Originally posted by Tola:
Originally posted by D2:
Originally posted by albert:
Congratulations to his excellency Donald Ramotar...

Boo Hoo Hoo, no pay for posting from GINA anymore. Mizir and Kwame just had the rug pulled from under them. You will have to like coming here on your own.

They can always sun-light [moon] as a cane cutta.
so where kwame will get money to pay them young boys
Originally posted by warrior:
Originally posted by D2:

Boo Hoo Hoo, no pay for posting from GINA anymore. Mizir and Kwame just had the rug pulled from under them. You will have to like coming here on your own.

Afta Ramo get swear in ...Jagdeo gonna have to pay for services rendered by Kwame.
Originally posted by warrior:
Originally posted by D2:

Afta Ramo get swear in ...Jagdeo gonna have to pay for services rendered by Kwame.
what kind of service bai.like you know some things we don Smile
Originally posted by TI:
People still don't realize that PPP still in power despite being a minority in Parliament.
Does minority sound like a power base? It never is. One has to fight for what is given even if one is entitled to it.

Worse, here we have a group who for the past 2 decades were the majority and give only as Patronage.
Originally posted by TI:
They still control the presidency and prime ministership, and the perks that come with it.
Every penny will be watched so they will have to live with what ever the office affords in legitimate ways and that is how the nation ought to function. Lisavita aint getting no big wuk without applying the right way and competing with people in her field as is normal.
Originally posted by Ramakant_p:
The Guyanese populace has accepted Donald Romatar as their New President he has been welcomed in every facet of the society...Congrats Mr. President

I know you had a peek at his Cabinet List. Gives us a hint. Is it true that he is bringing in jagdeo as a technocrat?

Jagdeo is lobbying for the Finance portfolio....if Ramouthar grants his request it will be bad for any effort at transparancy and a new begining......
Originally posted by Churchill:
Originally posted by Ramakant_p:
The Guyanese populace has accepted Donald Romatar as their New President he has been welcomed in every facet of the society...Congrats Mr. President

I know you had a peek at his Cabinet List. Gives us a hint. Is it true that he is bringing in jagdeo as a technocrat?

Jagdeo is lobbying for the Finance portfolio....if Ramouthar grants his request it will be bad for any effort at transparancy and a new begining......

Ramjattan told you this? the man turning ugly like his lies. Big Grin
Romator has an opportunity to transform Guyana in a full fledged open and transparent country. He does not need to resort to old style politics. His first cabinet will be a good indicator as to where we go from here. It would be nice a couple of ministers from the opposing parties. APNU/PNC and AFC have a chance to participate in process of change. Political grandstanding will do them harm. Let us wait and see what happens next. The international community is looking.
G
Originally posted by Guyana1:
Romator has an opportunity to transform Guyana in a full fledged open and transparent country. He does not need to resort to old style politics. His first cabinet will be a good indicator as to where we go from here. It would be nice a couple of ministers from the opposing parties. APNU/PNC and AFC have a chance to participate in process of change. Political grandstanding will do them harm. Let us wait and see what happens next. The international community is looking.

The Duck needs to create distance between himself and Jagdeo. Many of the PPP voters who voted AFC were anti-Jagdeo. If the Duck does not do this his term in office will be very very short.

The Duck will also have to sign off on revoking Jagdeo's pension package. If he does not do this he will not survive. Both the ACF and APNU said this bill will be tabled in the first week of parliament.
Blackbeard, in politics, each leader creates his own identity. I agree in part with you about distancing himself from Jagdeo. He might do so to please the defectors from the PPP. The pension package is a small fish in a big pond issues and the opposition needs to focus on a clean and transparent government, fairness and economic prosperity for all Guyanese. As an Indo Guyanese, I personally feel that Afro Guyanese needs to become part of the new economy and because of colonial and PNC era they did not get the necessary resources to develop themselves. This issue is central to the future of Guyana. We also see a similar problem in America where African Americans have been let down even today. A government of national Unity can unite Guyana. But my gut feeling is that politics will get in the way. The gap between rich and poor also affects Indo Guyanese community but they do receive assistance in part to relatives abroad, generally speaking and that has helped a bit. WE live in a time when we tend to forget our brothers who are suffering and ignore them despite our won success but if we slow down a bit and try to help those who are left behind, all will benefit. The job ahead is not easy but if politicians put their country first then progress will be made. The last 19 years did see progress but from a macro economic perspective. Guyana now needs to shift gears and look at the future of young Guyanese like better education, job training and economic prosperity even if means providing the necessary financial resources to the youth of Guyana.
G