Remittances have nothing to do with GDP or GNP. Remittances are not produced internally; they are external financial assistance to supplement the incomes of individuals and households. I'm not an economist, only a communist.

Remittances do enter the economy, once either spent, or deposited in bank accounts.   In addition there has been heavy expenditures in real estate by overseas Guyanese in recent years.

Take away gold and remittances, and the failure of the PPP would be apparent, even to people like ramakant.

Guyana is not a nation, it's a piece of real estate occupied by two main antagonists. 

To you and the rest of the Indo KKK, Guyana is a piece of real estate, as you fantasize about your Mother India (which doesn't seem to want you).

To the rest of us Guyana is way more than that, and there is are distinct Guyanese identities.

Guyana is not a nation, it's a piece of real estate occupied by two main antagonists. 

To you and the rest of the Indo KKK, Guyana is a piece of real estate, as you fantasize about your Mother India (which doesn't seem to want you).

To the rest of us Guyana is way more than that, and there is are distinct Guyanese identities.

Actually no, I fantasize "Amerindia". I was welcomed to stay in India, not wish, I prefer my own Amerindia.

Indeed you do...

Originally Posted by TK:

The stereotypes run deep, but I am not so sure the vast majority of Indos see Afros as stupid as you said.

And what proof do Africans have of that.  When leading Indian entities like Jagdeo, Ravi Dev, the Guyana Times, the PPP controlled Chronicle, West on Trial, etc., paint blacks as violent and unproductive savages, only interested on leaching off Indians, do we hear many Indians condemning that?

NO!  Even as they called people like Eric Phillips, David Hinds, and Nigel Hughes racists for raising the fact that institutionalized racism against Africans was a factor of PPP rule.

So we are left with the conclusion that yes, most Indians do subscribe to a racist notion of what black people are, and I dare you to find proof otherwise.

I have written extensively on this matter. Most Guyanese are racists as manifested in the racial votes. I have always said that. If you ask them in a survey whether they are racist they will say no. So, you need indirect measures like voting preferences. Indeed, Guyana Times and Chronicle led the anti-black racism since 2011. I am perhaps one of the first to point this out. You also had Mighty Rebel singing a calypso "Desi Yuh Wrong" and being cheered by thousands of Afro Guyanese at the National Park. It is said Hammie pulled a gun on Desi because like Mighty Rebel he felt rigging election is the way to maintain power. The Granger govt gave him one of the country's hightest National Awards. As I said, we have to look at racial preferences indirectly since most of them will deny. So here again is one set of indicator of how racist the country really is:

Table 2A         Source of votes and party identification by ethnicity

2014   Survey

Ethnic   identification with parties - %

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

2009   Survey

Source   of votes by ethnicity - %

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

2006   Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

Source: LAPOP 2006, 2009 and   2014

Originally Posted by TK:

The stereotypes run deep, but I am not so sure the vast majority of Indos see Afros as stupid as you said.

And what proof do Africans have of that.  When leading Indian entities like Jagdeo, Ravi Dev, the Guyana Times, the PPP controlled Chronicle, West on Trial, etc., paint blacks as violent and unproductive savages, only interested on leaching off Indians, do we hear many Indians condemning that?

NO!  Even as they called people like Eric Phillips, David Hinds, and Nigel Hughes racists for raising the fact that institutionalized racism against Africans was a factor of PPP rule.

So we are left with the conclusion that yes, most Indians do subscribe to a racist notion of what black people are, and I dare you to find proof otherwise.

I have written extensively on this matter. Most Guyanese are racists as manifested in the racial votes. I have always said that. If you ask them in a survey whether they are racist they will say no. So, you need indirect measures like voting preferences. Indeed, Guyana Times and Chronicle led the anti-black racism since 2011. I am perhaps one of the first to point this out. You also had Mighty Rebel singing a calypso "Desi Yuh Wrong" and being cheered by thousands of Afro Guyanese at the National Park. It is said Hammie pulled a gun on Desi because like Mighty Rebel he felt rigging election is the way to maintain power. The Granger govt gave him one of the country's hightest National Awards. As I said, we have to look at racial preferences indirectly since most of them will deny. So here again is one set of indicator of how racist the country really is:

2014   Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

2009   Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

2006   Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

Moreover, what I have tried to do is show that Indian and Black racism are endogenous as they are fighting for limited economically/competitively exploitable resources and opportunities. I tried to model this as a prisoners dilemma game to show how they are shooting themselves in the feet...and they don't even know it.  

Originally Posted by TK:

2014   Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

2009   Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

2006   Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

a couple of things

the Guyana Chronicle did not become a racist blight on the Guyanese landscape only since 2011, and u very well know that

further, "rigging elections" is one key way dictatorships maintain themselves in power; it is not a marker for "racism"!

similarly, PPP rigging, authoritarian tactics and tiefman strategies to maintain itself in power are not necessarily "racist" but cross over (recognizably) into that realm when they start the kind of thing that landed Bharat Jagdeo in court per the salutory efforts of citizen Christopher Ram

Originally Posted by TK:

2014   Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

2009   Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

2006   Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

a couple of things

the Guyana Chronicle did not become a racist blight on the Guyanese landscape only since 2011, and u very well know that

further, "rigging elections" is one key way dictatorships maintain themselves in power; it is not a marker for "racism"!

similarly, PPP rigging, authoritarian tactics and tiefman strategies to maintain itself in power are not necessarily "racist" but cross over (recognizably) into that realm when they start the kind of thing that landed Bharat Jagdeo in court per the salutory efforts of citizen Christopher Ram

It just so happen that in the case of Guyana election rigging and strong man methods have a deep racial coincidence. I have to be honest. I don't read the Chronicle, except recently in the past few years. I would not be surprised they were race-baiting before 2011.

Originally Posted by TK:

2014   Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

2009   Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

2006   Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

Guyanese vote based upon ethnic insecurity. And they have solid reasons to have these fears.

We have seen a whole narrative of the "black savage and the good Indian", and it is repeated here.  Have you written against this narrative, and attacked those who peddle it? 

In addition we have an embellished narrative peddled by the Guyana Times, and The Chronicle (under the PPP), and by ROAR and Ravi Dev, and Ryhaan Shah, and the racist pandit, who further add that blacks are lazy, unproductive, and have as their sole goal to live off Indians.

In fact the PPP used this narrative, WITH THE FULL SUPPORT of the MAJORITY of the Indian population, to exclude black people, and to portray us as a people unfit to lead.

These views have been peddled so frequently on GNI, that in some quarters it has become seen as a hate site.  So much so that the vast majority of the blacks, who used to post here, left.  And the few who remain are branded as racists because we REFUSE to remain silent in the face of this bigotry against Afro Guyanese.

At what point did you confront these views which became dominant.

So here is where Africans were by 2006.

1.  Those who said that Hoyte was wrong, felt vindicated, when the PPP (and the Indian population at large) treated blacks exactly as they said that they would.

2. Blacks like David Hinds, and the others in the WPA, who fought for multi racial Guyana, and who remained opposed to the PNC, until recently, felt USED by the Indians, who proceeded to establish or condone the PPP evolving into a racist party as the PNC certainly was under Burnham.

You have spent more time attacking me, who raise these issues, than you do attacking baseman, cobra, yuji,rev,skeldonman, conscience, billy ramgoat, and others who displayed attitudes wuite in keeping with a white supremacist hate site.

Here is the issue.  When Indians like YOU, do NOT openly condemn Indian racism, in the way that Africans like David Hinds, Andaiye, Bonita Harris, Eusi Kwayana, and many others confronted African racism, then Indians will continue to be seen by most non Indians as an ethnically exclusive group, who don't care the slightest about other Guyanese.

You want Africans to begin to trust Indians.  Well OPENLY condemn Indian racists just as many Africans condemned African racism.  One does NOT see Africans peddling the racist stereotypes of Indians in credible media that one used to see against Africans during the PPP era.  

Originally Posted by TK:

Moreover, what I have tried to do is show that Indian and Black racism are endogenous as they are fighting for limited economically/competitively exploitable resources and opportunities. I tried to model this as a prisoners dilemma game to show how they are shooting themselves in the feet...and they don't even know it.  

You are missing the point.  Race based voting is a SYMPTOM of a problem.  It is not THE problem.  Africans/mixed and Indians vote race as they have had experience of living in Guyana, and they know that BOTH the PPP and the PNC have used ethnically exclusive measures to retain power.  So they vote by fear.

So this isn't the issue.  The issue is that African racism was confronted, not only by Indians, but even by many African intellectuals. We have not seen the same when it comes to Indian racism. 

We see two reactions.  The first being the openly bigoted racists, and the second being the majority who remain silent, that is until an African begins to speak of the impact that Indian racism had on Africans between 1992-2015.   They then attack the African as a racist for bringing up the issue.

Now why do the socalled moderate Indians only attack Africans when they raise the topic of Indian racism.  Because Indians, BOTH the racists, and the moderates, have been fed a diet of "baad black man, good Indian," by the PPP, and hold themselves as the moral superiors of Africans. 

So Africans, who EQUATE Indian racism with African racism (as do I), become a threat because they threaten to expose the fact that Indians are EQUALLY culpable in excluding Africans (trying and failing to do so in 1957-64, but being very successful in 1992-2015).

By ignoring Indian racism, and calling Africans who discuss this racists, you pathetically try to maintain this moral superiority.  But alas, as heads of state entities are being released, we see that there are almost  NO Africans to be so penalized?  How so in a society when Africans have been administrators since the COLONIAL era?

Originally Posted by VVP:

Jalil, Ah hope yuh getting paid for your service

Bhai.....

not sharing Henney & Porkey like dem Crab Louse.

But Shitye & "J" as in Jenny  been braggin

how Dem Ole PNC troop of Howler 

chase me way from Monkey Mountain.

David trying with them

EMPTY VESSEL....

Did you know? The howler monkey is the loudest of all monkeys and their howl can carry for three miles through dense forest.

Visit Guyana's photo.

#‎WildWednesday‮

David say
the Bengal Tiger 
Graham Watkins's photo.
protecting him from
them Empty Vessel Howlers..... 

Originally Posted by TK:

2014   Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

2009   Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

2006   Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

Bump!

Originally Posted by TK:

2014   Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

2009   Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

2006   Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

Bump!

2006 and 2014 present different info from 2009...but the raced based voting is evident.

Originally Posted by VVP:
Originally Posted by TK:

2014   Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

2009   Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

2006   Survey

PPP

PNC

AFC

Mixed

Amerindian

Black

Indian

Bump!

2006 and 2014 present different info from 2009...but the raced based voting is evident.

This data paints a horrible picture of who we are. The sharp sharp segmentation into  ethnic blocks speaks to a complete and total philosophical and psychological schism. We are a society completely bereft of  a national summoning creed. Were we a people with a rational belief system, the  data would have shown a discernible skewing in one direction or another over the various elections. We are a completely vacuous lot!

However, I can make a case for the Amerinds as outliers. They are a trapped polity and goes wither the wind blows given who is in power.

But this kind of data cannot exit in situ. They must have triggers. What I wrote on another thread that is getting such negative feed back is an explanation why these numbers exist.

Originally Posted by Danyael:
!

This data paints a horrible picture of who we are. The sharp sharp segmentation into  ethnic blocks speaks to a complete and total philosophical and psychological schism.

Racial voting is a SYMPTOM of a problem, and not the problem itself.

PPP 1961-64.  Won by playing apan jhat. This because with an Indian electorate which was skeptical of Marxist Leninism, but being the largest voting block, appealing to their ethnic loyalties was a sure way to guarantee success.

Tried to intimidate the African and mixed middle class, but failed, the result being the 62/63 unrest.  The lesson was learned that the PPP couldn't be trusted by the African and mixed middle class, as it was an ethnically based party, which sought to marginalize them.

PNC 1964-1990.  Exclusion of Indians by the Burnham faction, which pandered to, but destroyed the African working class, which they used to secure power by playing on their fear of "clannish Indians".  Indians never forgave the PNC for its behavior, even though Hoyte sharply reduced the level of Indian exclusion.

PPP 1992-2015.  Enters in full ethnic revenge mode to teach the PNC a lesson for removing them in 1964 and to play on the Indian angst arising from PNC exclusion of Indians.  The PPP sets out to exclude Africans as the PNC did Indians.

So given that all Guyanese have seen since 1961 is ethnic exclusion and revenge, why do you blame them for voting race? 

The lesson they learned is that "my guy might be an incompetent and corrupt devil, but at least he isn't going to totally starve me the way that your guy certainly will".  The spoils are distributed to the elites on an ETHNIC basis, and the elites ensure power by exploiting the ethnic insecurity fears of the masses.