Ex-Guatemala President extradited to US

May 25, 2013 | By | Filed Under News 

…to face charges of laundering $70M
(AP) Ex-Guatemalan President Alfonso Portillo was extradited yesterday to the United States to face charges of laundering $70 million in Guatemalan funds through U.S. bank accounts.
The former president was taken from a military hospital where he was recovering from liver surgery and a heart condition and put on a plane, according to his lawyer Mauricio Berreondo. He said the plane was bound for New York after a stop in Miami.

Former Guatemalan President Alfonso Portillo speaks with journalists in Guatemala City before boarding a plane for the U.S. yesterday.

“I blame the government for what could happen to him,” Berreondo said. “Portillo is sick and there are several pending appeals.”
He said one appeal had to do with establishing the state of Portillo’s health.
Portillo, who was Guatemala’s president from 2000-2004, was taken out of the hospital on orders of Interior Secretary Mauricio Lopez Bonilla, Berreondo said.
An Associated Press reporter saw a small white jet carrying Portillo dressed in a black sweatshirt take off late morning local time.
“This decision is an important affirmation of the rule of law and due process in Guatemala,” the U.S. Embassy in Guatemala said in a statement. “We commend the Guatemalan authorities in the strengthening of rule of law and the fight against organized crime and corruption.”
Portillo was turned over to U.S. authorities in the same week that the high court threw out a genocide conviction in another high-profile case against an ex-president, former dictator Efrain Rios Montt. That decision that has been widely questioned and criticized, including in the United States.
Guatemala has been struggling to build a credible justice system, including with the help of a U.N.-sanctioned team of international prosecutors.
For Oscar Vasquez, director of the non-governmental organization Citizen Action, Portillo’s extradition shows the difficulties the country’s justice system is facing.
“As in the case of genocide in Guatemala, the justice system shows signs of chaos, confusion and disorder, given that we no longer know who is right, the state for extraditing him or his defense lawyers,” Vasquez said.
“It seems that we are left to rely on the justice of others,” he added referring to the United States.
In the U.S. case, Portillo allegedly deposited the money in Miami and transferred it to a Paris account in the name of his ex-wife and daughter.
Guatemala’s highest court upheld the extradition last August after it was granted by former President Alvaro Colom as he left office in 2011.
Portillo has called the proceedings a political reprisal by powerful Guatemalan businessmen and the U.S. government for not bending to their interests. He has also said the court agreeing to his extradition constitutes a violation of his human rights.
Upon leaving office in 2004, Portillo fled to Mexico, where he began working as a financial adviser for a construction materials company.
He was extradited from Mexico to Guatemala in 2008 to face embezzlement charges at home.
Portillo was found not guilty in 2011 in Guatemala of charges that he stole $15 million from the country’s Defence Department during his presidency.
In 2010, police captured Portillo at a beach preparing to flee Guatemala by boat, a day after U.S. authorities charged him with laundering money.
While running for president in Guatemala in 1999, Portillo acknowledged he had killed two of his former students while a professor in the Mexican state of Guerrero in 1982.
He said the killings were in self-defence and he fled the state because he could not get a fair trial. The case has since been closed, and he can no longer be charged in those killings.

"the arc of the moral universe is long but it bends towards justice"

[most of] the political gangsters and mega tiefmen in Guyana are relatively young . . . their time will come

we ah watch alyuh

"the arc of the moral universe is long but it bends towards justice"

[most of] the political gangsters and mega tiefmen in Guyana are relatively young . . . their time will come

we ah watch alyuh

Oye redux, poking yuh head out to see the sun?  Unfortunately, you have a looong and very frustrating wait filled with bitter regret for the time wasted.

Originally Posted by Prince:

Who are the mega thieves in Guyana? 

Three fellas to start with.....

Jagdeo....Brassington....Ramotar...

Do U need a Next three from De Mega Thief List...

What happen to Guyana news?

The former president was taken from a military hospital where he was recovering from liver surgery and a heart condition and put on a plane...

Pavi, in times of war you pick sides whether your side is princely or evil. Guyana is not at war, externally or internally, therefore it is smart money to pick the side of right. And again, do not define right by the methodology of them-versus-us.

If the Jagdeo era brought some improvements to the economic culture, technology transfer, and a lifting of the manufacturing capabilities of Guyanese, then put this in the plus column. If the Jagdeo era resorted to actions detrimental to the general uplifting of the larger populace - less income gap, transparency, rule of law, etc. - then you have to consider these in the minus column.

Look at the evidence in front of you instead of recoiling in the mode of an imperfect good (no oxymoron here) for what's good for Guyana. Jalil has been determined in his presentation of what ails Guyana from a governance point of view. It would be wise to examine these on their merit and not invoke the them-versus-us modus operandi.

Pavi, in times of war you pick sides whether your side is princely or evil. Guyana is not at war, externally or internally, therefore it is smart money to pick the side of right.

Guyana is in a constant state of race cold war which erupts into the open every now and then.  The PNC is encouraging you katahars so they get their hands on the mantle again, then you will see them keep their last promise to their people, never again will the PNC leave power.

Their campaigners promised to use the military for perpetual and infinite rule.  That message was loud and clear.  An Afro guy who did not support the PNC posted that on the AFC facebook during the election.  That was their message in the Afro communities.  So, you have to be a dunce or plain stupid to not see it.

Pavi, in times of war you pick sides whether your side is princely or evil. Guyana is not at war, externally or internally, therefore it is smart money to pick the side of right.

Guyana is in a constant state of race cold war which erupts into the open every now and then.  The PNC is encouraging you katahars so they get their hands on the mantle again, then you will see them keep their last promise to their people, never again will the PNC leave power.

Their campaigners promised to use the military for perpetual and infinite rule.  That message was loud and clear.  An Afro guy who did not support the PNC posted that on the AFC facebook during the election.  That was their message in the Afro communities.  So, you have to be a dunce or plain stupid to not see it.

More education - the PNC is a spent force. There are good people in the PPP and the AFC who are the opposition, not the your grandfather's PNC. That's a fading myth. You really don't know Black people. You're too insular in your experience. Go out among Guyanese in Guyana and form your own opinion.

you sending that fool amount the black people he will shit his pants most racist are cowards

More education - the PNC is a spent force.

You are confirming yourself as a dunce every minute.  The PNC a spent for, what a clown you are.

The PNC is very potent and credible, the AFC is the spent force, its running on empty.  There are good people in it, but their hateful stance and irresponsible post election actions have driven many away.

You are confirming yourself as a dunce every minute.  The PNC a spent for, what a clown you are.

The PNC is very potent and credible, the AFC is the spent force, its running on empty.  There are good people in it, but their hateful stance and irresponsible post election actions have driven many away.

THE AFC have the ppp begging the pnc for help the ppp and the pnc distroy guyana for 50 yrs

Clearly, you don't understand the modes of politics.

clearly you donot understand these 2 PARTYS is distroying a country

I would not be so aggressive against the AFC.  The PNC does have a proven track record and have the means.  The AFC is just a barking puppy.

Kari, I have to agree with Baseman on this one. I like this discussion but let it be with mutual respect. The PNC is still a lethal Force. Remember Senios Officers in the GPF and Army are stitched to the PNC.

You better do, is abie pon tap now!!

Pavi bhai, whatever you agree with Baseman note my language and discern if there is any lack of respect.

What you agree with Baseman is that the PNC is a dangerous force, lurking in plain sight and that the AFC is doing their bidding. Dead wrong my friend. Also, today's Indians are not your grandfather's Indians. Different min-set, different controls, etc.

You also seem to agree with the faith-like belief of Baseman that Blacks are evil as Blacks make up the PNC and the PNC is all Blacks. Dead wrong again my friend.

You seem to agree with Baseman that Karimullah is a dunce....well, what can I say!

Mothers always say, "sjhow my your company and I will tell you what type of person yo are and what your character is". Well, Baseman comes highly advertized. He's a lonely fellow.....maybe that's why its so seductive for you. You're better than that.

Kari, I have to agree with Baseman on this one. I like this discussion but let it be with mutual respect. The PNC is still a lethal Force. Remember Senios Officers in the GPF and Army are stitched to the PNC.[BLACKMAN]

. . . the horror!

fuh alyuh, ANY blackman [not named Luncheon] in ANY position of real authority in Guyana is a Burnhamite PNCEE, posing an existential threat to the [PPP?] state

alyuh comfort zone . . .

Pavi bhai, whatever you agree with Baseman note my language and discern if there is any lack of respect.

What you agree with Baseman is that the PNC is a dangerous force, lurking in plain sight and that the AFC is doing their bidding. Dead wrong my friend. Also, today's Indians are not your grandfather's Indians. Different min-set, different controls, etc.

You also seem to agree with the faith-like belief of Baseman that Blacks are evil as Blacks make up the PNC and the PNC is all Blacks. Dead wrong again my friend.

You seem to agree with Baseman that Karimullah is a dunce....well, what can I say!

Mothers always say, "sjhow my your company and I will tell you what type of person yo are and what your character is". Well, Baseman comes highly advertized. He's a lonely fellow.....maybe that's why its so seductive for you. You're better than that.

Kari, basemen is more in-demand than you wish to believe.

The AFC is a barking pup, the PNC is the pit bull.

You will see about "different mind-set" next election.  Indians and willing to give pluralism a chance, but Afros are hell bent on attaining power and resurrect the PNC old order.  The Indians who ventured out from under the "umbrella" got a good cold shower last election.  Dem all back unda deh mumma and daady umbrella now.

Karimullah bai, you live in the US not Guyana, you hardly have any active contacts there.  I know of youth crying to their parents thinking they sold out to the PNC by voting AFC.  They felt conned by the Afro youths who they thought would have come over with them.  You will see the back-lash next election.

As I said in another post, Afros are the racist ones, Indians just reciprocate while naive (katahar) clowns try to re-define the truth.  Kari, you are not a good inductive reasoner, you miscalculate, then you refuse to look into the rear view mirror to not see you errors.

You see Karimullah, don't take it bad, 75% of the world work by detection, i.e. they can decipher something very good after it has happened.  Zum Beispiel, you will not see the failure of Obama until he leaves power and you say wow, before - after little difference.  This is unlike baseman, the other 25%, who could listen, analyze current situation and predict, within reason, an outcome.   Baseman gave him the benefit of the doubt first term.  After that, I say this boy goes no where, but alyuh seh great man.  Now look, Iraq pale in comparison to Obama's Mid-East mess.

Karimullah, this is why I like BJ, that lil c00l1e bai changed the paradigm in Guyana.  Alyuh katahars still playing catch-up.

". . . basemen is more in-demand than you wish to believe . . ."

indeed bai . . . the dustbins of history are littered stuffed with the folly engineered by ignar racists who prance and preen and pretend to substance . . . remember, it takes NO COURAGE at all to appeal to the basest of human instincts

i seem to remember a certain little man with a small mustache and one testicle who used the indignities of Versailles to manipulate an entire people into condoning unspeakable evil committed in their name

hmmm . . .?

Originally Posted by Ronald Sugrim:

of course you would know about his testicle

since you bit into his icicle! 

From his postings, Redux seems infactuated by panty, penis and testicles.  He seems sexually disoriented.  His wife probably pulled the plug on him.

indeed bai . . . the dustbins of history are stuffed with the folly engineered by ignar racists who prance and preen and pretend to substance . . . remember, it takes NO COURAGE at all to appeal to the basest of human instincts

i seem to remember a certain little man with a small mustache and one testicle who used the indignities of Versailles to manipulate an entire people into condoning unspeakable evil committed in their name

hmmm . . .?

indeed bai . . . the dustbins of history are stuffed with the folly engineered by ignar racists who prance and preen and pretend to substance . . . remember, it takes NO COURAGE at all to appeal to the basest of human instincts

hmmm . . .?

hmmm . . .?

of course you would know about his testicle 

since you bit into his icicle!