This19-year-old Cotton Tree Village resident gave his life for credible general and regional elections in Guyana. His ultimate sacrifice must be saluted and remembered.
Condolences to the family of this young man.
WHERE IS DJANGO? .... I AM SAYING HE IS A PART OF THE GUILTY PARTY FOR THE CAUSE OF THIS YOUNG MAN DEATH.
HE IS ON RECORD AS SAYING, HE WILL GET THE LAST LAUGH. HE HAS JOINT THE LIST OF COLLIE TRAITORS.
I AM CALLING ON AMRAL TO REDRAW THE TRANSFER OF THIS FORUM TO DJANGO IN MEMORY OF THIS YOUNG MAN.
Django has taken some voluntary time away from posting on the forum. Respect his wishes.
Guyana's political history has recorded some remarkable coincidences. Leonora martyr Kowsilla was killed on MARCH 6, 1964. Dr Cheddi Jagan died on MARCH 6, 1997. Devon Hansraj was killed on MARCH 6, 2020.
I mourn the death of Devon Hansraj. But, he was shot while attacking policemen with a cutlass. His death could be credited to the Jagdeo/Ali cabal.
@Former Member Have you read the reports on circumstances surrounding the death of the young man?
@Dave Here is what you said in a post:"HE IS ON RECORD AS SAYING, HE WILL GET THE LAST LAUGH. HE HAS JOINT THE LIST OF COLLIE TRAITORS."
This is unquestionably a racist statement. You must know that in a racial confrontation in Guyana the "Collies" can't win. It would be poor, innocent people who would die while the Pradoville crooks will live the good life. You may want reflect on your statement.
Gilly,
You old PPP guys love to misclassify Martyrs.
Sad that this youngman lost his life but he a d the others chose to set fire and destroy their own village which is predominatly PPP.
I have close relatives that lives there and from all reports there was no need for the destructive behavior by many of the PPP supporters yesterday at Cotton Tree.
On the other hand , the Police need to show more restraint.
Guyana's political history has recorded some remarkable coincidences. Leonora martyr Kowsilla was killed on MARCH 6, 1964. Dr Cheddi Jagan died on MARCH 6, 1997. Devon Hansraj was killed on MARCH 6, 2020.
Also every 28 yrs election has been a very crucial/ critical. 1964,1992,2020.
If the press reports are correct the police did show restraint. I was shocked to read that the young man was shot as he was chopping two officers who had run out of ammunition. The officer who shot him apparently had arrived from another location where there was a confrontation.
Hansraj is the nephew of âRomeo Mysticâ, a local singer who is popularly known for the song âLive life like we at the cricketâ,
@Totaram.. please explain further to your comment
âYou must know that in a racial confrontation in Guyana the "Collies" can't win. It would be poor, innocent people who would dieâ
BLOOD ON THE HANDS OF GRANGER AND RAMJHATTAM. THEY MUST BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE!!
The female police officer who was injured was not a target from the crowd, she ran and fell down and the crowd fall on her, thatâs how her feet was hurt. Many officers were shelter by Indians.
The police should answer to the cartridge that kill the young man.
A Martyr indeed!! May his soul RIP!! His death must not be in vain. Democracy must win!! Time for the decent societies to quell the Monster!!
@Former Member You want me to explain my statement about "coolies can't win." Have you seen the composition of the security forces? Have you seen the composition of GECOM? Have you seen the composition of the Judiciary? Do you want me to explain further? Have you seen any attacks on Pradoville? Yes, it is the poor and innocent who die to keep the crooks in Pradoville. If the coolies had insisted on honest , upright leadership in the PPP a lot of the current problems would have been avoided.
So a cutlass wielding young man who attacked the police was a martyr for the PPP? So black men are bandits, and Indian men are martyrs?
Totaram is being foolish as usual. The "Pradoville Crooks" are not responsibility for the mayhem yesterday. That blame falls on Granger and the PNC dominated Coalition who refused to do the right thing at elections time. It is the same damn nonsense every elections time. The PNC cannot accept defeat peacefully and violence always follow. But Totaram prefers to deflect to matters that are totally unrelated to the incidents yesterday. What is completely missing from her comments so far is a call for the Coalition to do the right thing and respect the choice of the electorate.
For your information Totaram, it seems that the electorate chose those "Pradoville Crooks" over Church Boy Granger and his Cabal. Now what does that say about your church boy and his cabal?
Our likkle brother Hansraj is hero and martyr. RIP. Abie go mek wan memorial foh him.
Did Django go into hiding with Claudette and Lowenfield? I hope they donât run out of medication.
Can someone please advise why the burning on the roads yesterday by PPP supporters, especially their own village?
Chief can you please explain why the PNC is trying to steal a whole country while the whole world is watching?
@Chief bunning road is wan ting frustrate peopkle since 1998 was doing. Do not single out dem likkle Indo bais.
Canât they use rubber bullets?
@Chief, sign of protest. Stupid question!
Bibi
That is simple to explain!
Granger and APNU includinging Nagamootoo and Ramjatan are a let down to the entire nation.
They are a pack of thugs and thieves!
There is no need for violent protests!
@Baseman "Canât they use rubber bullets?" Watching the events in Guyana and the discussion here and elsewhere my question is: Couldn't the parents of some these people have used rubber?
@Totaram stop the personal attacks. You are distracting from the real issues under discussion. If you donât understand what is going on, stay out of big people story.
@Bibi Haniffa Sorry if you took the part about using rubber personally. The fact that I don't agree with you doesn't mean I don't understand the issues. I understand the issues way better than you.
Totaram this is NOT time for your usual BULLSHIT, can you speak to the issue of a Criminal PNC, whether you think they are rigging the Election and trampling of the Rule Of Law, Democracy and decency?? Bullshit is easy!!!
You are absolutely correct Nehru.
This is a time for calm and sensible discussions, information, etc.
Totaram this is NOT time for your usual BULLSHIT, can you speak to the issue of a Criminal PNC, whether you think they are rigging the Election and trampling of the Rule Of Law, Democracy and decency??
Bullshit is easy!!!
Rubber bullets should be the normal ammunition for most instances with real bullets to be use as a last resort by select armed officers
Canât they use rubber bullets?
This thread is about making someone a martyr, one who apparently attacked police with a cutlass...was he defending himself and others from an attacking force? If so, brave guy, if not, stupid guy.
Had a black person been shot instead, would he have been a martyr or a hooligan being taken out?
@cain de man attack de govt foh stealin he right. He party win de eleckshun. Hansraj is a HERO! Abie go erect wan monument foh he.
He was then shot for trying to kill police. Would you stand there and be killed or shoot the person coming toward you?
@cain dat is resistence against wan illegal govt. A govt of one lovers and chuch going street walkers. He gat all right foh kill peopkle from wan illegal govt who oppress he. Dat is what any American do. Liberty or dead!!! Hansraj is wan hero!!