AddThis Social Bookmark Button

deltaairlines

Delta Airlines on Thursday officially announced that it would be pulling out from the Guyana route in May, ending days of speculation about the future of its flights between New York and Georgetown.

Despite confirmation by its local ground handling agent, Roraim Airways, Delta had refused t officially confirm the decision. Its Reservations agents had not been seeing available flights for the route beyond early May whenever passengers had called to book.

Following is Delta's official statement issued at 4 PM (Guyana Time) by Sarah Lora, General Manager, Corporate Communications for Latin America and Caribbean.

Delta Air Lines will close its station in Georgetown, Guyana discontinuing flights between the John F. Kennedy International Airport and the Cheddi Jagan International Airport, effective   May 6th, 2013 due to poor performance of the route.

Although Delta would prefer to continue serving the market, flights between Georgetown and New York’s JFK International Airport have experienced a significant decline in passenger loads and revenues for the past 18 months, leading to unsustainable losses. We have made the difficult decision to eliminate our Georgetown service to better focus our resources on profitable markets.

Delta will proactively contact customers booked on Georgetownto JFK flights after May 6th who have provided full contact information in their reservations to arrange alternate transportation or full refunds.  Customers can contact Delta Reservations at 1-800-241-4141 and for customers calling from Guyanathe contact number is 1-800-221-1212. 

Delta, has served the Guyana market since 2008. β€œ 

Rev Al the only international brand name carrier to Guyana has gone. 

So where is all this enthusiasm about hordes of eco/adventure tourists.

One thing for sure is that Carib is goi9ng to hike up their fares last year to recoup their losses from having to protect themselves against the Ezjet fiasco.

Your 2013 arrivals will show declines with higher fares arising from the collapse of Ez and Redjet and the withdrawal of Delta.

Rev your propaganda backfired. The money to be spent on the Airport could have been used to fix the roads in Berbice. Have you visited Berbice these past three years?

You have to be able to walk and chew gum at the same time.  The great USA spends trillions on space and military while pre-natal care is lacking in poor communities.  You guys are losers, plain losers.

Rev your propaganda backfired. The money to be spent on the Airport could have been used to fix the roads in Berbice. Have you visited Berbice these past three years?

You have to be able to walk and chew gum at the same time.  The great USA spends trillions on space and military while pre-natal care is lacking in poor communities.  You guys are losers, plain losers.

yeah . . . and that is the dumbest-ass rationale for PPP tiefmanism that i have heard in a very very long while

"losers" eh, baseman . . . do your tuff tred kneepads make u a 'winning' antiman?

I never thought you were so hollow. Please think with your head when you get it out of your poop shoot and read the nonsense you post.

Delta price point was too high, they were too greedy. They fly to California, the same distance as Guyana and they charge more. Is it a surprise that Caribbean Airlines push them out of the market?

You are an idiot of an ignoramus. You know nothing about ROI and unit costing. Get your head out of your poop shoot and come again.

The USA does not pretend to care wbout the working class.  Neither US party champions the cause of the working class.  In the USA if you are not middle class they have no time for you.

So let us now chat about the PPP which promotes itself as the Champion of the Working Class.

Delta was not serving Guyana. It was making more $ per nautical mile on this segment than any other segment.

EZJET had started to diluted the prices and it was hurting DELTA pocket. The JFK-GEO segment was not profitable enough.

In as much CA prices jumped up , it was not high enough for Delta.

Good Bye Delta.....very self serving business

Delta price point was too high, they were too greedy. They fly to California, the same distance as Guyana and they charge more. Is it a surprise that Caribbean Airlines push them out of the market?

Vish M
Originally Posted by Vish M:
Delta was not serving Guyana. It was making more $ per nautical mile on this segment than any other segment.

EZJET had started to diluted the prices and it was hurting DELTA pocket. The JFK-GEO segment was not profitable enough.

You better watch out, I got a good buse down from the AFC creeps for raising this point. These fools blame every ill in the world on the PPP and ex president Jagdeo. 

Dem boys seh … Delta setting distance from Guyana and Jagdeo

February 16, 2013 | By Knews

When dem boys talk that Jagdeo get search de other day and de people find condoms, dem didn’t know that he get suh vex that he attack Delta. Since 9-11 dem airline ain’t tekking no chance; dem would search even dem own grandmother but then again, Jagdeo ain’t nobody grandmother.

When de Customs official at JFK decide to search he hand luggage Jagdeo get vex. He accustom to travel free like if is he own house door he walking through. He ask de man if that is how dem does treat past president. De man refuse to answer he.
He raise he voice pun de man and is then dem boys hear de man tell he fuh shut he mouth and stand up straight. β€œYou was a president in a banana republic and don’t talk up here.”
Dem Guyanese who been in de vicinity get vex because dem don’t like people handle dem own but is when Jagdeo announce that he gun deal wid de airline that people back off. Well Delta announce that it pulling out. But then again, dem boys believe that Delta was playing dead fuh see wha funeral it gun get. Anyhow, de airline serious. De Americans tell de airline that Jagdeo vex and he can hurt de airline. He was de man who always ending up wid crooked people and one of dem Ed Ah Mad actually mek he get search because Ed boast how Jagdeo was he friend. De Americans had dem hand pun Ed and dem decide fuh keep a close eye pun all he friends.

Then there was Sonny. Same thing. Sonny come and Guyana welcome he wid open arms. De Feds lock dem arms round he and to this day he can’t even sleep in he own bed.
Now dem got Naresh. He get nuff big position in Guyana and he even get nuff money fuh Guyana. Now he mek de news fuh all de wrang reason. Now dem boys seh that de Canadians cover down he faults but he get like a bubble. He had to rise to de surface and he want tun Deputy in Caricom.

Well de story come out and dem boys waiting fuh see wha job he gun get when he come back to Guyana.

Talk half and don’t search Jagdeo again.

I wonder since when the USA became an example of perfection.  There are many Americans who despise the tremendous expenditures on defense and indeed last election 51% voted to show this.

As to space expenditures.  Well the recent incident in Russia should indicate to you that if wealthy and technologically advanced nations dont spend money on space your future prospects on this planet will be quite limited.

Vishnu Ezjet died.  Hundreds of Guyanese were greatly inconvenienced, having to buy tickets.  I am sure that many are still waiting to be refunded by Ezjet.

Give up.  After GAC, GA 2000, Leisure, Universal, GuyAmerica, Arrow and now Ezjet arent you all tired of these fly by nights?  They rip off Guyanese and then disappear leaving, yes, the much maligned BWIA/Caribbean Airlines to pick up the pieces.

Do you drive a volkswagon or cowrolla?