Rohee debunks speculation about importance of Lawrence vote

THE silence of A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) front bencher Volda Lawrence, during last Thursday’s vote in Parliament on allocations for several sectors in a $3.38B Statement of Excess tabled by Finance Minister Dr. Ashni Singh, continues to attract comments.

Volda Lawrence

But General Secretary of the ruling People’s Progressive Party (PPP), Mr. Clement Rohee, debunked speculation that “special considerations” were offered by the Government to secure Lawrence’s support for the allocations in the financial paper.
He said, at a press conference at the PPP’s Freedom House headquarters yesterday that: “I am not aware of anything like that as the Leader of the PPP and I can’t speak for the Government but, as a member of the Cabinet, I don’t think that that is true…this is just a red herring that people are trying to throw into the whole mystery.”

David Granger

He emphasised that the ruling party “has nothing special to offer anybody” except for hard work on the ground to increase its support base.
Rohee continued: “If you want to come with us, to work with us, to offer to win votes on the ground…that’s all we have to offer.”
He refused to comment further on the speculation.
However, the General Secretary noted, too, that Opposition Leader David Granger, from remarks made to the media, seems to be taking the issue seriously.

AN INVESTIGATION
Last Friday, the Opposition Leader, at a press briefing, told the media that an investigation into the matter is under way.

Minister Clement Rohee

At the time of the vote in Parliament on the Statement of Excess in the Committee of Supply, Lawrence had remained silent.
The vote on the specific allocations included for the Specialty Hospital when the APNU MP left the Assembly in haste, resulting in a one-seat win for the ruling party in having the allocation approved.
After the Committee of Supply approval of the financial paper, the House resumed sitting and the Finance Minister’s report of Lawrence’s vote saw it counted as an abstention.
But Granger said he was informed that she had been unwell while his personal observation was that she appeared distraught.
The Opposition Leader acknowledged that there were specific plans to vote along specified lines.
Granger was expected to meet with Lawrence on the matter.
However, according to an online news report, Lawrence said that by the time she could have received advice, on how to vote, from APNU Chief Whip Amna Ally, immediately on returning to the Chamber, she did not respond when her name was called.
The report added that Ally corroborated Lawrence’s account and also explained what had transpired.
Ally, reportedly, said: “Ms. Lawrence was sick. When she came in back, she didn’t catch herself until long after and she couldn’t speak. She was making signs to the Clerk…there was no sinister move, no deflection.”
The joint Opposition’s one-seat majority was affected by Lawrence’s vote, as well as the absence of other APNU MP Deborah Backer.

(Vanessa Narine)

It was only a matter of time before the ruptures started showing up in the PNC camp.

This woman is very brave and should be congratulated. She will make a great minister in the Rammo administration.

It was only a matter of time before the ruptures started showing up in the PNC camp.

This woman is very brave and should be congratulated. She will make a great minister in the Rammo administration.

She is unprincipled-and if she heading to the PPP then she be right at home.

exactly..like Yugi said...a great Minister...only matter of time before she gets as rich as Irfan

The Rev has deep respect and admiration for women of character and integrity like Ms. Volda Lawrence. It's shocking to see the misogynists(women haters) here on GNI attack this remarkable woman.

yuji22, you're reading much too much into a plain and simple matter. APNU Chief Whip Amna Ally confirmed Volda Lawrence was ill. Volda explained what happened in the House. Let's just accept that APNU paid dearly for that unfortunate occurrence. It can happen to any party. In fact it did happen to the PPP/C.

Remember that Thursday early last month, when parliament was voting on the crucial anti-money laundering amendment bill. The PPP/C needed all 32 votes but got only 29 because three PPP/C MPs were absent. Why? Clement Rohee took in seriously ill and was rushed to Dr Leslie Ramsammy's Woodlands Hospital and Health Minister Dr Bheri Ramsarran was with them in the hospital working feverishly to lessen the effect of Rohee's mini-stroke.

No one in APNU and the AFC remotely insinuated that those three PPP parliamentarians sold out to the opposition in not voting for the government-sponsored bill.

Why are people suggesting scurrilous motives on the part of Ms Lawrence?

yuji22, with due respect to you, the ruptures are in your imagination, not in the PNC camp.

The Rev has deep respect and admiration for women of character and integrity like Ms. Volda Lawrence. It's shocking to see the misogynists(women haters) here on GNI attack this remarkable woman.

the rev is also a dog that suck egg the ppp is make up of people with low character thief and killers this lady was not too sick that she could not vote too bad guyana do not have private investigator she have a motive and the APNU must correct this before it happen again  

Originally Posted by raymond:

exactly..like Yugi said...a great Minister...only matter of time before she gets as rich as Irfan

Ray,

I have great disappointment with Irfan. He needs to be shuffled out.

This is a principled lady and there is nothing wrong for MP's from all political stripes to vote without pressure from their party. This does not exclude PPP ministers.

This is an intelligent, strong and honest woman. The president should remove Irfan and replace him with this woman who will bring back honesty to the office of a minister.

yuji22, you're reading much too much into a plain and simple matter. APNU Chief Whip Amna Ally confirmed Volda Lawrence was ill. Volda explained what happened in the House. Let's just accept that APNU paid dearly for that unfortunate occurrence. It can happen to any party. In fact it did happen to the PPP/C.

Remember that Thursday early last month, when parliament was voting on the crucial anti-money laundering amendment bill. The PPP/C needed all 32 votes but got only 29 because three PPP/C MPs were absent. Why? Clement Rohee took in seriously ill and was rushed to Dr Leslie Ramsammy's Woodlands Hospital and Health Minister Dr Bheri Ramsarran was with them in the hospital working feverishly to lessen the effect of Rohee's mini-stroke.

No one in APNU and the AFC remotely insinuated that those three PPP parliamentarians sold out to the opposition in not voting for the government-sponsored bill.

Why are people suggesting scurrilous motives on the part of Ms Lawrence?

yuji22, with due respect to you, the ruptures are in your imagination, not in the PNC camp.

Gil

I respect your opinion.

But her record stands and speaks for itself. She is indeed a very brave woman. She is the Guyanese,  Rosa. Kudos to her.

Rev: This is an intelligent, strong and honest woman. The president should remove Irfan and replace him with this woman who will bring back honesty to the office of a minister.

Yuji:

* Ms Lawrence should be Donald's running mate in 2016.

* Time to retire Sam.

* By the way, There are a few more decent and respectable PNC MPs who are being targeted by the PPP.

APNU is growing from strength to strength. AFC will soon join them and Mr Nagamootoo will be PM.

JB, wah yu nah shet yu pappa porkey. Yu guh drink Jim Jones cool aid soon.

APNU is growing from strength to strength. AFC will soon join them and Mr Nagamootoo will be PM.

What an ignorant fool you are.

That's all you have you kindergarten assistant teacher? Go teach the children to repeat and sing their ABCs.

A vile and stupid man you are...

Ms.Lawerence should be supported for the brave stand she took, by not agreeing with his party's sinister motives, and had abstain, her conscience is cleared and she can sleep well at nights, unlike many on her side of the house.

Rev: This is an intelligent, strong and honest woman. The president should remove Irfan and replace him with this woman who will bring back honesty to the office of a minister.

Yuji:

* Time to retire Sam.

* By the way, There are a few more decent and respectable PNC MPs who are being targeted by the PPP.

I nominate her as the PPP Prime Minister candidate at the next election. She can then be nominated as the PPP presidential candidate next. I am willing to support her. 

Sam has been a loyal and faithful son of Guyana. He should now pave the way for this young lady.

The PPP needs a minister like Ms. Lawrence. She is like a breath of fresh air.

President Donald Ramotar will be the PPP/C presidential candidate for the next election and the avenue will be available for younger members.

DG

I really like that hat. OPP ?

Yuji:

* Time to retire Sam.

You guys are making these dreamy scenarios.

I wonder what you would say when it's confirmed that Ms Lawrence is staying with APNU.

I hope you all don't start cussing out the lady whom you now describe in rosy terms.

I'm folding my arms and watching.

Yuji:

* Time to retire Sam.

You guys are making these dreamy scenarios.

I wonder what you would say when it's confirmed that Ms Lawrence is staying with APNU.

I hope you all don't start cussing out the lady whom you now describe in rosy terms.

I'm folding my arms and watching.

Gil

Some of the greatest ideas came from dreams. We might as well be dreaming. Let us enjoy this moment while it lasts. You were not supposed to wake me up.

President Donald Ramotar will be the PPP/C presidential candidate for the next election and the avenue will be available for younger members.

DG

I can get you a hat, but mine is unique.

DG

I can get you a hat, but mine is unique.

I have seen a similar hat at one of the "western" stores at the Mall of America.

Yuji22 yuh behaving like Kwame.

PPP in more serious problems.

(1) Rohee now Claiming he is leader

(2) Kwame also claiming he is leader too.

(3) Lamumba try fuh jumpup in parliament to speak as official spokesman...and eee had to sit down quiet .....everyone laughing at the PPP..

PPP denies inducing APNU's Volda Lawrence to abstain

PPP General Secretary, Clement Rohee PPP General Secretary, Clement Rohee

The ruling Peoples Progressive Party (PPP) on Monday scoffed at speculation by sections of the public that a parliamentarian for A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) might have offered special consideration by government to abstain from a vote for money for the security sector.
I am not aware of anything like that as the Leader of the PPP and I can’t speak for the government but as a member of the Cabinet I don’t think that that is true,” said PPP General Secretary, Clement Rohee.
Rohee refused to speculate why APNU’s Volda Lawrence at last Thursday’s sitting of the National Assembly declined to vote against cash for the security sector, he noted that Opposition Leader, David Granger has also taken the matter seriously.
He termed suggestions that Lawrence’s vote was bought by the PPP a “red herring that people are trying to throw into the whole mystery.”
Asked whether it would be politically unwise to offer members of the opposition special considerations, Rohee said “the PPP has nothing special to offer anybody” but hard work to win votes.
“All we got to offer- work on the ground to win votes. If you want to come with us to work with us to offer to win votes on the ground- that’s all we have to offer,” he said.
APNU Chief Whip, Amna Ally has already denied that “there was no sinister move, no deflection”.
Lawrence and Ally have suggested that the abstention could have been avoided if House Speaker, Raphael Trotman had separated each financial paper rather than bunch them together.
Ally said Lawrence was sick and when she returned to the Chamber she was not immediately aware of what was happening and was making signs to the Clerk of the National Assembly, Sherlock Isaacs.
The Opposition Leader has said that an investigation would be launched although he had not regarded her vote as an abstention. “I heard no sound from her and I wouldn’t use the word ‘abstain’ but I certainly heard no sound from her when the vote was taken,” he  said.

Bhai how come the chronicle did not report the mast Important thing...

A man who Visa got tek away for his Underworld links....now... claiming to be leader of the PPP.

Yuji22 has been exposed

Jalil is the most illiterate poster. He is like a broken record. Same thing everyday, nothing to contribute but nonsense.

Ok yuji22 claiming he is a literate poster,

his post is a just released CD....

and he do not contribute nonsense.

Let us look at what yuji22 post and what he calls nonsense.

Quote Yuji22 -

Are you comfortable with the fact that Granger who rigged elections and Carl Greendige who bankrupt Guyana are the top dogs for the current PNC ? Will you vote for them ?

Quote Gilbakka -

yuji22, it matters nothing whether or not I'm comfortable with Granger and Greenidge being top PNC leaders.

The general PNC membership exercised their sovereign right and elected Granger as their leader. Neither you nor I nor the entire PPP membership can elect the leader of the PNC. This is clear as rain water.

Whether we like Granger or not, we have to live with the reality that he is the PNC's elected leader.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Quote Yuji22 -

(Granger)He is the elected leader but his bloody hands and his involvement in massive rigging must be condemned. We must not be silent because History has a bad habit of repeating itself.

Quote Gilbakka -

yuji22, in case you don't know, I condemned the rigged 1973 elections in an article I wrote for the Mirror newspaper way back in 1974.

I will not vote for the PNC.

yuji22, isn't it strange that while you persist in singling out David Granger as having blood in his hands,you're silent on the fact that the PPP/C has accepted in its fold former PNC and House of Israel thugs who also have blood on their hands?

Jalil has named those opportunists umpteen times so I won't repeat those dirty names.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Quote Yuji22 -

Gil-The PPP is using(Dishonesty & Lies) the oldest trick in the book.

(Similar to Prostitution & Pimping... The Oldest Trade & Business in History)

It is better to keep your enemies close so that you can throw them off the cliff when the time is ripe. Seen the movie the Godfather ?

I respect and admire your contribution to the PPP.

Too bad that the PPP forgot and left behind some of their bravest political warriors.

Your contribution will never go unnoticed.

Quote Jalil -

Yuji22, ...You cannot be Honest and Decent like Mandela, Ghandi, Jagan or our Gilbaka......and condone the Thiefing and Corruption going on in the PPP today.....If you do ......you only fooling yourself.

Is yuji22 a Honest or Decent person????

Yuji22, You cannot Respect & Admire the contribution made by Gilbaka and his Honesty..on one hand....then on another hand yuh easy to cave in to Buggery, Crime and Corruption.....If you do you ....only fooling yourself.

Can Yuji22 Respect & Admire Honesty or Decency ....if he supports Buggery, Crime and Corruption????

Yuji22....you cannot be using the oldest trick in de book (Dishonesty & Lies) and expect honest and decent people like Ghandi or our own Gilbaka to agree with you....because .....If you do.... you only fooling yourself.

Can any Honesty or Decency person (like Gilbakka) in this world  ....agree with or supports Yuji22 if he is Dishonest or a Liar????

Yuji22....you cannot be using the oldest trade and profession in history(Prostitution or Buggery) and expect honest and decent people like Jagan or our own Gilbaka to agree with you....because .....If you do.... you only fooling yourself.

Can any Honesty or Decency person (like Gilbakka) in this world  ....agree with or supports Yuji22 if he is involved in Prostitution, Pimping or Buggery????

Yuji22 if yuh practice them things like Kwame....yuh is a Crab Louse like Kwame.....Don't fool yuhself....

How can Yuji22 Respect & Admire any Honesty or Decency ....

if he supports Kwame, Lamumba, Nascimento, McClean & Bynoe????

Note while I am saying he is openly supporting Buggery...

which he is afraid to admit.... .

Redux is not afraid to fully expose his Kwame habits

Quote Redux -

yugeee gaan into full out antiman mode

when gilbakka brackkle am with UNCOMFORTABLE FACTS

hee caaan look Gilbakka in de eye,

suh he doing a lil pool boy tap dance,

buckta at his knees, 

with ever more extravagant pncee misdirection . . .

like he brain seize up

hmmmm . . .?