Prime Minister tells May Day rally of devastation of average worker

…if critical AML/CFT Bill is not enacted

ACTING President, Samuel Hinds yesterday underscored the fact that the struggle of the workers in Guyana is not over .At the FITUG rally at the National Park, Thomas Lands, Hinds drew the nexus between the welfare of Guyanese workers and the “looming sword” that is the non-enactment of the critically important Anti-Money Laundering and Countering the Financing of Terrorism (AML/CFT) Bill looming over the country.

A section of the workers who participated in this year’s May Day parade, which culminated with a rally at the National Park, Thomas Lands, Georgetown

He bemoaned the consequences of the Bill’s non-passage in the National Assembly, and made it clear that the Government’s position on the matter is both reasonable and indicative of its willingness to compromise.
The Acting President was emphatic in pointing out that the actions of the Parliamentary Opposition, A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) and the Alliance For Change (AFC), will being “devastation” to the average worker in Guyana.
“The AML/CFT Bill must be above negotiations…it is not a tool for Opposition brinkmanship,” he said.
Hinds stressed the need for the support of all Guyanese in advancing the call for the passage of the Bill, which will bring the country into compliance with international regulations for operations in the financial sector.
The deadline for Guyana to demonstrate compliance is May 29; and if it passes without the enactment of the AML/CFT Bill, the country can be recommended to the international body, the Financial Action Task Force (FATF), for review by the International Cooperation Review Group (ICRG). If that recommendation is made, Guyana could face further sanctions, including being internationally blacklisted. Guyana has already been blacklisted regionally by the Caribbean Action Task Force (CFATF) after missing a November 2013 deadline.

CONCERNS
Aside from the AML/CFT Bill, Hinds acknowledged the other concerns of workers, including the minimum wage.
He contends that with incremental successes recorded in the nation’s economy, as evidenced in the last eight years, the livelihood of the working class is consistently improved.
“There have been rapid changes,” the Acting President said.
He pointed out that additional measures that were to be introduced have been affected to the extent of the $37.4B cut from the $220M national budget by the Parliamentary Opposition.
The 2014 Budget included no new taxes and announcements that: old age pensions would be increased from $12,500 to $13,600 – up from $3,500 in 2006; old age pensioners would receive an annual electricity assistance of $30,000, an increase from $20,000; and a $10,000 allowance for each child in the public education system.
Among other measures announced were the allocation of $3.2B to meet the cost of maintaining the electricity subsidy in Linden and Kwakwani, Region 10; $3.7B to the Guyana Power and Light Company, to support critical capital expenditure and avoid increased tariffs for consumers; $1B for rural enterprise development; $200M for advancement of efforts in other agricultural areas; and an investment of $800M in the tourism industry for the establishment of a Hospitality Institute.
According to him, the 2014 Budget sought to continue the work the Government has been doing to build a more modern and prosperous Guyana.
Hinds quoted the Finance Minister, Dr. Ashni Singh, in his 2014 budget speech when he said, “Every day, each and every single one of us has an opportunity to make Guyana a better place, for ourselves and for our countrymen. Whether we teach a child to read or we repair an engine, treat a patient or saw some timber, pan some gold or cut some cane, paint a fence or sew some trousers, bake some bread or sell an insurance policy, create a job or open a business, build a bridge or carve a sculpture, we are producing and we are earning, and the more of it we do and the more efficiently we do it, the more prosperous we will be and so too our country.”
The Acting President acknowledged that there is more to do, but stressed that every Guyanese worker must recognise that the tasks of improving our own lives and making Guyana a better place are no less in our own hands than in anyone else’s.

NEW APPROACH
General-Secretary of the Federation of Independent Trade Unions of Guyana (FITUG), Kenneth Joseph, who also delivered an address during the rally, called for a new approach by workers in their daily struggles and the attempts to “destroy” organised labour in Guyana.
Similar sentiments were expressed by FITUG’s Vice President, Komal Chand, who noted that the struggles that defined the labour revolution that resulted in the observance of May Day, are being replayed in a new context.
To this end, he made it clear that the working class must continue its fight for fairness, justice and democracy.
According to him, Guyanese workers are not “amused by political gladiators” who stymie development and, by extension, affect the improvement of their livelihood.
President of FITUG, Carvil Duncan, assured of the Union’s support and added that a union that is not guided by the interest of its members has failed.
He referred to false promises of politicians at election time who seemingly forget the people, once elected as representatives, and vote against key development initiatives.
Duncan also bemoaned the fact that there are some factions that have lost their identity at the altar of political advancement.
The FITUG President noted that while much has been done, there is still much more to be done to ensure all workers in Guyana have access to improved livelihood.
In addition to the trade union leaders, General-Secretaries of the People Progressive Party (PPP) and Guyana Rice Producers’ Association (RPA), Clement Rohee and Dharamkumar Seeraj, as well as Government Ministers, and former Members of Parliament (MPs) were present at yesterday’s rally.

(By Vanessa Narine )

source: Guyanachronicle

Sugar worker dies on duty, but no compensation for family

April 29, 2014 | By | Filed Under Letters 

DEAR EDITOR, About two weeks ago a young man employed by Guysuco Blairmont Estate died while at work in the backdam. According to the post mortem, the cause of death was drowning.  Therefore I can clearly and safely say that the young man died on duty at the Blairmont Estate by drowning. The thirty-two year-old man was living with his parents, and had no children. He was employed with Guysuco for about ten years as a planter and attached to QHE 1 gang at the said estate. A few days back, the management of Blairmont Estate called in the father of the young man for talks on compensation, but nothing came out of that meeting.  In fact, management of the estate is saying that if the young man has a wife they will create a job for her at the estate and that’s all they can do to compensate the family. They are saying that Guysuco has no money. It’s sad to see that young brothers are working for the betterment of themselves and Guysuco, but yet they are being treated time and time again as slaves for the industry.  One would have thought that this industry cares for the welfare of the families of the workers, but it clearly shows that this government and Guysuco have no time for the welfare of workers. All the family received from Guysuco is a quantity of items to the value of about ten thousand dollars for the wake and also the entity paid for the storage of the body for about four days. That’s all the management of this industry had to offer a worker’s family when that worker died on duty.  What happened to all the benefits that the workers ought to have if they died on duty? So Guysuco is saying to the workers in general, ‘we don’t care if you have ten, twenty, thirty years service with us and die on duty, there is nothing for your family to have except sending your wife to work with us’. The workers of this industry have now gone back to the days of slavery, when the masters would work them to death and offer nothing to the family when they died on duty. Is this what we want for our brothers and sisters?  Is this what we want for our families that lost their loved ones in the line of duty in the industry?  Is this what we want; to send our wives to be slaves in the sugar industry when the husband passes away? This is the time for the workers to stand up for their rights, because what goes for one will surely happen to the rest of them.  Where is the PPP/C top brass that used the workers to protest for Guysuco, telling the opposition that they are taking bread and butter out of the mouth of the families of the workers if they cut Guysuco’s budgetary allocation? Now let Guyana decide who are the ones taking bread and butter out of the mouth of this young man’s family. His father is a pensioner and mother a housewife, so who will cater for them now? Who will provide the bread and butter for the parents? How can this PPP/C administration claim that they are for the working class and yet they cannot see to it that the family of this young man who died on duty is compensated properly? Gone are the days of slavery. Abel Seetaram

Shot policeman calls for assistance from Police Force

May 1, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

ElvisSamuel Elvis, the 23-year-old policeman who recently had his leg amputated, is calling on the Commissioner of Police, Seelall Persaud, to look into his plight and offer some assistance.

The Lot 4 Bella Dam, Pouderoyen, West Bank Demerara resident told Kaieteur News yesterday that ever since he was shot on March 20, no one from the Guyana Police Force has visited him.

“I was not doing my own thing when I get shoot, I was at work, and nobody come forward yet to tell me anything. I was injured on the job, so as far as I know, I’m entitled to some form of compensation or so.”

The man recalled it being sometime after 01:00 hrs on March 20, when he and another rank were asked to uplift a lost weapon belonging to the Guyana Defence Force. Elvis said that he and his colleague were at the base waiting to lodge the weapon when a Corporal picked it up and cranked it.

The father of one said that after the gun went off, he realized blood was pouring from his right leg. Elvis was shot at the back of the knee.

“I can’t really say if it was intentional, but I know that me and de Corporal had a li’l talking a while back, suh I don’t know if he coulda shot me deliberately because of that. The whole incident is 50-50. It could ah been both; an accident, or something deliberate.”

Elvis told this publication that the errant officer has not made contact with him since the episode.

“If it wasn’t intentional, the least he could’ve done was call and say sorry. But nobody did that. I just here with one leg and nobody ain’t seem to care,” Elvis lamented.

Elvis said that sleepless nights have become the story of his life, since he is not sure how he would be able to take care of his family, especially his one-year-old daughter.

“I can’t go back to being an active policeman. I lose my leg. Me ain’t de same way I was before, and is nah my fault. I waiting to hear something from the Force. I need to know wha my next move is,” Elvis said.

He noted that after being shot, he and his family were informed that the Commissioner of Police would soon be visiting his home.

“That’s why I didn’t really fight up much to get help, because I seh he gon visit and I gon know wha I deh pon, but I waiting and waiting, and till today, after all that happen to me, nobody ain’t come.”

Elvis said that he has been hearing from friends that he is being considered for a desk position within the Force, but this has not been confirmed.

“I would love if they give me any kind of a job. I know my life ain’t gon be the same anymore, but I have to stop crying and get on with my life…take care of my daughter and so.”

The injured cop said that so far, he is being taken care of by his parents. However, as school reopens, his mother, who sells eatables at a school, would have to return to work.

“Plus my father take leave, and he gon have to go back soon. My condition coming around, but I still getting bad pains, and I have to use taxis and so now, so it hard on me all round,” Elvis said.

He is calling on the Commissioner of Police and Minister of Home Affairs, Clement Rohee, to look into his plight and lend some assistance.

“I can’t help but say that I was shot on the job, and I am asking for something that they should have done ever since the incident. I am asking that they provide me with some compensation and a desk job. It’s all I’m asking

If the AML Bill is not enacted, it will affect every single Guyanese no matter their political persuasion, when this happens (God forbid) the blame would be placed at the doorsteps of the AFC/APNU.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

If the AML Bill is not enacted, it will affect every single Guyanese no matter their political persuasion, when this happens (God forbid) the blame would be placed at the doorsteps of the AFC/APNU.

Then the Duck can call an election. No?

The AFC/APNU may hang themselves with their own rope as we more closer and closer to the next constitutionally due general elections, the AFC/APNU continues to lose support, the AFC in particular is almost to the point of no return, even their "Moses" is no long a person of influence in the sugar belt.

Influence??? Bhai leh meh behave meself.

Moses think he can part the Demarara River and turn his cane into a snake. Wait, is he a reincarnation?

"Moses" has become a political reject in every sense of the word, he's now trying his best to attract a ray of limelight....his days on politics is not far from its twilight..

Moses think he can part the Demarara River and turn his cane into a snake. Wait, is he a reincarnation?

Such nonsense. 

Where is Nehru? He needs to take care of the queen of nonsense.