RISING TIDE OF PROSPERITY

The recent CPL matches have brought to the surface a number of realities about our economic and social life. 

The first is that Guyanese love their cricket and they take their cricket seriously. All of the three matches played attracted huge turnouts, but it was the match against the Jamaican Tallawahs that generated the most excitement, no doubt because it is regarded as one of the more competitive teams in the tournament. Indeed, the Jamaican Tallawahs are the defending champions after edging out our own Amazon Warriors in the finals played about two years ago.

Beating the Tallawahs on home turf would have been sweet revenge but that was not to be. The Amazon Warriors lost the match in a nail biting finish even though many felt that the Warriors should have won that match given the relatively modest chasing target and the wickets in hand.

But that is cricket, a game of glorious uncertainties. In the end, it is the better team that wins and like it or not, we just have to accept the results and learn to live with it.

In this regard, Dr. Bobby Ramroop and his New GPC deserve to be commended for obtaining the franchise for the games under the Limacol brand which, apart from providing entertainment, would also boost tourist arrivals to the country.

The scent of victory is always sweet. I thought and reflected on this fact as I watched the agonizing loss of Brazil in the World Cup semi-finals and the defeat of Argentina in the finals. The World Cup moment clearly belonged to the victorious German team who received a tumultuous welcome home. Many of us in this part of the world were batting for Brazil, but Brazil failed to live up to our expectations and suffered a humiliating defeat in the semi-finals.

This is a bit of a departure from the main thrust of this article which has to do with the rising tide of prosperity in Guyana, and the manner in which such enhanced levels of spending is being manifested.

I have watched the CPL T20 in several venues, but I have not seen any that can match the turnout and crowd exuberance that I saw at the Providence Stadium. I am willing to concede that I could be biased, but I am still to be convinced that there is any other venue in the Caribbean that is as subscribed in terms of ticket sales and crowd support as our own Providence Stadium.

Indeed, because of the huge turnout at cricketing and other social activities at the Providence Stadium, an entire entertainment complex has sprouted in the immediate vicinity of the Stadium, which includes a modern hotel and several drinking spots which are doing good business, especially when the Stadium comes alive with mega activities.

The number of vehicles on our roads is another indication of prosperity. The per capita ownership of motor vehicles have increased exponentially, while our road networks have only been expanded in a linear manner which obviously is a huge challenge if not a nightmare to navigate, especially during peak hours.

The construction of four lane roads on the East and West Coast Demerara corridors will go a far way in terms of easing traffic congestion on these two major roadways to and from the capital city of Georgetown. I do feel, however, that the time is quickly approaching when we have to consider new bypass roads, especially on our main intersections.

As the economy grows and the productive capacity of the country expands, an increasing number of Guyanese will be in a position to own their own vehicles and other fixed assets, including their own homes. This process is further facilitated by easier credits and loans from the banking system which is now experiencing a problem of excess liquidity as a consequence of high savings. One manifestation of this phenomenon is the low interest rate on savings on the one hand, and a comparatively high rate of interest on borrowing.

One indicator of economic progress is the number of banks that a country has, even though it may not be a sufficient measure of economic progress. Some countries, such as the Cayman Islands, have scores of banks, but a sizeable number of these are off-shore banks that specialise in banking services.

Guyana’s banking system displays almost all the characteristics of a modern financial banking system, with easy credits and money transfers which are fuelling the rapid rise in property ownership. The PPP/C administration must be commended for putting in place the necessary policy measures to ensure financial stability and sustained economic growth which has had, over the years, an accelerator effect on the economic and social lives of the Guyanese people as a whole.

(By Hydar Ally)

Do you want to continue with the high murder rate, huge corruption, and world wide status as a major drugs exporter?

All this nonsense about bread line etc. is the talk of thieves and murderers. More Guyanese have fled the terror in Guyana that the PPP unleashed, than at any time in our history. Under the PNC you got choked and robbed. Under the PPP you get robbed and murdered.

Mr. Nehru you cannot continue to deny the fact that this government is stealing at an unprecedented rate from the people of Guyana.

We have young children in Guyana who cannot even get a wheel chair from the PPP or a neck brace.

We have thousands of children who have never had an eye examination. These things are the most basic. While all of this is going on Jagdeo is flying to Miami because he get a lil bit of shittings and the flu?

Come on man have some self respect.

While many propagandists may complain about bread lines and water shortage etc. The facts are Guyana still gets rampant blackout and water shortage still exists so what nonsense are you talking about?

Look at this child below the PPP cannot even provide a Wheel chair and a neck brace for her. But they can fly to New York everytime luncheon is sick or every time Robert Persaud has to deliver his babies to ensure they are Americans.

wheelchair child

• wheelchair child

Mr. Nehru you cannot continue to deny the fact that this government is stealing at an unprecedented rate from the people of Guyana.

We have young children in Guyana who cannot even get a wheel chair from the PPP or a neck brace.

We have thousands of children who have never had an eye examination. These things are the most basic. While all of this is going on Jagdeo is flying to Miami because he get a lil bit of shittings and the flu?

Come on man have some self respect.

There is no DOUBT that there is Corruption. I am not condoning it BUT the World has been dealing with this for ages.  I also blame the Opposition for being LAZY and the Media of lacking the skills to EXPOSE the Corruption to the level where charges can be brought.  You can talk about Corruption from now till the end of time but showing/Proving that there is Corruption is what matters.

Mr. Nehru you cannot have it both ways, you cannot say because corruption is everywhere then it is ok. If that is the case then we should not have laws.

You are not going to get any arguments out of me about the opposition being lazy. I have said this umpteen times myself. If the opposition was really with the program there is no way the PPP would get away with this nonsense.

But at the same time I also condemn the PPP and when you look at this child above and you go to Guyana and you see the thousands of children and innocent little ones who barely can afford to eat, some families behind lusignan eat bread and sugar water and then we come here and we say but Burnham was worse?

In 2014 we are still chattering and yapping about Burnham? the inherent hypocrisy in this is not tenable. 

We cannot look at the litany of poor children in Guyana who are starving and suffering and say eh, the opposition is at fault here. The PPP has no accountability and it is people like us who are giving them that window of no accountability. 

Who is going to stand up for these poor children if not us Mr. Nehru? 

I don't believe that your conscience will allow you to give the PPP a free pass on this its not humane to condone the actions of the PPP. Their corruption directly affects the lives of thousands of children in GY. 

25 Million GYD in drug purchases going to Jagdeo's front company new GPC.

But a child cannot get a neck brace and a wheel chair. That is not corruption? You are being dishonest if you are still asking for evidence of corruption in Guyana. Sattaur has his entire family working at GRA, that is corruption.

NICIL billions that is corruption.

Marriot Hotel - is the definition of corruption.

The Berbice bridge - is corruption. Poor children cannot go to school because they cannot afford to cross the bridge so they stay at home. This is corruption.

There IS LESS POOR People in Guyana today than anytime in History.  The difference is the wide gap between the haves and the havenot. WE must also try to understand why some are in such destitute conditions. Laziness, Alcohol, Dropping out of School, Whoring from an early age etc are  factors that can affect the economic  condition of citizens.

That assertion is baseless and has no merit.

If you read what another poster the learned Mr. Gillbaka wrote today "Guyana is ranked at 121 among 187 countries in the latest United Nations Human Development Index [HDI], released today.
Last year the HDI ranked Guyana at 118. This means that the standard of living of the average Guyanese citizen has dropped during the past year."

The facts are that there are more people fleeing Guyana on a yearly basis today than ever before. The Census points to this. Therefore if Guyana is paradise people would not be running out of the country as if it is infected with the plague.

The FACTS are that Guyanese are running away from Guyana on a daily basis, they are running away from poverty. Right next door to the Chinese Embassy has poverty all over. 89% of skilled persons flee Guyana on a yearly basis.

Murder is up 18% in Guyana these are government stats not opposition data.

I am full of shit? alright I will take that on as a personal challenge and everywhere I go in Guyana pigeon island, Plastic City, Canal, Mahaicony, Mahaica I will take pictures and post it on here daily. I think if I can do that continuously for a year. 

I will be able to show how the thousands of children in Guyana are scraping by. Thanks to the PPP.

One more fuh the road.

poverty2

• poverty2

Here is what Jagdeo is doing to uplift himself. You are correct in asking that question Mr. Nehru its a very fair question.

Jagdeo’s benefits likely cost Guyanese $4.2 million per month

JULY 25, 2014 | BY  | FILED UNDER LETTERS 

Dear Editor,
The government released figures on Jagdeo’s electricity, transportation and security expenses from December 2011 to February 2014, a period of 27 months. Total electricity bill for the period was $9,875,680 at a monthly average of $365,766. Total transportation was $15,220,748 at a monthly average of $563,371. Total security bill was $20,321,520 at a monthly average of $752,649. The Minister apparently did not submit all the requested information and the opposition, as usual, was negligent in asking for an itemized list of all covered benefits under the Former Presidents (Benefits and Facilities) Act. Therefore, we are left with an incomplete picture of the totality of the largesse Jagdeo is enjoying under this law. However, the limited snapshot of expenditure offered on just three items – transportation, electricity and security – is already frighteningly mind-blowing. On only these three items, Jagdeo racked up a stunning $45,417,948 in expenses. That is $1,682,146 per month for just electricity, transportation and security.
To understand the shameless and unconscionable atrocity here, the Bank of Guyana’s reported Guyana’s GDP per capita for 2013 as US $3496.30 or GY $699,260. Yes, you saw it absolutely correctly; Jagdeo’s MONTHLY expenses on only electricity, transportation and security is 2.4 times what every citizen of Guyana was valued at for the entire 2013. Guyana is producing an average of GY $699,260 per YEAR and Jagdeo is consuming $1,682,146 per MONTH only for electricity, transportation and security. This is not to mention Jagdeo’s pension, which is roughly $1.2 million per month. But there is even more. The Former Presidents (Benefits and Facilities) Act makes taxpayers liable for the following (1) water (2) telephone (3) personal and household staff including an attendant and a gardener (4) clerical and technical staff, if requested (5) medical expenses for the president and dependants (6) motor vehicles owned and maintained by the State (7) toll free road transportation in Guyana (8) an annual vacation allowance equivalent to the cost of two first class return airfares provided on the same basis as that granted to serving members of the Judiciary.

Dat is not the opposition leader expenditures, publish the opposition leader expenditures and lets compare them.

Those numbers represent Jag de HOE and JAG de HOE thiefin alone.

This is why we have a little East Indian girl who cannot get a neck brace and a Wheel Chair. That is why Gobin had to die.

You are justifying that treachery yes?

There IS LESS POOR People in Guyana today than anytime in History.

There is not a shred of evidence to support that claim of yours. In the old days just one Guyanese dollar could feed a whole family of four.Now you need many hundreds to do the same. Notice that I talking about Guyana, not British Guiana. The agricultural industry now has less workers, but no other supporting work to absorb new workers. Those lucky enough are given a ghost job by the PPP where they get a salary for not showing up at work each day.

Originally Posted by Spontaneous emission:

RISING TIDE OF PROSPERITY

(By Hydar Ally)

So why did 60,000 Guyanese flee to places like Grenada and Nevis between 2002 and 2012?

Also if cricket in Guyana is so profitable why was the New Zealand matchy canceled?  Indeed how often are test matches played in Guyana vs. places like Trinidad and Barbados these days?

However you measure vprogress Guyana LAGS behind the rest of the English speaking Caribbean.  One need only look at access to the internet.  80% of the population in St Kitts Nevis enjoy such access, with most other CARICOM nations not far behind.  As usual Guyana is at the bottom, only comfortably beating Haiti within CARICOM.

Of course Guyana admitted Haiti, so it would no longer be LAST in every metric of progress within CARICOM.

In 2014 we are still chattering and yapping about Burnham? the inherent hypocrisy in this is not tenable. 

Can anybody tell me of what political benefit do they get by babbling about Burnham.  The average voter is around 35 therefore they have no real memory of Burnham.

What they do know is that Jagdeo gets a HIGHER pension than George W Bush, even though Guyana is one of the POOREST countries in the Americas!

Can anybody tell me of what political benefit do they get by babbling about Burnham.  The average voter is around 35 therefore they have no real memory of Burnham.

What they do know is that Jagdeo gets a HIGHER pension than George W Bush, even though Guyana is one of the POOREST countries in the Americas!

the ppp  should be worshipping burham,they using his constitution as their bible