Curaçao with 10,000 ounces of gold with a street value of approximately US$12 million – quite a hefty sum.The crew were all Guyanese, and two persons were charged.   What has become of the investigation? Where is the boat and where is the gold?

Bai Mitwah dat man gat big time PPP connections

Dat vessel looks like a Spanish galleon, bai. Must be a ghost ship roaming the Caribbean Sea now. Where is Captain Jack Sparrow aka Johnny Depth?

Cobra, why is Ramotar so audacious to close the  Bartica branch of the Guyana Gold Board which is the gateway to the interior?  Will the PPP decoys now not be able to buy the gold privately for next to nothing?

Cobra, pay attention as to how Ashni and gang will raid the treasury and the Contingency funds which is like his own petty cash box.

Mitwahji, give it a rest today. Them PPP boys have a lot of financial responsibility. They have to get the money from somewhere to complete certain projects that Granger said they can't have. That's the determination of the PPP.  They also need a father's day gift too you know. 

How is Ass Knee projecting 10 % GDP? It is a known fact that gold prices have dropped worldwide. You can go online and see for yourself. Guyana is witnessing the lowest price in five years to hit the market. Cobraji this seems like new improved virgin snake oil, dem PPP bais selling.

Minister of Public Works, Robeson Benn has noted that Government will have to find an option to address the issue of funding for aviation services, whose allocation was cut by the Opposition during the consideration of the 2014 National Budget Estimates.

What this tells you, Mitwah? You have to be very brilliant to find a way out. 

Guyanagoldminer 

I am a miner and I can tell you I haven't worked for the year , I can't get land to work anymore . Everytime I find some where to settle down I find out that the land belongs to some richer miner who is not giving a position or the wardens come with all sorts of reasons to stop us , ggmc is trying to stop the small miners and this is the repercussion from doing so . The rich miner won't go to gold board as often as a small miner . We do so because we need that duty-free exemption that we get from selling our gold and to keep our taxes right with the government. But it is very hard for me to even start work because I néed to buy stuff to restart when I find land and no one is helping the small miner , we are the true sufferers . We the small miners make the impact , remember the saying lil dutty build dam . Thank you pls help us small miners we got families too.